Stats: 3,157,987 members, 7,835,314 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 08:31 AM

Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders - Politics (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders (32784 Views)

Niger Bans Bulk Sale Of Food Items, Orders Confiscation Of Trucks Carrying Food / Niger Bans Cooking Gas Exports To Nigeria, Stop Gas Pipeline Project / ‘Nigeria Borders Will Remain Closed’ - Mohammed Sabo Nanono, Agric Minister (2) (3) (4)

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by DeOTR: 6:03pm On Oct 14, 2019
solmusdesigns:
at the staff college jos annual lecture the DSS boss gave the speech of arrested bad guys being former farmers that felt the pang of the dangers of desertification after foriegn partners warned Jonathan at that time..

just incase you dont know, please access BOI, BOA, CBN MSME for government pallatives

"Former farmers that felt the pang of desertification".
This has nothing to do with not being able to sell their produce.
At the end of the day, you might find out that these guys just told the DSS what they wanted them to hear.
Most of these institutions don't give loans to start-ups. And most cases, you're required to pay 2% of the amount you're requesting upfront. I mean, if the government wants the unemployed youth to go into farming, they can provide a special loan facility which will require something like your degree certificate as a collateral, in addition to other measures to ensure the loan is used for the stated purpose.
I had wanted to get a loan from BOA some years back for cashew farming, but for the stringent conditions, I had to delay the venture for a year to save enough to start.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Mcreloaded(m): 6:08pm On Oct 14, 2019
AZeD1:

You should have paid more attention in economics class.

You are right
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Nobody: 6:10pm On Oct 14, 2019
Commercial farming is very expensive.

And very risky.

U just don't jump into farming.

The first few yrs of farming is for of setting loans. It calls for patience.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by RTSC: 6:13pm On Oct 14, 2019
MrStan11:
I don't understand if Niger stops importation of illegal rice. So Nigeria determines what Niger imports.
It just matter of time before our neighbours respond. Buh do you know what is trade war
Stops importation of their rice into Nigeria.
Read the article.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by NGpatriot: 6:15pm On Oct 14, 2019
AZeD1:

1) Nobody goes into business because of patriotism. Everyone in business is there to make money.

They did not ask you to go into business because of patriotism, they are asking you as a private citizen to buy Nigeria to make Nigeria grow.

Necessity is the mother of invention, when there's a lack of availability og certain products businesses will move in to fill that void, this is what business people do.

2) Closing the borders would encourage hording and smuggling. That's why the CBN Governor was begging...

Hoarding is what greedy and unpatriotic people do naturally, but what's this got to do with the ban on the importation of rice?

Or you mean we should leave our borders wide open and let our neighbors flood our country with imported rice?

Do you even know how much we lose yearly due to rice smuggling?

Do you think smugglers py taxes and tariffs on the rice they flood Nigeria with?

3) If I can buy rice from Asia, ship it to Nigeria, pay custom and still sell it close to the same as rice produced in Nigeria, then the problem is the high cost of production in Nigeria and not importation.

See how you just undercut your own argument? We are talking about border closure tp prevent smuggling and smugglers denying Nigeria custom tariffs and payment and you are talking about importing and paying customs.

If that's the case, why are the smugglers smuggling their rice into Nigeria instead of doing what you suggested by going through customs and paying the necessary fees to import their rice?

We closed our borders because of smuggling, not because of imports going through our ports.

4) The Cocoa example just shows that that's little value in growing crops, the value is in processing what was produced.

That is a different argument, establish your own cocoa processing plant and change the dynamics if you have the money. What's the president's business with that? You want the FG to establish chocolate factories or what?

I wnde when you people are going to start blaming the FG because the sky is blue.

