Stats: 3,162,677 members, 7,851,317 topics. Date: Wednesday, 05 June 2024 at 05:02 PM

Why South-west And North Should Be Worried - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Why South-west And North Should Be Worried (4174 Views)

Why South East APC Leaders Rejected Governor Okorocha / Update On Exercise Crocodile Smile II In The South West And Niger Delta / Xenophobia: See Why South Africans Do Not Want Nigerians In Their Country (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by basilo102: 2:13pm On Nov 19, 2016
wristbangle:

Lol bros, u dey chest beat about ur secondary education performance. Make we yan university level na. Don't deviate too abeg. All na still education. cool
you are getting it all wrong by using university ranking. you should talk about achievement of people from the different states irrespective of which university they are. FG can pump money to any university they deem fit irrespective of the academic performance of that region

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by striker9(m): 2:22pm On Nov 19, 2016
I personally know two girls studying medicine in UI all the way from Imo,everything on nairaland is now competition.... God help us I hope
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by omofunaab(m): 2:25pm On Nov 19, 2016
wristbangle:

Am brother, I don tire 4 these people oo

Brother mesef tire oooo.

The real deal is not wassce, many have passed wassce without gaining admission into any tertiary institution.

While some will gain admission but won't be able to cope in the higher institution.

So leave them let them celebrate primary school and secondary school achievements.

Olabisi onabanjo university in ogun state is currently the best State University in Nigeria. Their students are the best in law schools.
A Yoruba holds the record of the highest graduating CGPA.

South west universities are top ranked.

Even none of their polytechnics can be compared to yabatech.

Just leave them, let them enjoy wassce results.

During my days in secondary school.

Abeokuta grammar school, Baptist boys high school, African church grammar school, Mayflower ikenne, iganmode grammar school Ota, abeokuta girls grammar school were all fighting over the overall best student in west Africa not even in Nigeria oooo. And all these schools have produced overall best student each.. Abeograms have produced more than five times, BBHS more than four times. Afrograms produced once so also AGGS and others.

My brother leave them make them enjoy.. Na their time

Atleast one of them told you they have caught up with us, that means they have already agreed south west were better.. .so let them Continue to play catch up

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Philistine(m): 2:29pm On Nov 19, 2016
old news! this is 2015 result.
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Philistine(m): 2:32pm On Nov 19, 2016
post=51169188:

Who take NECO serious, Ekiti scored first position in NECO 2016 then scored 11th position in WAEC grin grin Only God know the deal Fayose struck for the position

Southeast has been leading in Education since 1996

[b]From 1996 when the late military dictator, Sani Abacha, created 36 states out of Nigeria, the three states that have been producing the highest number of applicants in the examination organised by the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board have been Imo, Anambra and Delta.
The Guardian of August 26, 1999, page 31, had some statistics about the 1999 UTME examination. It showed that the six states with the highest number of applications were: Imo (44,274), Delta (36,375), Anambra (34,206), Ogun (33,375), Edo (29,057), and Osun (22,950). Conversely, the states that produced the least number of candidates were all Northern states: Borno (1,572), Katsina (1,054), Taraba (882), Sokoto (782), Kebbi (794), and Yobe (535). The Registrar of JAMB then, Prof. Bello Ahmad Salim, lamented the poor showing of the Northern states, noting that the 65,000 applications from the 19 states of the North were just 20,726 higher than the number of applications from only Imo State. If Imo and Delta states’ applications were combined, that would amount to 80,649 applications: over 15,000 higher than the applications from the 19 states of the North.
In 2007, The Guardian newspaper of June 1, page 3, published the results of the 2007 University Matriculation Examination. The top six states with the highest number of candidates were Imo (93,065), Anambra (64,689), Delta (61,580), Edo (57,754), Akwa Ibom (47,928), and Ogun (47,227). The last six were: Kebbi (4,682), Sokoto (3,925), Taraba (3,832), Zamfara (2,904), Jigawa (2,541), and Yobe (2,516).

For the 2012 results released by JAMB and published by Vanguard of March 31, the top five states were: Imo (123,865), Delta (88,876), Anambra (84,204), Osun (73,935), Oyo (71,272). The least five states were: Jigawa (11,529), Kebbi (7,364), Yobe (6,389), Zamfara (5,713), and Sokoto (5,664)
.[/b]
stop posting rubbish on this forum. the waec result is that of 2015
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Philistine(m): 2:33pm On Nov 19, 2016
wristbangle:
This year's result shows tremendous improvement from SW states. Though I admit our standard of Education has fallen because most of the state governments ain't investing much in the sector hereby discouraging teachers to perform their duty effectively. It's a wake up call for us in South west and this Is why the latest result released by NECO shows ekiti took the lead. Gradually we will reclaim our spot in Education sector.
the result the op posted is for 2015.
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Philistine(m): 2:37pm On Nov 19, 2016
post=51165897:
Education: Why South-West and North should be worried

