Stats: 3,153,500 members, 7,819,817 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 12:32 AM

Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim (13088 Views)

PHOTO: Who Knows This Accident Victim From Anambra / Muktar Shagari, Sokoto Deputy Governor's Son, Usman (Photos) / Three-year Old Cancer Patient Needs N15m To Survive (2) (3) (4)

Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by mabeni(m): 12:26am On Aug 18, 2014
Sokoto State Police command has recovered and
returned N15million which was stolen from an
unidentified man by a 5-man armed robbery gang
at the Ilela border market in Ilela LGA of Sokoto
state on June 1st.
Parading the suspects with the money recovered at
the Sokoto state Police command headquarters,
DCP Douglas Agbonleni who spoke on behalf of the
Sokoto State Commissioner of Police, Gambo
Lawal, gave an insight on how the robbers were
able to dislodge their victim of the money and how
they were subsequently caught.
"The robbery operation was successful as they
were able to dispossess their target of over N15
million cash at the Ilela border market, after firing
into the air to scare people. We received the
information at about 6pm on June 1 and instantly
went on stop-and-search operation and our men at
Rabbah local government found a black colour
Volkswagen Golf car with registration number
Jigawa AG 569 HJA along the forest route and
apprehended three of the criminals while the other
two escaped" he said.
The three robbers arrested were identified as
Joseph Ohakin, ThankGod Sunday, Emmanuel Ugo
(aka Ifeanyi). Apart from the money, other items
recovered from them were weapons including
locally made and foreign assorted rifles neatly
concealed in the seats of the vehicle.
The Police said after they arrested the armed
robbers in the bush, the robbers offered to give
them the stolen N15million on the condition that
they let them go, but the police men declined the
offer. The police then launched a search for the
remaining two robbers who escaped. A mobile
phone which they used in communicating was
used to track down the other two criminals.
"When the first three were arrested, we searched
the vehicle and recovered the money, we
discovered a GSM telephone and upon diligent
investigation, we traced that phone to Kano and
our detectives proceeded to Kano where we were
able to trace the owner of that phone who was a
member of the robbery gang and had escaped
from Illela.
We discovered that the telephone belongs to one
Habibu Abdullahi (Alias 02). He is popularly called
02 in Kano. We picked him up and we knew that
they were about five members in that gang. So
after arresting and interrogating Habibu Abdullahi,
the fifth member of the gang, Garba Ismail was
traced to a suburb of Kano and picked up also. So
all the five members of the gang that came here to
rob at the Illela town have been picked up,” he
said.
The owner of the N15m stolen who was present at
the press briefing confirmed he had received his
money

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by mabeni(m): 12:29am On Aug 18, 2014
mabeni: Sokoto State Police command has recovered and
returned N15million which was stolen from an
unidentified man by a 5-man armed robbery gang
at the Ilela border market in Ilela LGA of Sokoto
state on June 1st.
Parading the suspects with the money recovered at
the Sokoto state Police command headquarters,
DCP Douglas Agbonleni who spoke on behalf of the
Sokoto State Commissioner of Police, Gambo
Lawal, gave an insight on how the robbers were
able to dislodge their victim of the money and how
they were subsequently caught.
"The robbery operation was successful as they
were able to dispossess their target of over N15
million cash at the Ilela border market, after firing
into the air to scare people. We received the
information at about 6pm on June 1 and instantly
went on stop-and-search operation and our men at
Rabbah local government found a black colour
Volkswagen Golf car with registration number
Jigawa AG 569 HJA along the forest route and
apprehended three of the criminals while the other
two escaped" he said.
The three robbers arrested were identified as
Joseph Ohakin, ThankGod Sunday, Emmanuel Ugo
(aka Ifeanyi). Apart from the money, other items
recovered from them were weapons including
locally made and foreign assorted rifles neatly
concealed in the seats of the vehicle.
offer. The police then launched a search for the
remaining two robbers who escaped. A mobile
phone which they used in communicating was
used to track down the other two criminals.
"When the first three were arrested, we searched
the vehicle and recovered the money, we
discovered a GSM telephone and upon diligent
investigation, we traced that phone to Kano and
our detectives proceeded to Kano where we were
able to trace the owner of that phone who was a
member of the robbery gang and had escaped
from Illela.
We discovered that the telephone belongs to one
Habibu Abdullahi (Alias 02). He is popularly called
02 in Kano. We picked him up and we knew that
they were about five members in that gang. So
after arresting and interrogating Habibu Abdullahi,
the fifth member of the gang, Garba Ismail was
traced to a suburb of Kano and picked up also. So
all the five members of the gang that came here to
rob at the Illela town have been picked up,” he
said.
The owner of the N15m stolen who was present at
the press briefing confirmed he had received his
money
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by hushmail: 1:41am On Aug 18, 2014
@ if U were not present during the briefing, could U pls state ur source?

Ahdonblivit grin grin grin
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by Mynd44: 3:34am On Aug 18, 2014

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by ggrin(f): 3:40am On Aug 18, 2014
shockedangry
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by yimikaa: 3:40am On Aug 18, 2014
mabeni:
robbers in the bush, the robbers offered to give them the stolen N15million on the condition that they let them go, but the police men declined the offer.

How can a Nigerian police officer refuse that amount of money . Something is not right.

