Stats: 3,150,305 members, 7,808,033 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 04:46 AM

Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol (56656 Views)

Iran Executes Mohammad Ghobadlou, Accused Of Running Over Police Officers / Navid Afkari: Iran Executes Wrestler Despite Global Outcry / Iran Executes Man Convicted Of Spying On General Qassem Soleimani Killed By US (2) (3) (4)

Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by SonOfALion: 2:35pm On Jul 10, 2020
Iran's Human Rights Organization (IHR) announced on Thursday, July 9, that authorities have executed a prisoner in Mashhad Central Prison for "drinking alcohol."

Citing the prisoner's attorney, the Norway-based IHR confirmed that the man was hanged early Thursday, without giving his name. Some Iranian activities on social media said his name was Morteza Jamali and he had two children.

"My client was arrested and convicted of drinking alcohol for the sixth time. Of course, there was also the issue of driving without a license and having alcohol," Hossein Habibi Shahri told IHR.

The Islamic Republic official sources have not yet confirmed or denied the news. Drinking alcohol is a crime in the clergy-dominated Iran, but executions for use of alcohol are rare. Iran is notorious for hanging drug smugglers, murderers and some political prisoners.

The execution has led to a strong backlash on Iranian social media as many users say that large corruption cases and extrajudicial killings of protesters go unpunished or end in light sentences while drinking brings the death penalty.

IHR director, Mahmood Amiry-Moghaddam, said, "With this execution, the Islamic Republic's judicial system has once again proven that its views are no different from those of ISIS."

Based on the Islamic Penal Code a defendant can face the death penalty after being arrested and punished three times for alcohol consumption. The initial punishment for drinking is usually flogging.

"This is one of the few recorded executions for drinking alcohol in Iran. Due to the lack of transparency in the Islamic Republic's judiciary, most executions in Iran are not declared officially by the authorities," IHR statement said on Thursday.

https://en.radiofarda.com/a/iran-executes-man-for-drinking-alcohol---rights-monitor/30717054.html

1 Like 3 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by tillaman(m): 2:37pm On Jul 10, 2020
Yeye dey smell!!!
Someone cannot drink in peace again abi
Drink wen I buy with my own money

182 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Simplyleo: 2:39pm On Jul 10, 2020
Is that the punishment for drinking Alcohol according to Islamic law?

207 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by shekauvsbuhari: 2:44pm On Jul 10, 2020
Amu buhari! What? Hypocrites!

82 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by gasparpisciotta: 2:44pm On Jul 10, 2020
In this situation, you will thank that angel that sent you to Nigeria.

462 Likes 27 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Flexherbal(m): 2:53pm On Jul 10, 2020
gasparpisciotta:

Lol!

97 Likes

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by EzzyCarter: 2:56pm On Jul 10, 2020
gasparpisciotta:

Hell yeah! grin grin grin

64 Likes

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by EzzyCarter: 2:56pm On Jul 10, 2020
"The initial punishment for drinking is usually flogging"

Wtf bruh? I'd be damned if I get flogged for taking a few drinks bought with my own moola grin . Why execute a man for boozing in peace??
What do I know though? The holiest race on earth has spoken grin grin ...

155 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Goldencheese(m): 2:58pm On Jul 10, 2020
That is atrocious. Wicked. Insensitive. Anti-progressive.

71 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Psalmy2cute(m): 3:00pm On Jul 10, 2020
gasparpisciotta:
you're not wrong at all.. grin I'm even more thankful I'm not born as a minority in their midst

111 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by iamJ(m): 3:02pm On Jul 10, 2020
muslims way cheesy cheesy cheesy marry plenty wife is ok but drink is bad cheesy cheesy

178 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by yanabasee1(m): 3:03pm On Jul 10, 2020
May Allah forgive them of their shortcoming and protect them through eternal life and provide them their 72virgins and have them drink all heavenly alcoholic to their satisfaction....

134 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by IJOBA2: 3:04pm On Jul 10, 2020
Simplyleo:
Is that the punishment for drinking Alcohol according to Islamic law?
IF CHIEF IMAM LIKE YOU NOR KNOW, NA WE GO COME KNOWangry ALLTHINGSGOOD
HELINUES
DEJI17
OMENKA
NETPRO
OLOMINIRA
IMAM LUCASBALO AKA ABBEBAILEY
MADRIDGUY
GOLAN007
JUST THOUGHT I SHOULD SHARE WITH MY FRIENDS.

AFTERALL WHAT ARE FRIENDS FOR grin

43 Likes

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Chelsealivepool: 3:04pm On Jul 10, 2020
Wat becus of alcohol,
NL that used to always support Iran against america I will like to give you free visa tickets to d Iran becus it is d best country to leave in d world....

36 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Cyberterror: 3:08pm On Jul 10, 2020
Isn't it time that islam should review its ban on alcohol? I see so many aboki boys smoking marijuana, inhaling all kinds of harmful chemicals, even poo, tramadol, etc what is the difference between those intoxicants and alcohol? Muslims want to get high too, shouldn't they do it in a more respectful way instead of blocking them from alcohol and letting them improvise with all kinds of rubbish that they inject into their systems?

