Stats: 3,327,692 members, 8,432,130 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 June 2026 at 10:38 AM

Tundebabzy's Posts

Nairaland ForumTundebabzy's ProfileTundebabzy's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 13 pages)

Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 1:25pm On Jan 23, 2017
Hello house. Please recommend a good energy meter that I can use to estimate my power usage and build an appropriately sized system
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 8:17am On Jan 18, 2017
chris81964:
Lithium is available. They cost a bit
I'm also dying to know where to buy as Lithium ion is by far more superior than lead acid
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 8:07am On Jan 18, 2017
Prince081:
Hello house, I want to start buying NTB with N600k. Is this possible as it seems the minimum is N1m
What bank is that sir? Apart from investment banks like Standard Chartered which generally deal with high net worth accounts, the minimum is 100k.

Do yourself a favour. Shoot an email to the banks customer care address from their website asking about the procedure for buying treasury bills. You'll get the truth there. But if it's any of Diamond bank, first bank, skye bank, stanbic ibtc bank, GTBank and zenith bank, the minimum is 100k. For Diamond bank and skye bank, just draft a letter informing them to buy bills for you and take it to the customer care officer.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 7:06am On Jan 12, 2017
Redalez:
Do you mean we should invest a lot? Or we should chose higher rates? I want to bid at 17.33 % for 182 days to play it safe this coming auction. Do you think this is a good idea?
Just think of it as buying for a long time. Long position actually means buying investment with anticipation that it will increase in value in the future.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 2:31pm On Jan 07, 2017
ladg:
please house..,can I cancel my TB account? its maturing date is around April...but I want to use the money for some other things..is it possible?
It's possible. For Skye bank, you will need to find someone willing to buy the whole lot for the remainder of the tenor of your bills at the exact rate you bought it. Just call your bank and they might be able to work something out for you.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 11:06pm On Jan 05, 2017
I asked Diamond bank to bid for me. After seeing my debit alert, my calculations show they were spot on @17.5% for 182 days
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 10:30pm On Jan 05, 2017
taddat:
Please, what's the minimum you can invest in Treasury Bill? I'm a student and i'm interested
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 12:35am On Dec 20, 2016
Kentrasso:
I'm at the bank and the customer service person is saying I can't buy for N100,000 only 1M and above.
Is this true
Short story - na lie! Long story:
Diamond bank told me the same thing. I sent a mail to the customer care email on their website and they replied that the minimum is 100k.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 12:30am On Dec 20, 2016
Kentrasso:
I'm at the bank and the customer service person is saying I can't buy for N100,000 only 1M and above.
Is this true
Diamond bank told me the same thing. I sent a mail to the customer care email on their website and they replied that the minimum is 100k.
PropertiesRe: Turn your small land to a very profitable Business (cooking gas plant) #PICTURES by tundebabzy: 9:29am On Dec 14, 2016
Good morning. Presently, what's the price for a 5 tonne plant?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 12:54pm On Nov 21, 2016
hazelj:
Items still available...
You did not drop any means of contact
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 8:06pm On Nov 19, 2016
ozymes:
@ kokbongo @ tunene66 @ tundebabzy recall i stated that i did 14% for 91 days and the stop rate was 13.99%? Well,Well,Well i was debited last night as successful. Any ideas whata gwan?
I think possibly your bank didn't use your specified rate. Ask your account officer.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 7:19am On Nov 19, 2016
hazelj:
Hello all,
I am putting up my whole solar power system up for sale. It was setup and installed by Richmon74.
The components are as follows:
4 255W Solarworld Mono panels
Morningstar MPPT 60Amp Charge controller
2 12v 160aH Fullriver Batteries virtually brand new (installed July 2016)
1 Sukam inverter 24v 1.4Kva
It comes with a stainless steel roof mount and battery rack.
Cables and connectors are bundled free of charge.

Total cost 470k if bought as a bundle.