Last week, the 2015 West African Senior School Certificate of Education result was released. The Punch chose to publish the story with an attention-grabbing headline: “Again, South-East leads in the WASSCE performance chart.” The report showed that Abia State dethroned Anambra. The states were ranked according to the percentage that had a minimum of five credits, including in English Language and Mathematics.
But the surprise in the report was that almost like in 2014, no South-West state except Lagos was on the top 10 of the chart. The top 10 states were the five South-East states, four South-South states and Lagos: 1st – Abia (63.94 per cent), 2nd – Anambra (61.18 per cent), 3rd – Edo, 4th – Rivers, 5th – Imo, 6th – Lagos, 7th – Bayelsa, 8th – Delta, 9th – Enugu, and 10th – Ebonyi. Ekiti was 11th; Ondo was 13th; Ogun was 19th; Oyo was 26th; while Osun was 29th. In 2014, the top 10 states were similar: Anambra (65.92 per cent), Abia (58.52 per cent), Edo (57.82 per cent), Bayelsa (52.83 per cent), Rivers (52.78 per cent), Enugu (51.91 per cent), Lagos (45.66 per cent), Imo (40.64 per cent), Delta (40.12 per cent), Kaduna (36.12 per cent). Ebonyi was 11th with 36.05 per cent.

For 2014, the states with the least performance were Northern states: They were Yobe (36th), Zamfara (35th), Jigawa (34th), Gombe (33rd), Katsina (32nd), Kebbi (31st) Bauchi (30th), and Sokoto (29th). In 2013, the result was similar: 28th – Katsina (10.45 per cent), 29th – Adamawa (8.75 per cent), 30th – Jigawa (7.47 per cent), 31st – Sokoto (7.12 per cent), 32nd – Zamfara (6.65 per cent), 33rd – Kebbi (6.30 per cent), 34th – Gombe (5.68 per cent), 35th – Bauchi (5.28 per cent), and 36th – Yobe (4.85 per cent).

Someone from the South-East or South-South could see it as a reason for chest-thumping, but for me, it portends grave danger. Why do I say so? I will explain shortly.
Those who had not been following the trend in education could dismiss this as a flash in the pan. But it is not so. I have followed the trend since the late 1980s. From 1996 when the late military dictator, Sani Abacha, created 36 states out of Nigeria, the three states that have been producing the highest number of applicants in the examination organised by the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board have been Imo, Anambra and Delta.
The Guardian of August 26, 1999, page 31, had some statistics about the 1999 UTME examination. It showed that the six states with the highest number of applications were: Imo (44,274), Delta (36,375), Anambra (34,206), Ogun (33,375), Edo (29,057), and Osun (22,950). Conversely, the states that produced the least number of candidates were all Northern states: Borno (1,572), Katsina (1,054), Taraba (882), Sokoto (782), Kebbi (794), and Yobe (535). The Registrar of JAMB then, Prof. Bello Ahmad Salim, lamented the poor showing of the Northern states, noting that the 65,000 applications from the 19 states of the North were just 20,726 higher than the number of applications from only Imo State. If Imo and Delta states’ applications were combined, that would amount to 80,649 applications: over 15,000 higher than the applications from the 19 states of the North.
In 2007, The Guardian newspaper of June 1, page 3, published the results of the 2007 University Matriculation Examination. The top six states with the highest number of candidates were Imo (93,065), Anambra (64,689), Delta (61,580), Edo (57,754), Akwa Ibom (47,928), and Ogun (47,227). The last six were: Kebbi (4,682), Sokoto (3,925), Taraba (3,832), Zamfara (2,904), Jigawa (2,541), and Yobe (2,516).

For the 2012 results released by JAMB and published by Vanguard of March 31, the top five states were: Imo (123,865), Delta (88,876), Anambra (84,204), Osun (73,935), Oyo (71,272). The least five states were: Jigawa (11,529), Kebbi (7,364), Yobe (6,389), Zamfara (5,713),
and Sokoto (5,664).

In the Unity School admission of 2013, the states that got the highest cut-off marks were:
Anambra – Male (139) Female (139)
Imo – Male (138) Female (138)
Enugu – Male (134) Female (134)
Lagos – Male (133) Female (133)
Delta – Male (131) Female (131)
Ogun – Male(131) Female(131)
Abia – Male (130) Female (130).
The states that got the lowest cut-off scores were: Zamfara – Male (four) Female (two); Yobe – Male (two) Female (27); Taraba – Male (three) Female (11); Sokoto – Male (nine) Female (13); Kebbi – Male (nine) Female (20); Bauchi – Male (35) Female (35).

