Stats: 3,152,828 members, 7,817,417 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 11:54 AM

10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name (2673 Views)

Hidden Meanings Behind These 10 COMMON Dreams. / Wife Falsely Accuses Husband Of Plotting To 'Blow Up Plane' / Have You Ever Been Falsely Accused : What Was Your Reaction? (2) (3) (4)

10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by bongolistik(m): 8:21am On Sep 22, 2014
Today, especicially down here in Nigeria, we are fond of localy branding items with their brand names and finally converting the brand name to originally replace the items real and generic names. Here are the 10 most common brand names of products that we have succesfully converted to the real item generic name;

1. OMO- In Naija today, we have successfully converted OMO to mean Detergent. Now at the mention of OMO, everybody sees it as the generic name for detergent. But OMO is only but a brand name for powdered detertent.

2. Maggi Star- this one is another one, that today, at the mention of Maggi, everbody reasons any other cube seasoning as maggi. And by the way who told you that Star is a brand of food seasoning in the case of cube seasoning Maggi? Is it because it has stars drawn over its sides? Maggi is nothing but the brand name of cube food seasoning and nothing like Star Maggi, rather it is just Maggi cube seasoning, just like Knorr cube and Royco cube which are other famous cube food seasonings.

3. Maclean- I was also once guilty of this as a growing up child. For us, everthing that is in a tube and use for brushing teeth is regarded as Maclean. Meanwhile Maclean is just a brand name for Toothpaste just same way as Close Up.

4. Geisha- Up till today people think that that fish in tomato source which they buy is actualy Geisha, not knowing that Geisha is just the brand name.

5. Titus- Similar to Geisha, people always think that the sardine in oil they buy, that Titus is just the real name not knowing that Titus is just a brand name, now similar to other new brands like Awry.

6. Jik-Actually Jik is a brand name liquid bleach, but then we take Jik to mean bleach.

7. Bic-you write always with Bic and you now think that Bic means Biro, not knowing its just a brand name for Biro.

8. Kiwi- that Aboki man polishes your shoe with Kiwi and all you now think is that Kiwi is the same thing as polish, forgetting that Kiwi is just a brand name for kiwi polish.

9. Rubb/Mentholintol-hahaha, I caught you on this, you think that your rubb or Mentholintol is actually the real name of the Mentholed pain reliever cream, but no, they are just brand names for Mentholed or Minty pain reliever cream.

10. Tom-Tom- and finally, who told you that Tom-Tom always mean Sweet? Dont you know that Tom-Tom can be a pet name. Tom-Tom is just a brand name for that black and white minty sweet.

Yes we all know the reasons for all that. It is simply because of how common and popular those products are that made us to convert their brand names as their real generic names

Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by immortalcrown(m): 8:28am On Sep 22, 2014
You forgot to mention indomie and noodles,
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by bongolistik(m): 8:31am On Sep 22, 2014
immortalcrown: You forgot to mention indomie and noodles,
OMG! How could that skip my mind? Anyway, u guys can complete the rest
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by JeffreyJamez(m): 8:55am On Sep 22, 2014
You forgot Gala... for all beef rolls lol
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by Damsman10(m): 9:01am On Sep 22, 2014
cry kissand sweets... yes sweets, people think its d taste dat is sweet nt knowing its a brand name cry
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by kudoxs(m): 9:17am On Sep 22, 2014
Damsman10: cry kissand sweets... yes sweets, people think its d taste dat is sweet nt knowing its a brand name cry
sweet is not a brand name.
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by Damsman10(m): 10:42am On Sep 22, 2014
kudoxs: sweet is not a brand name.
ooo my bad
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by 2cato: 11:31am On Sep 22, 2014
You forget to add to chewing gum and garri and rice.
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by bongolistik(m): 12:36pm On Sep 22, 2014
JeffreyJamez: You forgot Gala... for all beef rolls lol
ya dats anoda very common one. Many dont knw dat d gala they eat is actualy sausage
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by Mention(m): 12:45pm On Sep 22, 2014
Hmmmmmmm
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by vicot(m): 6:07pm On Sep 22, 2014
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by specialguest(f): 9:21pm On Sep 22, 2014
Tomapep- All types of tomato puree

Pampers- All types of diapers

Always- All types of sanitary towels

Sheltox-? I don't even know where that came from

DStv- All types of satellite/cable

Vaseline- All types of pomade

smiley proudly nija!
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by Dwoutlet: 6:35pm On Sep 25, 2014
We also have for sale TOUJOURS DIAPERS

SIZE 3 WE HAVE 45 PACKETS
SIZE 4 WE HAVE 99 PACKETS
SIZE 5 WE HAVE 63 PACKETS

Urgent sale

Contact me michael@mobileswap.eu

Thank you

Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by Topshop: 8:17pm On Oct 15, 2014
Hello, we are getting closer to that season where we just want to celebrate, Christmas is around the corner. Order for all you need this Xmas.
Sunflower oil @ 8000 per carton
toujours diapers size 3,4 &5 @1900 each,
Little angel size 3,4, 4+ &5 @ 2000 each,
Cadbury celebration sweets different prices depending on pack.
Huggies wipes 4 in a pack @ 1100.
Huggies 6 in a box @ 1600.
Contact us: bb pin 75A0770B, email: topshopireland@gmail.com. Or drop us an email with ur no and we'll call you back. Order now. All products are bought in UK.
Re: 10 Common Item Brand Names That You Falsely Use As The Real Generic Item Name by KillerBeauty(f): 9:19pm On Oct 15, 2014
Make I stroll enter Musa kiosk go buy knorr Magie for this my vegetable soup

7 Beautiful Daughters Of Nigeria’s Wealthiest Men Who Are Still Single / Diamond Bank Graduate Trainee Programme 2018 / The Sunday Is Not Fun: I Feel Like Sharing Money Here.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19