Stats: 3,152,973 members, 7,817,865 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 09:38 PM

FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways (21317 Views)

Senate Summons Hameed Ali Over Plan To Concession N3tn Revenue Collection / Aviation Ministry Gets ICRC Approval To Concession Four Airports / FG To Concession 6 Hydro Power Generation Assets (2) (3) (4)

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by DuBLINGreenb(m): 4:29am On Jun 18, 2020
Ok no be road we go chop sell nigeria give us our cut make we japa
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Homiesjinxbank: 4:29am On Jun 18, 2020
The only thing in Nigeria that need privatising is PHCN..

obailala:
Good idea! If I were the president of this country, everything would be privatised; from roads to railways, trains, airports, universities and even some govt hospitals.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Samade7: 4:34am On Jun 18, 2020
edoairways:

PDP mess up in that aspect

Which PDP? Is stealing peculiar to a particular party? They are all thieves.

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by cenaman(m): 4:35am On Jun 18, 2020
mancanoe:
But Yoruba is tactically excluded from this road usage tax while Igbo is tactically the highest payer of this road tax
pain soul.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Nobody: 4:38am On Jun 18, 2020
Which would eventually raise the cost of goods and properties..
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by SmartPolician: 4:40am On Jun 18, 2020
mancanoe:
But Yoruba is tactically excluded from this road usage tax while Igbo is tactically the highest payer of this road tax

I'm sure you did not read the article
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by AdaoraNK(f): 4:43am On Jun 18, 2020
Hmm... All the major Federal roads in the south east to be tolled.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Nobody: 4:46am On Jun 18, 2020
obailala:
Good idea! If I were the president of this country, everything would be privatised; from roads to railways, trains, airports, universities and even some govt hospitals.
more like 'especially all government hospitals'. Privatising government hospitals are even more important than roads and railway
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by LadySarah: 4:52am On Jun 18, 2020
Notice how SE roads were listed boldly. It's unfair.

BTW I hope The police, frsc and army collecting money on the road won't expect it anymore.

If you pay toll tax and pay them. What will remain for the drivers.

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Blazebond(m): 5:07am On Jun 18, 2020
These thieves have started again,Na toll gate payments one begin so,so Una want make we begin pay fees for entrance into states now shebi.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Badonasty(m): 5:09am On Jun 18, 2020
So money wey abacha help us save no fit cover those ones...issorai
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Steinmann: 5:11am On Jun 18, 2020
One step forward two steps backwards. yesterday no tollgates, today tollgates ,tomorrow no tollgates. #buhari has failed.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Badonasty(m): 5:12am On Jun 18, 2020
obailala:
If it has viable economic value, YES!

Govt will mainly be involved in regulation.

As they are regulating the mobile networks through ncc or electricity abi...investors are out to make money and very fast and don’t forget that it’s the people in government that are the investors
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by nextstep(m): 5:13am On Jun 18, 2020
Indeed, and it will be just as successful as the privatization of power grin
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by cryptotech: 5:21am On Jun 18, 2020
ok
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by oyeb15: 5:37am On Jun 18, 2020
Fashole is just about tax
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Cantonese: 5:39am On Jun 18, 2020
All Fashola knows how to do is big proposals and visions without end. Everything he said before and after becoming a minister have been complete lies and monumental failures. Light, roads and housing all rubbish.

All we have been suffering in this country in the last 5 years have been increase in exchange rates, too much loans obtained from everywhere, taxation of practically everything, killings, embezzlement of resources and lies.

What will concession achieve in the end for the people of the country? Nothing but more hardship. When he talks of concession he sounds as if neutral companies are expected to take over. They have looked at opportunities and positioned their proxies and companies to take over the roads too. The result in the end will be them making the money and government fixing the roads.

When roads were concessioned during the military what was achieved? Nothing! They made the money, government fixed the roads. Cost of transportation rose as public transport increased. All roads were in very terrible shape. Concessions were revoked and Nigerians had their peace.

And by the way I noticed that Lagos - Ibadan was not included. What's the idea behind it?

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by COMPAQ(m): 5:51am On Jun 18, 2020
Maxymilliano:
But the audio concession of the Lagos - Abeokuta express road to the Lagos and Ogun State government is yet to see the light of day.

The road have never been this bad, from Tollgate in Ota, down to Ajegunle, Amje, Moshalashi, Kola, Adura , Salolo , Meiran to Obadeyi is like driving through a war ravaged highway.