So, for those from the South-West and North who may give the excuse of the South-East and South-South states getting these results by the help of “special centres,” it is a case of trying to hide behind a finger. Instructively, the South-West, which was the first to receive Western education, and was ahead in education, has lost its place in education in Nigeria. Something is killing the interest of the South-West children in education. The six South-West states need to see this as an emergency that transcends party affiliation. This scenario is a source of danger because the South-East and South-West have been counter forces to each other. Whatever feat the South-West produces, the South-East counters it, and vice versa. We can see it in the literary feats of Chinua Achebe and Wole Soyinka, the football feats of Shooting Stars and Rangers, the political feats of Nnamdi Azikiwe and Obafemi Awolowo, the academic feats of University of Nigeria, Nsukka and University of Ife, Ile-Ife (now Obafemi Awolowo University), and so on. This healthy rivalry enhances stability, peace and growth in the nation.
But if this downward trend continues, in future, that balancing of forces between the South-West and the South-East will no longer exist. And given that the indigenes of the South-East and the South-South dwell in large numbers in the South-West, a time will come when the South-West could feel angry that the indigenes of the South-East and South-South are taking over positions that the South-West indigenes should occupy in the South-West. This may cause problems as witnessed in the xenophobic attacks in South Africa last year. So, it is in the interest of all that the South-West stage a come-back in education.
The case of the North is scarier. Many commentators keep quiet about this worrisome issue because of political correctness, but only someone who loves you can tell you that you have mouth odour. It is dangerous that there are 10 million youths in the North with no formal education.

http://punchng.com/education-why-south-west-and-north-should-be-worried/
u are a double faced hypocrite,u posted only the jamb results of 1999,2007 and 2012 where igbos are leading,what happened to the remaining years!
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Anambra1stSon(m): 2:42pm On Nov 19, 2016
Philistine:

stop posting rubbish on this forum. the waec result is that of 2015
grin grin we are leading since 1996 cheesy cheesy

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Anambra1stSon(m): 2:46pm On Nov 19, 2016
Philistine:

u are a double faced hypocrite,u posted only the jamb results of 1999,2007 and 2012 where igbos are leading,what happened to the remaining years!
Why not show us were you region lead between 1996-2016
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Philistine(m): 2:47pm On Nov 19, 2016
post=51173639:

grin grin we are leading since 1996 cheesy cheesy
U Mean u are leading in exam malpractice.aka miracle centres
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Philistine(m): 2:49pm On Nov 19, 2016
post=51173724:

Why not show us were you region lead between 1996-2016
show us d full report from 1996 to 2016. stop playing on our intelligence.u selected only the years igbos were dominant.u are not smart enough!
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Anambra1stSon(m): 2:50pm On Nov 19, 2016
Philistine:

U Mean u are leading in exam malpractice.aka miracle centres
Southwest is second position on exam malpractice grin cheesy

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by wristbangle: 2:53pm On Nov 19, 2016
omofunaab:

Brother mesef tire oooo.

The real deal is not wassce, many have passed wassce without gaining admission into any tertiary institution.

While some will gain admission but won't be able to cope in the higher institution.

So leave them let them celebrate primary school and secondary school achievements.

Olabisi onabanjo university in ogun state is currently the best State University in Nigeria. Their students are the best in law schools.

Abeokuta grammar school, Baptist boys high school, African church grammar school, Mayflower ikenne, iganmode grammar school Ota, abeokuta girls grammar school were all fighting over the overall best student in west Africa not even in Nigeria oooo. And all these schools have produced overall best student each.. Abeograms have produced more than five times, BBHS more than four times. Afrograms produced once so also AGGS and others.

Atleast one of them told you they are have caught up with us, that means they have already agreed south west were better.. .so let them Continue to play catch up

Chai, U are blessed bros and indeed you are very knowledgeable about history and current tide in Education.

That school, Abeokuta Grammar School na real terror for secondary school education and their achievements still speak till now. AFRO, BBHS, iganmode, ,mehn u mention school bro. For JET competition then, na these schools along side one school for suleja, kings colleague, yaba secondary sch, dey always win am.
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Thayvid(m): 2:56pm On Nov 19, 2016
If you know the kind of malpractice going on in the east ehn!! I served in Anambra state. In a school where all you need to pass is to pay the school levy(which is a meagre sum by the way). You can decide not to come to school till the next term self.
Of course there are bright lads over there, but I'm certain those figures exaggerates the level of education in the east.

I mean, the head boy of the school I was serving in couldn't even speak proper English yet made all As in his WAEC.
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Anambra1stSon(m): 2:56pm On Nov 19, 2016
Philistine:

show us d full report from 1996 to 2016. stop playing on our intelligence.u selected only the years igbos were dominant.u are not smart enough!
grin The report was published by PUNCH NEWSPAPER not me, why not do your research to prove them wrong you are here ranting like person weh swallow goat egg cheesy grin

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by basilo102: 2:57pm On Nov 19, 2016
omofunaab:

Brother mesef tire oooo.

Atleast one of them told you they are have caught up with us, that means they have already agreed south west were better.. .so let them Continue to play catch up
we are talking about people's achievement. continue limiting yourself to your brown roof region. continue your mago mago nigerian ranking by amala infested agencies, UNN toped 2016 webometric tranparent ranking

Webometrics has recently released the openness ranking of World universities for the second half of 2016, within which less than 50 Nigerian universities were included; With Harvard University (USA) coming first in the world as usual.

Openness refers to the total number of pdf files of a university according to google. It relies on information (statistics) of web publications of a University for a Specific period of time; available on google scholar. It therefore based on volume of research articles published by a university.

The quantity of google scholarly articles a university has reveals how much of research is being conducted by the university; which is what openness ranking is all about – a university’s research output.

