Stats: 3,156,296 members, 7,829,681 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 May 2024 at 10:29 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (7301) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11752195 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7298) (7299) (7300) (7301) (7302) (7303) (7304) ... (16182) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 10:34pm On Oct 08, 2019
Icon4s:

I was almost shedding tears towards the end of this epistle.

I missed football of the old embarassed. Younger people will not really understand each time we make references to those players.

The Nigerian football scene was really great. Excellent upright local coaches, highly talented players and fairly to very good football pitches.

Club derbies were like today's ex-classico. Rangers vs Shooting stars was always jam packed. There were other smaller derbies like: Iwuanyawu vs Rangers, Abiola babes vs Stores, Enyimba vs Sharks etc.

And when u saw those games on TV they were a delight to watch.

The Nigerian league is in its all time low. What a big shame.

I am happy for the springing up of foreign groomed players at least it has helped the Super Eagles to remain descent.

God help us.
God bless you bro.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 10:36pm On Oct 08, 2019
komekn:

You have given us another outcome delivery of the complete and endemic failure of government.

Tell me one sector in Nigeria that does not reflect the same symptoms. This problem exceeds football it is the Nigerian problem.

I finished high school in Nigeria and for a brief period l worked in an accounts department in a tertiary institution in Nigeria at my Father's request.

Corruption was endemic and rife l challenged it at great cost. In the end all the accounting staff were sacked apart from myself and the Chief accountant who in the middle of the night slaughtered a goat in satanic ritual. I left not long after that back to England, l could see that integrity and honesty were no longer attributes of commendation in Nigeria.

On this thread there is in depth resentment to diaspora Nigerians and or so called Foreign born Nigerians. But why l am at loss.

Meanwhile look at how our people take every insult under the sun, denigration and abuse to get a visa to leave the country. It's incomprehensible we show so much displeasure about foreign born Nigerians yet we want to get there.

A Nigerian owned TransGlobim International won a £500 million contract to build a railway line in Iraq. But couldn't even get off first Base in his own country. Even to get an MOU was like almost impossible with all kinds of delays and unnecessary bureaucracy.

We reject honesty and truth but welcome corruption, nepotism, illegality and government impunity. I watched how my former Governor after leaving prison was welcomed by the entire political elite at the highest levels.

Do you know it is very much easier I mean. VERY EASY for me to become an MP in England. But the depth of depravity l would have to go through to become a state house of assembly selected and then elected makes it impossible for me.

This problem exceeds football we need a change not of government but in ourselves. Until we change as a people we will get the rulers we deserve.

Hmm you are right my man

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 10:36pm On Oct 08, 2019
3:1 .. Ghana GK just did a Karius.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 10:50pm On Oct 08, 2019
komekn:

We waited way too long , there was a time he was willing and ready but we delayed and we are doing the same thing with Eze once again.
That time should be when he was struggling with hull city, so we should have called a struggling player?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 10:50pm On Oct 08, 2019
charlesemeka85:
Dem boiz grin
Wow I sight Ekong
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by mostob(m): 10:51pm On Oct 08, 2019
FT...3:1 our bredas made the final

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:11pm On Oct 08, 2019
Some of them na their papa be white etc. Na crime say their Nigerian mama marry white man?
safarigirl:

I have seen Hoogewerf and he's fine, but the name is still off

The foreign last names Nigeria born and bred bear are English names, while I don't care much for slave names, at least the slave names are familiar, perhaps, if we had Dutch colonizers, I would find English-named players odd.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 11:11pm On Oct 08, 2019
Some of them na their papa be Dutch etc. Na crime say their Nigerian mama marry white man?
safarigirl:

I have seen Hoogewerf and he's fine, but the name is still off

The foreign last names Nigeria born and bred bear are English names, while I don't care much for slave names, at least the slave names are familiar, perhaps, if we had Dutch colonizers, I would find English-named players odd.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 11:14pm On Oct 08, 2019
Earthquake1:

This is an indictment on the NFF

We are looking for fast temporal options while our own is rotting away
If you are a French man you won't celebrate their last world cup saying na foreigners win am for you

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 11:22pm On Oct 08, 2019
Don’t Play Marcelo Against Chukwueze – Brazilian Journalist Warns Coach Tite

Top Brazilian Journalist Jeremiah Carlos has warned Tite, the coach of the Brazilian team not to play Real Madrid left full back Marcelo against Super Eagles pacy winger Samuel Chukwueze when both teams meet on the 13th of October in Singapore.

The friendly game will enable both teams prepare for their upcoming competitive engagement and Carlos believe if the coach plays Marcelo against Chukwueze they could pay heavily for it due to his focus which is mostly on overlapping.

Carlos said a pointer to how Marcelo will probably struggle against the 20 year old Nigerian was last season game between Real Madrid and Villarreal where Chukwueze proved to be too much for the Real Madrid defender.

” It’s a friendly game with a little bit of edge here. We all know what Nigeria can do if you’re not careful. In attack is where they can be deadly and it will be wise not to play Marcelo against the Villarreal kid ( Chukwueze) “, Carlos told Owngoalnigeria.com.