You people don't put any thought into your arguments, you just pull anything out of the sky to rubbish your own country with even when it doesn't make sense.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Tomiwa69(m): 6:23pm On Oct 14, 2019
JunctionBox:
You see Buhari and his nonsense decision and policies? I wonder what will be the situation of rice in the country this coming December
You are Mad OOOO
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by izibili44: 6:24pm On Oct 14, 2019
Mr president,I have not ask you for one Naira.I am just a small exporter, exporting my drinks and fruit to Benin,Togo and Ghana.closure of the boarder is putting me into debt.Please open the boarder.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by wirinet(m): 6:26pm On Oct 14, 2019
LocalNietzsche:
Ignorance is wickedness. Woe to the ignorant people and government officials that support this ban. I just have to buy rice at a much much higher price just because some of you want to eat local rice only. Something has to be unaffordable to me because of your preferences. Woe to the supporters of famine because the manna falls from heaven and not from their hands. Woe to all of you that block heaven is only you that will die in this hell.
Which famine? Beans, yam, Garri, akpu, amala and even bread don finish for market? Na by force to chop rice? If we want chop rice, why can't we grow rice? Afterall rices is grown and harvested within 3 months.

What you guys fail to understand is that imported rice and fuel is putting too much strain on our foreign reserves and exchange rate. If dang dangote refinery becomes operational and we grow our own rice, our exchange rate will improve tremendously, maybe $1 to less than N200.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by MrStan11(m): 6:28pm On Oct 14, 2019
RTSC:

Stops importation of their rice into Nigeria.
Read the article.
All land import Sir not just rice.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by NGpatriot: 6:30pm On Oct 14, 2019
wirinet:

Which famine? Beans, yam, Garri, akpu, amala and even bread don finish for market? Na by force to chop rice? If we want chop rice, why can't we grow rice? Afterall rices is grown and harvested within 3 months.

What you guys fail to understand is that imported rice and fuel is putting too much strain on our foreign reserves and exchange rate. If dang dangote refinery becomes operational and we grow our own rice, our exchange rate will improve tremendously, maybe $1 to less than N200.

They are too shallow and shortsighted to see that.

We even lose hundreds of billions every year because they don't pay tariffs or import duties on all the rice they smuggled into Nigeria so wh is losing, we are all losing.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by AZeD1(m): 6:33pm On Oct 14, 2019
NGpatriot:

They did not ask you to go into business because of patriotism, they are asking you as a private citizen to buy Nigeria to make Nigeria grow.

Necessity is the mother of invention, when there's a lack of availability og certain products businesses will move in to fill that void, this is what business people do.

Hoarding is what greedy and unpatriotic people do naturally, but what's this got to do with the ban on the importation of rice?

Or you mean we should leave our borders wide open and let our neighbors flood our country with imported rice?

Do you even know how much we lose yearly due to rice smuggling?

Do you think smugglers py taxes and tariffs on the rice they flood Nigeria with?

See how you just undercut your own argument? We are talking about border closure tp prevent smuggling and smugglers denying Nigeria custom tariffs and payment and you are talking about importing and paying customs.

If that's the case, why are the smugglers smuggling their rice into Nigeria instead of doing what you suggested by going through customs and paying the necessary fees to import their rice?

We closed our borders because of smuggling, not because of imports going through our ports.

That is a different argument, establish your own cocoa processing plant and change the dynamics if you have the money. What's the president's business with that? You want the FG to establish chocolate factories or what?

I wnde when you people are going to start blaming the FG because the sky is blue.

You people don't put any thought into your arguments, you just pull anything out of the sky to rubbish your own country with even when it doesn't make sense.
1) Patriotism is not an economic policy. When you go to the hospital, Patriotism will not pay the bills, money will. Nigeria is a price sensitive country and majority of Nigerians go for cheaper things.
2) Buhari banned rice imports via the ports that's why people started importing from Benin Republic. Like I said, if rice was cheaper in Nigeria, importing would be a waste of time. Techno started producing cheaper smart phones from Samsung and Apple and now own a large share of the market. Economics 101.. compete on price and you'd win.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by AZeD1(m): 6:38pm On Oct 14, 2019
izibili44:
Mr president,I have not ask you for one Naira.I am just a small exporter, exporting my drinks and fruit to Benin,Togo and Ghana.closure of the boarder is putting me into debt.Please open the boarder.
According to some people, you will not be patriotic if you complain.

