Stats: 3,152,206 members, 7,815,203 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 08:58 AM

Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong (2640 Views)

Why PMB Got It Wrong With James Ocholi' family "compensation" - CramJones / Attack On Senators Mark, Oduah And Bruce: Deji Adeyanju Got It Wrong / Buhari's Accent: A National Embarrassment (2) (3) (4)

Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by xtayle(m): 3:51pm On Sep 26, 2014
As Nigerians and Africans, we need to understand ourselves very well. Certain things are universal and we cannot treat them in isolation. Globally, everyone has a mother tongue which is the language he/she speaks best. Any other language is learned and spoken with the accent of the mother tongue.

For instance "Tola" a yoruba name is pronounced by americans as "Tow-la". Will you say the americans have shameful accent? The answer is NO. Ghanaians pronounce "Love" as "Laav". Do you mock them? No. Every mother tongue comes with an accent and Africans generally exhibit mother tongue with heavy accents. That is why when an Ibo man speaks English, you can easily tell, if a south African speak English, you can also tell. If a Russian speaks English, you will quickly place his origin. Even the Portuguese are quickly discovered when they speak English. Its the same for every race across the globe.

Having said that, its not the accent of a leader that determines whether he will perform or can perform when voted into an office. President Jonathan probably pronounces English word fairly but he is not an interesting speaker of the English language. His expression in English is quite poor. He does not know how to punctuate when reading a written address. If we are to name good speakers of the language among politicians, he cannot be among the first 100. Retd Gen Buhari on the other hand speaks very good English with good punctuations but with heavy accent.

Buhari spent less than 2 years in office as head of state and creatively salvaged the economy that was balkanised by shagari. Jonathan have spent almost 6 years and there is nothing but daylight looting of our commonwealth. It does not have anything to do with your accent but the will and creativity to perform

It is a record low for any Nigerian to mock the accent of a fellow Nigerian.

18 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Ekiseme(m): 4:10pm On Sep 26, 2014
His accent should never be an issue

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by xtayle(m): 4:19pm On Sep 26, 2014
Ekiseme: His accent should never be an issue

I wonder o. An old school mate named Akinnifesi cannot speak English for 30 seconds. But come prize giving day, he clears all the prizes except English language. Infact, when its his class' turn for presentation of prizes, after English language prize, they will start calling his name from mathematics and he can no longer go back to his seat until they complete prize presentation for his class.

The school dont do not attend any quiz competition without this guy yet he speaks English poorly.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by vemmawealth(f): 1:42pm On Sep 29, 2014
xtayle: As Nigerians and Africans, we need to understand ourselves very well. Certain things are universal and we cannot treat them in isolation. Globally, everyone has a mother tongue which is the language he/she speaks best. Any other language is learned and spoken with the accent of the mother tongue.

For instance "Tola" a yoruba name is pronounced by americans as "Tow-la". Will you say the americans have shameful accent? The answer is NO. Ghanaians pronounce "Love" as "Laav". Do you mock them? No. Every mother tongue comes with an accent and Africans generally exhibit mother tongue with heavy accents. That is why when an Ibo man speaks English, you can easily tell, if a south African speak English, you can also tell. If a Russian speaks English, you will quickly place his origin. Even the Portuguese are quickly discovered when they speak English. Its the same for every race across the globe.

Having said that, its not the accent of a leader that determines whether he will perform or can perform when voted into an office. President Jonathan probably pronounces English word fairly but he is not an interesting speaker of the English language. His expression in English is quite poor. He does not know how to punctuate when reading a written address. If we are to name good speakers of the language among politicians, he cannot be among the first 100. Retd Gen Buhari on the other hand speaks very good English with good punctuations but with heavy accent.

Buhari spent less than 2 years in office as head of state and creatively salvaged the economy that was balkanised by shagari. Jonathan have spent almost 6 years and there is nothing but daylight looting of our commonwealth. It does not have anything to do with your accent but the will and creativity to perform

It is a record low for any Nigerian to mock the accent of a fellow Nigerian.

This is a good rebuttal to the uninformed opinion expressed by that post Let that poster read a 10 line article into a phone recorder and upload it right here on Nairaland so everyone can analyze him. We will then see if he can speak like cameron or barack obama. May be he thinks hes Denzel Washigton.