Motorists using the road have encountered only misery, devastation and utter neglect. The road is currently not fit for even a country at war.

That's why if it were in private hands, the road would not be that bad. I'd rather pay N2000 toll driving from Lagos to Akure on super smooth road than driving free on a road that will take my life.

How often does each of us travel sef. Even before lockdown I hadn't been out of Lagos by road in 6months. And if the toll doesn't make financial sense for you, maybe it will help some of us stay home a bit more.

Funny thing is that many of us who travel do so for social reasons, and not economic reasons. My mother in law is from Imo state and lives in Festac. Any small thing she has gone to village, mama this Don die, mama that Don die. Meeting this, meeting that. Always telling her this plenty risk for burial is too much. Make she no go die on top another person burial.

But truth is toll won't really stop those who feel they need to travel.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by COMPAQ(m): 5:56am On Jun 18, 2020
Cantonese:
All Fashola knows how to do is big proposals and visions without end. Everything he said before and after becoming a minister have been complete lies and monumental failures. Light, roads and housing all rubbish.

All we have been suffering in this country in the last 5 years have been increase in exchange rates, too much loans obtained from everywhere, taxation of practically everything, killings, embezzlement of resources and lies.

What will concession achieve in the end for the people of the country? Nothing but more hardship. When he talks of concession he sounds as if neutral companies are expected to take over. They have looked at opportunities and positioned their proxies and companies to take over the roads too. The result in the end will be them making the money and government fixing the roads.

When roads were concessioned during the military what was achieved? Nothing! They made the money, government fixed the roads. Cost of transportation rose as public transport increased. All roads were in very terrible shape. Concessions were revoked and Nigerians had their peace.

And by the way I noticed that Lagos - Ibadan was not included. What's the idea behind it?

Roads in Nigeria have never been concessioned. What we had before were toll booths managed by government. And of course same corruption everywhere in Nigeria happened to it. Staff were chopping the money and barely remitting anything to government. Besides there was no framework that connected the revenues from the toll booths to raod repairs.

All revenues still went to consolidated revenue fund for appropriation. And then what was appropriated to road maintenance whacked again.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by COMPAQ(m): 6:02am On Jun 18, 2020
Homiesjinxbank:
The only thing in Nigeria that need privatising is PHCN..

Oga the problem with power is that the tarrif is not cost reflective. Which is why the tarrif is going up in July. Stop using power as example of privatisation gone bad, cos its not a good example because the price is regulated.

Even a bad Privatization is better than the best government ownership. Reality is that the country finance3have been ruined since babangida with massive corruption and we have barely moved forward in 40yearz. Now we will have to pay for it. I keep telling us that in the grand scheme of things and inspite of our supossed oil wealth, Nigeria is poor country.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Ferdinandu(m): 6:10am On Jun 18, 2020
Where I will have problem with someone is after running through potholes somebody will bring out his leprous hand to collect Toll from me. After all NEPA was privatised and they won't give light but exorbitant bills will always be on your doorstep each month,the companies who bought over on the agreement that they are competent and capable enough to manage and expand the network will be complaining that there is no fund for that,where is their competence then? Govt will still be wasting billions on private company. So we don't want NEPA story on our highways let them better think twice before handing out our federal highways to another set of vultures

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Vernor(m): 6:11am On Jun 18, 2020
AKswift:

Bros, this initiative is sound! Even if you cut/block government wastage, we still need private capital to drive public infrastructures in Nigeria. Here in the US, Federal highways are tolled and the yield is used to maintain the facilities.

One good thing about this initiative is its private administrative handle, which will ensure that the resource is well utilized, unlike when the FG was managing toll gates before OBJ demolished those corrupt spots that failed to remit the appropriate amount to the FG.
4 questions
1. Who pays for the maintenance?
2. How has the government help the people with the whole resources?
3. What is the duties of the government to the masses.
4. We are supposed to enjoy something from the government what do we presently enjoy from being a citizen?
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Nobody: 6:12am On Jun 18, 2020
NwaNimo1:
Toll plazas = toll gates = more taxes!

[img]https://media./images/fbaa237010385ddfb4ef3e419451cfdc/tenor.gif[/img]

Yeah taxes, governments way of keeping the masses in perpetual poverty.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Nobody: 6:13am On Jun 18, 2020
Vernor:

4 questions
1. Who pays for the maintenance?
2. How has the government help the people with the whole resources?
3. What is the duties of the government to the masses.
4. We are supposed to enjoy something from the government what do we presently enjoy from being a citizen?