This is an excellent deal as this setup will cost almost twice this to implement brand new.
Reason for selling is relocation.
Was not in the country for 2 months so the batteries have been floating since.

Would prefer to sell this as a unit.
I'm interested in buying as a unit.
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 10:34am On Nov 17, 2016
ozymes:
Hello house i did 14% for 91 days and the stop rates seem to be 13.99% . What are my chances? Any ideas plzzzz?
I also put 14.0% for 91 day. No chance at all. Watch the economic news for the next few days to know what bid to prepare for the next auction.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 2:25pm On Nov 16, 2016
GeorgeD1:
dicksonadams,

you can use the regular philips pressing iron. but make sure it's one of the modern type.
i use mine with my inverter regularly and have found it to be very economical in terms of power draw.
once the element gets hot, the thermostat cuts off and it hardly cuts in again except intermittently
for few seconds at a time.
Yes. I think a low wattage iron would help. If your bank is not very big, try to iron in the day time. (take with a pinch of salt)
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 6:24am On Nov 15, 2016
Ihavespoken:
With the results from the last Auction on the amount raised by the CBN, we would expect the rates to skyrocket (this will not be drastic as the CBN has so many borrowing channels).

For example , CBN only managed to raise
22 Billion out of expected 45 Billion for 91days Auction.
18 Billion out of expected 23 Billion for 182 days Auction.
46 Billion out of expected 54 Billion for 364 days Auction.

These figures implies that CBN NTB was nearly 30% underfunded at the last Auction. The reasons are probably due to unattractive interest rates, competition from MMM.

The CBN will try to gain back more investors by maintaining competitive interest rates, shutting down MMM grin

Therefore we expect higher interest rates going forward.
I think 15% will sail through for 91 days. Yes?
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 9:43pm On Nov 14, 2016
With the increased inflation I think it's safe to stick with last auction rates or maybe even go a little bit higher. What do you guys think?
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 10:55pm On Nov 12, 2016
zub:
Please when is the next bidding? And how good is firstbank?
November 17
InvestmentRe: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by tundebabzy: 9:40pm On Nov 07, 2016
vacanci:
Thanks Oga Feelamong. Please i have a question

What is the difference between doing it with a commercial bank and these investment houses. What happens with my investment if the investment houses no longer operates. can i trust them the same level as commercial banks?
If you should be worried about anyone packing up, it would be the federal government of Nigeria not your bank or investment bank. With treasury bills, you are lending directly to FGN.

As for the difference between buying from bank and investment house, the significant difference would be in minimum investment requirements and service charges however take this with a pinch of salt as I'm kinda guessing.
AgricultureRe: Hidden Truths About Catfish Business!!! by tundebabzy: 3:26am On Nov 04, 2016
anyiway:
My pond has no roof. Will the direcf sunlight affect my fishes negatively? Please advise.
It makes it easy for algae to bloom in your pond. Algae is not desirable because during the day they will release oxygen but at night they will compete with your fish for valuable oxygen in your pond causing your fish growth to suffer because of the reduced DO levels.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 8:58pm On Oct 26, 2016
Dreamflyin:
At 12.00 noon, both PWMs harvests around 24amps(12amps individually).
Explain what you mean by undersized wires, please.
You can visualize this by using a 10,000l water tank filled to the brim with water. If put it on your roof and then connect a pipe with the same diameter of a pencil to it, you are going to have water coming out in trickles (low pressure) at the end of the pipe. By the time the water level in the tank is low, the water pressure will further reduce. If you want the water to come out with sufficient force, you will need to connect a pipe with a wide enough diameter. But even then, when the water level is low, the pressure will reduce.

This is the same way electricity passes through a wire. Charge is the water in the tank, current is the flow of water and pressure at the end of the pipe is the voltage. If your pipe (wire) is undersized (not wide and thick enough) and you have a really big filled up tank at a high enough height (charge), the flow (current) will not just be low but you risk having a leaking pipe (voltage loss) or a burst pipe (fire outbreak).