” Marcelo loves to attack and Chukwueze is one who need space to operate. You have to watch the game against Villarreal last season to understand what I am trying to say. I believe coaches should approach games differently and that’s the case with this game”.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2019/10/08/dont-play-marcelo-against-chukwueze-brazilian-journalist-warns-coach-tite/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Ar3mis(m): 11:24pm On Oct 08, 2019
jihday:
If you are a French man you won't celebrate their last world cup saying na foreigners win am for you

It's not like France came to Africa to carry players to their national team.. Those guys were born and breed in France and are a product of the French football system..France simply reaped the reward for their investment on those players...
We on the other hand are waiting to reap the reward of the investment of other countries just because we feel entitled to it...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 11:30pm On Oct 08, 2019
Ar3mis:

It's not like France came to Africa to carry players to their national team.. Those guys were born and breed in France and are a product of the French football system..France simply reaped the reward for their investment on those players...
We on the other hand are waiting to reap the reward of the investment of other countries just because we feel entitled to it...
It's the same, the real French are barely getting a chance with the NT, and some of these guys have publicly shown that they still love their country of origin and only used the France NT for career purpose example is Benzema and Nasri

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 11:33pm On Oct 08, 2019
Ar3mis:

The investment was not made by those countries. It was made by private entities, the clubs. The clubs are the ones who develop players not the countries.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by MetalJigsaw(m): 11:34pm On Oct 08, 2019
Tammy Abraham reveals why he snubbed Nigeria for England

Ifreke Inyang
50 mins ago

Chelsea striker, Tammy Abraham, has said he always bidded his time to play for England, as he was only keen on representing the Three Lions.

As things stand, the 22-year-old is still eligible to represent Nigeria. However, he will end the uncertainty surrounding his international future, if he features in any of the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers against the Czech Republic and Bulgaria.

Abraham already has two senior England caps to his name, but they were collected during friendly outings against Germany and Spain in November 2017.

He told the Evening Standard: “Back then in 2017, it was all about me being young.

“It was a good experience, for me. So, to be going back now, I had my experiences out on loan, I’m back and now it’s time to stay here.

“For me, it’s a massive achievement [to be in the squad]. I’m clearly doing something right for my club to get attention from Gareth Southgate. It’s about going out there, helping the team as much as possible. And then coming back in and doing the same job for my team.”

Abraham also insisted the Nigeria issue has not been raised, during his time in the England camp.

He added: “I’m a player growing up in England, playing in the Premier League. My ambitions were always to play for England. Obviously it’s nice to be wanted by two nations, two nations that I love. But my main focus is England.”

https://dailypost.ng/2019/10/08/tammy-abraham-reveals-snubbed-nigeria-england/amp/
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Ar3mis(m): 11:41pm On Oct 08, 2019
tbaba1234:

The investment was not made by those countries. It was made by private entities, the clubs. The clubs are the ones who develop players not the countries.

Those private entities are based in France...so it's still a French investment

At least the French government created the structure that enables those clubs to function..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Ar3mis(m): 11:43pm On Oct 08, 2019
MetalJigsaw:
Tammy Abraham reveals why he snubbed Nigeria for England

Ifreke Inyang
50 mins ago

Chelsea striker, Tammy Abraham, has said he always bidded his time to play for England, as he was only keen on representing the Three Lions.

As things stand, the 22-year-old is still eligible to represent Nigeria. However, he will end the uncertainty surrounding his international future, if he features in any of the upcoming Euro 2020 qualifiers against the Czech Republic and Bulgaria.

Abraham already has two senior England caps to his name, but they were collected during friendly outings against Germany and Spain in November 2017.

He told the Evening Standard: “Back then in 2017, it was all about me being young.

“It was a good experience, for me. So, to be going back now, I had my experiences out on loan, I’m back and now it’s time to stay here.

“For me, it’s a massive achievement [to be in the squad]. I’m clearly doing something right for my club to get attention from Gareth Southgate. It’s about going out there, helping the team as much as possible. And then coming back in and doing the same job for my team.”

Abraham also insisted the Nigeria issue has not been raised, during his time in the England camp.

He added: “I’m a player growing up in England, playing in the Premier League. My ambitions were always to play for England. Obviously it’s nice to be wanted by two nations, two nations that I love. But my main focus is England.”

https://dailypost.ng/2019/10/08/tammy-abraham-reveals-snubbed-nigeria-england/amp/

Enough of this Tammy and Tomori news already ...
They are gone! .we can only wish them the best and focus on the players we have now..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 11:52pm On Oct 08, 2019
Joebie:
Some of them na their papa be Dutch etc. Na crime say their Nigerian mama marry white man?

I made that post before I knew of the combination.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Odunayaw(m): 12:35am On Oct 09, 2019
The ones that are bent on broadcasting 'Tamori' news...weldone!

