Stats: 3,159,320 members, 7,839,522 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 09:38 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (8585) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11804510 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (8582) (8583) (8584) (8585) (8586) (8587) (8588) ... (16213) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 4:10pm On May 16, 2020
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by BascoVanVeli(m): 4:16pm On May 16, 2020
komekn:

You should go back to my comments about Isaac Success and the context which they were made, before jumping to whimsical conclusions.

To quote Ian Fleming; Once is happenstance. Twice is coincidence. Three times is enemy action.

Now how many managers have reprimanded him and dismissed him as being far from diligent and ill disciplined, that proves the issue is not with managers but the player. At a stage he was even over weight a professional footballer.

Stop being emotive and allowing sentiment to cloud your reasoning.

You are talking in nonsense jor. Nothing reasonable to add.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero047: 4:30pm On May 16, 2020
Jamilu Collins, 1 clean sheet

Good
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Utonwanne(m): 4:32pm On May 16, 2020
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Utonwanne(m): 4:35pm On May 16, 2020
Is there set of new rules?

Teams that played today did upto 5 sub.

Is that new rule or safe treatment based on the fact that they are match rusty?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:46pm On May 16, 2020
Danielnino00:

You can practise social distancing when celebrating a goal Sha grin

This is very funny
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:47pm On May 16, 2020
komekn:

I disagree with that notion very strongly.

Maybe in your limited experience that is your observation but CERTAINLY not mine.

You never too stay for naija

Maybe you cant relate
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Humility017(m): 4:50pm On May 16, 2020
BascoVanVeli:

You are talking in nonsense jor. Nothing reasonable to add.
every One is always talking nonsense to you mr Wiseman
it's like your swift resort to insult this season has come to stay
hope you can afford it ?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by andrewbaba44: 4:51pm On May 16, 2020
Utonwanne:
Is there set of new rules?

Teams that played today did upto 5 sub.

Is that new rule or safe treatment based on the fact that they are match rusty?

New rules till the end of the season

And yes because they are match rusty also

Once the laliga resumes also they will be games everyday and i dont think you will have more than 3 days rest before your next game, so imagine the stress of the players

I think thats the reason the german league introduce 5 sub
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by somehow: 4:55pm On May 16, 2020
Simple as ABC.
This is what Taiye Taiwo called "Dirty deal" against Keshi.

Except if he can prove that Keshi or any of the coaching crews asked him for money.

Danielnino00:

That's really true..

As a coach,if you have players who won't play according to your instructions,then it's unlikely you will succeed... Look at what Conte did with Diego Costa despite Costa's glaring contribution to their title winning campaign..

When Klopp took over Liverpool,Sakho was one of his favorite and regular player until that incident that created bad blood between them..Klopp kept him on the bench until January when he sold him off to palace...

If there's no harmony between the coach and his players,there would be problems..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 5:02pm On May 16, 2020
Was Okpala Keshi’s roommate, how did he hear Taiwo plotting?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 5:04pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:

According to d story,his room was near taiwos room,so he might eavesdropped deir conversion
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 5:06pm On May 16, 2020
Okpala’s room?
elyte89:

According to d story,his room was near taiwos room,so he might eavesdropped deir conversion
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:21pm On May 16, 2020
komekn:

There are huge differentials between Maduabuchi Obinwa and Ndidi cases .

One was born in the USA and you could say led comparative to Ndid led a very privileged life style that includes better health care, nutrition, etc.

However, we are moving into the Nigerian factor, NFF officials took over 100k naira from his mother to carry out a MRI scan, then they said he failed it but refused to present the test results which his mother paid for to be inspected. The whole episode was surrounded in subterfuge and under handed practices.

That is not a comparison that can be used to make any deduction, rather it exposes the NFA for their underhanded and established corrupt practices.

All of them paid 100K. From information I got, many of our local players had sponsors. I heard Kanu Nwankwo even paid for a lot of them. I do not know if it has changed now but in the past, they all paid.