@NGpatriot

What do you say to this poster?
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by NGpatriot: 6:39pm On Oct 14, 2019
AZeD1:

1) Patriotism is not an economic policy

How do you formulate sound economic policy for your country if you are not patriotic?

You are not making any sense.

. When you go to the hospital, Patriotism will not pay the bills, money will. Nigeria is a price sensitive country and majority of Nigerians go for cheaper things.
2) Buhari banned rice imports via the ports that's why people started importing from Benin Republic. Like I said, if rice was cheaper in Nigeria, importing would be a waste of time. Techno started producing cheaper smart phones from Samsung and Apple and now own a large share of the market. Economics 101.. compete on price and you'd win.

And the rest of your post is just rubbish.

This is why they say Nigerian youths are too lazy and not ready to govern.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Basher8583: 6:40pm On Oct 14, 2019
LastSurvivor11:
Your closing border yet your not producing anything or giving grants or subsidies to production companies..

Do you think buhari and hammed Ali eats local rice??
Why not start from banning medical tourism that Amina just came back from??

My people my people!!

Brace up for more hunger and food hike!!

Is tuwo shinkafi which is Bihari's favourite meal imported? Please just speak for yourself
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by NGpatriot: 6:43pm On Oct 14, 2019
Cyberterror:
You are a mumu sha. So why is Innoson depending on government patronage to make sales and break even? Why not him depend on individual customer sales? Government supports Innoson but you don't want government to support local rice farmers and processors.

This is how you know it's not about border closure or rice, for them, it's tribalism, anti Nigerian sentiments and politics as usual.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by AZeD1(m): 7:03pm On Oct 14, 2019
NGpatriot:

How do you formulate sound economic policy for your country if you are not patriotic?

You are not making any sense.

And the rest of your post is just rubbish.

This is why they say Nigerian youths are too lazy and not ready to govern.

Economic policies are created based on Economics not on patriotism.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Commentor: 7:19pm On Oct 14, 2019
justbusy:
Must everybody eat beans with you? Are we in prison where you eat what you're given?

You can farm or buy imported at the prevailing price.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by phyya(f): 7:33pm On Oct 14, 2019
bobokeshington:
Rice don bexome coccaine for we contry now... Buhari sef
My mum's birthday too. Happy birthday in advance dear
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by achikolo(f): 7:45pm On Oct 14, 2019
Commentor:

You can farm or buy imported at the prevailing price.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by macklef(m): 7:52pm On Oct 14, 2019
EggSauce:
Nigeria farmers are wicked and heartless and this border closure will go immediately buhari Regime is over... How can local rice be 17k for 50kg when rice all the away from Asia costs 7 to 8k for 50kg when there was no ban on rice importation...
Oga, its not just about wickedness, the fact that local production is costlier than imports does not necessarily mean local producers are wicked, actually this pricing is one of the advantages of international trade/Globalization. It can also be referred to as Comparative cost advantage
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by AZeD1(m): 7:58pm On Oct 14, 2019
macklef:

Oga, its not just about wickedness, the fact that local production is costlier than imports does not necessarily mean local producers are wicked, actually this pricing is one of the advantages of international trade/Globalization. It can also be referred to as Comparative cost advantage
This is what Buhari should be fixing.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by bobokeshington: 8:04pm On Oct 14, 2019
phyya:

My mum's birthday too. Happy birthday in advance dear

Wow
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Chicastle: 8:12pm On Oct 14, 2019
This one nah UYOMEYO in Teni's voice
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by plaindealer: 8:24pm On Oct 14, 2019
AZeD1:

Economic policies are created based on Economics not on patriotism.

It is actually, you are wrong. Patriotism is the reason why you are in the position to make decisions including economic decisions on behalf of your country in the first place, you don't and an not make economic decisions that are not in favor of your own country.

When Trump imposed sanctions and tariffs on foreign products even against his neighbors, it was patriotism even though America is losing money and their farmers are losing billions of dollars in exports.

He called it America first.

How do Nigerians reconcile wanting a great country with cheap and abundant food, but too unpatriotic and can not sacrifice anything to be that great country with cheap and abundant food?

