Stats: 3,152,620 members, 7,816,551 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 01:03 PM

Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) - Properties (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) (30754 Views)

4 Storey Building Collapses At Obosi, Anambra State (Photos) / Three Storey Building Collapses At Ilasa, Lagos (Photos, Video) / OkoPoly Three Storey Building Collapses At The Permanent Site (2) (3) (4)

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by Flexy2vybes(m): 4:43pm On Jul 09, 2015
Eiya wat a pity
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by rusher14: 4:44pm On Jul 09, 2015
Mystery aeroplane?

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by AlchemistDean(m): 4:44pm On Jul 09, 2015
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by mozkunzult: 4:44pm On Jul 09, 2015
gr8eminent:
just waiting for some bulshit stories to pop up from Civil engineering association, the government, passersby, neighbors, SON, Building materials association. #yourmercyGod

Government especially because am sure the structure passed approval
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by teehbouy01(m): 4:44pm On Jul 09, 2015
habaa.....nt again....shey na only lagos waka cm.
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by Nobody: 4:44pm On Jul 09, 2015
Hmmmmm. The building collapsed at its infancy. May its soul rest in perfect peace.
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by ebuskalabe(m): 4:44pm On Jul 09, 2015
choi wat a tragedy
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by VickyRotex(f): 4:45pm On Jul 09, 2015
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by adeakeem(m): 4:47pm On Jul 09, 2015
Nigeria full of disaster.......
North with boko haram problem
East with there kidnapping and baby factories
West with arm robbery and collapse building
While south with militant
And Baba is still sleeping........
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by asumo12: 4:47pm On Jul 09, 2015
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by pheesayor(m): 4:47pm On Jul 09, 2015
If it is the building beside E- Center then I think it is in the same compound as E-Center as they are building an extension. Will confirm when going home from work

Modified:

It is faaarrrrr from E Center, it is at the other end of commercial Avenue, on your way to Makoko/Iwaya, off Queens road. It is an old building being renovated. TVC just left there now, not sure if there were any casualties
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by asumo12: 4:48pm On Jul 09, 2015
whats your favorite position?
VickyRotex:

angry undecided
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by VickyRotex(f): 4:50pm On Jul 09, 2015
asumo12:
whats your favorite position?

CEO!!! cool smiley

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by PStacks(m): 4:52pm On Jul 09, 2015
hazyfm:
SO MANY OLD HOUSES IN SABO YABA

EVEN THE ONE BUILT BY LORD LUGARD IN 1904 ARE STILL FOR RENT

NA WA FOR LAGOS OOO

The building in question is a new construction site and not old buildings.

The old buildings or lord luggard are far stronger than what our quack engineers construct for us these days, go and ask TB joshua to tell you the truth why his Church Hostel fell.. When he's not telling you that hulaaabaloo storey of how a misterious plane came crashing the building down, then he'l be telling you the truth.

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by sonnie10: 4:56pm On Jul 09, 2015
Lagosian always trying to convert bungalow to duplex. Greed for rent. Hope no life was lost.
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by princepee: 4:58pm On Jul 09, 2015
No body died, the construction workers noticed cracks, and called people out of the building. Though some people sustained injuries sha.

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by bummyla(m): 4:59pm On Jul 09, 2015
Lord Help Us! All These Fake Contractors!

