Stats: 3,165,577 members, 7,861,742 topics. Date: Saturday, 15 June 2024 at 06:24 PM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (9511) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11934366 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (9508) (9509) (9510) (9511) (9512) (9513) (9514) ... (16345) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by kellycute(m): 12:55pm On Sep 18, 2020
nelszx:

That post was way before he honoured the U21s

Let's not get our hopes high, if he agrees to play for us fine. With or without playing for Nigeria he has always said he's a naijaboy
he turned down invitation to england senior team. Anyway, he is a Naijaboy.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Utonwanne(m): 1:03pm On Sep 18, 2020
kellycute:

How do you know that he really turned down English senior team?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 1:13pm On Sep 18, 2020
kellycute:
Turning down a senior team for a junior team of same country na the same na.....Revolving in same circle
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 1:16pm On Sep 18, 2020
Utonwanne:

How do you know that he really turned down English senior team?
How are we even sure he did, if he turned down senior team a logical mind would be he turn down the junior team.

Like I said whichever way his compass navigates, we'll wish him well and he'll continue being the naijaboy that he is.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero47: 1:29pm On Sep 18, 2020
Kevin Akpogunma is officially a Naija player

13 Likes 2 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Olulong(m): 1:33pm On Sep 18, 2020
MetalJigsaw:
I think he's right bro. Onazi was superb in his early years.

He was never on Wilfred's level. Maybe at the national team I'll agree buh not club wise

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 1:35pm On Sep 18, 2020
onazi was never half of the player ndidi is currently
Olulong:

He was never on Wilfred's level. Maybe at the national team I'll agree buh not club wise
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Olulong(m): 1:51pm On Sep 18, 2020
Iwobi in training. Hopefully he gets to play

2 Shares

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by charlesemeka85(m): 1:54pm On Sep 18, 2020
Bournemouth U21 coach Shaun Cooper has praised Flying Eagles midfielder Nnamdi Ofoborh following his competitive debut against Crystal Palace in the second round of the Carabao Cup on Tuesday.

Predominantly a central midfielder, the former Tottenham Hotspur youth-teamer caught the eye playing as a central defender in the win on penalties against the Eagles, preventing Chelsea loanee Michy Batshuayi, Jeffrey Schlupp and Ebere Eze from finding the net.

"I thought they both did really well. Nnamdi had a fantastic season with Wycombe last year, experiencing first-team football and winning a promotion," Cooper said to Bournemouth's official website as he assessed the performance of Ofoborh.

"He was probably a bit more ready for it in that respect, but I still thought he did really well playing on the right of a back three.

"His passing in the first half was good and as a character he is solid and reliable."

Ofoborh capped off a fine performance by scoring Bournemouth's ninth kick in the shootout.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Subzero47: 1:56pm On Sep 18, 2020
Leicester likely lineup against Burnley

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 1:59pm On Sep 18, 2020
charlesemeka85:

This is debatable bro....statistically wise(club level) ndidi has it...but national team wise..ndidi has achieved nothing...my opinion (most times he's not even dt convincing in d national colors
Trophy wise nko..nothing yet)

We all knew aw influential onazi was @ his peak in d d national colors.. D France game come to my mind wink

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elyte89: 2:00pm On Sep 18, 2020
Subzero47:
Leicester likely lineup against Burnley

Dis Perez guy no sabi anything..I wonder y d coach prefer him to oda players playing in his position.. A very boring player to watch lipsrsealed
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Kog45(m): 2:15pm On Sep 18, 2020
Olulong:

Yeah bro but national team be koko for us,forget club level.

We remember most of our players based on their performances for Super eagles.

Ndidi has not done enough in Super eagles colour to be compared to Onazi though it may sound funny but that's just the fact.

I think with time Ndidi is going to be one of the best DM to play for Super eagles

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:23pm On Sep 18, 2020
kennysville:

Thank you o jare.... darling good samaritan.
You are doin well
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:24pm On Sep 18, 2020
Danielnino00:

Una no Dy forget o shocked

Elyte89, see better record keepers grin

I know who I learnt from. You do too. grin grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Djamel(m): 2:26pm On Sep 18, 2020
nelszx:

Turning down a senior team for a junior team of same country na the same na.....Revolving in same circle

Not the same
As he's still eligible to play for Nigeria
Guess he's still thinking who to join.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by solonnachi: 2:27pm On Sep 18, 2020
MetalJigsaw:
Defender Who Just Switched Allegiance To Eagles October Friendlies

e360hubs.com Sep 18, 2020 10:35 AM

German-Born Bundesliga Defender Switched Allegiance

Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr already boasts a defence of William Troost-Ekong, Kenneth Omeruo, Leon Balogun, and Semi Ajayi, but is set to add another top defender.