Openness rank is a part of the many indicators that make up several university rankings, others being excellence, presence and visibility; for Webometrics. Although it does not exactly specify the impact of the research papers a university has; the openness indicator however reveals the extent to which a school is engaged in research, which is what world class institutions are known for.

Although no Nigerian university was among the first 1000 in the world, University of Nigeria ranked highest of the Nigerian universities on the list, followed by University of Ibadan, University of Ilorin and Covenant University respectively. Below is the list of the top 30 Nigerian universities in the Webometrics 2016 Openness ranking for world universities. Their respective world ranks are those enclosed within brackets. The July 2016 edition of the Webometrics ranking of world universities (overall ranking of all parameters); of which openness rank constitute 10% by weight of is expected to be released next week.

1. University of Nigeria, Nsukka. UNN (1433)

2. University of Ibadan, Ibadan. UI (1613)

3. University of Ilorin, Ilorin. UNILORIN (2114)

4. Covenant University, Ota. CU (2161)

5. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka. UNIZIK (2173)

6. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt. UNIPORT (2190)

7. University of Lagos, Lagos. UNILAG (2243)

8. University of Calabar, Calabar. UNICAL (2333)

9. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. UNAAB (2364)

10. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. ABU (2372)

11. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife. OAU (2473)

12. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso. LAUTECH (2585)

13. University of Uyo, Uyo. UNIUYO (2655)

14. Federal University of Technology, Minna. FUTMINNA (2682)

15. University of Benin, Ugbowo. UNIBEN (2703)

16. Federal University of Technology, Akure. FUTA (2835)

17. Bayero University, Kano. BUK (2909)

18. Redeemer’s University, Mowe. RUN (2937)

19. Lagos State University, Ojo. LASU (2939)

20. Osun State University, OSU (3074)

21. University of Jos, Jos. UNIJOS (3173)

22. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo. FUNAI (3242)

23. Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port Harcourt. RSUT (3295)

24. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti. ABUAD (3330)

25. Landmark University, Omu-aran LU (3422)

26. Federal University of Technology, Owerri. FUTO (3423)

27. Enugu State University of Technology, Enugu. ESUT (3433)

28. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri. UNIMAID (3465)

29. Federal University of Dutsin Ma, Dutsin-Ma (3478)

30. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike. MOUA (3515).

Source: http://www.webometrics.info/en/node/169

Teen gets accepted by all eight Ivy League schools

By Gabrielle Sorto, Special to CNN

Watch this video here http://edition.cnn.com/2016/04/05/us/ivy-league-student-2016-irpt/index.html

Story highlights
This is the second year an Elmont Memorial High School student has been accepted to all eight Ivy League schools.
Augusta Uwamanzu-Nna plans to pursue a science-related major.

(CNN) — There must be something in the water at Elmont Memorial High School.

For the second year in a row, an Elmont Memorial High School student has been accepted to all eight Ivy League schools. Last year, the Long Island high school's salutatorian Harold Ekeh chose to attend Yale University after having his pick of all eight Ivy League schools. This year, Augusta Uwamanzu-Nna, Elmont's valedictorian, will face the same decision.

"Having two students get accepted into all eight Ivy League institutions in back-to-back years is humbling but also speaks to the incredible commitment to children by the families and staff within the EMHS Community," said Kevin Dougherty, Elmont Memorial High School principal.

Teen accepted by all 8 Ivy League schools chooses Yale

Uwamanzu-Nna was also accepted to the four additional schools to which she applied. The experience has been surreal, Uwamanzu-Nna said in a press release.

"My recent accomplishments reflect the hardworking ideals of the town of Elmont, my supportive parents and my dedicated teachers. I am elated, but most importantly, I am thankful," she said.

Ekeh and Uwamanzu-Nna are both Nigerian. Ekeh was born in Nigeria and came to the United States when he was 8. Uwamanzu-Nna is the daughter of Nigerian immigrants.

"Though I was born here in America, I visited Nigeria many times," Uwamanzu-Nna told CNN affiliate WABC. "And I've seen that my cousins don't have the same opportunities that I have. So definitely, whatever I do, I want to make sure that it has an impact on Nigeria."

Uwamanzu-Nna plans to pursue a science-related major. She was a finalist in the 2016 Intel Science Talent Search for her research on cement that could help prevent underwater oil rigs from rupturing. On Monday, she received an invitation to the White House Science Fair.

She is hoping to attend a school where she is able to combine her varied scientific interests, which include biochemistry and environmental studies, she said in the press release.

There are no secrets to academic success, she said. Her 101.64 weighted GPA was earned through hard work.

"I've struggled with numerous classes in the past," Uwamanzu-Nna told WABC. "But I guess what allowed me to be successful ... is my persistence and my tenacity."

Uwamanzu-Nna hasn't made a final decision on what school she will attend, but with acceptance to 12 schools, she has a tough decision to make.

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/04/05/us/ivy-league-student-2016-irpt/index.html

High school senior Harold Ekeh didn't just get into one Ivy League university. He was accepted into all eight.
Now comes the really hard part: Deciding where to go. He actually got into all 13 schools he applied to, including MIT and Johns Hopkins.

