Stats: 3,152,738 members, 7,817,033 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 12:03 AM

Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" (27271 Views)

Oil Production In Nigeria, Others May Decline, Refineries Suffer Setback / PDP: Plans To Bring Saraki As Chairman Suffer Setback / Lagos APC Crisis: Peace Moves Suffer Setback (2) (3) (4)

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by mmsen: 5:51am On Oct 21, 2019
netpro:
The 2 State Governors of Anambra and Delta along with the Ministry of Works should be swift on this. This project is far bigger than these communities.

Because of Nigeria factor, something should be given to the communities, but it should be treated as a gift not a demand. Left for me not even a Kobo.

They need to take a stand and give them NOTHING.

Don't concede to their shortsighted mumuness.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by madenigga(m): 5:52am On Oct 21, 2019
[

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by SctDonald(m): 5:53am On Oct 21, 2019
The bridge isn't for the Igbos but for Nigeria and Nigerians...

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Truthbites: 5:54am On Oct 21, 2019
Africa, greed and backwardness

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Nobody: 5:55am On Oct 21, 2019
ProWalker:
[s]Igbos are not really interested in that bridge, they will prefer to be using it as a political demand and blackmail so building it will just kill one of their blackmail

They prefer you share the money for that bridge to them.[/s]
Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by oz4real83(m): 5:56am On Oct 21, 2019
madenigga:

If u look at construction of lagos ibandan rail line. You would notice that most of the workers are blacks, mostly Yoruba's.

But come to the 2nd Niger bridge from what I have read they say they use labour force from other regions, north and west in particular. While the indegenes are in a minority. According to local content law it should not be so.

They are nor asking for what is not there's all they ask is the company do what is right.

I once worked on a federal govt project in Benin city, NPDC project to be precise. Non-indigenes/non-south-southerners made up over 80% of the workforce even when the indigenes were willing to work. They still allowed the project to go on but when it happens in other regions, all hell is let lose. Igbos won't allow non-indigenes, hausas/fulanis won't and yorubas won't also. But south-south will be assumed to belong to everybody, same way oil is treated. We must learn to use the same measure for everybody. What u don't allow for yourself,don't use for others.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by contigiency(m): 5:58am On Oct 21, 2019
This is where Ohaneze, Nzuko Umunna and the south East governors forum have to come in. Everything must not be done by the government. Call your children to order simple. They can also raise and sponsor security at the project site showing that it's important to them.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Nobody: 5:59am On Oct 21, 2019
HOW CAN A FEDERAL GOVT BE SAYING THIS AND EXPECT US TO BELIEVE...

Did anybody ask for python dance before they unleashed it?

2 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by wamide042(m): 5:59am On Oct 21, 2019
This people are also doing ‘Omo onile’ or should i say ‘Omo Oni Bridge ‘..........
What do i even know..

14 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Truthbites: 6:00am On Oct 21, 2019
On a second thought, because they want Biafra, that bridge is of no interest to them..as it links them to Nigeria

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by contigiency(m): 6:00am On Oct 21, 2019
madenigga:

If u look at construction of lagos ibandan rail line. You would notice that most of the workers are blacks, mostly Yoruba's.

But come to the 2nd Niger bridge from what I have read they say they use labour force from other regions, north and west in particular. While the indegenes are in a minority. According to local content law it should not be so.

They are nor asking for what is not there's all they ask is the company do what is right.

Give us the ratio of Yoruba's working on that road and the number of Igbos working on the 2nd Niger bridge. Not they said.

Let me tell you, it will only amount to foolishness on the side of the Igbo's if that work is abandoned because of this selfish demands. This is a project that the whole world has been told how we Igbo's are being marginalized because succeeding governments have refused doing the project. So why will anyone in his right senses encourage what those locals are doing?

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by ussv: 6:01am On Oct 21, 2019
Nigeria matter tire me .

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Trezagezz: 6:02am On Oct 21, 2019
seunfly:
Work stopped at the site because communities are demanding projects worth N500 million, while workers are seeking promotion and increase in allowances.

