Stats: 3,152,713 members, 7,816,939 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 08:40 PM

The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? (946 Views)

Youths/occupy/nigeria/2016 / Why Nigerians Won't Occupy Nigeria As Fuel Subsidy Removed / Subsidy: Muslims Call On Labour To Dialogue Not Occupy Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by MORNDEW(m): 7:49pm On Jul 21, 2016
THE OCCUPY NIGERIA 2016, ON NAIRALAND; POLITICAL INTEREST OR SECESSION MOVEMENT?

In life, we must ask ourselves questions in whatever we plan to venture in or what we have ventured in already. On the 8th of July, 20016, I stumbled on a thread on Nairaland pricking on the conscience of Nigerian Youths to rise up against the injustice and mismanagement of Politicians and the elites. I dropped my comments on that thread and offered to even die for the course provided it's genuine.

As God may have it, I was added to a group as one of the team planners to bring about this desired change in Nigeria. The first day, I enjoyed my stay in the group interacted with different intelligent guys on the same group. I was so happy there were still youths who are not ethnic, or religious bigots and has the same intention of making a difference in Nigeria like me. But on the second day, I started noticing a different scheme of things to what I had believed conveyed us to that BBM group that later turned to a Whatsapp group. What was supposed to be like a youth movement for rebranding Nigeria started looking like a political party formation to serve the interest of a politician or to drive the course of a group.

Such things like registration of members and forming of smaller groups registered in each State started coming up. Contributions and we reading up radical books that I don't reason behind them became part of what was mandated of us. I quickly kicked against the Idea in my usual radical manner. We continued back and forth until nature took the better part of us and we retired to bed. I expected us to move in straightforward direction to why we conveyed there and come up with strategies to occupy Nigeria and demand for a change in the way things has gone and is going in the country. But No, rather, it looked like a strategic ploy to position someone for a political interest.

On the 19th of July, as we started our normal deliberations, a guy among us named Deji brought up an issue that shocked some of us and me in particular. Our leader in the person of Pasino, was a staunch Biafra supporter and IPOB youth and has done so in different fora and engagements. There was Pandemonium in the group. I raised my voice in condemnation. There's nothing I hate like hypocrisy. I have said I would die for that course provided it's genuine and that those to be involved should be people of Amiable character who have uncommon love for Nigeria. In my anger I voiced out my disappointment of how things have turned out. To my surprise, many there supported him. Apparently to show that they've been bought over. In fact, 70% of those in that group said they support Biafra. So does anyone else need another reason to stop taking them serious? But I continued my condemnation of how I found myself in a place conveyed by those who hate Nigeria. I agree things are not the way they should be but secession has never been the solution to it let alone by a group that preach hate against other tribes, violence, killings and bloodshed, mudslinging etc. As I continued to voice my dismay, and instead of Pasino to explain his position and Involvement with IPOB agitation and other accusations leveled against him, I was removed from the group by Pasino. Imagine such tyranny from a youth who has gotten no position. Is that who we should trust to change things in Nigeria? Or who anyone of us should join in his selfish interest? No. Remember the guy who conveyed the #IStandWithBuhari thing being a scam? It's the same scenario that has played out.

Before we think those who conveyed the occupy Nigeria thing on Nairaland means well let's ask ourselves these?

* What exactly are we occupying for?

*How can a Biafran supporter suddenly want the good of Nigeria

* Can a Russian become US President?

* If we agree to fight this cause till the end and suddenly the Biafran dream seem visible in the middle of it, will our leader who is a pro Biafran and IPOB youth still continue in it knowing fully where his allegiance lies?

*When that happens? Where do that leave us the genuine strugglers?

* Are we sure this is not a ploy to use us as we have seen in many occasions to achieve the interest of a political party and politicians?

*How are we sure this is not a ploy to gather our youths and use it like bait to say yes things has gone wrong in Nigeria that's why they need Biafra?

* Is our lives not on the line? Knowing fully well that our aspirations are not on the same page with theirs?

