Stats: 3,152,518 members, 7,816,256 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 08:21 AM

General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction - Properties (2855) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction (4387268 Views)

Discuss Anything Property And Lets Make Money In The Process / Residential Building Construction Mistakes In Nigeria You Need To Avoid / General Topic Thread - The Roforofo Thread Of Construction Activities (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2852) (2853) (2854) (2855) (2856) (2857) (2858) ... (3667) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rajput4real93: 6:49pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:
I will not add and subtract from what this client and the contractor has told us.

Client said he paid #218k in total
He commissioned contractor to do the following
Procure doors worth #160
Plaster part of external walls
Repipe the whole house
Fix two windows
Remove old tiles from wall
Install basin
Do plumbing
Covert former kitchen to parlor
Fix frames for doors
Mount new doors
Do pluming testing
Do window dressing
Do door dressing
Plaster some part of internal wall

Insisted doors must be delivered first. Meaning out of the #218k , money for doors (#160k) must be spent first.

Therefore contractor would have a balance of #58k at hand for these extent of work.

Contractor applied a strategy that would’ve made it feasible by channeling limited and available fund to basic areas first. Along the line, client demanded refund for doors (88k).

Note-Business or trade strategy is secret, contractor was not under any obligation to revile his.

Conclud for yourself if the above listed work could be achieved with #130k which he agreed he paid for workmanship.

So why did contractor accept the job when he knew it was not worth it?
Anyone would have been thrown off guide with sudden demand for refund considering the whole context.
You are just constituting a nuisance here. He has fed you with lies that he's known for. You and next should serve as his witnesses during the court proceedings. I go just holla 'somehow' to come pick up the fugitive 'next '. Smiles

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by dapotemi: 6:50pm On Mar 23, 2022
Jeff68:
Ok, I want to bring a matter here as well, there is a certain Aluminium guy here, I will save his name for now, he has done a lot of work for me, I mean in the millions!
Roof - problems, executes, stories from start to finish.
Windows- we are still at corrections after 2 years! Inferior materials.
Bathroom doors - used inferior materials
NOW BATHROOM CUBICLES - PLS HELP US SETTLE THIS BECAUSE I KNOW HE WILL READ THIS, WE AGREED IN DECEMBER FOR HIM TO BUILD 3 CUBICLES, IN DECEMBER 2021!! THEY WERE NOT FIXED UNTIL MARCH ! ONE STORY AFTER THE OTHER, HOW THE CHINESE FACTORY WAS CLOSED,,,,,, NOW, I HAVE PAID 400k OF THE 440K AGREED. YESTERDAY HE TEXTED THAT THEY FINISHED AND I NEED TO PAY THE BALANCE, I SAID ONLY AFTER MY INSPECTION. UPON INSPECTION, I SENT HIM PICTURES OF THINGS THAT NEED TO BE CORRECTED BEFORE ANY PAYMENT. AND HE IS INSISTING THAT I NEED TO PAY HIM, HIS WORKERS ARE FAMILY MEN, (I DON’T KNOW WHAT I MA!)
HONESTLY, I HAVE GIVEN THIS GUY MORE CHANCES THAN HE DESERVES! I AM NOT PAYING A PENNY UNTIL ALL CORRECTIONS ARE COMPLETED!!

ARE MY WRONG?

Oga ADEDWARD, you're a known face here, please FIX this ASAP...

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 6:59pm On Mar 23, 2022
rajput4real93:

You are just constituting a nuisance here. He has fed you with lies that he's known for. Just come serve as his witness during the court proceedings.

