Stats: 3,151,843 members, 7,813,843 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 07:41 PM

Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! (66966 Views)

IPOB Supporter Prostrates, Bows For Nnamdi Kanu (Photos) / Dimeji Bankole Prostrates Before Ooni Of Ife As Ooni Smiles / Doyin Okupe Prostrates, Begs Obasanjo For Forgiveness (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by chichriso: 9:52pm On Feb 05, 2016
The last time they met last year when Former President Obasanjo escorted Oba Adeyeye to Ife for his seclusion to becoming Ooni,it was the Ooni who went down on all fours in Salutation...Now the tables have turned and Obasanjo didnt disappoint as he paid a historic visit to the new Ooni of Ife Oba Adeyeye Enitan Ogunwusi Ojaja II and he went down flat on the floor in Salutation.

http://www.stelladimokokorkus.com/2016/02/stella-dimoko-korkus-exclusive-obasanjo.html

26 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Cyojunior(m): 9:54pm On Feb 05, 2016
Oh sorry people never knew I was d F. T. C a big shout out to those out there hustling day n night jst to make bread out of butter lik me I knw one day every thing will be alright

Bck to da topic ! And so ? Post ratting or prostration

Hw dose dat make every yoruba's either aged or young to be respectful. For dat man who looks lik osho-ginger its a pity dat we have this type of people in da yoruba race

13 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by yhemsy62(m): 9:56pm On Feb 05, 2016
Cyojunior:
u create thread still com Sidon for FTC, nawa for you o

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by demo4ril97(m): 9:57pm On Feb 05, 2016
And verily everyone is subjected to a Kabiyesi as long you respect the tradition. In yoruba land an Oba is seen as a deity, you can be noble than him( the King) but you are not greater than the throne.

Kabiyesi Alayelua igba keji orisa eje ki o tumi se o ASE!!! Wa.

160 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by bandol(m): 9:58pm On Feb 05, 2016
Hnmmm! Such is life. May God lift us up

15 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Nobody: 10:02pm On Feb 05, 2016
Ok. the Ooni is enjoying himself.

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by MayorofLagos(m): 10:05pm On Feb 05, 2016
bandol:
Hnmmm! Such is life. May God lift us up

Amen...thats it!

Look at a whole Obasanjo...person wey dey take swagga enter White House and pose like hin own America or enter Chatham House and wakabout like say na hin office...see Baba come enter Ooni presence and tidy up.

God is Great!

115 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Akanbiedu(m): 10:06pm On Feb 05, 2016
Old fox.

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Cyojunior(m): 10:13pm On Feb 05, 2016
yhemsy62:
u create thread still com Sidon for FTC, nawa for you o

Ha ha. Eggbon old age is always said tto bbe d most confusing element on earth. Bt y check my name n d O'Ps name dem be d same

If na FTC u want u can come n have it

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by asEdeyHOT: 10:17pm On Feb 05, 2016
It is Yoruba tradition

The Ooni's father is still alive, he has to prostrate to his son when he comes to the Palace

His mother is deceased (May she RIP). If she was alive, she will kneel down until her son tells her to rise.

To all intents and purposes, he is no longer their son but their spiritual head ordained by the gods of our land

Anywhere I see him, I will prostrate flat and not stand up until I'm told to do so

Kabiyesi, Ki Ade pelori, ki bata pelese. Ikeji Orisha

179 Likes 16 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Trailblazer1(m): 10:18pm On Feb 05, 2016
grin grin grin grin grin

OBJ and his theatrics

Though I have no love for him

But I duff my hart for this display of respect to tradition cool

76 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by asEdeyHOT: 10:18pm On Feb 05, 2016
Kabiyesi

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by yhemsy62(m): 10:21pm On Feb 05, 2016
Cyojunior:

Ha ha. Eggbon old age is always said tto bbe d most confusing element on earth. Bt y check my name n d O'Ps name dem be d same

If na FTC u want u can come n have it
Ooooooops!
Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by asEdeyHOT: 10:25pm On Feb 05, 2016
Yoruba tradition is amazing

