Stats: 3,153,699 members, 7,820,443 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 02:53 PM

20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass - Education (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass (29442 Views)

Dangote Hires 15 Foreign Professors For Kano University / Ada Peter, Evans Osarobuohien, Roland Tolulope Loto, Professors In Their 30s / List Of First Nigerian Professors In Various Disciplines (2) (3) (4)

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by AlphaT1(m): 9:27am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:
You people don't understand the politics playing out in Benue state.The examination is a game plan to put another tiv man as a VC in BSU.

The governor is a biased triabalist we all know.Building house's for his chief and ignoring another.

They should continue. You can all see the reason why Benue state will remain backward.

The idoma people are been neglected, we all know they are the smart ones in the state.

My brother leave this tribal sentiment thing. In as much as I don't support what the Tivs are doing (in terms of over-dominance in the state), I don't think Idomas are any better. We have a leadership problem in Benue state that cuts across all the tribes there. Was David Mark not the Senate President for 8 years, has anything changed in otukpo? The roads in Otukpo are in a comatose state...The Tivs point same accusing fingers at the Idomas (David mark) for hijacking federal appointments and recruitment into federal agencies! The counter accusations go on and on and on....leaving the poor masses to continue suffering.
Instead of the "foolish'' youth in the sate to come together and reason beyond tribal lines, to see how they can displace those "oldmen" and take over the leadership....they (youth) are towing the same tribal route. Quite unfortunate!

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by LukasPodolski: 9:29am On Oct 09, 2020
flyingpig:
Quota system professors grin
Professors wey dey teach with Hausa language.
oponun, shey nah Hausa people dey Benue state?

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by NigeriaB(m): 9:30am On Oct 09, 2020
They will never give it to Omudu Agbo because he is an idoma man..

An idoma man has never been the VC of BSu

An idoma person has never been the governor of Benue

Only few idoma students are offered medicine and surgery in the college of health sciences..

Pathetic!!!!

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Gordieshegz(m): 9:31am On Oct 09, 2020
MalaikaEH:
There is another angle to the matter.

A professor is a professor in a particular area of study: not in all fields. For instance, if a professor of Physics sets questions for a professor of Philosophy, the Professor of Philosophy is likely to fail woefully. The same thing will happen when the Professor of Philosophy sets questions for that of Physics.

The exams would have been on general knowledge and governance. I doubt if it could have been centered on a certain profession.

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by BennyDGreat: 9:35am On Oct 09, 2020
MalaikaEH:

A professor is a professor in a particular area of study: not in all fields. For instance, if a professor of Physics sets questions for a professor of Philosophy, the Professor of Philosophy is likely to fail woefully. The same thing will happen when the Professor of Philosophy sets questions for that of Physics.

The exam could be based on management of a University. The Vice Chancellor is a manager of resources being allocated to the institution. If you lack management skill, you can't be a successful Vice Chancellor

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by IVORY2009(m): 9:40am On Oct 09, 2020
MalaikaEH:

Lolzzzzz this is not an excuse, a professor should be well verse in all aspects of academic studies, that is reason he or she is called a professor.

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by powalez: 9:40am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:
You people don't understand the politics playing out in Benue state.The examination is a game plan to put another tiv man as a VC in BSU.

The governor is a biased triabalist we all know.Building house's for his chief and ignoring another.

They should continue. You can all see the reason why Benue state will remain backward.

The idoma people are been neglected, we all know they are the smart ones in the state.

Na that smart go kill you
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by tioyoung(m): 9:41am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:

If d idoma people are the wise ones why then are they refusing the exam.
My guy u have nothing to say abeg.
Nigerian univesities with thier copy nd paste lectures nd professors

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by AbuAeesha: 9:42am On Oct 09, 2020
it's not surprise to see some lecturer not able to answer some questions they set for students,this is a proof.
wen profs dey fail exam wetin remain again
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by emapeteum(m): 9:44am On Oct 09, 2020
The university has ridicule her Professors. Why setting exams for professors? Who will mark it? Under what field were these questions set? Einstein was good in maths /physics but failed in language. Let's stop showing how backward we are to the international community.

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by AbuAeesha: 9:44am On Oct 09, 2020
Kendumazy:
This does not really make sense. Setting exams for 20 years experience and 3 years experience VC. The question cannot tally based on their experience naaw. To all those who failed, i don't consider them failed. I consider them cunningly removed.
issokay,
so u think the examiners wouldn't have taken such issues into consideration while setting the questions?
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by toprealman: 9:46am On Oct 09, 2020
What's the news here?
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Realtalk20: 9:46am On Oct 09, 2020
MalaikaEH:

This is a promotion exam to be vc. Next time shut up if you don't understand a topic . Stick to romance section or topics about cooking that's where you should be.

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by edoairways: 9:47am On Oct 09, 2020
MalaikaEH:

Exactly! They already have their preferred candidate

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by ejimatic: 9:47am On Oct 09, 2020
phylshan:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/thenationonlineng.net/bsu-vc-race-seven-dons-pass-exam/amp/
. You are a professor in your own field.Professor Sole Soyinka will fail an exam in Anatomy because he is not a specialist in medicine.So if an exam is set for professors. it will contain general field and administration competency.Many professors in Nigeria are packaged to be professors .Masters degree holders are better than many of our professors.
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by garfield1: 9:48am On Oct 09, 2020
fergie001:

They should have withdrawn.
Why set examinations for Professors in the selection for VC'ship?
The Professors who even wrote the exam don't know their worth @ all.
I doubt if they know what they Profess in the first place.

