Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,507,950 members, 5,712,703 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 July 2020 at 02:17 AM

Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. (10327 Views)

Tecno Spark 2 // Full Unbiased Review (video) / House Of Assembly Member Goes "Crazy" Because Of The Tecno Camon Phone. / Unboxing Pictures Of The Tecno Phonepad 3 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by selfdefence: 5:34am On May 16, 2017
I saw this review on techpoint.ng and I thought it wise to share.



You already know that the Tecno Camon CX is the older brother of the C9 that was released in June last year. The CX is a very clever attempt not to go the obvious “Camon C10” way in terms of naming (X is 10 in roman numerals)

Apart from cameras, the Tecno Camon C9 was a far jump from the Camon C8 in design,camera and many other aspects.

Like its predecessor (Camon C9), the Camon CX spots a breathtaking body that is stylish and functional, exceptional cameras on both sides, but apart from that, what else does it have on offer?


Design

Champagne gold, sky grey, elegant blue and rose gold are colors the Camon CX can be gotten in. At first glance, there is an almost iPhone 6ish look to the Camon CX especially with the rose gold variety and jet black screen.

Generally, it feels like a lot of attention was put in the conceptualization and design of this device. Unibody smartphones are the rave these days and the Camon CX has followed this trend.

Its slippery metal casing can be a hindrance to grip if proper care is not taken. However, fine meshes around the plastic back of the pouch makes for a firm grip and prevents slipping.

Even though it does not not add much to the overall weight of the phone, the pouch is cumbersome with an awkward grip.

The Camon CX weighs 166 grams without its pouch.

See pics 1

And with the pouch on, the device weighs 208 grams.

Meaning that the pouch weighs 42 grams

See pix 2



Smart Cover

The external phone casing on the Camon CX also doubles as a smart cover.



When the lid is shut, the display still shows date, time and text message notifications. At the extreme ends of the half circle that is formed by the transparent glass display, there are shortcuts for music and flashlight.


These two features can be accessed even when the device is locked.

See pictures 3


Sound

I usually do not care to talk about speakers and audio outputs, but this is strange and awkward considering bad speakers are one of my biggest pet peeves.

The earpiece for calls is poor and on most calls, I have had to literally press the phone against my ear to hear what the caller on the other end was saying.



Located above the secondary camera, the slits produce muffled sounds during calls. This is not a reception problem, it had something to do with the hardware.

Speaker grilles for music on the other hand are excellent. I didn’t notice how good they were until a bluetooth speaker went off and I continued playing from the phone; nobody noticed.


For all its loudness, the speakers lacked any bass balance whatsoever.

See pics 4

For all its loudness, the speakers lacked any bass balance whatsoever.

Source : https://techpoint.ng/2017/05/15/tecno-camon-cx-review/

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by selfdefence: 5:36am On May 16, 2017
Camera

Like every other smartphone in the Camon range, the cameras on the Tecno Camon CX are its major selling points. Its 16MP front and back cameras are excellent with a professional feel to them.

Pics 5 taken with the back camera


Landscape picture of Yaba environs showing buildings and the road taken with the back camera of the Tecno Camon CX

Auto-focus on the secondary camera is not very bad. In order to take good selfies, a lot of hand steadying and positioning must be done.

Pics 6


My Camon CX has produced a lot of blurry selfies from shaky hands. Cameras on this phone perform optimally under well lighted conditions so they are ideal for outdoor photography.

Pics 7


Display

In an era where phablets are taking over the world, any screen below 6 inches looks like a small joke. But with a 5.5 inches in plane switching LCD full high definition screen, the CX manages to be small without looking it.



The Camon CX is not entirely devoid of bezels. A black extension from where the bezel starts to where the actual screen stops gives the screen a wraparound-the-edges feel something like the display of the Samsung S series.

This wraparound feel presents an illusion of a bigger (than 5’5 inches) screen.

1080p is an insane amount of screen power and this in turn is reflected on the display clarity. Colours on the Camon CX are true, but images look a little bit over-saturated and bleached; this can easily be reduced to a considerable extent by turning down screen brightness.