While I know some people have good diction when speaking English, they are in the minority and can never speak like oyinbo. Even NOI who attended Harvard cannot speak like americans nor FFK who attended Cambridge up to LLM can speak like the British. Why are we using irrelevant and immaterial points to articulate support for serious matters like who should be the next president of Nigeria? Is it how you speak a sencond language that matters or for the would be person or the existing person to so what is needful and move this nation forward.

Is it not obvious that this nation needs fixing and that those handling it right now cannot because its taking them too long to do and in the process destroying the little Obasanjo did while in office. I am so ashamed of people who reason like this especially when they are my country men/women

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Ikengawo: 1:49pm On Sep 29, 2014
xtayle: As Nigerians and Africans, we need to understand ourselves very well. Certain things are universal and we cannot treat them in isolation. Globally, everyone has a mother tongue which is the language he/she speaks best. Any other language is learned and spoken with the accent of the mother tongue.

For instance "Tola" a yoruba name is pronounced by americans as "Tow-la". Will you say the americans have shameful accent? [/b]The answer is NO. [b]Ghanaians pronounce "Love" as "Laav". Do you mock them? No. Every mother tongue comes with an accent and Africans generally exhibit mother tongue with heavy accents. That is why when an Ibo man speaks English, you can easily tell, if a south African speak English, you can also tell. If a Russian speaks English, you will quickly place his origin. Even the Portuguese are quickly discovered when they speak English. Its the same for every race across the globe.

Yes.

Buhari can barely speak english. If you think this is the most qualified person that APC can produce than APC needs to assess itself. Someone that has already ruled nigeria, ended democracy, and has no real education will become president in 2014 while anytime a bank announces a job you'll see a line of no less than 3,000 youths that are jobless and unsure of their future with their only crime being that they chose to get an education.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by xtayle(m): 2:41pm On Sep 29, 2014
Ikengawo:

Yes.

Buhari can barely speak english. If you think this is the most qualified person that APC can produce than APC needs to assess itself. Someone that has already ruled nigeria, ended democracy, and has no real education will become president in 2014 while anytime a bank announces a job you'll see a line of no less than 3,000 youths that are jobless and unsure of their future with their only crime being that they chose to get an education.

I find your comment incoherent and i will tell you why.

1) Uniformed persons like you like to peddle lies and falsehood because you have been induced to do so or you are simply biased. Buhari never ended democracy. If you do a little more research, you will know that Late General Bako was the master-mind and executioner of the 1983 coup. Himself and his co plotters only called General Buhari and Idiagbon to come and lead because they were Junior officers to them in the Army.

2) Buhari is in no way responsible for 3000 youth queuing up to get a job. Blame it on Babangida who pushed him out and did everything IMF asked Buhari to do but he refused. Go and check the records, Naira was higher than US$ when Buhari was HOS and he esured inflation dropped to o. something% from 25% (thereabout) that he met it.

3) Obasanjo ruled as a General and also as a civilian. How then is it a taboo for Buhari to rule again. Obasanjo ruled for about 3 yrs as Military HOS but Buhari ruled less than 2 years as HOS.

4) What education did obasanjo have that makes him better than Buhari?

What then are you implying? You need to think deep before making comments or respond to a post or comment. This is not a village setting. This is social media.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by VoteOutPDPJona: 2:53pm On Sep 29, 2014

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by egift(m): 2:58pm On Sep 29, 2014
Only the ultra-corrupt and their foot soldiers are afraid of Buhari. Nigerians are yearning for a focused leadership that is not in bed with corruption like that of Buhari.

Now the criminals are floating a - fulani accent - as an excuse. Anyone that attended an ORAL ENGLISH class will know that what they vomit themselves is far from the right vocal sonic that is expected of them.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by tpia1: 3:31pm On Sep 29, 2014
why are nigerians so hung up on accents?
Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by donphilopus: 3:39pm On Sep 29, 2014
Ikengawo:

Yes.

