Stats: 3,153,206 members, 7,818,704 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 10:13 PM

Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours (41569 Views)

I Am Determined To Fight Insecurity, Reopen Borders – Peter Obi / I Won’t Reopen Borders Now — Buhari Says In London / ECOWAS Appeals To Nigeria To Reopen Borders   (2) (3) (4)

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Devilfriend(m): 6:28am On Nov 05, 2019
never wake up with her miserable life.

We're missing her here.
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by BreconHills(m): 6:35am On Nov 05, 2019
SarkinYarki:
The ECOWAS country's should ignore this Nonsense .. Borders are similar to filters in reality a border is put in place to filter what come into a country and what leaves but the Buhari govt is trying to blame the filtering efficiency of it's borders on other countries which is total Balderdash !!!!! Border cost millions of dollars to maintain and they are not built for ceremonial purpose but to act as filter that filters out unwanted goods and allow what is wanted come . When your water filter is bad at home you don't go about blaming your neighbors for the dirty water coming into your home but you instead fix the filter and get it working properly

By this token, the UK and the US should drop their visa requirements and dare all illegal immigrants to breach their borders. Makes sense.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by MrVagina: 6:38am On Nov 05, 2019
post=83750605:
Good one from the FG
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by EkperemoEgbabi: 6:40am On Nov 05, 2019
Devilfriend:

never wake up with her miserable life.

We're missing her here.

Is d Fuul a man or a woman? The cretin no dey behave like woman o
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by feldido(m): 6:48am On Nov 05, 2019
semyman:

Some will ever be biased, goods destined for for Nigeria and Nigerians shipped into other countries, ferried across unmanned illegal routes and people even like what you wrote here?

Read carefully and comprehend what he wrote up there.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by BreconHills(m): 6:49am On Nov 05, 2019
Originalsly:
What's the point of setting these conditions when it was already declared borders will be reopened in January?
The conditions. Goods must be in the original packaging?...how would they determine that?....as if rice from China is repackaged as rice from Ghana? Goods must be escorted from the ports to the border crossing.... escorted by Police? These people need to sit down and plan policies instead just rushing to press briefings and saying whatever comes to mind.

Niger and Benin have a choice, they can refuse to comply. What many people do not know is that these terms have already been agreed with by the two countries. The period between now and January ending is being used for inspection and compliance assurance. No government does its business on the pages of newspapers. What the MoFA did was to inform the Nigerian people, bot ask them for permission. We already gave them permission to act in our name in the 2019 elections.

I must say that the FGN is being extraordinarily proactive. It was literally the last signatory to the Africa free trade agreement and false and illegal transhipment was high on its concerns. Benin and Niger are test cases. Nigeria will not export its jobs abroad even if it's people feel they are entitled to drink french bottled water and strawberries. Good move. Good execution. The Vice President of Vietnam has already come pleading. That is the biggest importer of rice to Benin. Its biting.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Devilfriend(m): 6:51am On Nov 05, 2019
EkperemoEgbabi:

Is d Fuul a man or a woman? The cretin no dey behave like woman o

is a woman.

Her life is miserable that's why its very hard for Nairalanders to discover her gender in time.

But we thank God that gave me the idea to follow her mentions bumper to fender.

I was able to discover that she's actually a woman without brain.

As a matter of fact, she even pregnant!
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by EkperemoEgbabi: 7:00am On Nov 05, 2019
Devilfriend:

is a woman.

Her life is miserable that's why its very hard for Nairalanders to discover her gender in time.

But we thank God that gave me the idea to follow her mentions bumper to fender.

I was able to discover that she's actually a woman without brain.

As a matter of fact, she even pregnant!
Hmmn shocked. Only God know the kind beast wey she go born.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by AfroKnight: 7:02am On Nov 05, 2019
Reasonable.

These countries impose stiff rules on Nigerians and should be given a taste of their own medicine.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Devilfriend(m): 7:06am On Nov 05, 2019
EkperemoEgbabi:

Hmmn shocked. Only God know the kind beast wey she go born.

Cc

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by feeloscar(m): 7:07am On Nov 05, 2019
SarkinYarki:
The ECOWAS country's should ignore this Nonsense .. Borders are similar to filters in reality a border is put in place to filter what come into a country and what leaves but the Buhari govt is trying to blame the filtering efficiency of it's borders on other countries which is total Balderdash !!!!! Border cost millions of dollars to maintain and they are not built for ceremonial purpose but to act as filter that filters out unwanted goods and allow what is wanted come . When your water filter is bad at home you don't go about blaming your neighbors for the dirty water coming into your home but you instead fix the filter and get it working properly
When you try all available filters and they fail you,you will be forced to block the source and try a different method,shikena.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Nobody: 7:09am On Nov 05, 2019
thread is fully of lazy nigerian youths who want to remain in penury because they hate buhari. Importing food products your country can produce is a slow and sure road to bankruptcy

you think it is bad now? what do you think this country will be like when oil is not in vogue and we cannot produce staple foostuff? you will beg to buy that stony rice at 50k per bag

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by ThePreachersSon: 7:12am On Nov 05, 2019
Why sign the continental free trade agreement if you were not going to allow from all African countries.

