Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English - Education (3) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Education › Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English (98652 Views)
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ... 11 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Wallade(m): 9:36pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
darling4real1:Did you say wrong English or inappropriate. I believe you meant that it is inappropriate not wrong, especially when you address a married woman or married opposite sex. However, some people don't interpret it to mean such enquiry. Some understand it to be about their welfare. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Nobody: 9:36pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
darling4real1:That's why we need to speak only our local language |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by chizpim(m): 9:36pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Chukazu:Na ur papa get English. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by emmylight4u: 9:36pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Story jour... How was ur day? How was ur morning? How was ur afternoon? How was ur evening? .... How was ur night...infact how was ur midnight...?...All correct jor |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Kennitrust(m): 9:36pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Op, wetin concern you. Must every English be right Na our language be that? Abggie |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by millionboi2: 9:37pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
roblance:nonsense Bcoz one mumu post one stupid meaning on Google u search and see,u assume is wrong. #,inferiority will destroy u ppl |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by gwarotango: 9:37pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
This is one question I hear everyday that pisses me off about Nigerians. What kind of stupid question is 'how was your night'? I'm sure it was bastardisation of the correct 'how was your day". |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Nobody: 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
majamajic:Nigerians do that, not women |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by pretteemee(f): 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
I can ask that question another way shaa.... just to be on a safe side |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by hefelove(m): 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
My own problem is, I thought 1 person is referred to as person then if they are more than 1 its people, like 1 person, 2 people, but this days I dey see people they write 2persons 3 persons please is this right? Cos ayam not understanding o |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by CanadaOrBust: 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
See inferiority complex. The officer was intentionally being an ass. You can read meaning into anything including “good morning”. Very normal to ask: how was your day/morning/night. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Nobody: 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Nigerians and wahala, nah matter wey no be matter we dey flex muscle on top. "How was your night" has no other meanings to a sane mind than what it meant in structure, nah only robot they look for meaning wey no dey. Must we forever be zombies? In Nigeria, night nah night. Period. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by ubee(m): 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
I've been wincing in irritation at this style of greeting for years, and I've even told a couple of my colleagues in the past to drop that greeting style. As you so rightly put Nigerians with our over sabi ways have created a greeting style that's totally weird. What is your business with how someone spent the night? Did you both have a discussion or agreement about the planned night activities. It has always sounded so dumb to me |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by NotComplaining: 9:38pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
darling4real1:Dudee Chillaxx, its called dialect. Its ok for our dialects to clash once in a while. The question wan not colloquial jargon and Im pretty sure the officer was just being angst as most native English speakers are highfalutin and have not grasped all the rules of idioms. 5% of Nigerians that speak English very well have better comprehension than 98% of indigenous English people. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Nobody: 9:39pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Whenever people ask me the question” how was your night”.. I simply answer “ I don’t know, I was sleeping” ![]() |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by millionboi2: 9:39pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
gwarotango:u see If u can ask some how was ur day,wat stops u from asking how was ur night . Africans are too dumb,anything coming from white is correct. #copy cat |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by xcelentattitude(m): 9:39pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Even though I didn't know this, my response had always been - it's none of your business. My reason for saying this is that, out of the 24 hours in a day, it is only the night hours that I've got to myself. What I do with it is no man's business and don't give me that look. I don't do bad things at night, just goodly-Godly things. Didn't know I've been correct all along. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Mizwisdom(f): 9:39pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
1Sharon:How was your night? |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by BrainSanitizer: 9:40pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Ok. Noted. Someone should please tell our southwest folks, especially the women to stop calling every man "daddy". Went to make some transactions in the bank on yesterday, Wednesday. While I was seated waiting for the next available teller, a woman, old enough to be my mother came towards me and said: " Ejoor daddy, ..... (she spoke in Yoruba which I don't understand). I was like, WTF!! I just stood up and left without saying anything. In my mind I was like; daddy? For real?! |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by MissOsebe: 9:40pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
SeedofDavid: |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by 1Sharon(f): 9:40pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Chukazu:Ofcourse you can have Nigerian English but when conversing with a brit you need to use different words and phrases. The English are the custodians of the language You and most of the ppl here have missed the point. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by HabaHaba: 9:41pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Amanyanabo:Thank you o . I want to add that, we must not forget that whatever we took from the Europeans. Or Americans we extend to a new level and that new level isn't exactly incorrect for as long as it has become endemic, that is, generally accepted and used. Today, how was your night is really a Nigerian lingua franca. It's now part of our pidgin O. So, guys: how was ur night o! Good night guys |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by FIRDAUS3(m): 9:41pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
darling4real1:I closed my eye So, i don dey fumbled since ![]() |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by ensamy(m): 9:41pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Day don break ? It's a way of saying good morning |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Tajbol4splend(m): 9:41pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
SeedofDavid:I dash you all Otedola money |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by millionboi2: 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
ubee:bcoz u are dumb,if u are not dumb....u sld know dat how was ur day and how was ur night is all compliment. White have remove ur God given reasoning capability. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by youngest85(m): 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
darling4real1:Do you stay anywhere around ajah? |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by xcelentattitude(m): 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
nobodytestme:Hahahaha ![]() Okay, how was your sleep? |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by lexy2014: 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
calabaman:There's nothing wrong with asking how was ur night. Every society and culture have their way of interpreting certain things. In this part of d world, its a greeting. Its like telling someone well done. If u tell a foreigner "well done", they will ask u why are u telling them well done, that they didn't do any work. But telling it to ourselves isn't a problem. We have our own English. If some people c "how was ur night" only in d context of sex, then u need to find if its only sex they carry out at night. As far as I no, night is primarily meant for sleep |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Nat404: 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
gwarotango:Certainly. Unfortunately, some folks here wouldn't learn. Really pitiful. |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by 1Sharon(f): 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
Mizwisdom:How was YOUR night? Did Alhaji come? |
| Re: Stop Asking People 'How Was Your Night', It Is Wrong English by Wallade(m): 9:42pm On Aug 15, 2019 |
nobodytestme:Hello, how was your night? |
The Name On My WAEC Certificate Is Wrong • Stop Saying “how Was Your Night”, Here’s What To Say Instead • "Barb" Your Hair Is Wrong. See The Right Word • 2 • 3 • 4
Jamb 2017/2018 Registration Begins (See the price and Procedures) • Kogi State University,anyigba;2011/2012 Admission List (official Page) • How Many Of These Primary 4 Questions Will You Be Able To Answer?(pics)