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kris(m): 1:11am On Oct 09, 2019
We too must reap the rewards of our Naija people making the sacrifice to travel overseas and born pikin.

Yes it’s best we invest in infrastructures back home and develop the game, but when that is not ready, we must reap the rewards whichever way it comes as long as it’s legal legal. smiley

Ar3mis:

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kris(m): 1:14am On Oct 09, 2019
I was gonna reply him with the exact same thing you wrote. If their government were as useless as ours, then those private entities will not blossom at the same level.

Ar3mis:

Those private entities are based in France...so it's still a French investment

At least the French government created the structure that enables those clubs to function..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 2:35am On Oct 09, 2019
I don’t even know of the combination. I just thought of the possibility.

safarigirl:

I made that post before I knew of the combination.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrew444(m): 3:21am On Oct 09, 2019
Orji Okonkwo has been named montreal impact player of the year with 28 appearance 24 starts 8 goals and 2 assists

9 Likes 3 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 4:18am On Oct 09, 2019
andrew444:
Orji Okonkwo has been named montreal impact player of the year with 28 appearance 24 starts 8 goals and 2 assists

This dude's callup would've been more reasonable than that of the Bricklayer in Bulgaria.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrew444(m): 4:20am On Oct 09, 2019
Bolowolowo:

This dude's callup would've been more reasonable than that of the Bricklayer in Bulgaria.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 4:46am On Oct 09, 2019
Bolowolowo:

Olorun, you no lie at all
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 4:47am On Oct 09, 2019
Star Boy

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Nobody: 5:35am On Oct 09, 2019
Bolowolowo:

so many kids on here.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jieta: 6:34am On Oct 09, 2019
jihday:
Star Boy
Dont get carried away, this North American and Europeans are very good in mind games.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrew444(m): 6:39am On Oct 09, 2019
jieta:
Dont get carried away, this North American and Europeans are very good in mind games.

Mind games for friendly match abi?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by KosiGee(m): 6:51am On Oct 09, 2019
Icon4s:

I was almost shedding tears towards the end of this epistle.

I missed football of the old embarassed. Younger people will not really understand each time we make references to those players.

The Nigerian football scene was really great. Excellent upright local coaches, highly talented players and fairly to very good football pitches.

Club derbies were like today's ex-classico. Rangers vs Shooting stars was always jam packed. There were other smaller derbies like: Iwuanyawu vs Rangers, Abiola babes vs Stores, Enyimba vs Sharks etc.

And when u saw those games on TV they were a delight to watch.

The Nigerian league is in its all time low. What a big shame.

I am happy for the springing up of foreign groomed players at least it has helped the Super Eagles to remain descent.

God help us.

Football isn’t dead in Nigeria. There are talents and lots of them around. The environment and its politics are making it difficult to develop these kids.

I grew up in Enugu, played and enjoyed football. We had primary school football competitions. There were under 13 tournaments for secondary school junior boys or for the old schools here, under 5ft! They used some sort of measuring stick to determine who is eligible in such tournament.

We had the fields to play and develop our skills. There were Phoenix playground around the GRA, polo park recreation ground, Ngwo Park, police depot at uwani, mobile police barrack along Agbani road by Kenneth road etc. Boys had unlimited access to these venues...

Few years ago, former governor Chime closed polo park which gave us River Lane boys (Chinedu ogbuke, Solomon Okoronkwo) JJ Okocha played here as a kid. Today polo park has been replaced with Shop rite, Phoenix ground with its multiple playing fields have been littered with buildings.

We played football out of passion, to play at UNEC stadium at the finals of either the primary sch., junior sec sch or senior sec sch football competitions was the dream of most kids. It was similar to huge festivals.

Old Enugu metropolis under Anambra State has many football clubs: Rangers, Vasco, Udoji United, Asesa Warriors, CCB which JJ started from, Orient boys etc.

The schools churned our boys with amazing talents. CIC, Nike boys, Union, St Patrick’s emene, Maryland Boys etc. Most of the football fields of old have been ‘vandalised’.

Lots of boys got frustrated with structure and management of football, some frustrated by the corrupt system that favour not the poor kids.

Lots of them left for Cyprus, Malta etc where their talents died.
Some came to the uk hoping to ‘blow’ unaware of immigration laws, lots of them ended up in the security industry after years and years of trying to sort their immigration issues. I saw lots of them working in ASDA and Royal Mail.

Politics is killing football development in Nigeria. Few talents in the league have no patience. Everybody want to leave and play in Europe.

It’s not the lack or talent or passion, it’s the environment. The academies have been turned to slave markets. Greed and corruption is ruining football in Nigeria.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 7:20am On Oct 09, 2019
Joebie:
I don’t even know of the combination. I just thought of the possibility.

There are athletes that bear their mother's last names though, like Naomi Osaka. Even Troost-Ekong

(1) (2) (3) ... (7298) (7299) (7300) (7301) (7302) (7303) (7304) ... (16182) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Suzzytee05(f), elyte89, Napoleon55(m), Longneck, bennie1980(m) and 6 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54