Stats: 3,153,440 members, 7,819,622 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 07:22 PM

Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 (13565 Views)

Newcastle United Vs Manchester United (3 - 3) On 12th January 2016 / Newcastle United Vs Chelsea (2 - 2) On 26th September 2015 / Newcastle United Vs Arsenal (0 - 1) On 29th August 2015 (2) (3) (4)

Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 1:23am On Dec 29, 2012
The “wee club from the North East” - to quote an angry Sir Alex Ferguson - have endured a topsy-turvy season to date and no game showcased that more than the one against United. With fine firepower from the likes of Demba Ba and Papiss Demba Cisse, they crumbled in defence against a United onslaught and could not hold on.

In part, they are suffering from the achievements of last season when they finished 5th and rewarded manager Alan Pardew with an eight-year contract. This season, Newcastle are 10 points worse off than they were at this point last year and the last time they had fewer points after 19 games in the top-flight was 1988-89 (17). They were relegated at the end of that campaign.

Relegation talk is a little premature but, with the distraction of the Europa League causing a lack of focus domestically, results have to turn around quickly if they are to rise from 15th place. Unfortunately, Jonas Gutierrez (knee) has joined fellow midfielders Yohan Cabaye (groin) and Hatem Ben Arfa (hamstring), as well as central defender Steven Taylor (hamstring), on the sidelines which may suggest this game may not be the place to start.

Arsenal, meanwhile, have also had a tough season, although are beginning to see the shoots of recovery and have won their last three Premier League games. Despite their recent boost they haven’t won back-to-back league games at home since April and have only picked up a win in four of their last 11 at the Emirates, but the tale of the tape sees a huge home advantage as Newcastle have won just one of their last ten against Arsenal (W1 D5 L4).

Perhaps the greatest hope for the Toon lies in the fact that the Gunners have had a player sent off in three of their last four Premier League games against them. Arsene Wenger’s men are in good form, will be fully fit and have little injury news to report, but complacency has been seen in the red half of North London already this year and Wenger will be at pains to ensure they start 2013 in the best possible shape.

Arsenal player to watch: Jack Wilshere. The heartbeat of Arsenal now, Wilshere gave the club some Christmas cheer by announcing that he would sign a new contract. Playing as a true box-to-box midfielder, despite the presence of the No. 10 on his back, Wilshere was missed badly during his period of long recovery and now looks like he is approaching his best again. A real inspiration both in attack and defence, he is as committed as anyone in the league and his leadership skills are more valuable than anything else.

Newcastle player to watch: Demba Ba. When quizzed about a possible January transfer, the Senegal international was not exactly keen to hide the fact he liked one of the clubs he was being linked to, saying: “Arsenal are one of those teams who makes you dream.” A dream start to life in Newcastle has made Ba one of the most coveted strikers in England and his haul of goals this season is coupled with the fact that he has a £7.5 million release clause in his contract. A strong showing against the Gunners and he may just persuade Arsene Wenger to part with some cash.

Key Battle: Mikel Arteta vs. Cheik Tiote: A clash in the middle of the park contains two of the most important players for their clubs. Arteta has been the backbone of the Gunners’ midfield and brings some much needed experience to a key area; Tiote’s tackling and commitment ensures that no team leaves a game against the Toon without feeling it. Arteta’s creativity will need to trump Tiote’s ball-winning if Arsenal are to take control of the game on home turf, but the Ivorian (and perhaps even Arsene Wenger) will still have flashbacks about the equaliser in the epic 4-4 back in 2011.

