Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage - Family (2) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Family › Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage (3382 Views)
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by cococandy(f): 9:24am On Jun 18, 2020 |
If the new husband wants the woman and her children, what are you people fighting about? |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 9:24am On Jun 18, 2020 |
nkwuocha1:Oh, I get you now. So, a man doesn’t owe his step kids financial support or rather, he shouldn’t be forced to do it. I quite agree with this. Would we also understand with women who say they don’t owe their step-kids support? Or do we call them wicked stepmothers? While you have a strong point, we should also understand it is not this easy in the real world. I don’t think anyone would be happy being in a marriage with someone who draws the line in how they treat the step-kids. Not like it is compulsory to even re(marry). |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 9:25am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Romangalactic:Simple!As long as the bride price is paid. God forbid it!If my inlaw happens to remarry,she is going nowhere with my brother's kids. NOWHERE!If she must, the day the step dad raises his hands on my nephew or niece, I'm very sure I will spend time in jail. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Romangalactic(m): 9:26am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Mariangeles:Your turn how? Didn't I tell you that I started crushing on you after our short argument on my thread, and you type in Spanish sometimes. It's sexy. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 9:30am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Mariangeles:When you avoid Romangalactic, he will come for you more. When you face him, he will disappear and stick to throwing shades or quoting people who attack you. Typical Donstan18. ![]() |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Romangalactic(m): 9:30am On Jun 18, 2020 |
nkwuocha1:I admire your spirit brother |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 9:35am On Jun 18, 2020 |
pocohantas:In the case of the woman,in our traditional society a woman have limited say.Trust me,it's not equity at play here but it is how it is.A woman married into a family is expected to take care of all she met there,maybe not financially BUT don't maltreat them.Its only natural for the woman to love her kids more,it's human nature even for both sex. Contrary to what is being reported in the media,few times I have witnessed women who love their step kids. Infact, a lawyer in my former abode almost stripped a teacher for flogging her step-daugther. Another woman forced her husband to find his lost daughter of over 30 years.This woman singlehandedly,with the help of her brother in law traced this girl.They met her at the brink of committing suicide. So, if a woman comes into a family with step kids already, you're not forced to provide.But don't maltreat them. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Romangalactic(m): 9:35am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Mariangeles, I am not donstan. Take note please |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by cococandy(f): 9:38am On Jun 18, 2020*. Modified: 12:21pm On Jun 18, 2020 |
Ah got it. Woman? = no say. She is expected to take care of all. Man? = nah. He’s not obliged to. ![]() nkwuocha1: |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 9:40am On Jun 18, 2020 |
nkwuocha1:Okay, I get it. Man has say, woman has no say. Alright then, we won’t force the man to provide financial support. Not like I has such plans. ![]() |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by chaotik(m): 9:41am On Jun 18, 2020 |
This nuisance has no sense of comprehension. ... where was it stated that the new man should take all financial responsibility. ... have u thought of it has girl child that needs motherly guidance into adulthood and the father still pays child's support but stays with the mother and step father .... Worse off ... what if the said step father is a toy boy that moves in with them .... Open ur mind u myopic basted nkwuocha1: |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Nobody: 9:42am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Romangalactic:. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Nobody: 9:44am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Romangalactic: |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 9:44am On Jun 18, 2020 |
pocohantas:Limited say sis ![]() So if I have step kids and I remarry,my wife is NOT mandated to provide financially for them.Its not her role even for her own kids with me except she wishes to help, which will make me appreciate my luck.Again,she shouldn't maltreat any of my kids. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 9:44am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Romangalactic:Not forgetting your signature move of trying to befriend some people when the heat is on you. Everyone needs love after all...You need to always have someone to quote when you enter a thread you have nothing to contribute to, except instigate trouble. ![]() Your two accounts are on ban, you didn’t wanna look defeated by opening a third. What do you do? Fall back to your alternate. Your bitterness and pettiness has this strong odour, no one can ever beat you to it. Maybe Saucecode. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 9:45am On Jun 18, 2020 |
chaotik:This guy na big fool finally ![]() I give up! Go through my post,you must get sense finally. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 9:49am On Jun 18, 2020 |
cococandy:Limited say,read my post. Why will a woman take care of the step kids finance?For what?If she doesn't want to,no problem.Its the responsibility of the father to take care of ALL his kids from different women. It is not a man that goes into a woman's family.Its the other way round,and so she is expected to come take care of the home and NOT mandated to provide for her kids talk more step kids when the husband is alive.She can help,that's all. If a woman should marry a man with stepkids already, make she respect her self and don't make their lives unbearable.Simple! |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Romangalactic(m): 9:53am On Jun 18, 2020 |
pocohantas:False accusation is against the rules. You can use my personal life with my fiancee to insult me all you want, at least you can't shame the shameless but just don't accuse me of being someone else. Thank you |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Romangalactic(m): 9:54am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Rozz:It's not what you think babe. I'm playing with her |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by coputa(op): 9:55am On Jun 18, 2020 |
cococandy:It is not always like that,especially when the kids start coming,the step child is always at risk.some men even go to the extreme to rape their step daughter. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 9:55am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Romangalactic:Keep quiet and resist the urge to shalaye. ![]() |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by JONNYSPUTE(m): 9:57am On Jun 18, 2020 |
