Stats: 3,151,607 members, 7,812,998 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 02:47 AM

HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. (1618 Views)

Top Signs Of Radiator Failure / When Is The Right Time To Wash Your Radiator? / My Nissan Extera Gets "Tired" After Doing Some Work On Long Journey Or Traffic (2) (3) (4)

HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by bjjbam: 10:13am On Jan 22, 2015
To d experts in the house. My Toyota camry's radiator shortens water whenever I travel long distance. Within town it works perfectly. Eventhough the temperature on d dash board doesn't rise above d normal range, I don't think this is normal. Pls I need ur advice. Thanks!
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by GAZZUZZ(m): 10:35am On Jan 22, 2015
bjjbam:
To d experts in the house. My Toyota camry's radiator shortens water whenever I travel long distance. Within town it works perfectly. Eventhough the temperature on d dash board doesn't rise above d normal range, I don't think this is normal. Pls I need ur advice. Thanks!

You have a leak, or a bad headgasket.

Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by Nobody: 10:01pm On Jan 22, 2015
GAZZUZZ:

You have a leak, or a bad headgasket.

Where is the head gasket located? Does it require the attention of an auto mechanic to replace it?
I have similar case, I have a complete Bosch toolbox
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by ZIMDRILL(m): 10:04pm On Jan 22, 2015
bjjbam:

how long would be the distance and also how much do you pour in
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by GAZZUZZ(m): 1:08am On Jan 23, 2015
indigene:

Where is the head gasket located? Does it require the attention of an auto mechanic to replace it?
I have similar case, I have a complete Bosch toolbox

How d bolded take concern me? tongue
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by Nobody: 5:41am On Jan 23, 2015
ZIMDRILL:

how long would be the distance and also how much do you pour in
No be wen radiator drink belleful?
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by bjjbam: 3:01pm On Jan 30, 2015
I have replaced the gasket, but the problem persists. These road side mechanics advised that I remove the thermostat but knowing fully well what thermostat does in a car, I stood my ground dat I wouldn't. I don't know wot to do again. I thought of replacing d radiator but there was no leak anywhere. A friend later told me to get a double cell radiator. Pls wot shud I do?
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by honmusa(m): 8:22pm On Jan 30, 2015
bjjbam:
I have replaced the gasket, but the problem persists. These road side mechanics advised that I remove the thermostat but knowing fully well what thermostat does in a car, I stood my ground dat I wouldn't. I don't know wot to do again. I thought of replacing d radiator but there was no leak anywhere. A friend later told me to get a double cell radiator. Pls wot shud I do?
There is is a leak in ur cooling system ,u will need to go for cooling system leak test in a reputable mechanic outlet.This test will bring out any leak in a cooling system however small it might be.
N.B:Word of advice :If u dont want ur engine to die a slow death ,dont ever remove ur thermostat or run ur fan direct .

Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by bjjbam: 6:26am On Jan 31, 2015
honmusa:

There is is a leak in ur cooling system ,u will need to go for cooling system leak test in a reputable mechanic outlet.This test will bring out any leak in a cooling system however small it might be.
N.B:Word of advice :If u dont want ur engine to die a slow death ,dont ever remove ur thermostat or run ur fan direct .

Thank u I will try that as well
Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by GAZZUZZ(m): 12:38pm On Jan 31, 2015
bjjbam:

Thank u I will try that as well

Remove your thermostat (yeah I said it). Test your vehicle for a day or 2, if it does not overheat, get a new thermostat (follow instructions o!).

It could also be your radiator, this is a pic of what was in a clients radiator when it was opened.

The car in question only overheated on the highway at speeds above 100km/ph

No leak, changed head gasket but problem persisted until I checked radiator.

Re: HELP! My Toyota Camry '98 Radiator Shortens Water On Long Distance. by bjjbam: 10:43pm On Feb 02, 2015
[quote author=GAZZUZZ post=30298874]

Remove your thermostat (yeah I said it). Test your vehicle for a day or 2, if it does not overheat, get a new thermostat (follow instructions o!).

It could also be your radiator, this is a pic of what was in a clients radiator when it was opened.

The car in question only overheated on the highway at speeds above 100km/ph

No leak, changed head gasket but problem persisted until I checked radiator.[/quote

Thank u. I removed d thermostat and I travelled for 7 hrs and it was ok but honestly I wasn't comfortable, so I decided to get anoda thermostat, d engine overheated in a matter of minutes. After puting d thermosts

Toyota Avalon Snatched At Gun Point / Where To Find This In Ibadan? / What’s With Ijaiye-Ojokoro Cars?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 20