Stats: 3,152,119 members, 7,814,929 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 11:57 PM

Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men - Sports (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men (24267 Views)

How Nigeria Won The 1996 Olympics Football Gold / Nigeria Withdraws Team From Youth Olympics Over Ebola Discrimination / Beijing 2008 Olympics - Football Event (Falcons) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (18) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by superstan(m): 2:21pm On Aug 07, 2008
isaac promise is too stiff. it beats me how a player can be so rigid.

osaze is a better player, he is agile, with great techniques when moving the ball and his turns are razor sharp.

there is no play-maker in the mould of jay-jay okocha and nigeria will struggle in this tournament without one.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Emperoh(m): 2:22pm On Aug 07, 2008
THE GAME IS QUITE SLOW
BUT AM HAPPY THE BOYS ARE DICTATING THE PACE THOUGH ITS NOT GIVING US THE NECESSARY ADVANTAGE

OR WHAT A TRY FROM OSAZE!!!!!!!!!!!
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Ibime(m): 2:24pm On Aug 07, 2008
Don't mind Promise - old man.

What impact is Ogbuke having? I cannot watch the match cos Im at work.

I always hated Nsofor. How is he playing?
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by tosinadeda: 2:25pm On Aug 07, 2008
anichebe in
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by superstan(m): 2:25pm On Aug 07, 2008
anichebe comes in for osaze(what a silly move)

isaac promise has been a donkey in this game.

anichebe/osaze combination would worry the dutch team.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by lalaboi(m): 2:26pm On Aug 07, 2008
oasze out

anichebe in

ognuke hasnt had any impact yet! 1st contribution was a yellow card!

nsofor and osaze wer running things in the 1st half!
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by MrCrackles(m): 2:27pm On Aug 07, 2008
We could do with a win here so we can just get another against the other MUGU's in the team

And prepare for the next round! grin
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by lalaboi(m): 2:27pm On Aug 07, 2008
isaac tyoo sloooooow that should av bn a goal from the rebound!!!!  aarggghhhhh!!
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by tosinadeda: 2:29pm On Aug 07, 2008
nsofar has been my man of the match
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by superstan(m): 2:30pm On Aug 07, 2008
isaac promise has blown nigeria's biggest chance of the game.

a smart move saw nigeria having a shot on goal, keeper spilled it on a rebound on the path of isaac promise.

eba and amala prevented promise from getting there in time(he slipped).

how could he have slipped at that precious moment?

i respect siasia a lot but leaving promise on the pitch is insane.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Akolawole(m): 2:31pm On Aug 07, 2008
Good play boys
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Ibime(m): 2:31pm On Aug 07, 2008
we don score?
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by lalaboi(m): 2:32pm On Aug 07, 2008
promise is out now

ekpo is in!  just 3mins left!
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Akolawole(m): 2:32pm On Aug 07, 2008
The ball did not come STRAIGHT to his direction
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Ibime(m): 2:34pm On Aug 07, 2008
Akolawole:

The ball did not come STRAIGHT to his direction

You sure say no be old age dey worry am?
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by superstan(m): 2:35pm On Aug 07, 2008
@ akolawole,

but do u agree osaze would have buried that chance because he is more agile?

ogbuke has also missed a golden chance. he took the defender out and with the keeper to beat, he shot straight at him.

a dutch player has seen red. what a tackle!!!
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Emperoh(m): 2:36pm On Aug 07, 2008
Straight Red card for SNO
what a tackle
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by lalaboi(m): 2:37pm On Aug 07, 2008
full time

naija 0
netherland 0
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Ibime(m): 2:38pm On Aug 07, 2008
Well Holland is probably the hardest team in our group so no probs. Although you can never be sure about Japan cos they tend to do well at youth level. USA also have a good generation coming through. Anyway, we will see.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Akolawole(m): 2:39pm On Aug 07, 2008
Shot at goal

Nigeria 16

Holland 4

Babel was the worst player on the field cry
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Ibime(m): 2:41pm On Aug 07, 2008
How we take 16 shot no fit score? SiaSia suppose flog those boys . . . . or are all our shots longe range missiles?

