Stats: 3,153,146 members, 7,818,435 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 03:48 PM

N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment - Phones (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment (16246 Views)

SIM Fine: MTN Pays N165bn Out Of N330bn – NCC / We Have Paid N80 Billion Out Of N300 Billion Fine – MTN Nigeria / N1.04tn Fine: MTN Seeks Out Of Court Settlement (2) (3) (4)

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:28am On Nov 16, 2015
Yes they should pay ALL..ALL the money...thunder fire MTN
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by akpanikpe(m): 8:28am On Nov 16, 2015
#prayforMTN
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Sanuzi(m): 8:28am On Nov 16, 2015
ok now
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:29am On Nov 16, 2015
I pity MTN users, na ona head them go use pay up....

Business minded
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Exponental(m): 8:29am On Nov 16, 2015
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by akinjosh(m): 8:30am On Nov 16, 2015
These people don start aw to dey find money, it has been noticed that newly scratched recharge cards will be saying that it has been used by other subscribers.

Be on the watch!
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by fizziea(m): 8:30am On Nov 16, 2015
ziqzaq:
Wait! Wait!! Wait!!!
1.04trillion Naira! Thats 999million + 1.04million if am right 'cause my maths sucks.
MTN deserve it to some extent tho, but on anotherhand, its more like Nigeria vs S.A rivalry to me.
And if we're to think ahead, wheres all those money going to?
Who's pocket or account?
Cos after it has been paid now, it'd be silence everywhere.
I so dread that the rich would get richer with it and the poor MTN users would be used to generate that back.
Smh.
*oddthoughts

ur math sucks truly!!
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by yhemsy62(m): 8:30am On Nov 16, 2015
After everything FG will consider and give them one and half year ultimatum to pay the fine.
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by menix(m): 8:30am On Nov 16, 2015
I use Thunder beg NCC nd FG not to slash that fine, they can only give them 6months to pay up nd ensure their license is not extended pending their compliance..

Infact, FG should note revenue from taxation will suffer if they accept their condition.
MTN will deduct the fine installment from their proceeds before paying tax thus cheating Nigeria..

I hope FIRS should see this...
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by rman: 8:31am On Nov 16, 2015
No company will pour 5 billion dollars into another economy just like that...I repeat none. More so when it is a fine not investment

Have we wondered why even after admission we have stolen funds from Nigeria stashed in Swiss banks it is taking eternity to get it back? Stolen funds o.

If FG/NCC doesn't accept staggered payment, they can as well withdraw MTN'S licence.

Investors are watching sha...If FG doesn't handle this MTN issue well, it will back fire big time. Let FG be doing gra gra thinking they are impressing the gullible masses.

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:32am On Nov 16, 2015
Its not 999million but 999billion + 1.04 billion
Mtn go hear am
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by HARDDON: 8:33am On Nov 16, 2015
May God never allow me make this kinda silly mistake. Something that could totally have been avoided. Now the r losing money daily from stock n are running from pillar to post to pay up.

One thing is sure they wud pay, they ain't got no where to go to.
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by emamos: 8:33am On Nov 16, 2015
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by cathodekazim: 8:33am On Nov 16, 2015
I will borrow mtn the mny but only on d following condition

They shd release all nigerians in SA jail

They shd ressurrect all Nigerian killed in Xenophobic crisis in SA earlier this year

Price of Dstv shd be slashed by over 1000percent
Meaning 20naira per eachchannel you watch in a month

Ss1, ss2, ss3, ss4, ss5, ss6, ss7, ss9, ssselect, ssselect1 and 2, ssmaximo, ss1-3hd. That's 300naira in a month
Dunno f african magic

Jacob Zuma shd resign as president of Southafrica

And finally Nnamdi Kalu shd be sent to pretoria maximum security in Nmkamlu SA

He must nt escape

GEJ, ayo oritsejafor 20m dollars arms deal must be exposed

When u ar redy to meet d follwing conditions, beep me
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by LEXYCOM: 8:33am On Nov 16, 2015
Mtn must pay the fine immediately tru there nose.....I don't care if it affect their operation in nigeria.......just last week, mtn charged me 200 naira for a subscription I did not apply for......I guess that is my contribution to the fine
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Goahead(m): 8:33am On Nov 16, 2015
I am more concerned with Nitel, are them ready for the November launch
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by BABANGBALI: 8:34am On Nov 16, 2015
which wan be stagger payment again?
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:34am On Nov 16, 2015
thought the new c.e.o promised to deal with NCC
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by edi287: 8:36am On Nov 16, 2015
This fine should be slashed by at least 50%. I know Naija is a bit broke at the moment, but come now...this is utterly ridiculous.
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:37am On Nov 16, 2015
Does the Nigerian Govt want to run down MTN.
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by menix(m): 8:40am On Nov 16, 2015
rman:
No company will pour 5 billion dollars into another economy just like that...I repeat none. More so when it is a fine not investment

Have we wondered why even after admission we have stolen funds from Nigeria stashed in Swiss banks it is taking eternity to get it back? Stolen funds o.

