Stats: 3,148,891 members, 7,802,870 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 12:11 AM

Delete This Topic - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Delete This Topic (3932 Views)

THIS TOPIC HAS BEEN MOVED / / Seun Why Did You Lock This Topic Once I Started Posting The Truth? (2) (3) (4)

Delete This Topic by Nobody: 6:13am On Mar 05, 2009
Deleted, Deleted.
Re: Delete This Topic by GAR3TH(m): 9:31pm On Mar 05, 2009
I don't Know what you mean by "rich", but i do know that Lagos is rank 30th in a Cost of Living Survey done by Mercer LLC. Also here is a video of the Global Financial Crisis and how it affects africa. In the video they talk about how the cost of living in Lagos is increasing. 

http://www.mercer.com/summary.htm?idContent=1095320

Vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tuYdNIjoc9k&feature=channel_page
Re: Delete This Topic by tamme: 2:09am On Mar 06, 2009
Lagos undecided
Re: Delete This Topic by StFunmi(f): 2:17am On Mar 06, 2009
Rivers state is the richest state in Nigeria.
Re: Delete This Topic by mandarin: 6:40pm On Mar 13, 2013
Sometimes I read with amusement some comments made by supposed Nigerian youths, I really want to believe majority do not share your beliefs, hopes and may be expectations.
Its saddening Nigeria has degenerated into an ethnic cocoon across its various geopolitical zones but as much as I detest commenting on ethnic-sectional topical issues as this the issue of Nigeria is worth discussing however in a more intellectual way.
I don't think a break up through wars or any form of civil strife or confrontation is what will solve Nigeria's problems or make life better, after all you never can tell the type of leaders that will rise;imagine today governors buying super luxury cars et al.I think Nigeria can look toward a COMMONWEALTH FEDERAL REPUBLICS structure in which we will have large and small entities the number of which will be determined by the desire of the people themselves to forge a common nationhood.I think for the major ethnic groups to easily merge into regions will be easier than getting a number of smaller groups form a super structure, but this is also achievable though through negotiations.
If I can deduce,it may therefore for cultural and economic reasons be easy for Yoruba & Igbo people to form superstructures but there will still be flash points when considering claims and counter claims in states like Delta(depending on what decisions are taken by such groups as Olukunmi, Itshekiri, Ijaw,Akoko-Edo, Anioma, Isoko and Urhobo regarding their own affiliations or self determination)The Hausa/Fulani do not own the entire Northern Nigeria as it is the make belief of some online commentators but it will be challenging having an Hausa/Fulani region as it will not be as easy as the time od the Sardauna.Political differences has played a wider role in splitting the northern mind over the years and you can expect series of discords which will take long years to resolve. Then we will be confronted by how the remaining groups of Middle Belt and Niger Delta will organize themselves if we can have the greater Kanuriland in the North east to be a region.
While it may look so easy now that Niger Deltans can forge a region, but with massive corruption in Nigerian system already working also in that region we may have a hell of massive disputes. I think the Ijaws deserve and will get a region of their own but will be surprised by their new much reduced map, many groups will rise to lay claim to oil fields and they may be force to be contented with areas where they have landmass to support their maritime claims.
More importantly will be the challenges to be faced by groups a s the Ikwerre, Ogoni Bonny and co unless they merge with bigger groups and forge their own semi autonomous communities or principalities or Nigeria may end up with over 250 of such divisions.
If however such small groups should negotiate their autonomy within a larger groups arranged into a workable unions , we can have as low as 15 regions. By allowing for economic and resource control across regions will immediately skewed the map into wealthy and poor regions but through a levied mutually agreed federal tax the central government can give aids to perceived poor regions.This system I believe will trigger serious competitions across the country and it will also give people or cultures leverages across the commonwealth to assert themselves. There is nothing wrong with for instance an Hausa/Fulani region to run a sharia system or a region to pursue a socialist -welfare state while other going with capitalism, no one will teach monkey to peel banana after all Cuba is today venturing into private ownership of businesses, economic challenges will cause many to change their systems over time.
Nigeria will be better rather than any Biafra or whatever name is being proposed. I think proponents of any republic can forge themselves into an autonomous region, after all we can have a Biafra Region in Nigeria, Hy not? it will at least save us money in propagating wars and add to our developments.
Re: Delete This Topic by kolajoo(m): 6:43pm On Mar 13, 2013
4th to comment. I reserve space abeg
Re: Delete This Topic by manny4life(m): 7:10pm On Mar 13, 2013
It depends on what you define as "RICH" or "WEALTH". At the moment, Anambra is the ONLY state with little poverty, opposite of rich.
Re: Delete This Topic by obilojayyahoo: 7:28pm On Mar 13, 2013
Lagos state is the richest state, wit revenue income that worth,42 billion naira monthly.
Re: Delete This Topic by bloggernaija: 8:18pm On Mar 13, 2013
It depend on how you measure riches.in you are talking about the sheers size of the wealth,then Lagos it is but if you are measuring it relative to the size of population and responsibility(a better measure , then akwa ibom is the richest.followed by either rivers or delta.
That is why the UAE is regarded as the wealthiest nation on earth.small population , gigantic revenues from oil and gas.
Re: Delete This Topic by Sealeddeal(m): 10:45pm On Mar 13, 2013
obilojay@yahoo.:
Lagos state is the richest state, wit revenue income that worth,42 billion naira monthly.
i think you exaggerated lagos' monthly revenue.Lagos is still struggling to bring up their revenue to about 25billion naira monthly.
Re: Delete This Topic by NRIPRIEST(m): 10:55pm On Mar 13, 2013
manny4life: It depends on what you define as "RICH" or "WEALTH". At the moment, Anambra is the ONLY state with little poverty, opposite of rich.