pocohantas:..... Not in all cases but I must agree with you on the issue of dumping them with their mum in the village.Which is very unfair to the child. If there's an issue between a man and a woman and the woman wants to remarry not putting into consideration that the child she had with the first man is still tender,and the man ie the first husband is able and willing to take care of the child by himself. The court will either ask the woman,to shelve anything about remarrying until the child comes of age or better still give the child to his father. The only circumstance the court will allow the woman go ahead and remarry with the child in her possession is if the first husband is very irresponsible and she must prove it to the court. The issue of kids must stay with the mother is based on the circumstance. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by JONNYSPUTE(m): 10:04am On Jun 18, 2020 |
cococandy:....Sis.The new husband or husband to be doesn't have a say here. The matter is between the first husband and the wife and is gonna be possible if the woman can prove the irresponsible acts of the first husband substantially. If not,the first husband might get the custody of the child. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 10:06am On Jun 18, 2020 |
JONNYSPUTE:Of course I know it is based on circumstance, that is why I added “all things being equal”. If every other factor is in place, minors should be with their mothers. Most times I have seen men take kids, they dump them with an elderly female relative. Meaning they know women will do better with caregiving, so why take the child away from the mother (a woman too)? It is all spite. In all this separation/divorce wahala, parents need to put aside their issues and understand the kids are the major victims. Whatever is best for the kids should be done. As for remarrying, I no fit o. I no fit marry Nigerian man twice. Once it is on record that I have once been married, we move. ![]() |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 10:07am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Romangalactic:These are things that tears family apart. Kids growing in environment that is questionable.The only thing I can do is for them to go on hols once a while to see their mom,step siblings and step dad.So every go get their respect. See finish no go dey...morale go dey intact.They grow up with love from both sides because the foundation started with not being thoroughly a burden on a particular side... Simple. No be say pikin go stay step father side as if he no get where him come from.Na that kind thing dey cause many psychological ills for adults when them mature. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by nkwuocha1: 10:15am On Jun 18, 2020 |
[quote author=pocohantas post=90797544]Of course I know it is based on circumstance, that is why I added “all things being equal”. If every other factor is in place, minors should be with their mothers. Most times I have seen men take kids, they dump them with an elderly female relative. Meaning they know women will do better with caregiving, so why take the child away from the mother (a woman too)? It is all spite. In all this separation/divorce wahala, parents need to put aside their issues and understand the kids are the major victims. Whatever is best for the kids should be done. As for remarrying, I no fit o. I no fit marry Nigerian man twice. Once it is on record that I have once been married, we move. [/quote]There's nothing wrong in marrying Nigeria man twice,plenty dey wey get proper sense. As you see me so, if (God forbid!), I end up with no wife and choose to remarry.I will never marry a fertile woman.I will go for a single woman in her mid forties.First,I need a companion as a wife in my old age,and a mother to my kids, But if her God make me give her belle.Good!It's her luck,and I'm sure her happiness will overshadow my skepticism.And if she didn't take in and wants a child, I will have to adopt preferably female so that she will be happy.It would definitely be sad times for her when all the step kids are grown and the house is empty. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by pocohantas(f): 10:18am On Jun 18, 2020 |
nkwuocha1:I won’t. I will just find one advanced bachelor and we would be partners for life. I can’t deal with all that “bring your kids, don’t bring your kids, mine comes first, I owe yours nothing”. Abeg! I will just stay with my kids and seek companionship. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by cooooooks(m): 10:22am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Being capable of producing spermatozoa is not all it takes to be a father. nkwuocha1: |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by JONNYSPUTE(m): 10:22am On Jun 18, 2020 |
pocohantas:....Truth is that women take care of kids better ( when they are still infants) than men but we cannot deny the fact that as the child/children grow,the men are in better position to take charge for proper guidance. In separation/ divorce problems,the judges are in better position to know who takes the custody of the kids based on the available facts presented to the court and putting into consideration the age of the child or children involved. As per remarrying after divorcing,it is not always easy. It can only take the grace of God to fined a man be it a Nigerian man or foreigner that will not bring it up oneday and remind you that your first husband divorced you due to your irresponsible or bad behaviour. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by cooooooks(m): 10:24am On Jun 18, 2020 |
Your premise is faulty. If the children are with her in her second marriage, you have to assume that the husband accepted them, at least at the onset of the marriage. thesicilian: |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by Romangalactic(m): 10:24am On Jun 18, 2020 |
nkwuocha1:It's not a situation I would want anyone to be in honestly. Even though there are times when it may very well work out in the beginning, what about later in their lives? One of my bosses married a single mother of two boys, I'm talking far back early 90s, boys are men now. Then he has two other boys and one girl from the woman after they married. Everything dey good for beginning, but it wasn't long before some little disputes here & there began to show face. His wife just jejely begged the man & they put money together and sent the two boys from her previous marriage out of Nigeria to start another life, she told them straight to comot eye totally from my boss and his wealth because they are not his biological sons, she knows how naija culture can be & she does not want trouble. No be everybody get dat kind financial capacity, most will just remain inside boiling pot until one day everything will explode. |
| Re: Is It Proper For A Woman To Take A Child(ren) Along With Her To Another Marriage by JONNYSPUTE(m): 10:24am On Jun 18, 2020 |
nkwuocha1:...My kind of man. This is how I see it. |
Is It Proper For Your Wife To Insist She Must Be Checking Your Phone Always? • Marriage: My Mother Inlaw Calls My Wife Everyday Is It Proper? • Another Marriage About To Crash. • 2 • 3 • 4
My Step Daughter Wahala!!! • Why Do Ladies Look For Rich Men To Marry? • Go Shorty! It's My Birthday! Make Some Noise-e-e-e-e-e