What witness would be better than all the testimonies your have presented here before the public? Everything I have written up there came from your mouth. All.
We still have them here for verification.
I did not add and I did not subtract.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Adedward(m): 7:06pm On Mar 23, 2022
dapotemi:

Oga ADEDWARD, you're a known face here, please FIX this ASAP...
boss no probs jare, I was not arround and my installer has back to mainland, I ask him to send #20k to him, out of my money as am not there right now, so dat he can go and see what he complained for, someone dat left ur site without #1k transport money and and I ask him to come and correct something with no Kobo, ? U are there when he is doing it, u left site before he finish,
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rajput4real93: 7:10pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:

What witness would be better than all the testimonies your have presented here before the public? Everything I have written up there came from your mouth. All.
We still have them here for verification.
I did not add and I did not subtract.
So, i said all you listed above? Ire o.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by QSFemi(m): 7:12pm On Mar 23, 2022
I can see you're emboldening a person that caused his client untold pain and losses just because he was offered an opportunity to showcase his craft. Advising the client to count his loss and move on is a very insensitive thing to say for someone whose trust and contract was betrayed. Why didn't you use this sentiment and energy to advise the erring contractor to pay up his liabilities that he publicly owned up to here in this thread? Now, you're blaming the client for being civil and educated enough to go about the dispute resolution in a civil way as enshrined in a democratic setting such as ours. Let's be empathetic enough to walk a mile in people's shoe before passing a fleeting opinion from the comfort of our Internet-enabled device.
Kingdemu:
You've been saying such authoritatively for queit a while now. You always made it sound as if the next news we'll hear is that Brabus has been arrested or we'll see him come here begging for leniency. There was a time you counted down a week yet nothing. I'm sorry to say but I don't think you have the balls to get a refund from Brabus. He's more hardened in his game than you are in yours. For your sanity and peace of mind, consider that situation a learning phase. Forget about it and move on. At least, it has exposed Brabus the more (even though I must admit that he is one big encyclopedia for us newbies on this thread)

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Jeff68: 7:17pm On Mar 23, 2022
Adedward:
boss no probs jare, I was not arround and my installer has back to mainland, I ask him to send #20k to him, out of my money as am not there right now, so dat he can go and see what he complained for, someone dat left ur site without #1k transport money and and I ask him to come and correct something with no Kobo, ? U are there when he is doing it, u left site before he finish,

Ok, now that u have chosen to respond, I am supposed to pay for him to come and do your work? And come to correct it? If I pay him 20k, All that is left is 20k, when will the corrections be made? U were not around, since December! I initially paid u in the first week of December, this is March and it’s still not done and u are talking about u are out of town! I have waited for almost 4 months!!!
Now that you have responded, I will begin from the beginning, do u want us to do that? And I have proofs, so if u want to open yourself up, go ahead. U have begged me not to but this is too much!!!

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 7:18pm On Mar 23, 2022
rajput4real93:

So, i said all you listed above? Ire o.

The reason I wrote them line by line is so that you can easily point out the one you did not say.

Apart from the obvious inferences that resulted from gathering all you had said
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rajput4real93: 7:22pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:

The reason I wrote them line by line is so that you can easily point out the one you did not say.

Apart from the obvious inferences that resulted from gathering all you had said
Just free me please. Come say the rest in court

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 7:30pm On Mar 23, 2022
rajput4real93:

Just free me please. Come say the rest in court
Every man would be judged according the testimonies and confession of their mouth. That is what my Bible tells me. I am sure your Quran must have told you the same too.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by rotecch77(m): 8:09pm On Mar 23, 2022
Watch out for our ongoing project pics at lekki area
Pics coming soon.

The link to the project
https://www.nairaland.com/6980591/production-process-5bedrooms-contemporary-duplex

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Focusmind: 8:29pm On Mar 23, 2022
Adedward:

Bro, I disagree

Egun has been consistent with one statement here: " When you decide to take a job, you owns that job". There is no need apportioning blame

If you send a worker to a site, it is your responsibility to take care of the worker and ensures he delivers based on your client's specifications.

Nobody would want to complete payment on a job that he is not satisfied with or has not met his expectations.