There is no underhandedness. A 16 years old player can fail MRI. It is not out of the norm. It just the ratio of failure is high.

There is no need shooting unfounded claims to try to justify your point. The fact is that, failing MRI does not mean overage. If Abuchi was born in Nigeria, you would have been screaming overage. Now he is not you are screaming corruption.

Highlights your misconstrued ideas.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:22pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:

He was Keshi’s direct assistant and lead tactical adviser. There is no way Keshi would not tell him what he overhead from discussions of senior players in a room next to him.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:25pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:
Okpala’s room?

During our AFCON qualifier against Rwanda, Taiye didn’t play well in that game, continued Okpala. Keshi complained after the match but the players went back to their rooms and started plotting how to remove Keshi. They never knew that Keshi’s room was the next to Taiye’s room.

“Taiye was telling other players that Keshi was shouting on him on the pitch and that he will do to Keshi what he did to other coaches and ensure that Keshi was sacked.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by orriyomi33(m): 5:28pm On May 16, 2020
andrewbaba44:

New rules till the end of the season

And yes because they are match rusty also

Once the laliga resumes also they will be games everyday and i dont think you will have more than 3 days rest before your next game, so imagine the stress of the players

I think thats the reason the german league introduce 5 sub

The rule was introduced by FIFA

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Edopesin: 5:28pm On May 16, 2020
Teams made 5 sub today, was that a normal thing in the bundesliga
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:30pm On May 16, 2020
komekn:

Talent not developed stagnates and then dies.

Without diligence, focus, discipline, drive and determination talent will take you nowhere.

You are being overly positive and diplomatic, call a spade a spade, dude is highly undisciplined.

Not at all. Isaac has pulled some brilliant performances when given a nod. A good example was his cameo appearance against Manchester United, where in few minutes, he pulled off the best performance in terms of dribbling in the whole game. Talent was not the issue but attitude.

By the way, form hinges a lot on attitude.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 5:34pm On May 16, 2020
Super Eagles’ Coach Gernot Rohr has praised FIFA’s new rule, allowing a maximum of five substitutes per game for international matches until December 2021.

The International Football Association Board in conjunction with FIFA amended Law 3 temporarily to safeguard the health of players and prevent injuries due to the backlog of matches caused by the coronavirus outbreak.

Rohr pointed out that the new rule will improve the solidarity in the team because, he could hand game time to majority of the players invited to the Super Eagles, unlike in the past when some watched the games from the stands.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sunnewsonline.com/v/s/www.sunnewsonline.com/rohr-hails-fifas-new-five-substitute-rule/amp/%3famp_js_v=0.1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%253D#ampf=
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 5:40pm On May 16, 2020
Post match interviews grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by daveP(m): 5:53pm On May 16, 2020
For naija issues, there is nothing as can of worms

We always have Tanks of Worms

Some are even in larger capacity with Resevoirs....

Investigative Journalism in Nigeria needs to really step up.

All these here and there talk

This one talk this one defend

So if the 1st no talk, naso we go dey look, even if someone's integrity is at stake.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 6:08pm On May 16, 2020
So Keshi told Okpala. How do we verify that? And why do we not expect Keshi's assistants to come to his defense since people will suspect they also were involved in the dealings? That said Okpala said a lot in that interview that I agree with. But this quote of yours does not prove otherwise that bribes were not demanded.

TheGoodJoe:

During our AFCON qualifier against Rwanda, Taiye didn’t play well in that game, continued Okpala. Keshi complained after the match but the players went back to their rooms and started plotting how to remove Keshi. They never knew that Keshi’s room was the next to Taiye’s room.

“Taiye was telling other players that Keshi was shouting on him on the pitch and that he will do to Keshi what he did to other coaches and ensure that Keshi was sacked.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:18pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:
So Keshi told Okpala. How do we verify that? And why do we not expect Keshi's assistance to come to his defense since people will suspect they also were involved in the dealings? That said Okpala said a lot in that interview that I agree with. But this quote of yours does not prove otherwise that bribes were not asked.

