Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,153,230 members, 7,818,776 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 02:36 AM

Hmnm... To Buy Or Not To Buy. Mercedes Benz 1988 500 SEC - Car Talk (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Hmnm... To Buy Or Not To Buy. Mercedes Benz 1988 500 SEC (8847 Views)

Toyota 1996 Still Runs For 3 Sec After Turning Off / Give Me Reasons To Buy Mercedes Benz ML 320 / Toyota Camry 1988 Or A Golf 3 ,which Should I Go For As An Msc Student (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Hmnm... To Buy Or Not To Buy. Mercedes Benz 1988 500 SEC by kingreign(m): 12:21pm On Jan 01, 2016
PapiWata:

Hello Redcliff. My profession is not auto engineering, however I am very familiar with the power plants fitted into Mercedes Benz V8 cars that date back to the period often referred to as the Golden Age of Mercedes, namely from 1983 to 1998, when those cars were built from a purely engineering standpoint, and with no expense spared in the pursuit of performance, precision handling and raw power. Sadly that tradition of engineering is no more followed by Mercedes, as they churn out overly complicated and trouble-prone designs that fail often and early, for a variety of reasons relating to shoddy design hampered by cost-cutting imperatives dictated by accountants who routinely over-rule engineering recommendations.