I come in peace

17 Likes

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by EgunMogaji2: 8:48pm On Mar 23, 2022
bolu1986:

hehhe yes some artisian, this is what i dont do.. i usually leave bulk of my fund with clients at times.. finish the work and get my balance...

when you give your job to all those hungry artisian thats what you get... you guys will see us here.. collect quote.. and yet wont give us the opportunity to work for you.. i dont delay job cause i always believe another is waiting for me.

just did over 700sqm pop plus screeding in ado under 4 weeks,

https://www.nairaland.com/2550211/general-topic-thread-to-discuss-anything/2853#111300889

I don’t think we can call Adedward a hungry artisan. And he’s also on here too cheesy

We have an issue that we need to look into to fix this happenings.

My bathroom enclosure guy seems to be well learned in his industry. He sent his “boys” to do my job. I was practically begging him on WhatsApp not to send them alone and that I’ll even wait till he’s personally available. He said they can do it and they’ve done for the Sultan of Brunei (I’m joking). They came, they screwed it up as I suspected. He resolved the issue to my complete satisfaction 110% weeks later and in fact I’m asking him to do one more for me.

Contractors just need to do what they’re paid for.

Promises made, promises kept. Simple.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Jeff68: 9:02pm On Mar 23, 2022
EgunMogaji2:

https://www.nairaland.com/2550211/general-topic-thread-to-discuss-anything/2853#111300889

I don’t think we can call Adedward a hungry artisan. And he’s also on here too cheesy

We have an issue that we need to look into to fix this happenings.

My bathroom enclosure guy seems to be well learned in his industry. He sent his “boys” to do my job. I was practically begging him on WhatsApp not to send them alone and that I’ll even wait till he’s personally available. He said they can do it and they’ve done for the Sultan of Brunei (I’m joking). They came, they screwed it up as I suspected. He resolved the issue to my complete satisfaction 110% weeks later and in fact I’m asking him to do one more for me.

Contractors just need to do what they’re paid for.

Promises made, promises kept. Simple.

Bros, if I open the can of worm on this guy en! This is someone I have personally paid over 7m in works he has done for me and every one has a problem!

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by twinskenny(m): 9:16pm On Mar 23, 2022
Some of us need project management class

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by FEGEITOK: 9:35pm On Mar 23, 2022
Some people (vendors) are only nice when a potential client is making enquires

Some people (vendors) are only nice so long as the money keeps flowing from the client to the vendor

Some people (vendors) stop being nice when the money stops flowing from the vendor to the client

Some people (vendors) stop being nice once the client complains that there is an error or errors on the job delivered by the vendor

But the most interesting experience was when a vendor that I had not even engaged but recommended blocked me because I took a long while to respond to his requests about when I was going to place the order. Let me repeat he blocked my access to him on WhatsApp. And I had posted very unrestrained praise of him and his products on these streets.

He seems to have forgotten that it's not the day that you ask questions that you buy, or that it is possible that I got caught up in something that didn't give me time to respond to him, or that I have a special line for making enquiries and that even if that line is online it is unmonitored

I thank him for blocking me though cause by the time I wanted to buy and I noticed the block, I started looking for alternative suppliers and ended up buying the products way way cheaper than his publicly advertised prices, prices that before his block I was willing to buy at.

Final point, many of the vendors on these streets are not naturally nice, they are conditionally nice.

It's a good point to bear in mind and why you need contracts when engaging them and meticulous record keeping of all interactions in case the relationship goes south.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by FEGEITOK: 9:59pm On Mar 23, 2022
twinskenny:
Some of us need project management class

I would recommend additional classes:

1. Customer Relationship Management class

2. Crisis Response Classes

3. Public Relations Classes

No matter the provocation, you never respond to a client with insults. It is so unprofessional.

If one is unwilling to be professional, subcontract the public facing aspect of the job, concentrate on the delivery/execution of contracts and financials

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 10:07pm On Mar 23, 2022
FEGEITOK:

I would recommend additional classes:

1. Customer Relationship Management class

2. Crisis Response Classes

3. Public Relations Classes

No matter the provocation, you never respond to a client with insults. It is so unprofessional.