You obviously don't know the meaning of patriotism.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by LocalNietzsche: 8:26pm On Oct 14, 2019
wirinet:

Keep dreaming man. It has not work in Venezuela or Zimbabwe. Venezuela has more oil reserve than Nigeria. Keep dreaming R word.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by LocalNietzsche: 8:32pm On Oct 14, 2019
NGpatriot:

Businesses don't invest solely because of patriotism, but they mostly do because of opportunities and filling voids created because of government policies and programs.

China closed its doors for decades to attain self-sufficiency and they did not get to where they are today without sacrifices, they suffered through hunger, low quality and substandard existence so look for a better and more logical analogy.

Nigeria's food security future is bigger than your unpatriotic spirit and desires for imported rice.

China closed it's borders and Chairman Mao Slaughtered more than 30 million of his people. It was the latter members of the party that copied Singapore's model, opening up the country to investment that made it prosper. Same with India.

I have said it again and again Ignorance is wickedness. In the name of the Lord I shall not die in this misery you people are desperately yearning for. If closed borders make countries prosperous North Korea will be the number one economy in the World.

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by AZeD1(m): 8:33pm On Oct 14, 2019
plaindealer:

It is actually, you are wrong. Patriotism is the reason why you are in the position to make decisions including economic decisions on behalf of your country in the first place, you don't and an not make economic decisions that are not in favor of your own country.

When Trump imposed sanctions and tariffs on foreign products even against his neighbors, it was patriotism even though America is losing money and their farmers are losing billions of dollars in exports.

He called it America first.

How do Nigerians reconcile wanting a great country with cheap and abundant food, but too unpatriotic and can not sacrifice anything to be that great country with cheap and abundant food?

You obviously don't know the meaning of patriotism.

When someone brings Trump into an economic argument, you know they are clueless.
1) Trump doesn't even make the "Maga" hats in America
2) Have you asked why Ivanka's products are exempted from tariff?
3) How come Buhari goes to the UK for treatment? What happened to patronizing local hospitals?

5 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Gazzy88(m): 8:54pm On Oct 14, 2019
arilewo:
Nigerians should stop complaining. We can't be throwing the teeming youth population into unemployment because of the few businessmen. The Governors should take advantage of this scarcity to engage our youths in farming. Let us raise millionaires that are farmers, let us use homegrown food to solve unemployment, to banish poverty and be a food exporting nation. The Governors should group the Youths into cooperatives, tractors, land, seedlings and other farming materials should be made available to the cooperatives. The farm produce should be bought back by the government while its resale to the public.
Common sense is what you typed but I pray govt toe this path.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by Legendguru: 9:19pm On Oct 14, 2019
Oh
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by plaindealer: 9:38pm On Oct 14, 2019
AZeD1:

When someone brings Trump into an economic argument, you know they are clueless.
1) Trump doesn't even make the "Maga" hats in America
2) Have you asked why Ivanka's products are exempted from tariff?
3) How come Buhari goes to the UK for treatment? What happened to patronizing local hospitals?

What's maga hat or ivanka got to do with slapping tariffs on China because of China's unfair trade practices.

If you have nothing better to say, just move on or go and carry placard to demonstrate and support rice smuglers.

I hate wasting my time on petty and irrelevant posts.
Re: Niger Bans Rice Export To Nigeria Following Closure Of Nigeria’s Borders by AZeD1(m): 10:28pm On Oct 14, 2019
plaindealer:

What's maga hat or ivanka got to do with slapping tariffs on China because of China's unfair trade practices.

If you have nothing better to say, just move on or go and carry placard to demonstrate and support rice smuglers.

I hate wasting my time on petty and irrelevant posts.
Lol...
Trump is patriotic he makes his products in China.

Rice smuggling started because Buhari stopped them from bringing it through the ports.
It's that simple.

Hameed Ali Seeks Legal Advice On Wearing Of Uniform / 'I Will Not Fund Buhari's 2019 Campaign' - Fashola / Thousands Of OTOGE Chanters Sweep Saraki Out Of Offa

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 66