Rohr has never hidden his desire to lure former Germany youth international and Hoffenheim defender Kevin Akpoguma to the Super Eagles fold.

And it appears that attempt has met with success as confirmed by the Nigeria Football Federation [NFF] president Amaju Pinnick in a chat with the Daily Sun.

“We have also resolved that anybody who wants to play for Nigeria must write to us to make some commitment,” Pinnick said.

“We don’t want to make the mistake we made in the past.

“Already, Kelvin Agboguma and one other have already written to commit their future to Nigeria.

‘’They know that Nigeria is a big country to launch anybody higher than they imagine.”

The tough-tackling centre-back was born in Neustadt to a German mother and Nigerian father and had represented hisb country of birth across various youth levels.

But the 25-year-old remained eligible to feature for the Super Eagles having never been invited to play for the German national team.

The post Rohr To Add German-Born Bundesliga Defender Who Just Switched Allegiance To Eagles October Friendlies was first published on GoalBall.

Follow us on Google news , Twitter and on

Rohr is silently but steadily moving Nigerian football forward. He may not be that big time coach we all dreamt but he is gradually accomplishing giant strides in his coaching career. I'm so happy for this switch.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:27pm On Sep 18, 2020
MetalJigsaw:
Bet why

The parameters involved in the calculation man.

Both teams we'd be playing are ranked below us, and then, friendlies don't carry as much points as competitive matches like the UNL.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 2:42pm On Sep 18, 2020
elunico:

The parameters involved in the calculation man.

Both teams we'd be playing are ranked below us, and then, friendlies don't carry as much points as competitive matches like the UNL.
Tunisia is above us not below

Only CIV are below us on the rankings

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:43pm On Sep 18, 2020
Subzero47:
Kevin Akpogunma is officially a Naija player

This news just doesn't excite me.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:45pm On Sep 18, 2020
nelszx:

Tunisia is above us not below

Only CIV are below us on the rankings

Oh! That's true.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Philosopher1979: 2:45pm On Sep 18, 2020
elunico:

Why
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:48pm On Sep 18, 2020
charlesemeka85:

Half? That's you exaggerating. Onazi was decent at Lazio then. Ndidi hasn't really wowed in with consistent top class performance in the GWG.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by elunico: 2:50pm On Sep 18, 2020
Philosopher1979:

Why

He's not clearly better than the players we have playing same position currently.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Karlovich: 2:51pm On Sep 18, 2020
Ahead of the start of the Bundesliga some of Nigeria eligible players to watch out for during the course of the season:

Felix Agu- Werder Bremen
Anthony Ujah- Union Berlin
Jordan Torunarigha- Hertha Berlin
Noah Bazee - Augsburg
Felix Uduokhai - Augsburg
Ademola Lookman- Leipzig
Kingsley Ehizibue- Cologne
Keanan Bennetts- Monchengladbach
Kevin Akpoguma- Hoffenheim
Joshua Zirkzee- Bayern Munich

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 2:54pm On Sep 18, 2020
elyte89:

This is debatable bro....statistically wise(club level) ndidi has it...but national team wise..ndidi has achieved nothing...my opinion (most times he's not even dt convincing in d national colors
Trophy wise nko..nothing yet)

We all knew aw influential onazi was @ his peak in d d national colors.. D France game come to my mind wink

Statistically, at national team level,Ndidi has done well too....
Maybe we don't notice his efforts much because he is being paired with Etebo...
Etebo doesn't have a free role in the team so he is occasionally taking over Ndidi role .

At least Onazi had a better understanding with Mikel..
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by nelszx: 2:56pm On Sep 18, 2020
elunico:

Not the player we need
He's not better than what we have
A Felix or Jordan would have excited me more
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Olulong(m): 3:03pm On Sep 18, 2020
nelszx:

Not the player we need

The news said and "one other", maybe Felix or Jordan is the other, only time Will tell
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by tbaba1234: 3:07pm On Sep 18, 2020
nelszx:

Not the player we need

Jordan is also on his way. Uduokhai will join a bit later

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 3:09pm On Sep 18, 2020
nelszx:

Was already part of the junior team way before he became a first team player at arsenal, so rejecting them this past window no go make sense
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 3:11pm On Sep 18, 2020
charlesemeka85:
I agree, they don't call Ndidi double engine for nothing

(1) (2) (3) ... (9508) (9509) (9510) (9511) (9512) (9513) (9514) ... (16345) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Mujtahida, hstar, shawwal1(m), Joebie, daveP(m), Goke7 and 7 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34