If FG/NCC doesn't accept staggered payment, they can as well withdraw MTN'S licence.

Investors are watching sha...If FG doesn't handle this MTN issue well, it will back fire big time. Let FG be doing gra gra thinking they are impressing the gullible masses.

So u re saying Volkswagen will not pay the $18 billion fine in America..

Deutsche bank paid $55 million to America..
Make una dey write with brain oo..

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by PassingShot(m): 8:40am On Nov 16, 2015
Pidggin:
This is day light robbery, the fine is ridiculous

The only reason such a fine will be required of MTN is to ruin the company.
What robery? MTN, just as other telecom companies, knew before hands the penalty for not complying with the directives. They took their chance as they've done on many occasions b4 but got their fingers burnt this time.
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by free2ryhme: 8:44am On Nov 16, 2015
***break my MTN sim to avoid unnecessary extortion***
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Bisjosh(f): 8:45am On Nov 16, 2015
I just see gullibility in you all saying NCC should go through with this.

It will backfire in the Labour market when your sisters and brothers are sacked from MTN and back to the streets unable to feed their family.

MTN has the largest coverage in Nigeria.

Remember if you throw a stone from the market it might hit your house or a friend's.

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:52am On Nov 16, 2015
olumide81:
'Staggered payment'...... So that we Nigerians will help them with the payment through excess extortion?

staggered payment is reasonable sha, the amount is huge.
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:53am On Nov 16, 2015
The said response of the Communications Minister is disappointing if true. The interest of the country and not MTN should be his brief. His response ought to be that regulations are made to be enforced. This is a test case for the effectiveness of regulatory measures to ensure quality and level playing ground in our business environment. The change mantra of the present government will be viewed as halfhearted if the needed political will is not available to back up the regulatory body and enforce the fine. It will send the negative message that little has changed. Thumbs down for Buhari if he gives in on this - MTN is not indispensable notwithstanding the immediate hiccups its shutdown cum takeover will occasion. MTN had its unfair cut when it sold sim cards at outrageous costs, balked at per second billing until glo put the lie to its claim it was not immediately possible and still sends unsolicited SMS to me in further continuing disobedience of NCC directives ordering discontinuance of same. As I write MTN Uganda has just received a fine of sh5 billion for sending unsolicited SMS to customers in defiance of the regulator code forbidding same. Clearly, MTN is a corporate rascal!

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Pidggin(f): 8:53am On Nov 16, 2015
PassingShot:

What robery? MTN, just as other telecom companies, knew before hands the penalty for not complying with the directives. They took their chance as they've done on many occasions b4 but got their fingers burnt this time.

How many companies are worth 1.04 trillion? How many years will it take them to recover from incurred losses if they pay it. Why such a ridiculous amount in the first place? If the intension behind the fine is legit then the levy should have been a more realistic figure. This is an obvious witch hunt to send MTN packing.

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:54am On Nov 16, 2015
olumide81:
'Staggered payment'...... So that we Nigerians will help them with the payment through excess extortion?

Hmmmm...I.ported.my mtn to etis.This is getting to 2 years now...no regrets
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by Nobody: 8:54am On Nov 16, 2015
Yea, my bad.
I really wanted to type BILLION.
But oveerlooking that typo,
that big chunk of money is going nowhere near the poor mtn users that it was, and would be extorted from.
*oddthoughts
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by gudluckgreat(m): 8:54am On Nov 16, 2015
mrpablo:
ur math really sucks. Its 999billion + 1.4billion not million
Your Wn sucks too :DD
It's 999billion + 1.04billion
Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by ZUBY77(m): 8:56am On Nov 16, 2015
I.m curiously wondering what NCC would do if MTN refused to pay.

1 - shut MTN down? Who bears the worst consequences? MTN or Nigerians with MTN lines?

Re: N1.04tn Fine: MTN Pleads For Staggered Payment by zingywingy: 8:58am On Nov 16, 2015
lolz

[Updated] How To Root The Newly Launched Tecno Phantom Z / What Are The Benefits And The Disadvantages Of Rooting / How To Install Any Version Of Windows On Your Android Phone

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 32