Stats: 3,153,055 members, 7,818,163 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 09:16 AM

Common Grammatical Tautologies - Education (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / Common Grammatical Tautologies (50236 Views)

National Board For Technical Education Signpost With Public Grammatical Blunder / 10 Common Grammatical Errors We Must Avoid / Most Annoying Common Grammatical Errors In English (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Okwula: 8:06am On Nov 24, 2013
Poetic licence
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by lirusehn(m): 8:09am On Nov 24, 2013
Yahoo1: boss..how far na....they don unban you from Romance section?
4 where. D guy no gree unban me o. Buh e go xpire dis month sha.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by ibrash600: 8:23am On Nov 24, 2013
o ga ooo, on top wetin na, if op na lecturer, u go fail students taya...
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by diamondring100: 8:57am On Nov 24, 2013
Etumgbe: Motor car

fyi there is motorbike

Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by adexdon(m): 9:00am On Nov 24, 2013
Rumz
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by helvidius: 9:01am On Nov 24, 2013
Reverse back
sit down
stand up
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by nanizle(m): 10:11am On Nov 24, 2013
Vivly: 8.Live recording. Damn. All recordings are live. Music and celebrity section please.

9.Safe haven. Literature gurus, Is there such thing as unsafe haven? Havens are by their definitions safe places.

10.First time ever. It's either your first time or it isn't. Decide!

11.General public. This is the most common. All those news being addressed to the general public, unless you're treating certain members of the public as special, all members of the public are general.

12.In one way or another. If it's not true in one way, then it's not freaking true. How can something be true in both ways?

13.Exact same/ exactly the same. The word exact is redundant in this phrase

Prof. Vivly... Have you heard of a studio performance? studio recording? live performance? Live recording? I think you are wrong on live recording... among many others that many nairalanders have pointed out.
Abi u will now say that "live" in "live performance" is redundant because a performance is always live??
Sista park well jare.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by nanizle(m): 10:22am On Nov 24, 2013
::Andrew:::
Pick 'your call', The call is already your's otherwise It won't come to you in the first place. angry angry angry

Answer 'your phone'. The phone is already yours so I should say answer phone? Or I should say 'pick call' ?

Una dey prescribe wrong medicine for oyinbo man headache...

Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Crixina(f): 10:56am On Nov 24, 2013
::Andrew:::

Common madam don't be that like that, am driving and typing. angry angry
why should you even drive and type?now wey u don start,u don call witchcraft?
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Yahoo1(m): 11:11am On Nov 24, 2013
lirusehn: 4 where. D guy no gree unban me o. Buh e go xpire dis month sha.
lol.....chaiii.....mods dey vex....they banned you for a MONTH?
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Nadoson: 11:41am On Nov 24, 2013
My car uses KEROSINE as FUEL.
Fuel is any substance that burn in air.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by aircom(m): 12:05pm On Nov 24, 2013
All the whole... Its either "all the" or "the whole"
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by aircom(m): 12:08pm On Nov 24, 2013
The sun is shining... Rain is falling... RainFall.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Nobody: 12:43pm On Nov 24, 2013
Stand up
Sit down
Raise up ur hand
Kneel down
Jump up
And yet
Still yet
And still yet etc
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Nobody: 12:47pm On Nov 24, 2013
Who is this ''poor wretched'' fellow

''stand up''

''sit down''
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Jomark(m): 12:47pm On Nov 24, 2013
Vivly: Unique individual All individuals are unique. They're individuals.

If you've seen one, you've seen them all. Actually, if you've seen one, you've seen one. If you've seen all, you've seen all.

Young boy Are there old boys?

Frozen ice Please, tell me why it's called ice
If you have seen one refers to a particular thing they(the third person) share in common. It might be facial semblance, behaviour or belief. You are now going too far, dear homo grammaticus.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Tinkybabe(f): 1:25pm On Nov 24, 2013
Funny thread albeit educative.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by timbros(m): 1:34pm On Nov 24, 2013
Chelcy: Hmmmmm.....yu guyz ova ere r xoooo funny......newaz,ah jhst got a lil contribution....Sum tautologies r accepted asin in d english world.....jhst lyk ''Joined together''_ds z totally accepted doe etz also a tautology cos 1-etz found in d bible n we r made tu blive dah derz a consequence for eni1 hu removes or add tu d book ov d bible.....Stand up n sit down_dese r tautologies too buh etz accepted in d Dictionary cos ov d popular usage ov ds wordz......

Please can someone translate this?

Why ASUU, why?

#smh

Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by sarujaSA(m): 1:49pm On Nov 24, 2013
freda506: Even though
so therefore
i went there personally
short summary
Also,
* Lacking behind
* Still yet
* More better
* Minerals instead of Soft ( as in drinks )
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Djmantana: 2:00pm On Nov 24, 2013
a'chael:
"Rise on your feet"
What do we rise on before, our hands?

much lyk clap ur hands at him,shey we fit use teeth clap
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Nobody: 2:31pm On Nov 24, 2013
Djmantana:

much lyk clap ur hands at him,shey we fit use teeth clap
now u guys are messing it up. Clap your hands is correct in every sense and not a tautology. Do u even know what you re saying anymore? Im sure someone else would tell me 'shut up' is a tautology . Lol.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by blakky97(m): 2:35pm On Nov 24, 2013
Honest truth A truth is either true or it isn't. Unless it's a politician

A STATEMENT is either true or not
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Nobody: 2:49pm On Nov 24, 2013
Lol @ a truth :-O
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Govvy(m): 2:50pm On Nov 24, 2013
Me love tis one oooo
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by aircom(m): 2:54pm On Nov 24, 2013
dolapobello1:

Busted!! One should not say "very wrong". The degree of 'wrongness' does not vary and as such, cannot be comparative.
In essence, what you should have said is "that is wrong".

you wan fall person hand, ba? i don expose your .... for here.
grin grin grin see as bush meat dey devour hunter
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by paix(m): 2:58pm On Nov 24, 2013
Still yet
Can be able
Oga sir
Free gift
To reiterate again
6 am in the morning
I also like it too
HIV virus
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by valdprof: 4:52pm On Nov 24, 2013
rattlesnake: bosom
womanliness
joystick
precipitate
heavenly feeling
intimacy
bleep
et etc
who changed ur efforts
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by ceaser: 4:55pm On Nov 24, 2013
mayorme: Reverse Back- Its either you reverse, or you back up
Night Vigil- All vigils are meant to be done at night
Sue to court- Is there any other place you can sue someone?