66 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by basybasy: 3:51pm On Jul 10, 2020
SonOfALion:
Iran's Human Rights Organization (IHR) announced on Thursday, July 9, that authorities have executed a prisoner in Mashhad Central Prison for "drinking alcohol."

[img]https://images./2KgrZePICRPMBMFsPjUt3N.jpg[/img]

Citing the prisoner's attorney, the Norway-based IHR confirmed that the man was hanged early Thursday, without giving his name. Some Iranian activities on social media said his name was Morteza Jamali and he had two children.

"My client was arrested and convicted of drinking alcohol for the sixth time. Of course, there was also the issue of driving without a license and having alcohol," Hossein Habibi Shahri told IHR.

The Islamic Republic official sources have not yet confirmed or denied the news. Drinking alcohol is a crime in the clergy-dominated Iran, but executions for use of alcohol are rare. Iran is notorious for hanging drug smugglers, murderers and some political prisoners.

The execution has led to a strong backlash on Iranian social media as many users say that large corruption cases and extrajudicial killings of protesters go unpunished or end in light sentences while drinking brings the death penalty.

IHR director, Mahmood Amiry-Moghaddam, said, "With this execution, the Islamic Republic's judicial system has once again proven that its views are no different from those of ISIS."

Based on the Islamic Penal Code a defendant can face the death penalty after being arrested and punished three times for alcohol consumption. The initial punishment for drinking is usually flogging.

"This is one of the few recorded executions for drinking alcohol in Iran. Due to the lack of transparency in the Islamic Republic's judiciary, most executions in Iran are not declared officially by the authorities," IHR statement said on Thursday.

https://en.radiofarda.com/a/iran-executes-man-for-drinking-alcohol---rights-monitor/30717054.html

Lalasticlala Mynd44 OAM4J
Yeye country. All these Arab countries are useless and wicked countries. I don't even know what will carry me go there again. I went to Qatar, I left with regret.

67 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by SamJed(m): 3:53pm On Jul 10, 2020
I have noticed that most laws in Islam are basically for the middle class, less prominent or poor....the ogas at the top do their own in a convenient way......meanwhile by this same law I think the below should be hanged too

67 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Iceyjayz: 3:55pm On Jul 10, 2020
Foolish country

34 Likes 1 Share

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by HomerTimpson: 3:58pm On Jul 10, 2020
IJOBA2:
IF CHIEF IMAM LIKE YOU NOR KNOW, NA WE GO COME KNOWangry ALLTHINGSGOOD
HELINUES
DEJI17
OMENKA
NETPRO
OLOMINIRA
IMAM LUCASBALO AKA ABBEBAILEY
MADRIDGUY
GOLAN007
JUST THOUGHT I SHOULD SHARE WITH MY FRIENDS.

AFTERALL WHAT ARE FRIENDS FOR grin
Humour will not key u, TRUE FRIEND INDEED

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by DelilahMakinde(f): 4:00pm On Jul 10, 2020
So they still dey hang ppl... COVID hasn't done enough

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by Ray4raybest01(m): 4:01pm On Jul 10, 2020
Nonsense and madness,I use my money buy shayo,drink in peace u come hang me,devil punish u dere, hypocrites.

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by HomerTimpson: 4:23pm On Jul 10, 2020
SamJed:
I have noticed that most laws in Islam are basically for the middle class, less prominent or poor....the ogas at the top do their own in a convenient way......meanwhile by this same law I think the below should be hanged too
islamic law is product of human urge to execute dominance and supremacy on fellow human,sadly all this wickedness of highest order is coined and orchestrated by some unscrupulous gays and advocated by some ignorant religious fanatic

63 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by muykem: 4:43pm On Jul 10, 2020
Islam and confusion is like rice and beans. Muhammad married eleven wives but they said followers should not marry more than four.

71 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by austine4real(m): 4:44pm On Jul 10, 2020

ISLAMABAD

37 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by sageb: 4:48pm On Jul 10, 2020
This Iranian governmentt is reknown for human right abuses. I felt sad for Reyhanah's mother when her daughter Reyhanah was executed in 2013.

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by IJOBA2: 4:49pm On Jul 10, 2020
muykem:
Islam and confusion is like rice and beans. Muhammad married eleven wives but they said followers should not marry more than four.

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by anibi9674: 4:51pm On Jul 10, 2020
Hmmm, na this kind law muric they pray for to happen for Nigeria but na God go shame am

36 Likes 1 Share

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by DopeChick(m): 4:56pm On Jul 10, 2020
Alcohol kills, one way or the other.

SonOfALion:

[img]https://images./2KgrZePICRPMBMFsPjUt3N.jpg[/img]

Lalasticlala Mynd44 OAM4J

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by RealEzee(m): 5:01pm On Jul 10, 2020
Huh? On top shayo?? Haaa this one strong oooo
I need someone who's Muslim to really clarify this, it seems extreme

Re: Iran Executes A Man For Drinking Alcohol by BlackfireX: 5:23pm On Jul 10, 2020
Islam....

Tears sorrows and blood

31 Likes 3 Shares

Russian Forces Take Over Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant In Ukraine / Robert Mugabe’s 37-Year-Old Rule As Zimbabwean President In Pictures / Russian Bombing Leaves Ukraine’s Kharkiv In Ruins (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46