Ekeh was born in Nigeria and came to the United States when he was eight. He wrote his main college essay about the struggle to adjust, including being clueless in U.S. history classes at school. He said he would ask his parents repeatedly why they moved.

"We had a fairly comfortable life in Nigeria, but they told me we moved to America for the opportunities like the educational opportunities," he recalled.

He wants to major in neurobiology or chemistry in college and later become doctor and, ultimately, a neurosurgeon. He was named a 2015 Intel Science Talent Search semifinalist earlier this year for his research on how the acid DHA can slow Alzheimer's.

For Ekeh, the cause is personal. His grandmother was diagnosed with Alzheimer's when he was 11. One of his proudest moments was running home to tell his mother and aunts about the breakthroughs he was finding with DHA.

Outside of the lab, Ekeh directs a youth choir at his church, plays the drums, is part of Key Club and Model UN and was elected to the Homecoming court. He speaks Igbo and Spanish and has a 100.5% GPA.

http://money.cnn.com/2015/04/04/pf/college/immigrant-accepted-all-ivy-league-schools-harold-ekeh/

On March 31 2016, Chioma Onuoha learned she got admission into not one but THREE Ivy League schools-Harvard University, University of Pennysylvania and Princeton University. It is a great feat because Ivy League schools are hard to get into.

Sharing the wonderful news on twitter along with her admission letters, Ms Onuoha wrote:

"I 'm in complete shock #Harvard20 #UPenn20 #Princeton"

She has been receiving congratulatory messages from friends, family and twitter users.

Congrats Chioma!!!

http://www.newshelm.com/2016/04/photos-young-nigerian-chioma-onuoha.html

US studies show igbos to be the most brilliant african ethnic group, check the pics

all the advantage yorubas took because of the war is now over, they are hoping on Buhari administration to help prop them up again but it aint happening

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Anambra1stSon(m): 3:02pm On Nov 19, 2016
Thayvid:
If you know theo kind of malpractice going on in the east ehn!! I served in Anambra state. In a school where all you need to pass is to pay the school levy(which is a meagre sum by the way). You can decide not to come to school till the next term self.
Of course there are bright lads over there, but I'm certain those figures exaggerates the level of education in the east.

I mean, the head boy of the school I was serving in couldn't even speak proper English yet made all As in his WAEC.
Really but they still ranked low in malpratice table

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by basilo102: 3:06pm On Nov 19, 2016
Thayvid:
If you know the kind of malpractice going on in the east ehn!! I served in Anambra state. In a school where all you need to pass is to pay the school levy(which is a meagre sum by the way). You can decide not to come to school till the next term self.

Wetin concern english speaking and intelligence??

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by omofunaab(m): 3:33pm On Nov 19, 2016
basilo102:

we are talking about people's achievement. continue limiting yourself to your brown roof region. continue your mago mago nigerian ranking by amala infested agencies, UNN toped 2016 webometric tranparent ranking

Webometrics has recently released the openness ranking of World universities for the second half of 2016, within which less than 50 Nigerian universities were included; With Harvard University (USA) coming first in the world as usual.

Openness refers to the total number of pdf files of a university according to google. It relies on information (statistics) of web publications of a University for a Specific period of time; available on google scholar. It therefore based on volume of research articles published by a university.

The quantity of google scholarly articles a university has reveals how much of research is being conducted by the university; which is what openness ranking is all about – a university’s research output.

Openness rank is a part of the many indicators that make up several university rankings, others being excellence, presence and visibility; for Webometrics. Although it does not exactly specify the impact of the research papers a university has; the openness indicator however reveals the extent to which a school is engaged in research, which is what world class institutions are known for.

Although no Nigerian university was among the first 1000 in the world, University of Nigeria ranked highest of the Nigerian universities on the list, followed by University of Ibadan, University of Ilorin and Covenant University respectively. Below is the list of the top 30 Nigerian universities in the Webometrics 2016 Openness ranking for world universities. Their respective world ranks are those enclosed within brackets. The July 2016 edition of the Webometrics ranking of world universities (overall ranking of all parameters); of which openness rank constitute 10% by weight of is expected to be released next week.

1. University of Nigeria, Nsukka. UNN (1433)

2. University of Ibadan, Ibadan. UI (1613)

3. University of Ilorin, Ilorin. UNILORIN (2114)

4. Covenant University, Ota. CU (2161)

5. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka. UNIZIK (2173)

6. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt. UNIPORT (2190)

7. University of Lagos, Lagos. UNILAG (2243)

8. University of Calabar, Calabar. UNICAL (2333)

9. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. UNAAB (2364)

10. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria. ABU (2372)

11. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife. OAU (2473)

12. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso. LAUTECH (2585)

13. University of Uyo, Uyo. UNIUYO (2655)

14. Federal University of Technology, Minna. FUTMINNA (2682)

15. University of Benin, Ugbowo. UNIBEN (2703)

16. Federal University of Technology, Akure. FUTA (2835)

17. Bayero University, Kano. BUK (2909)

18. Redeemer’s University, Mowe. RUN (2937)

19. Lagos State University, Ojo. LASU (2939)

20. Osun State University, OSU (3074)

21. University of Jos, Jos. UNIJOS (3173)

22. Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ikwo. FUNAI (3242)

23. Rivers State University of Science & Technology, Port Harcourt. RSUT (3295)

24. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti. ABUAD (3330)

25. Landmark University, Omu-aran LU (3422)

26. Federal University of Technology, Owerri. FUTO (3423)

27. Enugu State University of Technology, Enugu. ESUT (3433)

28. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri. UNIMAID (3465)

29. Federal University of Dutsin Ma, Dutsin-Ma (3478)

30. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike. MOUA (3515).