Indeed Anambra is very much economically stable. She owes nobody and all her sectors are booming. And too,its the state with the least porverty. Lagos,Rivers,Delta and even Akwaibom owes a lot of banks. Anambra might as well be the state with the most vibrant economy in the country. The state is stronger than a lot of people actually know. Anambra has made lots of progress thanks to Pete Obi.
Re: Delete This Topic by ba7man(m): 11:00pm On Mar 13, 2013
NRI PRIEST:

Indeed Anambra is very much economically stable. She owes nobody and all her sectors are booming. And too,its the state with the least porverty. Lagos,Rivers,Delta and even Akwaibom owes a lot of banks. Anambra might as well be the state with the most vibrant economy in the country. The state is stronger than a lot of people actually know. Anambra has made lots of progress thanks to Pete Obi.
So Anambra is the richest State, right??
Re: Delete This Topic by babapupa: 11:18pm On Mar 13, 2013
obilojay@yahoo.:

Even adding monthly allocation to that number which = 32 billion, your number is still wrong.

32 billion with 20 million people to provide for with the largest infrastructure demand in the country, Lagos is one of the poorest states in Nigeria.
Re: Delete This Topic by babapupa: 11:23pm On Mar 13, 2013
St.Funmi:
Rivers state is the richest state in Nigeria.

Correct answer.
Re: Delete This Topic by ba7man(m): 11:43pm On Mar 13, 2013
babapupa:

Correct answer.
Bayelsa is more like it.
Re: Delete This Topic by babapupa: 11:53pm On Mar 13, 2013
ba7man: Bayelsa is more like it.

Why?
Re: Delete This Topic by ba7man(m): 5:35am On Mar 14, 2013
babapupa:

Why?
When you receive a monthly allocation of roughly N8.5 billion to cater for a population of 2million.....You are rich.
Re: Delete This Topic by ba7man(m): 5:39am On Mar 14, 2013
At the meeting of the monthly Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC) in October, 2012. From the total disbursement of nets after deductions, the highest recipients are from the oil producing states with Akwa Ibom N17.6bn, Rivers receiving N14.4bn, Delta N14.4bn and Bayelsa N9.8bn. The highest recipients from non-oil –producing states are Lagos N13.8bn and Kano N10.6bn.
Re: Delete This Topic by ba7man(m): 5:52am On Mar 14, 2013
THE NIGERIAN STATES BY POPULATION