* On the day of the protest, what become of us if suddenly we see placards of Biafran agitation as seen in the support he got maybe cos they 've been bought?

* The Protest might be hijacked by Hoodlums who would want to create chaos and you and I pay with our Lives with what we don't know?

I am an unwavering believer in Nigeria and our Unity and would not join in anything that would jeopardize it's UNITY. The struggle is not genuine. Am not against any agitation but I won't be part of a hypocritical occupying of Nigeria or used as pawn to achieve the selfish interest of someone, political party or a group.

I am no longer part of this. Like Pontius Pilate, I wash my hands of this occupy Nigeria.

Princewill Chimereze
MORNDEW

Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by limeta(f): 8:01pm On Jul 21, 2016
Hum
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Nobody: 8:04pm On Jul 21, 2016
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Badtman(m): 8:05pm On Jul 21, 2016
Beware of this Space

Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by MORNDEW(m): 8:25pm On Jul 21, 2016
Badtman:
Beware of this Space

I like ur signature

Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by BiafranPrince: 8:37pm On Jul 21, 2016
Who unity of Nigeria don help?

Abeg, shove ur unity in ur shokoto and go and share it with Fulanis.

Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Almajiri1: 8:45pm On Jul 21, 2016
Be a lone wolf and do your thing.
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Nobody: 9:48pm On Jul 21, 2016
Brother, you made perfect sense to me, sincerely.

I'm very enthusiastic, passionate and committed about the ideals of a better country. Its one thing I'm prepared to suffer for, and one thing I'm prepared to, if need be, die for.

But I will stand my passion being hijacked and soiled, no I wont!

Mind you i'm an unrepentant radical leftist Marxist socialist but with enough sense to know that that movement has been comprised

Shalom!
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Sirmuel1(m): 10:15pm On Jul 21, 2016
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Nobody: 10:18pm On Jul 21, 2016
Am coming
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by MORNDEW(m): 10:25pm On Jul 21, 2016
Milonis:
Brother, you made perfect sense to me, sincerely.

I'm very enthusiastic, passionate and committed about the ideals of a better country. Its one thing I'm prepared to suffer for, and one thing I'm prepared to, if need be, die for.

But I will stand my passion being hijacked and soiled, no I wont!

Mind you i'm an unrepentant radical leftist Marxist socialist but with enough sense to know that that movement has been comprised

Shalom!

Compromised by they type of leadership it has
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Nobody: 10:31pm On Jul 21, 2016
MORNDEW:

Compromised by they type of leadership it has

Exactly. Bought leadership trying to buy the followers
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by Nobody: 10:35pm On Jul 21, 2016
Milonis:

how comes you ave jumped into conclusion without hearing from the other person's involved.

Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by MORNDEW(m): 10:37pm On Jul 21, 2016
Milonis:

Whatever they like they should do but for my Integrity and Love for Nigeria. Am not Interested.
Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by FrankNetter(m): 8:18am On Jul 22, 2016
MORNDEW:

Whatever they like they should do but for my Integrity and Love for Nigeria. Am not Interested.

from what i've heard and the screenshots of the chat flying around, you were acting like a kid whose sweet was taken away from him grin. others were making mature contributions and you were just throwing a childish tantrum.

get this straight, you have already been replaced. you were basically useless to the cause anyway. undecided

now, go and cry like a baby that you are. grin grin

Re: The Occupy Nigeria 2016, Political Interest Or Secession Movement? by MORNDEW(m): 9:48am On Jul 22, 2016
FrankNetter:

from what i've heard and the screenshots of the chat flying around, you were acting like a kid whose sweet was taken away from him grin. others were making mature contributions and you were just throwing a childish tantrum.

get this straight, you have already been replaced. you were basically useless to the cause anyway. undecided

now, go and cry like a baby that you are. grin grin

Is that so? Even kids sometimes make a difference. Ask Malala.

How Uba Sponsored Turkey's Failed Coup - Us Army Commander / Nigerians Vent Frustrations Against President Buhari - CNN / My Wife Belongs In The Kitchen, Sitting Room & The Other Room #IStandWithBuhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 33