Source: http://www.webometrics.info/en/node/169

Teen gets accepted by all eight Ivy League schools

By Gabrielle Sorto, Special to CNN

Watch this video here http://edition.cnn.com/2016/04/05/us/ivy-league-student-2016-irpt/index.html

Story highlights
This is the second year an Elmont Memorial High School student has been accepted to all eight Ivy League schools.
Augusta Uwamanzu-Nna plans to pursue a science-related major.

(CNN) — There must be something in the water at Elmont Memorial High School.

For the second year in a row, an Elmont Memorial High School student has been accepted to all eight Ivy League schools. Last year, the Long Island high school's salutatorian Harold Ekeh chose to attend Yale University after having his pick of all eight Ivy League schools. This year, Augusta Uwamanzu-Nna, Elmont's valedictorian, will face the same decision.

"Having two students get accepted into all eight Ivy League institutions in back-to-back years is humbling but also speaks to the incredible commitment to children by the families and staff within the EMHS Community," said Kevin Dougherty, Elmont Memorial High School principal.

Teen accepted by all 8 Ivy League schools chooses Yale

Uwamanzu-Nna was also accepted to the four additional schools to which she applied. The experience has been surreal, Uwamanzu-Nna said in a press release.

"My recent accomplishments reflect the hardworking ideals of the town of Elmont, my supportive parents and my dedicated teachers. I am elated, but most importantly, I am thankful," she said.

Ekeh and Uwamanzu-Nna are both Nigerian. Ekeh was born in Nigeria and came to the United States when he was 8. Uwamanzu-Nna is the daughter of Nigerian immigrants.

"Though I was born here in America, I visited Nigeria many times," Uwamanzu-Nna told CNN affiliate WABC. "And I've seen that my cousins don't have the same opportunities that I have. So definitely, whatever I do, I want to make sure that it has an impact on Nigeria."

Uwamanzu-Nna plans to pursue a science-related major. She was a finalist in the 2016 Intel Science Talent Search for her research on cement that could help prevent underwater oil rigs from rupturing. On Monday, she received an invitation to the White House Science Fair.

She is hoping to attend a school where she is able to combine her varied scientific interests, which include biochemistry and environmental studies, she said in the press release.

There are no secrets to academic success, she said. Her 101.64 weighted GPA was earned through hard work.

"I've struggled with numerous classes in the past," Uwamanzu-Nna told WABC. "But I guess what allowed me to be successful ... is my persistence and my tenacity."

Uwamanzu-Nna hasn't made a final decision on what school she will attend, but with acceptance to 12 schools, she has a tough decision to make.

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/04/05/us/ivy-league-student-2016-irpt/index.html

High school senior Harold Ekeh didn't just get into one Ivy League university. He was accepted into all eight.
Now comes the really hard part: Deciding where to go. He actually got into all 13 schools he applied to, including MIT and Johns Hopkins.

Ekeh was born in Nigeria and came to the United States when he was eight. He wrote his main college essay about the struggle to adjust, including being clueless in U.S. history classes at school. He said he would ask his parents repeatedly why they moved.

"We had a fairly comfortable life in Nigeria, but they told me we moved to America for the opportunities like the educational opportunities," he recalled.

He wants to major in neurobiology or chemistry in college and later become doctor and, ultimately, a neurosurgeon. He was named a 2015 Intel Science Talent Search semifinalist earlier this year for his research on how the acid DHA can slow Alzheimer's.

For Ekeh, the cause is personal. His grandmother was diagnosed with Alzheimer's when he was 11. One of his proudest moments was running home to tell his mother and aunts about the breakthroughs he was finding with DHA.

Outside of the lab, Ekeh directs a youth choir at his church, plays the drums, is part of Key Club and Model UN and was elected to the Homecoming court. He speaks Igbo and Spanish and has a 100.5% GPA.

http://money.cnn.com/2015/04/04/pf/college/immigrant-accepted-all-ivy-league-schools-harold-ekeh/

On March 31 2016, Chioma Onuoha learned she got admission into not one but THREE Ivy League schools-Harvard University, University of Pennysylvania and Princeton University. It is a great feat because Ivy League schools are hard to get into.

Sharing the wonderful news on twitter along with her admission letters, Ms Onuoha wrote:

"I 'm in complete shock #Harvard20 #UPenn20 #Princeton"

She has been receiving congratulatory messages from friends, family and twitter users.