How do we verify Taiwo's claims?

In my own case, I already suspected that was the deal, that is why I paid close attention to it. With the earlier fracas with Uche and the Osaze's World Cup disregard of tactics, I suspected there was a big egotistical battle going on in the team and I always suspected our players having a hand in some sacking of many local coaches.

Either way, we can not verify his claims but listen to his testimony, just as people listened to Taiwo's.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 6:21pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:
So Keshi told Okpala. How do we verify that? And why do we not expect Keshi's assistants to come to his defense since people will suspect they also were involved in the dealings? That said Okpala said a lot in that interview that I agree with. But this quote of yours does not prove otherwise that bribes were not demanded.

How do we verify Taiwo,Sarki and Obasi's claims please ?

If it isn't by word if mouth,then I'm afraid everybody is wasting everybody's time here ..

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:21pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:
You guys should stop castigating players who speak out unless you are happy with the culture. Na dem get their mouth whether they mention name or not. Stop the attack.

Still shocked you did not ask of verifying claims here but want verification for Sylvanus Okpala.

Why not allow him talk, since he owns his mouth?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 6:22pm On May 16, 2020
Apples and Oranges.

Players can still be shut out for many reason and bribes can be demanded at the same time. We know as e dey happen na for naija. Abi we no be Nigerians all of a sudden?. Lecturer fit tell you say u dey disturb he class say go resit the course. At the same time you know say your begging can be accepted if you involve cash.

Fine, we do not have proof either way. But wait as more stories unfold.

TheGoodJoe:

How do we verify Taiwo's claims?

In my own case, I already suspected that was the deal, that is why I paid close attention to it. With the earlier fracas with Uche and the Osaze's World Cup disregard of tactics, I suspected there was a big egotistical battle going on in the team and I always suspected our players having a hand in some sacking of many local coaches.

Either way, we can not verify his claims but listen to his testimony, just as people listened to Taiwo's.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:24pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:
Apples and Oranges.

Players can still be shut out for many reason and bribes can be demanded at the same time. We know as e dey happen na for naija. Abi we no be Nigerians all of a sudden?. Lecturer fit tell you say u dey disturb he class say go resit the course. At the same time you know say your begging can be accepted if you involve cash.

Fine, we do not have proof either way. But wait as more stories unfold.

Maintain a status quo. Are you saying you do not know Mutiny happens a lot in football? Is it only bribes you know happen?

What is good for the goose, is good for the gander.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 6:24pm On May 16, 2020
I never attack Okpala.. don't attack anyone who speaks if you genuinely want the truth
Danielnino00:

How do we verify Taiwo,Sarki and Obasi's claims please ?

If it isn't by word if mouth,then I'm afraid everybody is wasting everybody's time here ..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 6:26pm On May 16, 2020
The accusation is not about mutiny but bribery. Someone comes with the reason of mutiny to say bribery never occurred. I am saying both can coexist. Na Naija we dey.
TheGoodJoe:

Maintain a status quo. Are you saying you do not know Mutiny happens a lot in football? Is it only bribes you know happen?

What is good for the goose, is good for the gander.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Joebie: 6:28pm On May 16, 2020
I called that an investigation should be done right from the start instead of dismissing anybody's claim. Wake up from your shock
TheGoodJoe:
[b][/b]
Still shocked you did not ask of verifying claims here but want verification for Sylvanus Okpala.

Why not allow him talk, since he owns his mouth?

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by TheGoodJoe(m): 6:29pm On May 16, 2020
Joebie:
The accusation is not about mutiny but bribery. Someone comes with the reason of mutiny to say bribery never occurred. I am saying both can coexist. Na Naija we dey.

Or the Bribery also might not exist.

(1) (2) (3) ... (8582) (8583) (8584) (8585) (8586) (8587) (8588) ... (16213) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: elyte89, lordofstrings, ABIODUN105(m), jieta, joxxy01(m), opes, Darell2002(f), Franktom247(m) and 15 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50