Lagos State 15,000,000
Kano State 9,383,682
Rivers State 5,185,400
Delta State 4,098,391
Akwa Ibom State 3,920,284
Cross River State 2,888,966
Bayelsa State 1,703,358.
Those Niger-Delta states are big suspects. They receive so much but do so little. Those States should be the next Dubai with the amouts they receive but their Govts seem to lack ideas on what to do with the Money.
Re: Delete This Topic by Sealeddeal(m): 5:56am On Mar 14, 2013
ba7man: At the meeting of the monthly Federation Account Allocation Committee (FAAC) in October, 2012. From the total disbursement of nets after deductions, the highest recipients are from the oil producing states with Akwa Ibom N17.6bn, Rivers receiving N14.4bn, Delta N14.4bn and Bayelsa N9.8bn. The highest recipients from non-oil –producing states are Lagos N13.8bn and Kano N10.6bn.
you mean ND state are really raking this enormous amount of money? So,where is the development to show for it? i think the Governors in ND states should all be stoned to death.they are monumental failures. BTW,i think Bayelsa is the richest state.
Re: Delete This Topic by ba7man(m): 5:59am On Mar 14, 2013
Sealeddeal: you mean ND state are really raking this enormous amount of money? So,where is the development to show for it? i think the Governors in ND states should all be stoned to death.they are monumental failures. BTW,i think Bayelsa is the richest state.
Absolutely, take a look at the population that they are responsible for to know how good they've got it. Akpabio is the only one I'v felt his vibes but with the money he collects, that's the least one should expect. The money is probably looted and used to fund elections, I guess.
Re: Delete This Topic by mandarin: 8:53am On Mar 14, 2013
killayut: Nigeria is solidly blessed with lots of resources although mismanaged by government. We also know that the various states are indirectly financed by Governemnt via what they call statutory allocation making most of the states parasite states wholly dependent on the Niger Delta states resources. Even the state of Lagos gets its bulk finances from the federal government through the huge Igbo population it has that gave it a good proportion of that 9 million people which makes it gets large sum from the federal allocation on the basis of statutory allocation based on population. With sincerity can somebody prove to us the Richest state of the federal Republic of Nigeria ?

Permit me to say that you did not do your analysis well to come to this conclusion. You must understand that Igbo are not the only people doing business in Lagos. Lagos is a cosmopolitan city working toward becoming a global player just like London. It is within the Yoruba geographically just as London in England within the United Kingdom. Anyone can come and do business and even live in the city.Lagos make so much money not from Igbo people but from all residents and those doing business in the city just as it is anywhere in the world.Lagos with its present IGR is capable of doing well and if the Federal revenue should be added to its sprawling informal sector we can be looking at a GDP of over $60 billion.My dear friend, I don't think an ordinary Igbo man or Hausa man making money in Lagos think the way you do. Delta, Bayelsa ,Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Ondo, Cross River are states with huge potentials but potential don't lie in resources alone, it lies inside the mind(brain) of man and that is why states like Oyo, Ogun, Imo, Anambra and Abia has huge potential not to mention others as Ekiti and Edo that can achieve middle class economy for their citizens through human capital developments.
Re: Delete This Topic by manny4life(m): 1:09pm On Mar 14, 2013
IMO, there are several factors that contribute to wealth of a nation or state

1. Human Resources - these include all skilled, educated workers that have the prerequisite necessary experience. Most of the advanced stated, on population per capita are almost equal on these. Nonetheless, Lagos takes the cake because of diversity.

2. Natural Resources - As it stands, there are few states who have harnessed resources including oil. At the moment, oil is our driving economy, therefore, Rivers takes the cake on this one.

3. Infrastructure - this is a harder to compare given that when comparing population vs infrastructure in place, I think Akwa Ibom or Cross River, either one, they take the cake.

4. Economy - Using GDP per Capita as a measure to standard of living, including poverty rate, again looking on per capita basis, Rivers takes the cake once more.

5. Savings and Debt - Well, well, well, all these other states are heavily indebted, as it stands, Anambra is the least state with poverty and ONLY state without ANY debt, so they take the cake on this one.

The list goes on and n and on, I would classify them based up - Natural Resources, Infrastructure, Economy, Savings and Debt, Human Resources. Reason why human resources is last is because it can be imported. A Rivers company can hire a Lagos graduate and relocate him to Lagos. In their short list, they are Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Lagos.

BBC Documentary On Rebranding Nigeria / Reuben Abati - The Black-out In Brazil / Kwara Nasfat Dissociates Self From Boko Haram

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 54