Congrats Chioma!!!

http://www.newshelm.com/2016/04/photos-young-nigerian-chioma-onuoha.html

US studies show igbos to be the most brilliant african ethnic group, check the pics

all the advantage yorubas took because of the war is now over, they are hoping on Buhari administration to help prop them up again but it aint happening

Chai, too long mehn.. Unfortunately no time to respond to all these fabricated stats

Okay, we don hear, UNN is better than UI and OAU. shey be that's what you want to hear abi
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by ccffwx: 3:35pm On Nov 19, 2016
You can accept whatever ranking but no state is as good as Lagos State educationally.
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by basilo102: 3:52pm On Nov 19, 2016
omofunaab:

Chai, too long mehn.. Unfortunately no time to respond to all these fabricated stats

Okay, we don hear, UNN is better than UI and OAU. shey be that's what you want to hear abi

fabricated ke?? the websites are included for verification. stop thinking you own UI and OAU while igbos own UNN, you are limiting yourself. we all own the world equally. people like ogbonnaya onu and willie obiano are UNILAg first class, Okezie Ikpazu is University Of maiduguri PHD holder

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by InyinyaAgbaOku(m): 3:54pm On Nov 19, 2016
wristbangle:

Lol no mind am. Why him no show us 2016 statistics na. We all knew 2014 and 2015 belongs to SE in education.

Even 2016,igbos have it in the waec.
Unless you are talking about Ekiti neco.
Una Fit take neco sha

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by InyinyaAgbaOku(m): 3:56pm On Nov 19, 2016
wristbangle:

Did I mention anything that involves malpractice? Even if we want to discuss that, such ill practice is everywhere but the pendulum swings more in some region and we all know which region falls the major culprit.
Pendulum swings to the west.
The only region in the south that doesn't conduct class positions termly.
Each year, students in SW public schools move to the next class spontaneously
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by basilo102: 3:59pm On Nov 19, 2016
InyinyaAgbaOku:

Pendulum swings to the west.
The only region in the south that doesn't conduct class positions termly.
Each year, students in SW public schools move to the next class spontaneously
bros i noticed this while serving in Ekiti. people don't fail. i was surprised
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by InyinyaAgbaOku(m): 4:01pm On Nov 19, 2016
post=51171266:

it's hard for you to comprehend Southeast produce highest numbers of undergraduates, large number of them are admitted in Nigeria high institutions not just in the east, when states like Imo produced (93,065), Anambra (64,689), Delta (61,580), Edo (57,754), Akwa Ibom (47,928), that performed HIGHER in JAMB than their counterpart in north and west large number of them are favored in federal institutions in west and North, unlike West and North in eastern institutions, Top universities has never been used to measure regional performance in education, no credible board that supervise universities rating in Nigeria

Imo has the highest number of professors in Nigeria.
It means that as they write jamb in large numbers, they also graduate in large numbers

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by InyinyaAgbaOku(m): 4:03pm On Nov 19, 2016
omofunaab:

Unn produced the guy that won the highest American award in medicine recently.
So much for a substandard university, in your terms

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by pazienza(m): 4:54pm On Nov 19, 2016
This thread is just "sweeting" me. grin
Chai! O ka ife nlacha si ato?

OP I dey hail o! cheesy

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by basilo102: 5:10pm On Nov 19, 2016
InyinyaAgbaOku:

Unn produced the guy that won the highest American award in medicine recently.
So much for a substandard university, in your terms
Arunma Oteh, world bank VP is a UNN alumni. ranking or no ranking an intelligent person is intelligent, even though their nigeria ranking reeks of amala and ewedu

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Nobody: 5:15pm On Nov 19, 2016
wristbangle:

Do you have statistics to show the number of SE students admitted in SW universities against the number of SW students admitted in SE region?

See whether the statistics favours SE or not, the quality of university education in your region can never meet that of SW. You may have higher number of graduates from your region but the quality of these graduates at labour market is a far cry from what we actually expect.

So tell me why a SW student will go to a region with lesser education quality when the best in the nation is concentrated at SW region. Abi wetin person wan go for Awka university when UI, OAU, FUNAAB, UNILAG, UNILORIN, etc dey here?
UNIVERSITY OF NIGERIA
FEDERAL UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY OWERRI
UNI ZIK
UNIVERSITY OF CALABAR
University of Agriculture Umudike
UNIVERSITY OF PORT HARCOURT
Most of the Universities in the West are living on past glories

Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Nobody: 5:16pm On Nov 19, 2016
InyinyaAgbaOku:

