Stats: 3,151,629 members, 7,813,080 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 06:35 AM

Treasury Bills In Nigeria - Investment (1150) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / Treasury Bills In Nigeria (4433526 Views)

Fixed Deposits Or Treasury Bills, Which Is Better? / Fixed Deposit And Treasury Bill Investments From Abroad / I Need Information On Treasury Bills In Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (1147) (1148) (1149) (1150) (1151) (1152) (1153) ... (2228) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by 9jatriot(m): 2:00pm On Apr 28, 2020
I would have told you that the probability in most cases is low, but it is a very sensitive topic for most people so I will let it slide.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by missjekyll: 2:02pm On Apr 28, 2020
rationalmind:

I'm not sure this thing is this straightforward.

Lets look at this hypothetical scenario.

Two people work in the same place that gives car loan payable in five years with monthly deductions from salary. Both of them can afford to buy a vehicle without taking the loan.

One takes a loan to buy, and passively invests the money he would have used to in say Mutual funds.

The other buys from his "savings" or maybe interest from another investment while he keeps collecting his full salary.

Which one would you say has made the best decision.

This is usually where I zone out. I dont really do details but rational minds,would you mind stating this in some other way?

I m sure there is a huge lesson in there but I just dont get it. Thanks in advance

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by conyema12(m): 2:30pm On Apr 28, 2020
Good afternoon guys. Am sorry I don't know the right forum to ask this;
I partially earn my income in foreign currency and am also partially based in naija.. I have been investing on NTB and MMF for 2 years +. But the inflation is killing the vibes. Am wondering if it's possible to invest in a foreign currency dominated investment or even US stocks..

I came across one Chaka investment app in ios, where you can buy US stocks and sell even though the platform is controlled by Nigeria stockbrokers. How authentic is this platform? Thanks
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by olujaidi: 2:48pm On Apr 28, 2020
9jatriot:
I would have told you that the probability in most cases is low, but it is a very sensitive topic for most people so I will let it slide.

Probability of?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by henifri: 3:05pm On Apr 28, 2020
Good evening guys!

Does anyone have any idea the current value of Nigeria's foreign currency reserve? I have tried to get this information online, but most data I see just show the value as at November 2019.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Satoshi2019: 3:26pm On Apr 28, 2020
I just ordered for a cold bottle of beer for everyone here. U guys are saving lives. Welldone for the free masterclass lectures

16 Likes

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Nobody: 3:31pm On Apr 28, 2020
Satoshi2019:
I just ordered for a cold bottle of beer for everyone here. U guys are saving lives. Welldone for the free masterclass lectures
I don't drink beer, please serve me 5-alive. cheesy

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by naijaoyibo: 3:33pm On Apr 28, 2020
This is the best thread on Nairaland.

Meanwhile I would like to hear your views on the following below distinguished senior colleagues:

I have some money in one of this Agro-Tech platforms, about 10M Naira. The return on investment is 20% in 9 months. The investment would mature only in October and return 12M Naira. The Naira is on extreme pressure and I believe this 2020 might be worse than 2016 when it was devalued from 150 to 360 Naira per dollar. I fear that a serious devaluation may occur before October when my fund matures. If I withdraw the investment now, I get only my capital of 10M, however, I have the opportunity to change the Naira at 390 - 400 Naira per dollar and cut my losses.

I want to minimize losses but perplexed on the step to take.

I would like to hear your views senior Investors.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by rmx: 4:19pm On Apr 28, 2020
naijaoyibo:

Meanwhile I would like to hear your views on the following below distinguished senior colleagues:

I have some money in one of this Agro-Tech platforms, about 10M Naira. The return on investment is 20% in 9 months. The investment would mature only in October and return 12M Naira. The Naira is on extreme pressure and I believe this 2020 might be worse than 2016 when it was devalued from 150 to 360 Naira per dollar. I fear that a serious devaluation may occur before October when my fund matures. If I withdraw the investment now, I get only my capital of 10M, however, I have the opportunity to change the Naira at 390 - 400 Naira per dollar and cut my losses.

The naira is already at 460 at the black market and might rise further , let’s even assume there are lots of speculations and the true value is say 420/430 when devaluation fully sets in and is official , you have already lost close to 19% already in dollar terms from the initial starting point of 360 in feb when u did the transaction

The rate you are still getting 390/400 is excellent ,do they allow partial liquidation of the investment so that you withdraw 50% and hedge With this $ purchase , tough call

You should have asked this question in feb , would have told you to buy dollars immediately ,people should have hedged most of there loose naira months ago in dollars or stocks as in goods if you are trader , raw /packaging materials if you are manufacturer etc

Meanwhile I admire the courage of people investing in this agriculture technology space , una get liver wella

All the best bro

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by zamirikpo(m): 5:38pm On Apr 28, 2020
naijaoyibo:

I once wrote on this thread that naira would hit $500 , I pray if doesn't.