http://www.bummyla.com
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by yungpalizawa(m): 5:02pm On Jul 09, 2015
This thing enter my house for Lagos, choi!
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by yalwaysme1: 5:10pm On Jul 09, 2015
This government sef
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by Monalisa185(f): 5:13pm On Jul 09, 2015
SSS office abujaBREAKING NEWS! Security alert!! Privileged information reveals the mass arrival of BOKO HARAM Fighters to Southern Nigeria, especially to LAGOS and RIVERS States. We have been advised to take urgent and adequate security measures in Churches, especially on Sundays and in places with large gathering such as markets, shopping malls, cinemas, parks. etc. Pls pass on to other friends & family members, especially those residing in PH and Lagos. News is that our enemy is planning something bigger than Nyanya bomb blast btw Tuesday n Wednesday in Abuja. Mind ur movement and be careful, the place is still unknown. Pls pass round to save ur love ones. May God help us & save our country. Pls the message is from a reliable source in the UN office, dont disregard, pls share. These are d police control numbers of each state in Nigeria, kindly call for rapid response to any criminal incident: Abia - 08035415405.Adm wa- 08089671313.AkIbom - 08039213071. Anmbra -07039194332.Bauchi - 08151849417.Bayelsa - 07034578208.Benue - 08066006475.Borno - 08068075581.C-River - 08133568456.Delta - 08036684974.Ebonyi - 07064515001.Edo - 08037646272.Ekiti - 08062335577.Enugu - 08032003702.FCT - 07057337653.Gombe - 08150567771.Imo - 08034773600.Jigawa 08075391069.Kaduna - 08123822284.Kano - 08032419754.Katsina - 08075391255.Kebbi - 08038797644.Kogi - 08075391335.Kwara 07032069501.Lagos - 07055462708.Nasarwa 08123821571.Niger - 08081777498.Ogun - 08032136765.Ondo - 07034313903.Osun - 08075872433.Oyo - 08081768614.Plateau - 08126375938.Rivers - 08032003514.Sokoto - 07068848035.Taraba - 08140089863.Yobe - 07039301585.Zamfa - 0810658012 Please forward this to your loved ones NOW.
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by juman(m): 5:36pm On Jul 09, 2015
Country upside down.
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by yungpalizawa(m): 5:36pm On Jul 09, 2015
nobody was hurt
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by refreshrate: 5:53pm On Jul 09, 2015
mozkunzult:
Poor workmanship and materials selection could cause this

Meanwhile dem don commot iron rods roofing sheets and nails for list of items that can be imported with dollar at CBN rates.

hmmm

seems like we're just starting.

Na only old buildings I go dey rent from now till I but my own old building o
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by Greycious(m): 5:54pm On Jul 09, 2015
FortuneStar:
Heyaa too bad. Hit like if u believe your house will never collapse

Mumu like freak....wonda wah u guys gain from having likes
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by leon12(m): 6:02pm On Jul 09, 2015
kingmassa:
Building will keep collapsing until the national build code is fully implemented and Registered builders fully engaged in the production of building.
Not all civil engineers are into buildings. But a builder is trained to build.
The use of quacks is the major cause of building collapse.
Build wise engage a professional builder.
You failed it man, most structural failures are result of faulty or zero design. Even if you give your building to the world best builder and its not adequately designed by a structural/civil Engineer, expect the building to collapse.

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by engrjacuzzi: 6:03pm On Jul 09, 2015
how do I calculate the bending moment and fixed end moment of this building?
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by laplace19(m): 6:32pm On Jul 09, 2015
engrjacuzzi:
how do I calculate the bending moment and fixed end moment of this building?

Lolz... use Moment-Distribution Method by Hardy Cross. shebi na 5-storey building?...you go spend weeks doing the analysis .

On a serious note, engineers should learn how to use softwares to run their design and analysis, coupled with including wind load analysis for buildings exceeding 4 floors. They should also use theoretical methods to determine the bearing capacity of the soil for such superstructure and give it a reasonable factor of safety since carrying out in-situ tests like SPT, CPT,etc are very expensive .It's all about safety.

Hope no life was lost.

Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by yehmi01(m): 7:49pm On Jul 09, 2015
Please for the sake of educating people.

I would like to ask those who know this field so well.

Whos responsiblity is it to avoid such a disaster from happening.

I know buying inferior materials will definitely cause this to happen.

But if you get quality materials but you still don't know what you are doing then you still will have issues.

So who really is responsible to avoid this.

Is of the architects or the structural/Civil engineers.

Because I know electrical and mechanical engineers come after the main building is up and standing.

But whose primary responsibility is it to prevent buildings from falling down like this.

Thanks for the useful information. smiley
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by money121(m): 7:49pm On Jul 09, 2015
Clown engrs...
Clown builders

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1inEqPzO9U
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by maestroz: 8:16pm On Jul 09, 2015
BeeBeeOoh:
I just pray no soul will be lost..

Is this present continous or past continous tense?
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by Guruscrew: 8:46pm On Jul 09, 2015
scribble:

Bro why you just dey stand there dey look, u no fit help abi?

I be superman?
Re: Storey Building Collapses At Sabo Yaba (photos) by Lawalolasimbo: 9:08pm On Jul 09, 2015
Very pathetic!

Partially Demolished Daula Hotel Collapses In Kano. / Semi-detached Duplex At Royal Garden Estate, Lekki By MOORE / Advice Needed: Between Pvc, Asbestos And Pop

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37