Stats: 3,150,608 members, 7,809,232 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 06:11 AM

Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) - Crime - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Crime / Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) (18719 Views)

Adopted Son Turns Armed Bandit, Produces Gun For Robbers / ‘When I Hold This Charm, Nothing Can Penetrate Me’- Robbery Suspect. Photos / Policeman Parks On The Road, Attacks Man With Gun For Insulting His Car. Photos (2) (3) (4)

Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by dre11(m): 8:30am On Apr 26, 2017
Afeez Hanafi

A suspected robber, Lawrence Nwede, has accused operatives of the Special Anti - Robbery Squad, Lagos State Police Command, of releasing a member of his gang, who allegedly procured a gun they used for operations .

Nwede said the gang member, whom he identified only as Uche, was released by SARS a day after he ( Uche) was arrested and brought to the command.

Although the 27- year -old indigene of Ebonyi State , who was paraded on Tuesday at the command ’ s headquarters in Ikeja, confessed to being a member of the Confraternity , he insisted that he had never been involved in any robbery.

He told our correspondent that he, Uche and other members of the cult contributed to buy the gun for N 50, 000, saying the arm was usually in his ( Nwede) custody.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the suspect was nabbed by policemen on April 4 on Church Street, Okokomaiko, and the gun was found on him .
He was said to have been subsequently transferred to the command , where he mentioned Uche as his accomplice.

In a chat with PUNCH Metro , Nwede stated that his wife fled home with their son after she discovered the gun where it was kept in their apartment . He said he feared that his wife could disclose the discovery and decided to return the arm to his gang members.

He said , “ I am a member of the . I was arrested on my way to hand over the gun to Uche and other members in the Alaba International Market. I had called them on the telephone to come and collect it, but they refused . I told the policemen that I would have taken it to the station , but I would be detained.

“ Uche and I are both gang members . I gave his details and those of other members to the police and he was arrested. He passed a night in SARS cell , but was released the following day . He is a big man and has a lot of money. He imports wires and some other products. He has a shop in the Alaba International Market.

“ I have nothing to hide; I have never robbed or take anything from anybody before. We raised N50,000; Uche and some other members bought the gun , while I kept it. Anytime a member wanted to use it, I made it available. I used it to defend myself whenever hoodlums came to disturb me in my shop in Alaba . ”

However, a mild drama played out when a SARS operative , who was with the suspect during the interview , refuted Nwede’ s claim that Uche was culpable.

“ He was only trying to drag people into the matter . We brought the man ( Uche) he mentioned before him . The man asked whether he ( Nwede ) knew him , but he denied, ” the policeman said.

But Nwede swiftly reacted to the operative ’ s statement , saying he stood his ground that Uche was a member when they were brought together.

The command ’ s Public Relations Officer, Olarinde Famous -Cole , said Nwede was entitled to his opinion , adding that Uche would not have been released if he was found wanting.

He said , “Investigation is still ongoing. The suspect can say anything at the point of interview. What he said is not true. Who is he (Uche) that the police would allow him to go if he is culpable? The command will never do that. ”

Also paraded was one 24-year -old Ebele Odikwe, who allegedly specialised in robbing traders at the Alaba International Market along with other members of his gang.

“ My boys and I used to enter shops in the market. Traders gave us money out of fear.

Sometimes, we realised N 50,000 per day . We are eight in number. Some of them are already in prison. I have a wife with a kid , ” he added.

Earlier, while briefing journalists, the Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni , said 68 suspects were arrested in connection with the gang war at Idi Oro , Mushin , on Monday, while nine of them were released after investigations.

“ Thirteen armed robbers were arrested across the state. During encounters with the police, two lost their lives. Eight different arms and 18 rounds of ammunition were recovered, while 10 vehicles of different brands were also recovered,” he added.

The command also presented certificates of commendation and undisclosed sums to families of four policemen – Inspector Godwin Iruagbalaji , Inspector Pemi Francis, Sergeant Mamuda Dembo and Sergeant Ido Ekoro – who lost their lives during a militant attack in Ishawo, Ikorodu , on April 9.

Operatives, including the Divisional Police Officer, Owutu Police Division, CSP Ejiofor Obiora, who responded to a distress call from residents of the area on the day, were also given the certificates and cash gifts.

Ekoro’ s sister, Mary Okereke , described his death as devastating. He said his wife just gave birth to a set of twins.

A policeman, Alexander Ugadu , could not speak with PUNCH Metro due to injuries he sustained in the head and mouth, while other members of the team said they were not allowed to speak with the press.

http://punchng.com/police-released-member-who-bought-gun-for-gang-suspect/

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by HungerBAD: 8:31am On Apr 26, 2017
End of the road for this robber.

So the Robber that was let go has a shop in Alaba?

Let us talk about this Alaba international for a minute.

At the end of the day,the story would not have been complete if "ALABA" was not mentioned by the Robbers.

8 out of every 10 Armed Robbers/Kidnappers arrested in Lagos,have a shop or is one way connected to Alaba.

Alaba is also the "World Headquarters" of all Piracy that goes on in Nigeria. Alaba is the reason our entertainers struggle,even after scoring hits after hits.

Governor Ambode,as the Chief Security Officer of Lagos State,and i know you read stories on Nairaland,please and please it is high time you send in the Calvary into Alaba Market to raid it from these Shop Owner's in the day and Armed Robbers/Kidnappers in the night.

Modified: All Drug dealers arrested all claim to have shops in Alaba too.