Sorry , govt won't make you rich, at least not a broke one like ours. To enjoy govt you be got to be a crony and not an ordinary citizen.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Nobody: 6:17am On Jun 18, 2020
COMPAQ:

Oga the problem with power is that the tarrif is not cost reflective. Which is why the tarrif is going up in July. Stop using power as example of privatisation gone bad, cos its not a good example because the price is regulated.

Even a bad Privatization is better than the best government ownership. Reality is that the country finance3have been ruined since babangida with massive corruption and we have barely moved forward in 40yearz. Now we will have to pay for it. I keep telling us that in the grand scheme of things and inspite of our supossed oil wealth, Nigeria is poor country.

You have not answered the question, why is govt still funding a privatized entity?

Why are the new owners not doing it?

You don't know the term called crony capitalism.

When you sell your car to someone, are you still responsible for its maintenance.

Privatization of the power sector was and is a scam!

Do you have light in your area? You don't pay NEPA bills that's why you talk this thrash.

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by juman(m): 6:19am On Jun 18, 2020
We have heard this story of roads concession many times.

Nothing positive came out of it.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Naijasageblog: 6:21am On Jun 18, 2020
The SE should reject this wicked and barbaric proposal instead of working with the minister of transportation towards providing rail ways in all these routes he's talking about toll gate and weighing bridge.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Nobody: 6:24am On Jun 18, 2020
oyeb15:
Fashole is just about tax

He has to reward his cronies, how do you think these too billionaires you worship as gods make their wealth?

Why do you think they join politic?

Its not their business acumen, they enjoy patronage from governments, your taxes, your savings, your collective stupidity and ignorance fuels their wealth.

Even in lockdown their businesses are operating while commoners are lockdown.

They can travel in jets yet roads are closed.

Airports will open on the 21st yet roads remain closed, who uses jets? those that can pay between 60 to 600k per trip.

Definitely not the average citizen.

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Bimpe29: 6:24am On Jun 18, 2020
It's long overdue
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by Yabsun(m): 6:35am On Jun 18, 2020
SmartPolician:

Power is divided into 3 major segments in Nigeria: Generation, Transmission and Distribution. They only privatized Distribution. If we don't have enough power to generate, there's nothing the other 2 segments can do.

Coming to Federal road concessions, I am just ambivalent about it. It just shows that Nigerian government cannot provide motorable roads to the people without taxing them. Road is a basic infrastructure, which the people should enjoy on a silver platter.

On a second thought, I think the idea is not bad as Nigerians don't mind paying for well-maintained roads. A good example is Lekki-Ajah Expressway, which is currently tolled. That road, to the best of my knowledge, is the best among the major roads in Lagos.
Both Distribution and Generation companies were privatised. Only Transmission company (TCN) is been solely managed by government.

Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by COMPAQ(m): 6:39am On Jun 18, 2020
quentin06:

You have not answered the question, why is govt still funding a privatized entity?

Why are the new owners not doing it?

You don't know the term called crony capitalism.

When you sell your car to someone, are you still responsible for its maintenance.

Privatization of the power sector was and is a scam!

Do you have light in your area? You don't pay NEPA bills that's why you talk this thrash.

Tell me exactly what government is funding outside of Transmission Company of Nigeria, which remains with government. The generation companies and distribution companies are in private hands and government does not pay for any maintenance. Try and be better informed about the workings of the power sector.

As for why the owners aren't doing it, how can they invest if a unit of electricity costs N35 and government fixes electricity price at N27?? Does that make sense in any sector in your brain?

You are either a business man or you have a job. If your have a job, the only reason why you are paid a salary is because your MD ensures that the company sells above its cost and makes a profit.

If your are a business man, you follow the same principle, other wise no point being in business.
Re: FG To Concession Sagamu-benin, Nine Other Expressways by awa(m): 6:47am On Jun 18, 2020
Fix Enugu - Port Harcourt and Onitsha - Owerri - Aba first before the implementation of the Value Added Concession. No issue, I am okay if the road is okay and you toll it.

Peter Obi Lands In Lagos For NESG Dialogue With Presidential Candidates / Okowa Gifts State Funds To Civil Servants To Vote PDP Guber Candidate - Soyombo / N500bn Social Investment Scheme Has Failed In North –aisha Buhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 106