And someone better remind Mr. President that closing the borders, is against the ECOWAS charter. If ECOWAS wasn't a dummy organization headed my dumb Nigerians, Nigeria would be swimming in sanctions by now.

It may look like Nigeria would not lose anything if it keeps it's borders shut, but don't underestimate those 'small countries'.
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by cashkid: 7:16am On Nov 05, 2019
Larryfest:
This government hasn't been a thinking kind of government right from day one..

So u think with this trash u posted, u are actually thinking right? Smh grin grin

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by mapet: 7:21am On Nov 05, 2019
knowledgeable:

SarkinYarki:

Why is it that we Nigerians are incapable of reasoning out of the box most of the time?. You are seeming asking too much, He's even struggling with reasoning "within the box"

I support Buhari on this one. For those of us who oppose this (strategically thought out policy implements) policy, please think deeply & think out of the box as well.

Could it be that, there are two strategic policy components to this?. Absolutely yes. We regain control of trade inflows and properly complete on outflow

Could the first component seek to position Nigeria, for some sectors to witness increase in productivity/revenue generation and etc?. Even much more. We have the capacity and scale to be a net exporter

Could the second component seek to early test the modus operandi of the newly signed Africa Free Trade Area & regional body like Ecowas engaging them to the seriousness of these treaties & how these treaties can sink some African economies while uplifting others. Thank God, that Nigeria have fired the first shot aimed at this complexities..... which I believe the outcome must be a stronger institution/regime to oversight the efficient running of these treaties to the benefit of all African economies while keeping the powerful predators guessing. chop knuckle

Enough said.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Area4Area: 7:21am On Nov 05, 2019
Originalsly:
What's the point of setting these conditions when it was already declared borders will be reopened in January?
The conditions. Goods must be in the original packaging?...how would they determine that?....as if rice from China is repackaged as rice from Ghana? Goods must be escorted from the ports to the border crossing.... escorted by Police? These people need to sit down and plan policies instead just rushing to press briefings and saying whatever comes to mind.
Those conditions the OP talked about has always been part of the ECOWAS protocols that member countries signed up to and not any new demand as the OP erroneously made it look.

They all signed to obey it since when they decide to be members, why are they still going against the protocol they signed is the question

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by cashkid: 7:23am On Nov 05, 2019
ThePreachersSon:
Why sign the continental free trade agreement if you were not going to allow from all African countries.

And someone better remind Mr. President that closing the borders, is against the ECOWAS charter. If ECOWAS wasn't a dummy organization headed my dumb Nigerians, Nigeria would be swimming in sanctions by now.

It may look like Nigeria would not lose anything if it keeps it's borders shut, but don't underestimate those 'small countries'.

Don't say wat u know nothing about oga! Where is it stated in the ECOWAS treaties that ECOWAS member countries should open their borders to all sort thereby turning them to dumping ground? Where is it stated that member country should open their borders to neighbouring ECOWAS countries at the detriment of its own economy!

You people should stop shouting ECOWAS treaties u know nothing about....

ECOWAS treaties is basically about Free movement, Ease of doing business among member states, and Residence.

But all these have clause attached to them, you can't move into any member countries without proper travelling documents , you can't reside without holding proper document, and u can't do any type of business at the detriment of your host country!

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Bishop4real: 7:35am On Nov 05, 2019
SarkinYarki:

What if it's my neighbor, his family & possibly friends that threw unwanted debris like stones, sharp objects etc inside the tank that supplies water thereby exacting unnecessary & unwanted pressure on my filters which led to their (filters) destruction? What do you think will happen to the filters again if I repair, fortify or even replace them without handling my neighbour, his family & friends in such a way they will realize the consequences of their actions on my filters?

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by meccuno: 7:37am On Nov 05, 2019
A government that doesn't think. When you have a brain but refuse to use it.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Area4Area: 7:37am On Nov 05, 2019
ThePreachersSon:

Just as if the EU can sanction the US, the rest of the leeching ECOWAS members are not up to 50% of Nigeria in economic strength and population.

Those leeching countries know that they've been breaching the ECOWAS protocol we all agreed to and that's why they can't sanction or sue Nigeria because they know they won't win.

Advice those leeching countries to start obeying what they signed to and Nigeria would of course comply. Let them sanction Nigeria and we'd stop their goods from getting close to any of our seaports. For now it's just the land borders that are affected, let them try nonsense and we seal both air and seaports to them

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by phineas: 7:41am On Nov 05, 2019
Watch and learn all of you

I predict Nigeria rightfully pulling out of the ECOWAS free trade agreement for breech of contract.This 3 months will be a proof of concept

See those terms have always been in the ecowas charter to keep foreign goods transiting through other countries legally to a minimum

Imagine Benin appointing a customs official to escort all imported goods that pass through their sea port for Nigeria(cars,rice,oil,toothpick,matches,second hand clothes,shoes,bags,and the list goes on)

Benin,Niger,Cameroun and togo as a country (all francophone countries) became official smugglers and accomplices to smugglers when they:

1.Reduced cost of shipping and importation through their borders knowing fully well the goods were destined for Nigeria.PS Benin imports more rice than Nigeria through her sea ports

2.Reduced security scrutiny of imported goods not destined for their countries

3.Reduced sanctions and taxes on imported goods through their sea borders

4.Allowed foreign goods to be repackaged in their country

By so doing they have broken every honour in the ECOWAS agreement intended for the spirit of brotherhood

They have opened our country to security challenges

They have sabotaged our local industries and our trade and investment sector

If they cannot meet the terms in the next 3 months including destruction of all warehouses along the border route .Nigeria has every right to pull out of the agreement claiming sabotage.Watch and learn you all.

