Stats: 3,152,140 members, 7,814,993 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 04:07 AM

French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas - Sports - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas (10296 Views)

Ibrahimovic Grants Lukaku Permission To Wear Man United's No.9 Shirt / Wellington Jighere Defeated By Brett Smitheram At World Scrabble Competition / French Embassy Makes U-turn; Grants #teamnigeria Visa. (2) (3) (4)

French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by dainformant(m): 6:44am On Aug 27, 2016
Seems the French embassy has decided to make a u-turn on granting visas to the Nigerian scrabble team ahead of the 2016 MSI World Championships in Lille, France. It was earlier reported by the World Scrabble champion, Wellington Jighere -that the number one Scrabble playing nation on earth was refused visas for the event in Lille, France...

Wellington Jighere shared the good news on his page yesterday;

This is to say a big Thank you to everyone for the solidarity shown for our plight. Earlier this evening, we got word that the visas for the entire team will be ready for collection by Monday. We will hope to be able to make it to Lille, France before the commencement of games on Wednesday.

Once again, I, on behalf of the Scrabble family in Nigeria say thank you everybody! If it weren't for you guys, especially the journalists amongst us, this great injustice would have gone unchallenged.

You never know how much you're loved until calamity strikes. Thanks all, for the love. Let me now attempt to get some rest. It's been a long long day.

http://www.nationalhelm.net/2016/08/french-embassy-makes-u-turn-grants.html

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by ChangeIsCostant: 6:45am On Aug 27, 2016
thats good

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by PrettyCrystal: 6:45am On Aug 27, 2016
power of social media

35 Likes 2 Shares

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by madridguy(m): 6:47am On Aug 27, 2016
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by otipoju(m): 6:50am On Aug 27, 2016
This good news is not good news. It reminds one of how low Nigeria has sunken.

25 Likes 1 Share

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Luckymay(f): 7:07am On Aug 27, 2016
They had better win this time. Not some useless bronze medal.

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by feldido(m): 7:19am On Aug 27, 2016
Luckymay:

Mugabe would be happy with that grin

19 Likes

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Coldfaya(m): 7:25am On Aug 27, 2016
dia fada. no be dem fault, na we wey do ourselves make all these people dey Rena us

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by codedguy1(m): 7:31am On Aug 27, 2016
So it was the outcry from social media that made the French embassy do a turn around. Was there no intervention from the sports ministry, foreign affairs ministry or even internal affairs concerning this issue.

Seems everyone in this country is on their own. I say this because the Wellington guy only thanked the outcry from social media and never mentioned any other govt body that should have taken this type of issue up.

Naija is a wonderful country.

39 Likes 3 Shares

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Luckymay(f): 8:05am On Aug 27, 2016
feldido:

Mugabe would be happy with that grin
Lol. But buhari won't.
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Smellymouth: 8:29am On Aug 27, 2016
I bought a bag of rice for #21,500 and you that whole heartedly supported Buhari/APC during the last election is asking me to give you a cup or two..

Neighbor, hungry go kee you..

25 Likes 1 Share

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by HRich(m): 9:39am On Aug 27, 2016
ok
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by whitebeard(m): 9:39am On Aug 27, 2016
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Lukmann1: 9:40am On Aug 27, 2016
French too is trying to felt among, when better countries is talk, they are also talk... rubbish

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by adewumiopeyemi(m): 9:40am On Aug 27, 2016
i wish them sucess cool cool
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by martineinstein(m): 9:40am On Aug 27, 2016
happy for jighere.he s been given a chance to defend his world title.

Bring the cup!

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by importexpert(m): 9:41am On Aug 27, 2016
this is a nice development. i pray that we succeed
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by flyca: 9:42am On Aug 27, 2016
Make them vex, no go again angry
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by sirfemzy(m): 9:42am On Aug 27, 2016
[color=#006600][/color]tanx [b]tanx [/b]tanx

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by kaen1317: 9:42am On Aug 27, 2016
Please what is it with the sports minister and the red beret? Is he in a cult or society or is he a freedom fighter or comrade or he just likes red beret? Who knows pls?

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by martineinstein(m): 9:43am On Aug 27, 2016
Luckymay:
nigerians are the world champions.its d only sport we dominate

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by claremont(m): 9:43am On Aug 27, 2016
A visa is a privilege, not a right.

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Mopolchi: 9:44am On Aug 27, 2016
e be like say French embassy don smoke? a whole world champion na im dey deny visa.

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by GodwyneDuke99(m): 9:45am On Aug 27, 2016
Are they Suppose to Grant Nigeria for the Game or Nigeria Legitimately Qualify of Such!
Seriously Nigeria Should Turn down the So-call grant!
Are they doing Us a Favor or what?
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by mrsjcferm: 9:48am On Aug 27, 2016
Hmm
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by sirfemzy(m): 9:50am On Aug 27, 2016
Luckymay:
. instead of wishing them well

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by KingOfAmebo(m): 9:50am On Aug 27, 2016
Read the comments above me and shake your head for Nigerian youths, are these the set of people we want to untrust Nigeria with? Ba brain ba sense, Always talking trash on very sensitive issues. No positive contribution, always attacking the Messenger and not the message.

Until the senseless Nigerian youths import sense into their thick skull...Nigeria will remain in a big mess.

I am a youth but so ashamed of my fellow Nigerian youths. We are the main problem with Nigeria not the old fools.

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by Olasco93: 9:50am On Aug 27, 2016
...Some will be like "France here I come, 'Lese Pase' has been granted. Bye-Bye to hardship till further notice. Whether I win or lose, ayam not coming back..."

Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by dotna(m): 9:52am On Aug 27, 2016
Hehehe. Finally
Re: French Embassy Grants Nigerian Scrabble Team Visas by GodwyneDuke99(m): 9:53am On Aug 27, 2016
claremont:
A visa is a privilege, not a right.
This is a Game. We Are talking about here: what is Required to participate is if you're qualify then you should be among: would you say striving to work And study hard for a good result and you get such (Good) result due to your hard work and effort, would you said such is a privilege?

CAF postpones 2021 AFCON Qualifiers Indefinitely / Sanwo-Olu Receives NFF Team Ahead Of Aisha Buhari Football Tournament / Mikel Obi Acquires N35m Bentley

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23