Trivia: Newcastle were Arsenal’s opponents in their first ever league game, a 2-2 draw on September 2, 1893

Stats: Newcastle have played the highest proportion of long passes this season (17%), while Mikel Arteta has made an average of 87 passes per game this season, more than any other player.

http://espnfc.com/en/preview/345675/preview.html?soccernet=true&cc=3888
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by luvola(m): 8:18am On Dec 29, 2012
arsenal to lose this one...gbam
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by aieromon(m): 6:01pm On Dec 29, 2012
If you didn't wish me well on Wednesday, I'm here to keep you company.
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:27pm On Dec 29, 2012
phew no ramsey in the starting 11 grin e dey kampe for bench embarassed

kos replaces per . . cool
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:28pm On Dec 29, 2012
aieromon: If you didn't wish me well on Wednesday, I'm here to keep you company.
ta! waka cool
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:30pm On Dec 29, 2012
game on!!
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by ajasa4link: 6:30pm On Dec 29, 2012
luvola: arsenal to lose this one...gbam

dey there dey dull....
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by fredoooooo: 6:30pm On Dec 29, 2012
mukina2:
ta! waka cool

the only egg in my role , otherwise i will jst be only pof pof , howdy ?how today go be ? grin grin grin grin grin grin

greetings from RVP grin grin grin grin
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:31pm On Dec 29, 2012
nice run jacky . .and ox urghhhh angry
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:33pm On Dec 29, 2012
cum on guys
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:33pm On Dec 29, 2012
fredoooooo:

the only egg in my role , otherwise i will jst be only pof pof , howdy ?how today go be ? grin grin grin grin grin grin

greetings from RVP grin grin grin grin
grin grin grin grin grin
you nor well
halo fredokovitch grin

aww see my Titi kiss kiss
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:34pm On Dec 29, 2012
argh baks . .game on boys !! i am loving this cheesy
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:34pm On Dec 29, 2012
oh o carzola y na,cros am wel
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:36pm On Dec 29, 2012
Gibbs r u mad
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:37pm On Dec 29, 2012
OX r u mad
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by mukina2: 6:37pm On Dec 29, 2012
hhahahah who get that black and white bird? grin
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by fredoooooo: 6:37pm On Dec 29, 2012
mukina2:
grin grin grin grin grin
you nor well
halo fredokovitch grin

aww see my Titi kiss kiss

wetin .... i dey jor grin
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:37pm On Dec 29, 2012
ref until dey break him leg abi....lets go der
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:40pm On Dec 29, 2012
kos u high bobo,whic kind pas b dat?
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by omodapson(m): 6:40pm On Dec 29, 2012
Let's do it guys...
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:41pm On Dec 29, 2012
newcastle freekick
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:42pm On Dec 29, 2012
nyc pas carzola,god na e save u goal kepa
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by luvola(m): 6:42pm On Dec 29, 2012
mukinat na me and u today.. Shebi u dey laff me when liverpool lost to stoke city.. I swear if arsenal win this match i go sell my papa house for lagos give charity... Pakam
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by BabaAlabi: 6:45pm On Dec 29, 2012
luvola: mukinat na me and u today.. Shebi u dey laff me when liverpool lost to stoke city.. I swear if arsenal win this match i go sell my papa house for lagos give charity... Pakam
Lolz...just go dey prepare the papers
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:45pm On Dec 29, 2012
15min play
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by fredoooooo: 6:47pm On Dec 29, 2012
ba let the ball come down now
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:47pm On Dec 29, 2012
tank God o na off
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by fredoooooo: 6:49pm On Dec 29, 2012
wheelchair don turn to maradona ? grin
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Shuen: 6:49pm On Dec 29, 2012
luvola: mukinat na me and u today.. Shebi u dey laff me when liverpool lost to stoke city.. I swear if arsenal win this match i go sell my papa house for lagos give charity... Pakam
Hope d house was not among those burnt recently?just joking
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:50pm On Dec 29, 2012
goal walcott
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by fredoooooo: 6:50pm On Dec 29, 2012
walcot score
Re: Arsenal Vs Newcastle United (7 - 3) On 29th December 2012 by Adufaye(m): 6:50pm On Dec 29, 2012
nice pas podoski

West Ham Vs Chelsea (0 - 1) On 4th March 2015 / Arsenal Re-signs Flamini / Arsenal Vs Watford -(3 - 2) On 26th July 2020