Why have you decided to shoot yourself?! Ain't you aware that you're embarrassing yourself in public?! Who told you Buhari ended democracy?! You should have known by now that Buhari was only selected by his fellow military men to rule Nigeria after the coup in 1983, being that he was considered pure by them. Since they felt that democratic government' efficacy was in doubt then.

Your so-called PhD Holder President who claimed to have got a formal education is nothing to write home about, yet you opened you opened your odoriferous mouth to spew this. And I'm very sure Jonathan is among the so-called 3,000 jobless youths who always queue whenever a bank announces a job!

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Trut(m): 4:01pm On Sep 29, 2014
I see pure HYPOCRITE from you APC supporters. If the accent is about PEJ, you all will write against her.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by A7(m): 4:39pm On Sep 29, 2014
_

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Nobody: 4:46pm On Sep 29, 2014
donphilopus:

Why have you decided to shoot yourself?! Ain't you aware that you're embarrassing yourself in public?! Who told you Buhari ended democracy?! You should have known by now that Buhari was only selected by his fellow military men to rule Nigeria after the coup in 1983, being that he was considered pure by them. Since they felt that democratic government' efficacy was in doubt then.

Your so-called PhD Holder President who claimed to have got a formal education is nothing to write home about, yet you opened you opened your odoriferous mouth to spew this. And I'm very sure Jonathan is among the so-called 3,000 jobless youths who always queue whenever a bank announces a job!
Buhari may not have been the architect of the coup, but accepting to be the HOS means he was a willing participant. Ditto for Idiagbon and other officers that were 'invited' to join that junta.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by egift(m): 5:09pm On Sep 29, 2014
Ikengawo: If you think this is the most qualified person that APC can produce than APC needs to assess itself.

In the same vain, Is Zoology and Fisheries the most prevalent Profession in PDP?

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by egift(m): 5:11pm On Sep 29, 2014
CFCfan: Buhari may not have been the architect of the coup, but accepting to be the HOS means he was a willing participant. Ditto for Idiagbon and other officers that were 'invited' to join that junta.

How many Coup Plotters are in PDP, Mr. Ostrich?

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Nobody: 5:13pm On Sep 29, 2014
egift:

How many Coup Plotters are in PDP, Mr. Ostrich?
I only know of IBB and David Mark.
Strictly speaking, a putsch that overthrew a military government can't be classed as a coup.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by VOICEOFTHEMASES: 5:52pm On Sep 29, 2014
OBJ maybe bad but he runs the biggest farm since 1979. He went to prison, came back and became president. Today he is no more in government but his farm in ota is one of the biggest in africa. GEJ was working in OPADC, the present day NDDC, also he was a lecturer in University of Port Harcourt before becoming deputy governor in 1999.I'm sick and tired of some supporters of APC telling me Gen Buhari is not corrupt that he was upright during his time as head of state that he did not steal while in power. Now I ask all you buhari supporters. The General has ran for presidential election 3times in this country. Could you guys tell me how he got funds to run for that because nigerians are yet to see any business owned by the general. How has the general been paying his bills? How has he been able to be driving big SUV.Can buhari list the names of people that has been funding him to run for elections?If he can not provide me with these answers, he should go and sit down and stop making noise about corruption. As long as I VOM is concerned, all military leaders are corrupt.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Ikengawo: 5:57pm On Sep 29, 2014
egift:

In the same vain, Is Zoology and Fisheries the most prevalent Profession in PDP?
and what exactly is wrong with Zoology and Fisheries? Your mentality is what's holding you down in life

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by egift(m): 6:08pm On Sep 29, 2014
Nigerians will be free from the claws of the most corrupt administration in the history of Nigeria. Jonathan is not more powerful than Abacha that was adopted by all the political party in his time. The God of Nigeria is not asleep.
Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by amakufrancis(m): 6:32pm On Sep 29, 2014
Noted
Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by thwarrior72: 7:23pm On Sep 29, 2014
I have asked this question before and I'm repeating it now....how will buhari who can hardly make intelligible & decipherable sentence in English rule a country of 170+million people, which language will he rule with, is it hausa, arabic or by hand & mouth sign?. Which language will he communicate when representing Nigeria in UN general assembly?. Buharis appalling speech/oratory cannot be attributed to mothers tongue, but a serious impaired speech.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by JEITO: 7:56pm On Sep 29, 2014
The problem with Buhari is not even his accent, but that he has got next to nothing to say about ways to grow this nation.