The Controller, Federal Ministry of Works in Anambra State, Adeyemo Ajani, has said the second Niger bridge may suffer a serious setback if the government does not intervene urgently in the crisis between the contractors and host communities as well as workers.

Ajani, in an interview with Daily Trust, said work had stopped on the second Niger bridge and if there is no quick intervention, it might affect the scheduled date of completion.

According to him, work stopped at the site because communities are demanding projects worth N500 million, while workers are seeking promotion and increase in allowances.

The controller added that the project did not have any issues in terms of funding, but that the communities were trying to delay its completion.

Some communities from Anambra and Delta states stopped work at the site, alleging that the project manager "has not given them their dues".

Ajani, said, ‘‘Each community is demanding a project worth N50 million and by the time it is calculated, it will amount to N500 million. Where can such money come from?

"Even the Works Tender Board cannot approve that kind of money. It is only the government that can address it and that is why we are seeking its intervention”.

He noted that the Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) between the communities and the contractors had yet to be signed due to the demands.

http://saharareporters.com/2019/09/27/second-niger-bridge-may-suffer-setback-due-host-communities-demand-entitlements-federal

It's never a bad thing to demand for entitlement or project...
They have lots of qualified engineers doing nothing cause of the way our country is and lot of graduated doing nothing...
Since this project is loud they can be employed cause it's their title... Don't be mislead...
Example is River State, Wike have out a project to Julius Berger for the construction of 3 flyovers and publicly told the engineers that he paid them in rainy season that he will not like to hear that rain stopped work and again that he should give work to rivers people and not jam-packing them with Lagos people....
So it's Anambra's right to demand for such okay

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by bayelsaowei(m): 6:02am On Oct 21, 2019
Werent these same communities engaged prior to the execution of this project?..stakeholder engagement and management gone wrong i must say...

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by bayelsaowei(m): 6:03am On Oct 21, 2019
Trezagezz:

They have lots of qualified engineers doing nothing cause of the way our country is and lot of graduated doing nothing...
Since this project is loud they can be employed cause it's their title... Don't be mislead...
Example is River State, Wike have out a project to Julius Berger for the construction of 3 flyovers and publicly told the engineers that he paid them in rainy season that he will not like to hear that rain stopped work and again that he should give work to rivers people and not jam-packing them with Lagos people....
youre very right..now if the ministry of works didnt do that early enough whilst maturing this project then they have nobody to blame for the agitations by the communities...

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Emotionss: 6:03am On Oct 21, 2019
[color=#006600][/color]
oyin44:
Buhari should focus on Sw than Se

Sw is not left out with this settlement mentality. All southern Nigeria are guilty of this mentality.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Emotionss: 6:06am On Oct 21, 2019
[color=#006600][/color]
MetaPhysical:

You sabi my people too much. grin grin

All these steel and concrete means nothing of value to them. When they heard the bridge will cost 2billion naira their mind started working on how to share the money.

Every region in Nigeria is guilty of this settlement mentality so don't make it look like it's a new thing.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by aspabay(m): 6:08am On Oct 21, 2019
That's the problem with the Igbos and people from SS. Entitlement mentality. We haven't heard of communities along Lagos Ibadan express way or those affected by the new Lagos Ibadan Kano rail line, making demands from the FG or contractors. But no, my people choose to be foolish.

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by klax(m): 6:10am On Oct 21, 2019
Was this not same Niger bridge my people were shouting about and used as weapon again every past and present govt for not completing it and called it marginilaztion

Sorry if those anuofia refused to back down from their silly demand pls I beg the fed govt to stop the project with immediate effect and I'm waiting here for any miscreant to come and shout marginalization then the type of thunder that will fire the person will be ×10 the one that struck those useless fulani cows in Ondo State.

Enemy of progress.

Nonsense!!!

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by aspabay(m): 6:11am On Oct 21, 2019
Trezagezz:

Don't change the narrative, contractors know that already, to engage local labour available labour. These communities are asking for settlement, read the article again. The want a project of ₦50M each. More like wanting free money. Won't the bridge benefit them?