Imo has the highest number of professors in Nigeria.
It means that as they write jamb in large numbers, they also graduate in large numbers
Exactly... Most Igbos in Uniosun are from Imo and Anambra state.
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Noneroone(m): 7:27pm On Nov 19, 2016
Mrokaykay:
Rank Sort by 2016 University Rank University Sort by University name Location Sort by University town 1 University of Ibadan Ibadan 2 University of Lagos Lagos 3 Covenant University Ota 4 Obafemi Awolowo University Ile-Ife 5 University of Ilorin Ilorin 6 University of Nigeria Nsukka ... 7 Federal University of Technology, Owerri Owerri 8 University of Benin Ugbowo ... 9 Lagos State University Ojo 10 Michael Okpara University of Agriculture Umuahia 11 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti Oye ... 12 Babcock University Ilishan-Remo ... 13 Ahmadu Bello University Zaria 14 University of Agriculture, Abeokuta Abeokuta ... 15 Kwara State University Ilorin 16 Landmark University Omu-Aran 17 University of Port Harcourt Port Harcourt 18 Afe Babalola University Ado-Ekiti 19 Bayero University Kano Kano 20 Ekiti State University, Ado Ekiti Ado-Ekiti 21 Olabisi Onabanjo University Ago Iwoye ... 22 Federal University of Technology, Akure Akure 23 University of Jos Jos 24 Federal University of Technology, Minna Minna 25 Tai Solarin University of Education Ijebu-Ode ... 26 Enugu State University of Science and Technology Enugu 27 Veritas University Abuja 28 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma Dutsin-Ma 29 Ladoke Akintola University of Technology Ogbomoso ... 30 University of Uyo Uyo 31 University of Abuja Abuja 32 Pan African University Lagos 33 Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka ... 34 American University of Nigeria Yola 35 Adekunle Ajasin University Akungba Akoko ... 36 Rivers State University of Science and Technology Port Harcourt 37 Bowen University Iwo 38 Delta State University, Abraka Abraka 39 African University of Science and Technology Abuja 40 Redeemer's University Mowe 41 Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University Uli 42 Osun State University Oshogbo ... 43 Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida University Lapai 44 Usmanu Danfodio University Sokoto 45 University of Calabar Calabar 46 Ebonyi State University Abakaliki 47 Baze University Abuja 48 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Bauchi 49 Kaduna State University Kaduna 50 University of Agriculture, Makurdi Makurdi 51 Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun 52 Bells University of Technology Ota 53 University of Maiduguri Maiduguri 54 Lead City University Ibadan 55 Nasarawa State University Keffi 56 Imo State University Owerri 57 Ambrose Alli University Ekpoma 58 Bingham University Auta Balifi 59 Niger Delta University Wilberforce Island Yenagoa 60 Ajayi Crowther University Oyo Town 61 Federal University, Ndufu-Alike Ndufu-Alike 62 Modibbo Adama University of Technology Yola 63 Abia State University Uturu 64 Benue State University Makurdi 65 Igbinedion University Okada Okada ... 66 Umaru Musa Yar'Adua University Katsina 67 Paul University Awka 68 Nigerian Turkish Nile University Abuja 69 Madonna University Okija ... 70 Benson Idahosa University Benin City 71 Crawford University Faith City ... 72 Achievers University, Owo Owo 73 Caleb University Imota 74 Joseph Ayo Babalola University Ikeji-Arakeji 75 Ondo State University of Science and Technology Okitipupa 76 Federal University, Otuoke Otuoke 77 Elizade University Ilara-Mokin 78 Oduduwa University Ile Ife 79 Caritas University Enugu 80 Kano University of Science and Technology Wudil 81 Kogi State University Anyigba 82 Cross River University of Technology Calabar ... 83 Federal University, Lokoja Lokoja 84 Fountain University Oshogbo 85 Federal University, Dutse Dutse 86 Akwa Ibom State University Uyo 87 Al-Hikmah University Ilorin ... 88 Adeleke University Ede 89 Wellspring University Benin City 90 Salem University Lokoja 91 Federal University, Lafia Lafia 92 University of Mkar Mkar 93 Obong University Obong Ntak 94 Renaissance University Enugu 95 Yobe State University Damaturu 96 Federal University, Wukari Wukari 97 Adamawa State University Mubi 98 Novena University Ogume 99 Western Delta University Oghara 100 Crescent University, Abeokuta Abeokuta 101 Bauchi State University Gadau ... 102 Federal University, Kashere Kashere 103 Gombe State University Gombe 104 Kwararafa University Wukari Wukari 105 Sokoto State University Sokoto 106 Tansian University Umunya ... 107 Taraba State University Jalingo 108 Godfrey Okoye University Ugwuomu-Nike 109 Kebbi State University of Science and Technology Aliero 110 Wesley University of Science and Technology Ondo City 111 Rhema University Aba 112 Al-Qalam University, Katsina Katsina 113 Samuel Adegboyega University Ogwa Add a University from Nigeria

Twitter Facebook Google+ 4 International Colleges & Universities About us | Privacy | Contact us Copyright 2005 - 2016

pls who conducted the ranking?
Re: Why South-west And North Should Be Worried by Thayvid(m): 3:49pm On Nov 24, 2016
basilo102:

Wetin concern english speaking and intelligence??
Really So, there's no correlation between speaking good English and academic intelligence? I rest my case.

Yoruba Muslims Are The Cause Of The Problems In Nigeria Today - Mark Emwanrioba / Photos: Prayer Ongoing In Trump’s Office Over US Election / Enugu: Awgu Stakeholders Pass Vote Of Confidence On Gov Ugwuanyi

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 145