Lastly Next step. Nigeria should use this opportunity to address companies setting up in Ghana and selling a large proportion of their goods to the Nigerian market.

Renegotiate everything to make it unconducive for them.Nigerias market is her leverage.We must use it to favour us in growth and development putting Nigeria first

PS -Even Moroco was trying to join ECOWAS

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Beat123(f): 7:42am On Nov 05, 2019
This one time, pmb is very right
healthserve:
Typical. Misplaced Priorities

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by PHILTOR: 7:47am On Nov 05, 2019
The federal government trying to encourage local production is a right thing to do, let's give it a try and see before we criticize if the aim is not met.
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Area4Area: 7:53am On Nov 05, 2019
phineas:

I predict Nigeria rightfully pulling out of the ECOWAS free trade agreement for breech of contract.This 3 months will be a proof of concept

See those terms have always been in the ecowas charter to keep foreign goods transiting through other countries legally to a minimum

Imagine Benin appointing a customs official to escort all imported goods that pass through their sea port for Nigeria(cars,rice,oil,toothpick,matches,second hand clothes,shoes,bags,and the list goes on)

Benin and togo as a country became official smugglers when they:

1.Reduced cost of shipping and importation through their borders knowing fully well the goods were destined for Nigeria.PS Benin imports more rice than Nigeria through her sea ports

By so doing they have broken every honour in the ECOWAS agreement intended for the spirit of brotherhood

If they cannot meet the terms in the next 3 months including destruction of all warehouses along the border route .Nigeria has every right to pull out of the agreement claiming sabotage.Watch and learn you all.

Lastly Next step. Nigeria should use this opportunity to address companies setting up in Ghana and selling a large proportion of their goods to the Nigerian market.

Renegotiate everything to make it unconducive for them.Nigerias market is her leverage.We must use it to favour us in growth and development putting Nigeria first

You spoke well and you spoke the undiluted truth, those companies that relocated to Ghana would start coming back because Nigeria has always been their primary market and you know, no market no production so they'll come back. You'd be surprised that kasapreko makers of alomo bitters may be planning to establish in Nigeria, they've reportedly lost over $2million since the closure.

Morocco tried joining because it was eyeing the Nigerian market so that they can come and dump all stuff just like those leeching ECOWAS members are doing and Buhari refused their membership.

The Nigerian customs has said that the January 31st date is false and the border closure continues, it said it only extended the current phase of operation

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Isnow: 7:55am On Nov 05, 2019
SarkinYarki:

you said it all bro...forget those sycophants hailing Fg for closing the borders @expense of some average business people.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by richnsexy25: 8:11am On Nov 05, 2019
SarkinYarki:
The ECOWAS you obviously have little knowledge of what you are talking about...made little sense initially but ended up making less point with the water treatment issue...you see,when you observe your water filters cartridges keep getting clogged due to unwanted particles oftenly(unusually) you dont go about changing filter cartridges...thats too costly)...what you do is check your water source and environment to see if some activities around it has changed and I believe this is definitely what this administration is looking to address...country's should ignore this Nonsense .. Borders are similar to filters in reality a border is put in place to filter what come into a country and what leaves but the Buhari govt is trying to blame the filtering efficiency of it's borders on other countries which is total Balderdash !!!!! Border cost millions of dollars to maintain and they are not built for ceremonial purpose but to act as filter that filters out unwanted goods and allow what is wanted come . When your water filter is bad at home you don't go about blaming your neighbors for the dirty water coming into your home but you instead fix the filter and get it working properly
Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by Trulie(m): 8:13am On Nov 05, 2019
phineas:

Benin,Niger,Cameroun and togo as a country (all francophone countries) became official smugglers and accomplices to smugglers when they:

I expected more as I feel the conditions are not enough. There is nothing in these conditions that addresses foreign coys setting up production plants in our neighboring countries with production capacities far larger than their host countries with the aim of importing majority of their products into Nigeria.

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by abeggnow: 8:26am On Nov 05, 2019
SarkinYarki:
Are u a Nigerian??And have u been to the border with Benin??

Re: Border Closure: Nigeria Lists Conditions To Reopen Borders With Neighbours by MrAJQ(m): 8:29am On Nov 05, 2019
healthserve:
Typical. Misplaced Priorities
Did you understand what you just read?

2023: Even Supporters Of Winners Disappointed With Process - US Diplomats / Namadi Sambo: 'How El-Rufai Respects Me, No Governor Past Or Present Does That.. / US Govt Reacts As Soludo Wins Anambra Election, States Demand For 2023 Poll

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 84