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Afonja007: 6:12am On Oct 21, 2019
If you believe this nonsense story know that you wasted your time and money going to school,ordinary people are building houses in Lagos wiith all the omo onile area boys problem not when federal goverment is building bridge which 98 %of the structure will be inside water,I know federal goverment will come up with one story ,boko haram are killing people searching for oil in the north still federal government did not stop NNPC from searching for oil in the north ,is land not in every state government hand?so which town will stop state goverment from using land?that's how they stop enugu airport ,they should come up with another excuse

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by lastmessenger: 6:13am On Oct 21, 2019
Badmod:
Lies I guess...
I guess this people just dish out lies to cover their uselessness...
The host commitment to entitlement makes the project suffers.
But no matter the number of people voting in the community it can never affect the election result....
What happened to python dance,the community is more powerful abi...
When I'm not willing to go to church,I give any excuse...
Good morning Nigerians.
Good morning APC.
Good morning PDP.
My country people, why we're still at it fighting Buhari,let's not forget there're councillors and LC chairmen that need serious beating.
don't mind fools. If they could use python dance to quell ipob why not use python dance to scare the community from disturbing the company

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Duggedised12(f): 6:15am On Oct 21, 2019
Certain projects should be off limits to this nonsense na, if its a company i will understand but a road ,i just don't get the logic behind me giving you entitlement to build a road for you . undecided

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by valentineuwakwe(m): 6:16am On Oct 21, 2019
I laugh this host communities in Spanish, let them not blame Buhari tomorow if this project fails......where are the igbo leaders,mthisnis time to intervene and talk some sense into your people or the gov't will see an avenue for excuses to delayed the project....
Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by ednut1(m): 6:17am On Oct 21, 2019
Just bomb the useless community

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by bizzibodi(m): 6:18am On Oct 21, 2019
It will be a shame to them & on record that a president dey dnt like atall did a gigantic project for them, that's Y dey are agst d 2nd nigerbridge.
Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Autotech312(m): 6:18am On Oct 21, 2019
Trezagezz:

Efulefu has landed again....
One medal for this idiat....

He's telling you the truth if Bubu stopped that project now you guys will still be complaining....how Bubu go take please Bia-furo republic I no understand.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Anambralstson: 6:19am On Oct 21, 2019
ProWalker:
Igbos are not really interested in that bridge, they will prefer to be using it as a political demand and blackmail so building it will just kill one of their blackmail

They prefer you share the money for that bridge to them.
aspabay:
That's the problem with the Igbos and people from SS. Entitlement mentality. We haven't heard of communities along Lagos Ibadan express way or those affected by the new Lagos Ibadan Kano rail line, making demands from the FG or contractors. But no, my people choose to be foolish.

oyin44:
Buhari should focus on Sw than Se

MetaPhysical:
Ooh shhyte, i forgot to hail my people.

Igbo kwenu! Kwenu!! Kwenu!!!
Igbo Kwezuo nu! grin

Bitter people your tribe's men has made similar demands you Hypocritical tribe were all mute, once it's Igbos it will be a different ball game.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by landforeast(m): 6:19am On Oct 21, 2019
This is not an excuse
Station Military officers
For the workers sack them and hire jobless professionals and the work will continue without obstruction except this a ploy to abandoned the project as usual.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by CodeBlooded: 6:20am On Oct 21, 2019
Nigeria my country.

Re: Second Niger Bridge Suffer Setback As Host Communities Demand For "Entitlements" by Nobody: 6:21am On Oct 21, 2019
When all is said and done, every Nigerian does it.

I recall one guy from Benue for example saying here that road construction was stopped at a village until N100M was paid...

That's the problem with Nigeria. Everyone is looking for money. No one is looking for good projects.

Simon Ekpa Was Paid $1M To Destroy Obi’s Chances — Ohanaeze / 7 Notable Achievements Of Okonjo-iweala And Alison-madueke In The Ministries / Apc’s Attack On Pastor Adeboye, A Demonstration Of Its Devilish Mind-set- PDP

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54