I hope that helps.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 3:56pm On Oct 25, 2016
Dreamflyin:
How much can a 80amp mppt harvest at full sun? My PWMs are doing maximum of 20amps.
It depends on temperature, cloud effect, irradiance, cast shadows, dirt on the surface of the panels. In general you should be able to harvest up to 3 times the harvest from PWM
AgricultureRe: Agric/grains Commodity Purchase/storage by tundebabzy: 8:44pm On Oct 20, 2016
@olayimikami I just made contact
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 2:36pm On Oct 20, 2016
AgricultureRe: Agric/grains Commodity Purchase/storage by tundebabzy: 10:14am On Oct 20, 2016
Please forgive my ignorance but what is pchat? huh
AgricultureRe: Agric/grains Commodity Purchase/storage by tundebabzy: 10:00am On Oct 19, 2016
@olayimikami
My battery is almost dead from refreshing this page since yesterday. Sir, abeg continue the flow
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 11:22pm On Oct 16, 2016
Hello all,
I need advice from the house.

I (regret that) I purchased a 12v tripplite inverter in 2014. I now want to go head on into solar.

I wish to power a load of 1.784kwh targeting 50% DOD for my batteries with 1 day autonomy. From my calculations, I'll need battery capacity of 297ah. I also calculated under ideal conditions, I'll need a cc of minimum of 59.5a and modules of 713.6w to juice up the batteries.

Estimated consumption: 1784wh
@50% DOD: 297.3ah (2 200ah batteries)
Hours of sunlight: 5
Min Charge controller size: 59.4a
Solar modules: 713.6w

In the future I plan to get a bigger inverter and more modules. By the time I get a bigger higher voltage inverter, will it be better to leave my present installation and let the new inverter power the remaining load? Considering that this is a small installation and how expensive MPPT cc is, should I go for an PWM CC instead of MPPT? I want an option that is scalable and cost effective.

I look forward to your candid advice. Help a brother not to make a costly mistake.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 10:59am On Oct 13, 2016
oneshowguy:
Long Battery the official vendor to Schneider electric has officially launched its batteries into nigeria at the just concluded power nigeria exhibition.
limited units of sample orders now available for your POC

Nominal Capacity: 12v 200Ah
80% DOD:550 cycles.
weight: 62kg
warranty:1 year
Sir, what's the price?
ProgrammingRe: I Don't Need Math by tundebabzy: 1:50pm On Sep 16, 2016
Transformations in matrices is just like saying functions in algebra. Spans, null space, matrix addition and multiplication, vectors, alternate coordinate systems are part of matrices.
ProgrammingRe: I Don't Need Math by tundebabzy: 2:14pm On Sep 15, 2016
KvnqPrezo:
So what mathematics topics do we need..
First of all, matrices - transformations, null space, etc.
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 2:08pm On Sep 15, 2016
Hi all, I have a question.

Electricity from solar seems pretty inefficient to me. Panels supply DC, inverter converts To AC and excess to DC. When panels are not supplying power, inverter converts DC back to AC.

If I want to use only DC gadgets in my house or a hybrid where all my lights are to be fed by DC with dedicated points for any battery charging also fed by DC, pumping machine fed by DC then the rest of the house fed by AC, what options do I have?
Satellite TV TechnologyRe: Solar Energy, A Complement To FTA by tundebabzy: 1:31pm On May 24, 2016
babniyen:
Dear House, Thanks for a very informative and vibrant house.

I am currently challenged (my first one) with a project that i have calculated that the consumption of the house is 20,300 Ah per day. All my calculations seem to be going off the charts.

Gurus please assist me in sizing this setup with a 24 v inverter.

Thanks ....
Did you mean 20,300Wh ? That's huge. Maybe you'll get more help if you show your workings because 20,300Wh is off the charts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 13 pages)