Alaba Market should be relocated to the East Simple.

26 Likes

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by sosexy111: 8:31am On Apr 26, 2017
Hmm
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by liftedhigh: 10:19am On Apr 26, 2017
Oh
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Queenbalikees(f): 10:20am On Apr 26, 2017
hmm
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Arewa12: 10:21am On Apr 26, 2017
Lobatan
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by VIPERVENOM(m): 10:21am On Apr 26, 2017
Nwede & Uche.......hmmm......well.....

On another note, why is it that 98% of ppl dat call wrong number​s are hausa

13 Likes

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by legendte(m): 10:22am On Apr 26, 2017
Nigeria
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Tenim47(m): 10:23am On Apr 26, 2017
me self don join the names checker crew grin i jst rush in jst for names
smh, Well i saw pedro rodiguez on the list grin

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by SweetJoystick(m): 10:23am On Apr 26, 2017
Even in the NPF? Smh
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by wellmax(m): 10:24am On Apr 26, 2017
Although the 27- year -old who was paraded on Tuesday at the command ’ s headquarters in Ikeja, confessed to being a member of the Confraternity , he insisted that he had never been involved in any robbery.
What an irony

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Simeony007(m): 10:27am On Apr 26, 2017
They don collect brown envelop
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by loomer: 10:28am On Apr 26, 2017
Money don change hand
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by wellmax(m): 10:29am On Apr 26, 2017
These people again
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by NLProblemChild(m): 10:29am On Apr 26, 2017

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by heckymaicon(m): 10:30am On Apr 26, 2017
Igbos no dey ever disappoint

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Jabioro: 10:34am On Apr 26, 2017
Quickly refuted by the police that he entitled to his own opinions.. how can that /such be his suggestions. Lies from the pit of hell. the guy is saying the truth..

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Nobody: 10:35am On Apr 26, 2017
Alaba market should be relocated angry

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Nobody: 10:38am On Apr 26, 2017
when u use criminals to fight other criminals, a curious case of raymond reddington and sars

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Opakan2: 10:39am On Apr 26, 2017
na dem.. flatie.s

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by unilagfreshest(m): 10:40am On Apr 26, 2017
Robbers, Alaba.. Then check name.... Not surprised.... Na dem ipob.... Flat headed ppl...

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by emperorAY(m): 10:41am On Apr 26, 2017
U no be thief but u get gun ...he dey use am for night vigil to fire all him enemies
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by GavelSlam: 10:45am On Apr 26, 2017
HungerBAD:

At the end of the day,the story would not have been complete if "ALABA" was not mentioned by the Robbers.

8 out of every 10 Armed Robbers/Kidnappers arrested in Lagos,have a shop or is one way connected to Alaba.

Alaba is also the "World Headquarters" of all Piracy that goes on in Nigeria. Alaba is the reason our entertainers struggle,even after scoring hits after hits.

Governor Ambode,as the Chief Security Officer of Lagos State,and i know you read stories on Nairaland,please and please it is high time you send in the Calvary into Alaba Market to raid it from these Shop Owner's in the day and Armed Robbers/Kidnappers in the night.

Almost all drug dealers caught claim to have shops in Alaba.

Something must be going on over there.

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Nobody: 10:51am On Apr 26, 2017
undecided undecided undecided
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Nobody: 10:54am On Apr 26, 2017
ok
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by omenkaLives(m): 11:06am On Apr 26, 2017
HungerBAD:

Modified: All Drug dealers arrested all claim to have shops in Alaba too.

Alaba Market should be relocated to the East Simple.

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by nairaman66(m): 11:10am On Apr 26, 2017
“ He was only trying to drag people into the matter . We brought the man ( Uche) he mentioned before him . The man asked whether he ( Nwede ) knew him , but he denied, ” the policeman said.

But Nwede swiftly reacted to the operative ’ s statement , saying he stood his ground that Uche was a member when they were brought together.

The command ’ s Public Relations Officer, Olarinde Famous -Cole , said Nwede was entitled to his opinion , adding that Uche would not have been released if he was found wanting.

He said , “Investigation is still ongoing. The suspect can say anything at the point of interview. What he said is not true. Who is he (Uche) that the police would allow him to go if he is culpable? The command will never do that. ”

The Nigeria Police Force is the most wicked organization after satan the devil!! How can the Police release someone just like that? It is obvious that Mr Olarinde is a pathetic liar and has been a good one at it. Investigation is ongoing and you have already released a suspect and held one back!! Wow, this country is finished! The Justice system is always for sale to the highest bidder!! Goodbye Nigeria

Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by Excuzeme: 11:17am On Apr 26, 2017
princeofpeace22:
Alaba market should be relocated angry

Anywhere you have "dem-dem" in very high numbers, expect that place to turn to the Headquarters of criminality.

Nit surprised about Alaba.
Same story with Orile Iganmu
Oshodi too
Ariaria market

The list is endless.
Re: Police Released Member Who Bought Gun For Gang – Suspect (photos) by OGsteven(m): 11:18am On Apr 26, 2017
If you know the right pact in Nigeria,regardless of the crime you are involved you will always go unhurt. The rich keeps escaping and the poor keep suffering

Ex-Student Of Niger Delta University Arrested For Defiling 8yr-old Girl / Sandra Sabriel Ifudu Accuses Taxify Driver Of Trying To Kidnap Her / LASTMA Seen Fighting With Bus Driver Over Money In Lagos

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35