Yes. You can sue someone to the witches. #Spiritual things# grin
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by Nobody: 5:17pm On Nov 24, 2013
Vivly: Advance warning Most mods are guilty of this when warning defaulters.

Close proximity Those two words mean the same thing. Why use them together?

In my opinion, i think that This is only used by the insufferable know it all's

Safe bet All bets have an element of risk to them, thus no bet is safe. Instead, use safe option.

Joint collaboration It's either a collaboration or it's a joint effort. It can't be eba and fufu

New innovation Hey, there's a deactivation button o. It's a new innovation. Please, it's either you use new or innovation.

Add yours
the 6th edition of oxford advanced dictionary made same mistake concerning d word ''close proximity'' so u see, no one is above mistake. Even d dictionary too
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by pwaju: 7:07pm On Nov 24, 2013
Just peepin smiley
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by MRL1MPoPoTM: 7:40pm On Nov 24, 2013
oche_ejemb:

Most of your so called corrections are misinformed. These are adjectives used to further qualify nouns, or simply commonly used idiomatic or colloquial English expressions.

From the very beginning is a commonly used English expression to show its from the "from the exact point when something starts". So for example, if you say "I started doing it at the beginning of the year", then you could mean anytime in January up till March possibly. However, "I started at the very beginning of the year" suggests that you started on Day 1 of the year.

Small Minority: Again, this may be right usage. If 1 million people make up a minority, is this still a 'small' minority, e.g Africans within the UK or US can be considered a minority. Are they small in size? However, Africans who worship Sango in the UK, or who commit crimes and give everyone else a bad name. These are examples of small minority when compared with the entire population.

Personal belongings: Can multiple people not share ownership of an item, or can an individual not make use of items which don't actually belong to them? I am using a computer which belongs to me (kind of), but I do not own it as it was purchased by my employers, but was given to me to work with. It is my computer, but It's not my personal belonging.

Honest truth: This is an idiom, an expression. Yes the truth should always be honest, but we are humans. e.g "The truth is that I was in class today", "The honest truth is that I was in class today but I wasn't paying attention".

Past experience: Experiences can occur in real time. Past experience suggests a considerable amount of time has passed between you having the experience (it didn't happen yesterday or this morning, or just now).

Old adage: 'Poo happens' is an adage. Is it old?

God bless you holme! for educating and enlightenin the lame egocentric ugly warri vulture. Sincerely, my joy knew no bound whn i saw your rectification. its unambiguous & unequivocal vhat the plug-ugly obdurate b*tch jus wna impress & form ITK for us wit those implausibe & ridiculous doggerel she've been plagiarizing frm Grammer sites & Today fm's ''MindUrGrammer' radio program. may God bless you 1ce agn in surfeit, for refuting her nonsensical assertions.
Re: Common Grammatical Tautologies by MRL1MPoPoTM: 7:42pm On Nov 24, 2013
oche_ejemb:

Most of your so called corrections are misinformed. These are adjectives used to further qualify nouns, or simply commonly used idiomatic or colloquial English expressions.

From the very beginning is a commonly used English expression to show its from the "from the exact point when something starts". So for example, if you say "I started doing it at the beginning of the year", then you could mean anytime in January up till March possibly. However, "I started at the very beginning of the year" suggests that you started on Day 1 of the year.

Small Minority: Again, this may be right usage. If 1 million people make up a minority, is this still a 'small' minority, e.g Africans within the UK or US can be considered a minority. Are they small in size? However, Africans who worship Sango in the UK, or who commit crimes and give everyone else a bad name. These are examples of small minority when compared with the entire population.

Personal belongings: Can multiple people not share ownership of an item, or can an individual not make use of items which don't actually belong to them? I am using a computer which belongs to me (kind of), but I do not own it as it was purchased by my employers, but was given to me to work with. It is my computer, but It's not my personal belonging.

Honest truth: This is an idiom, an expression. Yes the truth should always be honest, but we are humans. e.g "The truth is that I was in class today", "The honest truth is that I was in class today but I wasn't paying attention".

Past experience: Experiences can occur in real time. Past experience suggests a considerable amount of time has passed between you having the experience (it didn't happen yesterday or this morning, or just now).

Old adage: 'Poo happens' is an adage. Is it old?

God bless you holme! for educating and enlightenin the lame egocentric ugly warri vulture. Sincerely, my joy knew no bound whn i saw your rectification. its unambiguous & unequivocal vhat the plug-ugly obdurate b*tch jus wna impress & form ITK for us wit those implausibe & ridiculous doggerel she've been plagiarizing frm Grammer sites & Today fm's ''MindUrGrammer' radio program. may God bless you 1ce agn in surfeit, for refuting her nonsensical baseless assertions.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (Reply)

One Of The Things That Wasted Our Time In Secondary School / Uniben Law Student Destiny Ogedegbe, Graduates With First Class, Becomes Second / Masters Degree Program Aspirants Meet Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42