If one is unwilling to be professional, subcontract the public facing aspect of the job, concentrate on the delivery/execution of contracts and financials

Why do airlines kick out or even arrest unruly passengers? Are they not clients?

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by coldcandy: 10:07pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:
I will not add and subtract from what this client and the contractor has told us.

Client said he paid #218k in total
He commissioned contractor to do the following
Procure doors worth #160
Plaster part of external walls
Repipe the whole house
Fix two windows
Remove old tiles from wall
Install basin
Do plumbing
Covert former kitchen to parlor
Fix frames for doors
Mount new doors
Do pluming testing
Do window dressing
Do door dressing
Plaster some part of internal wall

Insisted doors must be delivered first. Meaning out of the #218k , money for doors (#160k) must be spent first.

Therefore contractor would have a balance of #58k at hand for these extent of work.

Contractor applied a strategy that would’ve made it feasible by channeling limited and available fund to basic areas first. Along the line, client demanded refund for doors (88k).

Note-Business or trade strategy is secret, contractor was not under any obligation to revile his.

Conclud for yourself if the above listed work could be achieved with #130k which he agreed he paid for workmanship.

So why did contractor accept the job when he knew it was not worth it?
Anyone would have been thrown offguard with sudden demand for refund considering the whole context.

This matter wey you carry for your head is baffling.
Are you business associates with rotech or you are rotech with a second account?

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 10:16pm On Mar 23, 2022
coldcandy:

This matter wey you carry for your head is baffling.
Are you business associates with rotech or you are rotech with a second account?
I have be called Michllin
I have been called ne3t
Now Rotecch77

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by FEGEITOK: 10:19pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:

Why do airlines kick out or even arrest unruly passengers? Are they not clients?

Do they use not for broadcast words to describe unruly passengers?

If yes, kindly provide proof
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by kalu61(m): 10:23pm On Mar 23, 2022
Abudu2000:
i ve said it times without numbers, take your bussiness away from nairaland. nairalanders are BAD for bussiness. the small money you will make is not worth your reputation. they are not even rich, poor broke ppl claiming to live in usa and uk. mtcheeew!
I think you are getting it somehow wrong. A lot of funds flow through Nairaland on different threads. Infact, property thread has gotten reasonable inflow judging by testimonies for years now. I'm just trying to utilise online presence as all our clients have been offline.

If you have a contract with a client, keep to your own part of the bargain with evidence of payment and work done. By so doing, no client will come online to call you out even though some clients are quite difficult to impress while others goes for cheap stuffs only to get burnt.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by diordaves(m): 10:31pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:

They call the law to respectfully escort the unruly passenger out of the plane as they constitute a danger to themselves and other passengers.

However, the airlines don't abuse the living daylight out of the passenger and they don't splash the personal accounts details and emails communication of the passenger all over the internet as is the case here.

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 10:41pm On Mar 23, 2022
diordaves:

They call the law to respectfully escort the unruly passenger out of the plane as they constitute a danger to themselves and other passengers.

However, the airlines don't abuse the living daylight out of the passenger and they don't splash the personal accounts details and emails communication of the passenger all over the internet as is the case here.

They don’t wait to call the law. Every flight especially the international ones have airmarshals. Their job is to identify and kick out or aresst unruly passengers. We all get to know and see the incident because airlines do release the video and audio to the public.
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by toluxa1(m): 10:44pm On Mar 23, 2022
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by folhenrry4flizzy(m): 11:02pm On Mar 23, 2022
KolaShangOne:

We can build for you. And we are not expensive at all.

1) If you have a plan already, you can post it or send it to my mail.
2) what is your taste? Do you want P.O.P or P.V.C.? Do u want 'German floor or not? Do you want to use parapet? Do u want stone coated tiles or Longspan? Fence? Talk to your

With my own plan of a not too elaborate building and finishing, it will cost you about 6 million.

