Stats: 3,152,944 members, 7,817,771 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 07:14 PM

Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? (19961 Views)

Nigerians Went To The Chinese Supermarket In Abuja To Confirm / Help! 500k Was Moved From My Brothers Account After ATM swallowed his card / UBA Bans The Use Of ATM For Some Transaction Such As Betting And Many Others (2) (3) (4)

Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by NaijaMutant(f): 3:55pm On Feb 19, 2022
I stumbled on a thread where a robot was used as a waiter, then a Nairalander commented saying despite the all the years ATM has been in operation, both tested and trust, still Nigerians count their cash after dispensary.

I am one of them grin

I still do not trust the ATM to dispense accurately. Once bitten, twice shy.

Why in school, I've been once short paid by the ATM. I withdrew 3,000 Naira but it dispensed 2,500 Naira

As little as little as the money may sound, it meant a lot to me then.

Ever since, I dey count my money to confirm grin

Share your experience

52 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by richeeyo(m): 3:57pm On Feb 19, 2022
Funniest thing is if your money no complete
You no fit hold the machine responsible

241 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by NaijaMutant(f): 3:59pm On Feb 19, 2022
richeeyo:
Funniest thing is if your money no complete
You no fit hold the machine responsible

I learnt you can lodge a complaint to the bank

96 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by illicit(m): 4:01pm On Feb 19, 2022
Yes

Sometimes it issues condemned notes

It happened to me
I went inside the bank to complain and they changed it

89 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Hadone(m): 4:24pm On Feb 19, 2022
There is the need to immediately count your money, and I'm commenting based on experience. My story is that I remembered a day when I withdrew N10,000 from a popular bank in Jimeta-Yola. The machine rather dispensed a mixture of both genuine and fake currency. I immediately moved inside the bank with my transaction receipt and surrendered the money dispensed by their machine. They verified my transaction and immediately substituted the fake notes with genuine currency

99 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Flamees(m): 5:12pm On Feb 19, 2022
I don't think so
At least for security reasons
Imagine counting 200k cash in front of First bank atm at Onitsha Main market

It depends on the Amount you're withdrawing

125 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Smartgeek(m): 5:12pm On Feb 19, 2022
There is a need. No machine is 100% efficient. For that sole reason, just count to confirm you got the right amount of notes. If one is short-changed, you can lay a complaint for further investigation and resolution.

27 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Stephen0mozzy: 5:13pm On Feb 19, 2022
Unless you're hoping to return a bad note to the banking hall after the atm gives you, nor even bother....plus it's unlikely that you'll be short paid, and NEVER OVERPAID

14 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by NaijaMutant(f): 5:13pm On Feb 19, 2022
Stephen0mozzy:
Unless you're hoping to return a bad note to the banking hall after the atm gives you, nor even bother....plus it's unlikely that you'll be short paid, and NEVER OVERPAID

I'm sure you didn't read the post undecided

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by lagusboyyy(m): 5:13pm On Feb 19, 2022
Naija people no dey easily trust technology.

* They would lock car with the security keys, even after hearing the notification sound, naija people go still open the car door to confirm.

* They would count money that ATM just finished dispensing. No be you input the digit Na those ones wey dey even count am in front of the ATM dey vex me pass, you wan lock the ATM shirt, if money no complete.

* They would install CCTV cam, even after seeing you on the monitor, dem go still open door, comot outside to confirm if na you truly.. Lol..

Naija people..

92 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by success1smyn(m): 5:13pm On Feb 19, 2022
It very unlikely for the machine to short pay you, but you can count it, it will only look somehow to still stay beside machine and be counting after withdrawal, you know.

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by rocknation62(m): 5:13pm On Feb 19, 2022
As for me, I prefer making use of POS machine mostly for my mode of payments

Slawormiir, pass me the kpoli

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by fatherjesse(m): 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
What do you do if your money is not complete, who is your witness?

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Ladycewhy(f): 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
A bank ATM once dispensed fake 1k note for me . If I had counted probably would have noticed it before leaving the ATM.

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by rocknation62(m): 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by ButterBurger: 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
Not really
Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by KazikageSama: 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
A machine can over pay and underpay you. Mostly because of the mistake of the ATM custodians. Sometimes they mistakenly load 500NGN in 1000 ATM cassettes or vice versa or even slip in few notes of 500 in 1000 bunch.

Count your money right in front of the ATM camera then walk into the branch to complain if need be.

40 Likes

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by OakConsultNG: 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
Okay ..

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by StarGra: 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
Yes,crazy things are happening!!

I remember when I did 10k withdrawal and the machine paid 7k...Not just me but to others...

13 Likes

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Nobody: 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
I don't normally check but I don't see any issue with people double checking.

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Kazeem47(m): 5:14pm On Feb 19, 2022
Nigerians and trust issues are like 5&6.

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Innobee99(m): 5:15pm On Feb 19, 2022
Don't trust anything in Naija

Including ATM machine

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by FamilyAdviser: 5:15pm On Feb 19, 2022
Yes sure.

In Nigeria, we don't even trust our president talk of ATM machine.

On September 20th 2021 I withdraw FAKE N2000 currency in ATM machine. Immediately I went inside Bank to lay complaint, they call security for me and threatened to arrest me.

Everything in Nigeria needs verificatio

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Britain4(m): 5:16pm On Feb 19, 2022
What's ATM
Just hearing of it
Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by polite2(m): 5:16pm On Feb 19, 2022
Some ATM still retract money.. so counting ur cash won't be out of place

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Chukwuemeka007(m): 5:16pm On Feb 19, 2022
KazikageSama:
A machine can over pay and underpay you. Mostly because of the mistake of the ATM custodians. Sometimes they mistakenly load 500NGN in 1000 ATM cassettes or vice versa or even slip in few notes of 500 in 1000 bunch.

Count your money right in front of the ATM camera then walk into the branch to complain if need be.

Not just mistakes in loading. The ATM clamp and shutter could be faulty. Leading to the machine under-paying customers

15 Likes

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by canalily(m): 5:17pm On Feb 19, 2022
Ask buhari because in this Era everything is questionable

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by TOPCRUISE(m): 5:17pm On Feb 19, 2022
NaijaMutant:

I still do not trust the ATM to dispense accurately. Once bitten, twice shy.

Why in school, I've been once short paid by the ATM. I withdrew 3,000 Naira but it dispensed 2,500 Naira

As little as little as the money may sound, it meant a lot to me then.

Ever since, I dey count my money to confirm grin

Share your experience
And did you return the incomplete cash after counting sad

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by Frosheer(m): 5:17pm On Feb 19, 2022
issoright
Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by DavidKajo94(m): 5:18pm On Feb 19, 2022
There's strong need to count. I was once paid 8k by atm instead of 10k that I requested for

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by pocohantas(f): 5:18pm On Feb 19, 2022
Yes you can confirm. The ATM is loaded by a human being.

illicit:
Yes

Sometimes it issues condemned notes

It happened to me
I went inside the bank, they changed it

Someone loaded condemned notes in the cassettes. Which is even bad because it can make the machine jam, just like mint notes. Used clean notes are the best for ATMs.

Re: Is There Any Need To Confirm Cash After ATM Dispensary? by NaijaMutant(f): 5:18pm On Feb 19, 2022
TOPCRUISE:

And you did you return the incomplete cash after counting sad

Didn't have the power to start wahala over 500 Naira. But it really meant a lot to me then. 2010

Black Rhino, Dangote Conclude Plans To Invest $10bn In Kano, South East IPP / CBN Revise Guide To Bank Charges / Old Naira Notes: No Extension, January 31 Deadline Stands — CBN

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 33