Even the present security challenge I doubt if he can effectively tackle it because in the system of government we run, you can't decide all by yourself as the president. It must go through the national assembly as opposed to what was obtainable in the military administration.

I can remember watching during the last 2 Presidential debates and really, he was speaking like an average Nigerian-which is poor for someone that wants to rule this Nation.

Have you heard Buhari in any of his recent interviews or any of his interviews talk about practical /achievable ways of growing the country's economy and/or fighting corruption? Or on any national matter at all?

He has not improved much since then if he has actually improved at all. Listened to an interview he conducted after his attack in Kaduna, where he insisted on employing the same military tactics used to fight the biafran army.
We all know that can't work in this present time and juudging that the boko haram guys are more like guerrilla fighters, too many civilian casualties would be recorded.

Buhari succeeded as a military head of state not mainly because he was an economic guru(by the way, Nigeria's economy didn't really improve during his time. Instead more people lost their jobs and cost of living increased without improvement in the standard of living of the average Nigerian.)He succeeded because hi used military force to rule(ruling with iron hand) people worked under pressure and harrassment.

Corruption reduced because he changed the Naira notes therefore rendering the cash in circulation useless, he imposed heavier tax on the rich and big coporations and the fact that he was a hard man with ruthless thug-like soldiers working for him. So people out of fear for their lives, respected themselves during his tenure.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by Nobody: 7:57pm On Sep 29, 2014
A7:

Her case is not accent, it's more like aphasia. The things she say are unintelligble, not even her understand her own words.

It is unfortunate that dumbo's concern is only on stomach infrastructure, I believe the 1 billion annual food allowance is more than enough to hire a speech pathologists and therapists to save this lady from all the defects and impairements.

What you guys fail to realise is that PEJ has no real office recognised by the constitution. To be honest GEJ should tell his wife to chill on political issues and take the back seat. But PEJ does not need an education to be the first lady. Because the last time I checked how she became first lady is because she fell in love with a man so many years ago and long before that man ever dreamt to be President. You dont need a degree/education to get married do you? PEJ should recognise her abilities, stay away from edgy political issues, focus of family support programmes and talk less to the media on political issues.

But Buhari on the other hand is running to be President in a multi-ethnic, multi-cultural and Multi-religious country whose Lingua Franca and only official means of common communication is English Language! The President of Nigeria should be fluent in English and speak it fluently.

How does a President communicate his ideas to the country if half of the country cant understand what he says?
BBC Hausa Service where Buhari likes to go to may be popular in the North but he is not running to be Hausa President he is running to be Nigerian President.

We live in the digital age. The President is the image and face of the country. He should have the capacity to inspire our people to coalesce around a common ambition/goal. In order to do this communication is key.

If a former Military dictator who left office like 30years ago, coughs in every sentence, probably does not know how to use a computer, can not speak english and in his 70s is the best 2015 Nigeria can do then we truly have some soul searching to do.

what kind of country do we want to be? is my question? what kind of country does APC want us to be?

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by agriboom: 8:28pm On Sep 29, 2014
@op thanks for this jare! but sometimes some Donkeys should not be honored with a reply, atleast his performance still speaks for him unlike some timid fks claiming PHD/lecturer
Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by nyabingi(m): 10:51pm On Sep 29, 2014
agriboom: @op thanks for this jare! but sometimes some Donkeys should not be honored with a reply, atleast his performance still speaks for him unlike some timid fks claiming PHD/lecturer

What Performance?
Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by MeAboki(m): 12:20am On Sep 30, 2014
Has anyone listened to Ban Ki-moon the Secretary General of the United Nations? How does his accent make him any less competent?
BTW, Obasanjo didn't have a good accent and neither did MKO Abiola but both were voted by Nigerians to be their presidents - some shallow empty mofos (like their paymaster) trying very hard to discredit GMB; desperation at its best to say the least.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by egift(m): 5:54am On Sep 30, 2014
thwarrior72: I have asked this question before and I'm repeating it now....how will buhari who can hardly make intelligible & decipherable sentence in English rule a country of 170+million people, which language will he rule with, is it hausa, arabic or by hand & mouth sign?. Which language will he communicate when representing Nigeria in UN general assembly?. Buharis appalling speech/oratory cannot be attributed to mothers tongue, but a serious impaired speech.