Can we talk. 08030718668

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by erico2k2(m): 11:38pm On Mar 23, 2022
sonnie10:

You keep saying he didn’t do supervision. Let me correct that impression. Supervision fee is just local parlance for professional fee. Other than monitoring and directing laborers, that fees also cover things like
Transportation to your site
Lunch while at the site
Phone calls
Mobilization of workers
Professional input
His pay or gain in the contract

So it is not just money you pay to have him monitor laborers.

guy leave the man alone, your money nor lost, you nor build, what's ur interest in this case, free the man joor him get case with Brabus and the other guy, Y drink panadol for another man headache

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by erico2k2(m): 11:40pm On Mar 23, 2022
bobkezel:

You are beginning to yarn trash.
Big time

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by erico2k2(m): 11:41pm On Mar 23, 2022
bobkezel:
[/b]
@rajput pls attend to the bolded.
WHY SHOULD HE

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by sonnie10: 11:51pm On Mar 23, 2022
erico2k2:

guy leave the man alone, your money nor lost, you nor build, what's ur interest in this case, free the man joor him get case with Brabus and the other guy, Y drink panadol for another man headache
Why did he bring it here? Do you think it’s just for us your read and pass? No.
It was to soil the contractor’s reputation in the minds of the public, you and I.

He took you and I for a fool when he decided he could manipulate us to believe such.
Reputational damage is the worst that can happen to any business.

Tomorrow when the contractor is no longer able to feed himself and family through this business, he becomes a danger to you and I in the society.

And this is fair right?

Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by Modemy: 11:53pm On Mar 23, 2022
Ok, I want to bring a matter here as well, there is a certain Aluminium guy here, I will save his name for now, he has done a lot of work for me, I mean in the millions!
Roof - problems, executes, stories from start to finish.
Windows- we are still at corrections after 2 years! Inferior materials.
Bathroom doors - used inferior materials
NOW BATHROOM CUBICLES - PLS HELP US SETTLE THIS BECAUSE I KNOW HE WILL READ THIS, WE AGREED IN DECEMBER FOR HIM TO BUILD 3 CUBICLES, IN DECEMBER 2021!! THEY WERE NOT FIXED UNTIL MARCH ! ONE STORY AFTER THE OTHER, HOW THE CHINESE FACTORY WAS CLOSED,,,,,, NOW, I HAVE PAID 400k OF THE 440K AGREED. YESTERDAY HE TEXTED THAT THEY FINISHED AND I NEED TO PAY THE BALANCE, I SAID ONLY AFTER MY INSPECTION. UPON INSPECTION, I SENT HIM PICTURES OF THINGS THAT NEED TO BE CORRECTED BEFORE ANY PAYMENT. AND HE IS INSISTING THAT I NEED TO PAY HIM, HIS WORKERS ARE FAMILY MEN, (I DON’T KNOW WHAT I MA!)
HONESTLY, I HAVE GIVEN THIS GUY MORE CHANCES THAN HE DESERVES! I AM NOT PAYING A PENNY UNTIL ALL CORRECTIONS ARE COMPLETED!!

ARE MY WRONG? What is really going on here
Re: General Topic Thread-To Discuss Anything And Everything in Building Construction by erico2k2(m): 11:55pm On Mar 23, 2022
Focusmind:

Bro, I disagree

Egun has been consistent with one statement here: " When you decide to take a job, you owns that job". There is no need apportioning blame

If you send a worker to a site, it is your responsibility to take care of the worker and ensures he delivers based on your client's specifications.

Nobody would want to complete payment on a job that he is not satisfied with or has not met his expectations.

I come in peace
i AGREE, 40k IS TOO SMALL TO PAY TWICE

(1) (2) (3) ... (2852) (2853) (2854) (2855) (2856) (2857) (2858) ... (3667) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: PrimeQuay and 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 76