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by emekatimsu(m): 3:41am On Aug 18, 2014
This one no be news na..Armed robbers and hardend criminals are caught everyday by the law enforcemnt officers,, OPC and bakassi.

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by megabyte2(f): 3:44am On Aug 18, 2014
lipsrsealed
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by lilprinze: 3:44am On Aug 18, 2014
d armed robbers offered dem 15million and dy declined and dy even returned d money back to d owner intact hmmm so we still have some good and loyal police men in Nigeria

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by Nobody: 3:53am On Aug 18, 2014
they should equally arrest the owner of the 15m, in this cashless system, what are u doing with 15m cash.....
the only business that requires that kind of money in cash is always illegal business

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by adebayo201: 3:55am On Aug 18, 2014
yimikaa:
How can a Nigerian police officer refuse that amount of money . Something is not right.
Yes something is not right cos not all Nigeria police are the same!
Please, you can believe them if it's for once! Not all those on that black khaki are actually black in mind.

My mind tho! smiley

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by idris4r83(m): 3:57am On Aug 18, 2014
Unbelievable! Unimaginable in fact impossible! Nigerian police? Still having doubts.
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by adebayo201: 3:59am On Aug 18, 2014
ARES: they should equally arrest the owner of the 15m, in this cashless system, what are u doing with 15m cash.....
the only business that requires that kind of money in cash is always illegal business
Are you sure you really read the story before posting your comment!

...ilela border market... incase if you don't see that.
And I'm sure he'll be interrogated bfr the money was being delivered to him!

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by DONMAYOR19(m): 4:00am On Aug 18, 2014
yimikaa:

everything is right bro, no be everybody corrupt for Nigeria, we still have good ones just like this police men and me typing this. All what the police men wanted was to track down the criminals and thank God they succeeded in doing that....what await the police men now is promotion, which they will surely get..

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by uken73(m): 4:04am On Aug 18, 2014
So shocked that our police would return such a huge amount of money. Hope there are more of such men in the force.
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by yimikaa: 4:10am On Aug 18, 2014
adebayo201:
Yes something is not right cos not all Nigeria police are the same!
Please, you can believe them if it's for once! Not all those on that black khaki are actually black in mind.
My mind tho! smiley

DONMAYOR19: everything is right bro, no be everybody corrupt for Nigeria, we still have good ones just like this police men and me typing this. All what the police men wanted was to track down the criminals and thank God they succeeded in doing that....what await the police men now is promotion, which they will surely get..

OKAY.
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by gbaskiboy: 4:16am On Aug 18, 2014
The future is a bit clear, i can see the end of corruption in Nigeria Police Force...

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by phabulux: 4:17am On Aug 18, 2014
emekatimsu: This one no be news na..Armed robbers and hardend criminals are caught everyday by the law enforcemnt officers,, OPC and bakassi.

That armed robbers are caught every day by law enforcement officers may not be news, but, that NIGERIAN police men could return a recovered plunder in excess of N15 million to the owner certainly is, at least, to me. Especially not after they'd been specifically offered the lot.

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by TOPCRUISE(m): 4:19am On Aug 18, 2014
That's honesty and transparency from the northern nigerian police. There are still good attributes in them

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by miccheck58: 4:19am On Aug 18, 2014
Nigerian police return money? Ok o

Well this is my business... I wan know why them return am. So unlike...
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by sunnywhyt(m): 4:44am On Aug 18, 2014
Let see if they can continue with this courageous act.
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by Lucasbalo(m): 4:46am On Aug 18, 2014
gbaskiboy: The future is a bit clear, i can see the end of corruption in Nigeria Police Force...
I hope you are right.

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by dollarsplenty(m): 4:47am On Aug 18, 2014
Police returned 15million naira in Sokoto!!! DSS rejected 14million naira in Osun. the next will be Nigerian army decline 1 billion naira from Shekau.

by the way, thumb up to Sokoto Police

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by alentyno: 5:00am On Aug 18, 2014
Check o!
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by sammieguze(m): 5:12am On Aug 18, 2014
Hmmmmm... Why am i finding other difficult to believe
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by tunshe: 5:14am On Aug 18, 2014
Ibo, igbo, doro_money. lipsrsealed

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by YoursGEJ(m): 5:18am On Aug 18, 2014
I dey sure say na for dream I dey browse nairaland come see this story

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by MrRhymes101(m): 5:20am On Aug 18, 2014
offer.

SI NAIJA POLICE O!!! IF DIS IS TRUE DEN DIS MIGHT JUST BE THE FRESH AIR WE HAVE BEEN EXPECTING

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by kobonaire(m): 5:22am On Aug 18, 2014
YoursGEJ: I dey sure say na for dream I dey browse nairaland come see this story
Na true bros .... or perhaps OP meant to post this story on April 1st.

Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by NaLaugh: 5:25am On Aug 18, 2014
haha. If only this was the modus operandi of NPF.
Re: Police Arrests, Return N15m To Sokoto Robbery Victim by Nobody: 5:48am On Aug 18, 2014
I knew this was definitely gonna make FP,. Smh for Nairaland.. If y'all don't tread with caution this site is just gonna end up like myspace •

What Your Zodiac Sign Says About You! / Easter: FG Declares March 25, March 28 As Public Holidays / Stolen Car Recovered After 36 Years

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38