The greatest tribe in Africa without any competition

The culture bestowed upon us is scientific,yet mysterious

It is process based and yet arcane

I will choose to come to this world as a Yoruba 1 million times over

Odua a gbe wa ooo

Lalasticlala - Good evening sir

211 Likes 16 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by DonLo: 10:31pm On Feb 05, 2016
Hmmmmmm

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by missKiffy(f): 10:34pm On Feb 05, 2016
Baba fi arugbo ara dobale sha embarassed

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by DonLo: 10:36pm On Feb 05, 2016
I initially thought this thread was a joke not until I opened it. I think Obasanjo even understands the enormity of the ooni's position than ooni himself. Now peeps will be careful not to greet him at least without a bow. If the WHOLE OBJ can prostrate then no right thinking Yoruba will do contrary. Ka de pe lori.

50 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Progressive01(m): 10:41pm On Feb 05, 2016
The Yorubas have such rich cultural heritage. I must admit I envy them a lot in this regard.

86 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Nobody: 10:45pm On Feb 05, 2016
asEdeyHOT:
It is Yoruba tradition

The Ooni's father is still alive, he has to prostrate to his son when he comes to the Palace

His mother is deceased (May she RIP). If she was alive, she will kneel down until her son tells her to rise.

For all intents and purposes, he is no longer their son but their spiritual head ordained by the gods of our land

Anywhere I see him, I will prostrate flat and not stand up until I'm told do so

Kabiyesi Ki Ade pelori, ki bata pelese

Wow! Very impressive.

Long may He reign.

27 Likes 1 Share

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by yemmie(m): 10:46pm On Feb 05, 2016
What obj did publicly confirms the new oni went through a proper initiation to be the king.

God is the king of Kings. A proper Yoruba king however is very powerful spiritually, he has control of the unseen coordinators of Fire, water, air and land. These kings go through things that make them transcend to the point where heaven and earth meet. No ordinary human can transcend there spiritually and return to earth.

This is where the celestial decisions are taken.

17 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by babyfaceafrica: 10:46pm On Feb 05, 2016
asEdeyHOT:
It is Yoruba tradition

For all intents and purposes, he is no longer their son but their spiritual head ordained by the gods of our land

its actually a taboo for a kings father to prostrate before his son!!!!!

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by iPopAlomo(m): 10:46pm On Feb 05, 2016
Ebora Owu 1 of the whole world...

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by Kangol99(m): 10:46pm On Feb 05, 2016
That's why I love the Yorubas! They have humility!

Thanks papa. Am proud of you!

21 Likes 1 Share

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by yomalex(m): 10:47pm On Feb 05, 2016
Hmm

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by TreasureTayo(m): 10:47pm On Feb 05, 2016
KAABIYESI OO.. K'ADE PE LORI, KI B'ATA PE L'ESE.

OBASANJO HAS DONE WHAT IS EXPECTED OF HIM.

OBA BA LORI OHUN GBOGBO NI. THIS ISNT MILITARY OR DEMOCRACY.
THIS IS CULTURE. IT OUR WAY OF LIFE. wink

Where is this girl that keeps shouting LadyF abi what's her name sef.. grin grin grin

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by aribisala0(m): 10:50pm On Feb 05, 2016
He did not remove his hat which is even more important. At his age prostrating is not necessary but he should remove his hat and touch the ground.

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by asEdeyHOT: 10:50pm On Feb 05, 2016
babyfaceafrica:
its actually a taboo for a kings father to prostrate before his son!!!!!

Not when his son ascends the throne of Ooni

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by braine(m): 10:51pm On Feb 05, 2016
Good.
Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by aribisala0(m): 10:51pm On Feb 05, 2016
asEdeyHOT:
It is Yoruba tradition

Yoruba tradition for his father to prostrate for him? Really?

Re: Obasanjo Prostrates Before The Ooni Of Ife! by aribisala0(m): 10:52pm On Feb 05, 2016
asEdeyHOT:

Not when his son ascends the throne of Ooni

Where did you get that from? Go and ask your elders properly

Saraki Dances Shaku Shaku, Removes Cap, Shows Street Credibility In Ilorin / Serious Fights Erupt At Filling Stations In Ibadan And Ogun State (Pictures) / if you dont know any of these, you shouldn't be discussing nigerian politics