The word pathetic cannot even begin to describe you. The length you are going to support these thieves in power to preserve their loots, amazes everyone.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by nigerianvenom(m): 7:00am On Sep 30, 2014
APC supporters are so funny.
Do u ever think buhari can lead nigerians again?
Never will such happens. Apart from the north east,buhari is d most hated politician/
past military administrator in nigeria.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by xtayle(m): 12:31pm On Sep 30, 2014
thwarrior72: I have asked this question before and I'm repeating it now....how will buhari who can hardly make intelligible & decipherable sentence in English rule a country of 170+million people, which language will he rule with, is it hausa, arabic or by hand & mouth sign?. Which language will he communicate when representing Nigeria in UN general assembly?. Buharis appalling speech/oratory cannot be attributed to mothers tongue, but a serious impaired speech.

You are very wrong!!! If buhari has impaired speech problem, there is no way he will get to the level he attained in public service. He was a GOC, he once headed the NNPC and built most of the refineries we have today, He was head of State, C in C and also headed the PTF. If its true that he can hardly speak coherently or unable to make meaningful statement, all the interviews he had granted, how were the press able to comprehend him?

Hate is a terrible killer! Many people will contact cancer on this Buhari matter because hate is a breeder of cancer. we were deceived by GEJ that he had no shoes nor bag while going to school. Nigerians thought he would be sensitive to the need of the Nation. But alas.....the moment he got in, HE NO LONGER GIVES A DAMN. He has been tested and failed and people remembered someone who had a little stint and performed and they want to trying him but because of the fear of his anti-corruption tendencies, he is hated.

Nigerians will not submit to cheap blackmail of speech or no speech. Fani Kayode can speak well but hes wanted by the efcc though GEJ is shielding him for political gains. Even if its sign language Buhari can do, we will vote for him. Nigerians will rather be lead by a deaf and dumb that will bring progress than succumb to "i have no shoes" that continues to bleed us dry.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by vemmawealth(f): 12:47pm On Sep 30, 2014
nigerianvenom: APC supporters are so funny.
Do u ever think buhari can lead nigerians again?
Never will such happens. Apart from the north east,buhari is d most hated politician/
past military administrator in nigeria.

Am sure you think nobody hates GEJ. Continue to live in fools' paradise. You will be shocked come 2015......Am an Ondo woman and I know what am talking about. Many of us have never met Gen Buhari or know him from anywhere. He does not know we exist or that we support him. We are also not politicians but we are mobilizing. You may ask why? Reason is simple.....we can no longer complain. we are tired of complaining from our bedroom when our husbands alone carries majority of the responsibilities. We want to up our own game but the system is bastardized thereby making it impossible to aspire as a woman.

We want genuine reform not the deceit being championed by PDP let Fed Govt. We dont want stomach infrastructure but genuine development and empowerment.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by vemmawealth(f): 12:51pm On Sep 30, 2014
MeAboki: Has anyone listened to Ban Ki-moon the Secretary General of the United Nations? How does his accent make him any less competent?
BTW, Obasanjo didn't have a good accent and neither did MKO Abiola but both were voted by Nigerians to be their presidents - some shallow empty mofos (like their paymaster) trying very hard to discredit GMB; desperation at its best to say the least.

Dont mind them......they are hired to cause disaffection online against formidable opponent. Unfortunately for them, we have been pushed to the wall. We are ready to stand up to them awareness for awareness, sensitisation for sensitisation, mobilisation for mobilisation and cmpaign for campaign.

Re: Buhari's Accent: Dont Get It Wrong by agriboom: 2:22pm On Sep 30, 2014
nyabingi:

What Performance?

Ask me again

Fake N1000 Note! photos / Comissioning Of Biafran Embassy In Victoria Spain / Prof. Yemi Osinbajo Has A New Hair Cut (pics)0

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 93