Pls can u help me change some money to $ at 390.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 5:43pm On Apr 28, 2020
Naira is a dead currency no stability from 150 in 2013 to 450 ....African are going to be poor for ever ....

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by 9jatriot(m): 5:49pm On Apr 28, 2020
When we refuse to produce anything. All the scientist in Nigeria are reading literature waiting for the west to produce vaccine for Covid-19 forexample.

ahiboilandgas:
Naira is a dead currency no stability from 150 in 2013 to 450 ....African are going to be poor for ever ....
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tunene66: 5:58pm On Apr 28, 2020
henifri:
Good evening guys!

Does anyone have any idea the current value of Nigeria's foreign currency reserve? I have tried to get this information online, but most data I see just show the value as at November 2019.

https://www.cbn.gov.ng/IntOps/Reserve.asp
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by CsRockefeller(m): 6:08pm On Apr 28, 2020
ahiboilandgas:

Food for thought.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Ibk2020: 6:26pm On Apr 28, 2020
ahiboilandgas:

Reasons why am planning to relocate to Canada asap... This country can make someone broke no matter how rich you are,their is no security of investment.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ositadima1(m): 6:29pm On Apr 28, 2020
rmx:

The naira is already at 460 at the black market and might rise further , let’s even assume there are lots of speculations and the true value is say 420/430 when devaluation fully sets in and is official , you have already lost close to 19% already in dollar terms from the initial starting point of 360 in feb when u did the transaction

The rate you are still getting 390/400 is excellent ,do they allow partial liquidation of the investment so that you withdraw 50% and hedge With this $ purchase , tough call

You should have asked this question in feb , would have told you to buy dollars immediately ,people should have hedged most of there loose naira months ago in dollars or stocks as in goods if you are trader , raw /packaging materials if you are manufacturer etc

Meanwhile I admire the courage of people investing in this agriculture technology space , una get liver wella

All the best bro

I wonder why these agric tech companies adopt this mode of loaning, why not register with SEC and raise huge equity once by selling shares? At a 20% return they would be among the highest dividend paying stocks. It is better for everyone as investors can feel safer investing.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by zamirikpo(m): 7:30pm On Apr 28, 2020
Ibk2020:

Reasons why am planning to relocate to Canada asap... This country can make someone broke no matter how rich you are,their is no security of investment.

My dear, am almost running colosis, been cracking my head since january on whether to increase investment in my field or runaway with family or send my wife and kids abroad first before I join them or just increase investment and use proceeds to run.

I just confuse. Nothing is certain.....

Nothing looking smooth, I really worry ooh.

Funny thing is that, I am not doing badly at the moment ooh, but I can't find the best plan for the next 5yrs.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 7:48pm On Apr 28, 2020
cbn and Nigeria state has effectively wipe out all profit from your tb investments since 2017, imagine a man that kept 100k (15m ) in 2013 now has over 45m naira ...this shit.....the depreciation rate is 3 much not even after 20 years....if now that we are farming rice the currency is it lossing value .even the Dangote refinary eill not change things......naira is a dead currency

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ahiboilandgas: 7:52pm On Apr 28, 2020
Soon we only be able to afford only tokunbo things are fake items
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Ijeoma660(f): 7:53pm On Apr 28, 2020
abraolas1:

do u buy chance know Jarus .....i see you quote him in one of your post sir

Was my former colleague at the office.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Nobody: 7:54pm On Apr 28, 2020
missjekyll:

This is usually where I zone out. I dont really do details but rational minds,would you mind stating this in some other way?

I m sure there is a huge lesson in there but I just dont get it. Thanks in advance

Okay, let me try to break it down a little bit more.

Emma says getting loans for consummables like rent, school fees or to buy cars is a bad idea.

But I think if you can get that loan at a very good rate, it's better to use it for those consumables. That way, you free up funds that you would have otherwise used to buy the consummables. Those funds can then be put to use in something that generates more returns than what is being paid on the loan.

Hope you get?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by TotoNaRubber: 8:01pm On Apr 28, 2020
The devaluation is already making people sweat, unfortunately 190 million Nigerians or more will feel the heavy impact of this, I am not left out, on my naira portfolio i am down by 3.8m due to depreciation, on my forex I am up by 2.5m, not quite a good outcome but it was worse in 2016.

We can't win it all, it could have been worse without following the trends, but this one happened too sudden.
With the dynamics now on Naira/dollar rate, it is uncertain when to sell to take advantage of this depreciation.

ahiboilandgas:
cbn and Nigeria state has effectively wipe out all profit from your tb investments since 2017, imagine a man that kept 100k (15m ) in 2013 now has over 45m naira ...this shit.....the depreciation rate is 3 much not even after 20 years....if now that we are farming rice the currency is it lossing value .even the Dangote refinary eill not change things......naira is a dead currency
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by olujaidi: 8:05pm On Apr 28, 2020
ahiboilandgas:

Why do you think the refinery won't change things?
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Nobody: 8:06pm On Apr 28, 2020
Ijeoma660:

Was my former colleague at the office.