It is obviously skewed to favour someone.

What other method should have been used
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by edoairways: 9:49am On Oct 09, 2020
Kendumazy:
This does not really make sense. Setting exams for 20 years experience and 3 years experience VC. The question cannot tally based on their experience naaw. To all those who failed, i don't consider them failed. I consider them cunningly removed.
Yeah
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by fergie001: 9:50am On Oct 09, 2020
garfield1:

What other method should have been used
The usual method that is used.

Usually, they have a stipulated amount of years you must have been a Professor....In most senior institutions...at least 10years as a Professor

Number of scholarly publications

How you can draw grants etc....

Submit your CV...score you based on that...then interview...then pick top 3.

Who sets an exam for a Professor?
Scripts marked by Professors are not even reviewed to start with.
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by edoairways: 9:50am On Oct 09, 2020
Confirmedzombie:
This is not supposed to be a topic. There is no way all can pass.

If all profs pass the exams who then will they select.

Nigerians always see everything as an avenue to talk.

There are processes in selection and the best 7 selected.

Also out of the best 7 only one person will be the VC
Interview would have been better as it is least bias
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Kyase(m): 9:54am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:

I can understand the part where you said, the examination is a pure politics to put a tiv man as the coming vc, in fact I asked the same question the last time, why an idoma won't be allow to be vc
But the part where you say, the idomas are the smartest, got me laughing, dude like seriously.
I have never seen a brilliant idoma boy or girl in my life.
I did my secondary school in benue, I was in the same class with many idoma peps, none could smell the tivs performance (I'm not saying they don't have smart or intelligent ones)
I also met some idomas in the higher institution in kaduna, those ones sef I no go talk their mata.
As it's known, in the whole of the middlebelt, the tivs are the educationists

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by arent88(m): 9:55am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:

you are no different from the governor you are accusing of been a tribalist. are the idomas the only ethnic group in Benue aside the tivs, so the igedes don't matter. when u guys allow an igede man to become a senator in the zone the both of you share, then we can have a conversation abt what is fair or not. all of you are bloody tribalist

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by psucc(m): 9:56am On Oct 09, 2020
Please someone should post sample of the question paper. I want to attempt answering them.
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Ruiz90: 9:57am On Oct 09, 2020
SmartProf:
They weren't Smart Profs. These types have no reasonable papers in high impact factor indexed journals. I won't be surprised if their professorship were given just to increase the number of professors in their various departments to ensure their departments scale NUC accreditation. These ones retire from the university without presenting any inaugural lecture. They only want to be VC to loot and have a chance to announce elections results as returning officers.

Nawa o grin grin

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Kyase(m): 9:58am On Oct 09, 2020
DennisEche:
TIV PEOPLE AND MUMU POLITICS, THE VC POSITION IN BSU HAS ALWAY BEEN LIKE THEIR BIRTH RIGHT
Go kill yourself.

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Kyase(m): 10:02am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:
My brother ,your advice is noted.

Its really disheartening to know that some people are second class in their own state.If you know the history of Benue state well you will know that since 1999 till date,no idoma man have smelt the government house.

Even common VC of a university is not an option.
The governor is using government money to built structures for a particular traditional leader,ignoring another.

My point is there should be a fair share in distribution of social amenities and political appointments in a state.Civil service inclusive.

Ortom is a big f.. someone not qualified to be even a school principal, but forget politics.
When Prof ugba and young alhaji that year contested for the seat, the idoma people where the ones that gave the pdp the seat.
The deal then was after Prof ugba, the idoma will be next under ACN

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Kyase(m): 10:03am On Oct 09, 2020
frog12:
dis dem TIV NAMES are funny. Verlumun, Iorpanuu...

which PLANET dem come from?

What's your concern?

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Nobody: 10:04am On Oct 09, 2020
crossfm:

Mate you are 100% correct. I looked at the names that passed and they were almost all tiv. I just smiled and thought who are these ones deceiving? I have worked in many states in Nigeria, but in Benue State there is the worst tribalism you can find anywhere. As long as this tribalism continues Benue State will be (perhaps) the most backward state in Nigeria.
Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Kyase(m): 10:06am On Oct 09, 2020
AlphaT1:

My brother leave this tribal sentiment thing. In as much as I don't support what the Tivs are doing (in terms of over-dominance in the state), I don't think Idomas are any better. We have a leadership problem in Benue state that cuts across all the tribes there. Was David Mark not the Senate President for 8 years, has anything changed in otukpo? The roads in Otukpo are in a comatose state...The Tivs point same accusing fingers at the Idomas (David mark) for hijacking federal appointments and recruitment into federal agencies! The counter accusations go on and on and on....leaving the poor masses to continue suffering.
Instead of the "foolish'' youth in the sate to come together and reason beyond tribal lines, to see how they can displace those "oldmen" and take over the leadership....they (youth) are towing the same tribal route. Quite unfortunate!

Damn brother, thank you.
You have said it all.

Re: 20 Benue State University Professors Fail VC Examination, 7 Pass by Omezif(m): 10:06am On Oct 09, 2020
Imagine the numbers that can't pass exam and they have frofessor title.

FGC Nise: Students Use Maggot-Infested Toilets - Parents Petition Minister / Auchi Poly Bans Cars Belonging To Students From Entering Campus / List Of Nigeria Universities & Polytechnic With Their School Fees

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55