This team has too much brutish strength and not enough creativity.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by McKren(m): 2:43pm On Aug 07, 2008
Nigeria 0 Vs Holland 0

I thought our boys played well, the pitch was not good. It messed things up for us

Ogbuke played well when he came in.

I am proud of our team, they will hold their own against anybody
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by vichel(m): 2:43pm On Aug 07, 2008
Yea good game, happy they didn't loose, just wish they cud use their head a little more, thats how good teams win games, they are i no rush to shoot at every opportunity, u hold on to the ball and when the chance are there u go for it. Smart passin is the name of the game
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by ayusman16(m): 2:44pm On Aug 07, 2008
Heard it ended in a scoreless draw. Also, got info that our boys played well! Wish them luck!
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by vichel(m): 2:45pm On Aug 07, 2008
dat drenth guy dey good oh. We need creativity, to complement our strength, individual skills is not enough, they've got to work as a team
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by superstan(m): 2:54pm On Aug 07, 2008
siasia should do something to the finishing of his strikers.

i don't see how nigeria can win this tournament based on what the boys offered today.

argentina and ivory coast(watching the highlights now) are strong favourites.

this is football from mecca. messi, riquelme, aguero, mascherano and gago have been delightful.

solomon kalou, coulibaly and bagayoko are also stepping up to the plate, this ivory coast team will take nigeria apart.

their gameplay have been fabulous.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Emperoh(m): 2:58pm On Aug 07, 2008
Match ends goaless
I think the boys did better in the second half
than the first
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Olaolufred(m): 3:03pm On Aug 07, 2008
A dedicated team is always not a push aside team.

I want those who had relegated this team to have a rethink.

More surprises are comming.

Up NIIIIIIIGEEEEEEERIIIIIIIAAAAAAA.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Ibime(m): 3:06pm On Aug 07, 2008
superstan:

i don't see how nigeria can win this tournament based on what the boys offered today.

argentina and ivory coast(watching the highlights now) are strong favourites.

this is football from mecca. messi, riquelme, aguero, mascherano and gago have been delightful.

solomon kalou, coulibaly and bagayoko are also stepping up to the plate, this ivory coast team will take nigeria apart.

I never had hope in these boys anyway. Without Mikel and Taiwo, they are average. All these guys like Promise and Nsofor - I just don't see what people see in them. I like Ogbuke. Eromoigbe would have improved our central midfield as well.
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by toluxa1(m): 3:11pm On Aug 07, 2008
I really wished we won the match. My boys played better in the first half and the last 15 minutes. Nsofo really impressed me ogbuke. PLEASE WHEN IS THE OPENING CEREMONY STARTING TOMORROW
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by superstan(m): 3:14pm On Aug 07, 2008
@ ibime,

i agree with u. apart from the fact that there was no creativity, there was no urgency.

u need to see how ivory coast is playing with purpose. quick counter-attacks, agility, pace, speed, power and stealth.

they are running the south americans down save for riquelme and messi's technical prowess.

solomon kalou's pace makes messi/ronaldo look like a snail. quick burst of acceleration into the box, accurate passes and plenty of awareness.

-----what a pass from riquelme to find messi. . . ivory coast's defence was diced open like a christmas turkey. what a goal, what a finish!!

one has to feel sorry for the ivoriens. the goalie tried to make himself big for messi. not even casillas can achieve that.

what a goal by cisse. slack defending from the argies and cisse buried his header in the top corner. (1-1).
Re: Beijing 2008 Olympics Football Event: Men by Truequest(m): 3:21pm On Aug 07, 2008
That's great to hear that they played well, hope they achieve their aim.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (18) (Reply)

Europa League Trophy Stolen And Recovered / New Stylish Photos Of Cynthia Uwak / AFCON 2019: Man Of The Match Award Winners

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37