Who art thou?

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Theconglomerate(m): 8:07pm On Apr 28, 2020
ahiboilandgas:
I thought you all were preaching how fixed investments were the best and how nothing better had happened to humanity after it? grin grin grin
There are some flexibilities the real economy will give you that this fixed whatever can't.
Imagine how safe people that hoard commodity will be this period?
If the naira depreciates even further,very very good. cool cool
If it doesn't and stay where it was,then it is business as usual.
Even if it appreciates,a person still has close to a month or thereabout to offload stock before cheaper commodity caused by currency appreciation starts flooding the markets.
Imagine how frustrated people having T-bills and all other fixed investments will be now knowing they could have adjusted to the incoming inflation if they had their liquid at their disposal but no,its tied to fixed investments that will liquidate in a years time,after inflation must have hit 300% grin grin grin grin
Later some self acclaimed economist will come and claim how person A invested in so so so bond and is now rolling in millions and have bought half of banana Island grin.
I wonder when humans will learn that there aren't shortcuts to riches but with hardworking,proper planning and persistence.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Ijeoma660(f): 8:07pm On Apr 28, 2020
Aquilapriscilla:

Wait,but is this even possible? Having two bank accounts within the same bank?
Good morning

It's very to possible. This is why your banking mobile app allows you to add more bank accounts to the mobile app. That is operate multiple bank accounts with just one mobile app.
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ositadima1(m): 8:21pm On Apr 28, 2020
Theconglomerate:
I thought you all were preaching how fixed investments were the best and how nothing better had happened to humanity after it? grin grin grin

Wickedfacts:
For those who are new to what's going on, I know this guy very well and right from day 1, he has always seen this thread as his pot of soup. His aim is to use his imaginary farm to scam as many as possible.

Healthserve, Hspda, Planet3xi, Kunleweb, Essenceplus, Simeon, Edafe, Prudent Farms
Those are his Monikers. They chased him off the investment section like a dog.

He is a thief. I mean a hardened criminal who goes about looking for people to scam.

Upper year, he was selling Facebook accounts.
Last year, he was selling gnld.
From there, he started an imaginary farm.
Recently, he was promising people 200% if they invest in his business.
In August, he was in the property section fighting for real estate agency fees.

After that, he claimed to have 5 Nissan cars on hire purchase? Thereafter, he had forgotten he said that when he started begging someone to give him a bus for hire purchase.

Go and check this guy's posts. He roams about Nairaland looking for innocent prey to fall victim of his scams. Very useless nonentity.

Please, let everyone ignore this scammer and let's move on.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by afroxyz: 8:23pm On Apr 28, 2020
Theconglomerate:
There are some flexibilities the real economy will give you that this fixed whatever can't.
Even if it appreciates,a person still has close to a month or thereabout to offload stock before cheaper commodity caused by currency appreciation starts flooding the markets.
Imagine how frustrated people having T-bills and all other fixed investments will be now knowing they could have adjusted to the incoming inflation if they had their liquid at their disposal but no,its tied to fixed investments that will liquidate in a years time,after inflation must have hit 300% grin grin grin grin
Later some self acclaimed economist will come and claim how person A invested in so so so bond and is now rolling in millions and have bought half of banana Island grin.
I wonder when humans will learn that there aren't shortcuts to riches but with hardworking,proper planning and persistence.
So what does the 'erudite' tomato seller suggest?

14 Likes

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ositadima1(m): 8:26pm On Apr 28, 2020
lipsrsealed
Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by ojesymsym: 8:28pm On Apr 28, 2020
I don't think this guy is health Serve. Health Serve is full of grammar, this one is just forceful in his opinion.

ositadima1:

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by OgogoroFreak(m): 8:30pm On Apr 28, 2020
Theconglomerate:
You can't have it all. Most people that invested in fixed income have a job. You don't expect them to import or hoard commodity. Also, those who invested in fixed income are even better than those who did not invest at all. So, don't make it look as if investing was a wrong move.

Now, I have enough goods in my warehouse. It's easy for me to just adjust my selling price to the current exchange rate. But I also have lots of Naira in my bank account that still suffered devaluation.

Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Theconglomerate(m): 8:39pm On Apr 28, 2020
OgogoroFreak:
You can't have it all. Most people that invested in fixed income have a job. You don't expect them to import or hoard commodity. Also, those who invested in fixed income are even better than those who did not invest at all. So, don't make it look as if investing was a wrong move.

Now, I have enough goods in my warehouse. It's easy for me to just adjust my selling price to the current exchange rate. But I also have lots of Naira in my bank account that still suffered devaluation.
Inflation is yet to set in or atleast,not to its optimum degree to this new exchange rate.
Trust me it is still coming.
If I were you,I will use all of that naira liquid in my account to purchase now and fill my warehouse and cut my losses now rather than later cos its gonna get worse.

(1) (2) (3) ... (1147) (1148) (1149) (1150) (1151) (1152) (1153) ... (2228) (Reply)

Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67