Stats: 3,165,767 members, 7,862,508 topics. Date: Sunday, 16 June 2024 at 06:25 PM

Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman (2283 Views)

Jeff Bezos And Wife Mackenzie Splitting After 25 Years / Amazon CEO And World Richest Man, Jeff Bezos Divorces His Wife, Mackenzie / Africa Richest Woman Alakija Shares Throwback Photo as when she was a Secretary (2) (3) (4)

Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by ednawande2580: 6:57pm On Sep 02, 2020
Jeff Bezos’ former wife MacKenzie Scott has become the world’s richest woman after Amazon shares surged amid coronavirus lockdown.

The boost comes after Amazon stocks skyrocketed off the back of the pandemic, as stay-at-home orders and closed businesses made consumers rely more on the retail giant for online orders and home deliveries.

The rise in the e-commerce giant’s stock—which has spiked from $2,000 to $3,500 per share since the beginning of 2020— has propelled Scott up the billionaires’ list.

According to the Bloomberg Billionaires Index, the philanthropist and writer is now the 12th richest person and the No. 1 wealthiest woman in the world, sitting ahead of L’Oréal heiress Françoise Bettencourt Meyers, who previously held the position.

After her 2019 divorce, Scott became the fourth-richest woman in the world, behind Bettencourt Meyers, Alice Walton of the Walmart family, and Jacqueline Badger Mars of the Mars candy empire.

Those women’s net worths have remained relatively steady, less affected by the recent surge in tech stocks.

Scott’s net worth is currently pegged at $67.4 billion. In 2019, her fortune was estimated at $36 billion based on Amazon’s share price at the time.

Scott’s new-found position at the top spot came after receiving huge divorce settlement from Amazon founder Bezos last July.

The former spouses reached a settlement, granting Scott around 19.7 million Amazon.com shares, giving her a four percent stake in the company.

Since her divorce, Scott has emerged as a prominent philanthropist. That month, she revealed details of some of her charitable commitments, totaling $1.7 billion given over the previous year.

This is a notable decision because, in contrast to many couples who make the pledge together, Scott did so independently of her former husband, who has not made the same promise.

Scott’s ex-husband continues to be the richest person in the world with a net worth of $205 billion, holding his position as number one on Bloomberg Billionaires Index.

Bill Gates is second with $126 billion to his name, followed by Mark Zuckerberg at $112 billion and Elon Musk at $110 billion.

https://www.mojidelano.com/2020/09/jeff-bezos-ex-wife-mackenzie-scott-becomes-worlds-richest-woman/

Cc Seun Lalasticlala Mynd44 MissyB3

Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by SocialJustice: 7:02pm On Sep 02, 2020
If not for divorce, Jeff should be worth almost $300b. Na wa.

Elon Musk overtook Mark yesterday. These billionaires are not joking. Elon has made $88b since January.

Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by edo3(m): 7:03pm On Sep 02, 2020
Congrats to her
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Vanzcharles(m): 7:10pm On Sep 02, 2020
After they would cry women are cheated all over the world.

She just became a billionaire over night.

Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Franktom247(m): 7:19pm On Sep 02, 2020
That Elon Musk guy na him be covid 19 gan gan his numbers keeps going up

Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by DICKstractor: 7:34pm On Sep 02, 2020
Jeff and ex wife just dey carry first anyhow
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Eryyy92: 8:19pm On Sep 02, 2020
please can someone help me explain why the networth of Elon musk keeps increasing. I thought the Corona virus pandemic affected his business considering the fact that he's mainly in to automobiles

Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by David1017(m): 9:43pm On Sep 02, 2020
He's into other things oo... Check it out
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Nobody: 9:58pm On Sep 02, 2020
Vanzcharles:
After they would cry women are cheated all over the world.

She just became a billionaire over night.
She did not become a Billionaire over night. though officially she was not declared a billionaire but as long as she was the only wife of the Richest man in the world, she was unofficially already a billionaire because her husband's money was hers.
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by NobleAngell(f): 10:02pm On Sep 02, 2020
When divorce becomes a blessing.
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Muna4real(f): 10:13pm On Sep 02, 2020
It surprises me how these wealthy people dress simple. I admire them for that. Not like my brother that said that he would sow clothes with dollars and use dollars as carpet when he becomes a billionaire grin
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by shamsin6300(m): 10:19pm On Sep 02, 2020
Vanity crew in 1,2 & 3 cheesy
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Dreek: 10:22pm On Sep 02, 2020
Please people I need your assistance with a job, I'm good with computer, I've worked as an online personnel for an organization, customer agents, I've teach and I also have experience in medical laboratory. Please help me, even if house boy I can do it, I just need to get something doing in other to get money to feed please. I'm in FCT and I can relocate if need be.
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by Mastakija(m): 10:45pm On Sep 02, 2020
Again
This ones no won gree o
All this ones na format jare
she go marry anoda client wey she come divorce dat one collect share put am join d one wey she don hammer b4

I too get Sense grin
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by BanevsJoker(m): 11:08pm On Sep 02, 2020
Notice how the richest women in the world either inherited it from a man, or got it from divorcing a man. Feminists una don off una mic abi?

Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by ashybabs(m): 11:09pm On Sep 02, 2020
awon feminist will not like this o
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by LawScribe: 11:59pm On Sep 02, 2020
Congrats to her.
Divorce here in Nigeria would most likely not have given her such huge share of hubby's assets.
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by fr3do(m): 5:50am On Sep 03, 2020
Eryyy92:
please can someone help me explain why the networth of Elon musk keeps increasing. I thought the Corona virus pandemic affected his business considering the fact that he's mainly in to automobiles

Tesla shares are what analyst call growth shares
These are shares that rise in value not because of the current performance of the company but due to investors' optimism that the company will be very profitable in the future.
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by lceyjayz(m): 5:55am On Sep 03, 2020
Muna4real:
It surprises me how these wealthy people dress simple. I admire them for that. Not like my brother that said that he would sow clothes with dollars and use dollars as carpet when he becomes a billionaire grin
African mentality
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by lceyjayz(m): 5:56am On Sep 03, 2020
BanevsJoker:
Notice how the richest women in the world either inherited it from a man, or got it from divorcing a man. Feminists una don off una mic abi?
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by soleexx(m): 5:58am On Sep 03, 2020
Eryyy92:

Space Station project
Telsa is selling like recharge card in every foreign countries
Re: Jeff Bezos’ Ex-wife Mackenzie Scott Becomes World’s Richest Woman by MANNABBQGRILLS: 6:23am On Sep 03, 2020
The wife is a billionaire is surely another Billionaire, no diggity!

Reactions As Regina Daniels Pose Braless In Recent Picture / 'i’ve Suffered’ Yul Edochie Weeps Bitterly After A Fan Accuses Him Of Spoiling H / BBNaija Nengi to Star In New Movie With Actor RMD (Photos)