Software, Storage and Performance


The Tecno Camon CX runs on Android 7.0 Nougat straight out of the box; the first Tecno smartphone to achieve this feat. Tecno’s custom UI skin; HiOS even looks more pronounced and beautiful. But HiOS still has its own issues — screen freezes and lags — I hoped would have been fixed by now.

For internal shared memory, 16GB feels like a lot of space until you realize your are shooting 5MB pictures on a steady basis. From 2GB of RAM available, 0.90GB is dedicated to the Android OS including a few hundred MBs to system apps. The Camon CX manages not to freeze or experience any system induced lags.

Battery

I was initially scared when the battery started heating up at basic setup with app downloads and updates. But all that plenty screen resolution and system power was going to heavily tax its 3,200mAh juice box to breaking point; I knew.

Initial usage went well, from a full charge the battery dropped to 69% in just 3 hours. This was with data turned on, intermittent WhatsApp messaging, screen display set at maximum, five long calls and a movie in between all of these. So basically, the smartphone was in use throughout the period without a break.

Unless you use its primary charger that came in the box, I have noticed that the Camon CX charges real slow with every other charger.

After a complete drain, the Tecno Camon CX reached full charge(100%) in 2 hours 59 minutes (9:26 AM — 12:25PM) Second charge from 9;04 to 11;04 (2 hours) produced a 50% charge with another Infinix charger. This proved my theory; It is advisable to use the assigned charger.

Battery still warms up once in a heavy usage, but nothing compared to that first experience.

Price

The Tecno Camon CX is selling for ₦70,000 in stores.

Verdict

Flawed, maybe not so deeply, but strengths far outweigh shortcomings on this smartphone considering its price, design and camera.

So what do you guys think? Was it unbiased enough? What should have been added?

Share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Source: https://techpoint.ng/2017/05/15/tecno-camon-cx-review/

1 Like

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by yusasiv(m): 6:01am On May 16, 2017
what can I say?
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by directonpc(m): 6:18am On May 16, 2017
Nice.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by chicwoman(f): 6:59am On May 16, 2017
The Camon Cx is a good selfie phone
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Iamdemola(m): 7:07am On May 16, 2017
Why is the shot with Runtown blur?

1 Like

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by D4Daymoo(m): 7:14am On May 16, 2017
OP, I am sure it is cheaper than #70k now

1 Like

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Abdstrakt(m): 7:36am On May 16, 2017
Iamdemola:
Why is the shot with Runtown blur?
Lemme put out a possible theory why it is blurred.
He was so to excited to meet and take a Selfie with runtown that he couldn't keep a steady hand. And knowing runtown, he wouldn't wait for you to take multiple shots so you had to get it right at the first try. grin grin

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Abdstrakt(m): 7:37am On May 16, 2017
D4Daymoo:
OP, I am sure it is cheaper than #70k now
It can be got for 64k now

3 Likes

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Iamdemola(m): 12:29pm On May 19, 2017
Abdstrakt:

Lemme put out a possible theory why it is blurred.
He was so to excited to meet and take a Selfie with runtown that he couldn't keep a steady hand. And knowing runtown, he wouldn't wait for you to take multiple shots so you had to get it right at the first try. grin grin

It didn't look to me as if Runtown was in a hurry
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by henry007(m): 12:50pm On May 19, 2017
Video reviews.

Camon CX Unboxing and First Impressions





https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v5DuZKfWUHE?a


TECNO Camon CX Camera Review






https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OT_vgr20KX8

TECNO Camon CX vs Phantom 6: Speed test, Camera & Gaming Comparison.





https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h8f4TVr5NMM?a
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Defaramade(m): 2:13pm On May 19, 2017
Nice review
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by D4Daymoo(m): 6:19pm On May 19, 2017
Abdstrakt:

It can be got for 64k now

Gotten, yeah, as naira keeps appreciating against the dollar, trust them to also reduce the price. That's one beautiful thing about electronics unlike other commodities.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by henry007(m): 7:55pm On May 19, 2017
Thanks. I appreciate, Kindly subscribe to my channel.
Defaramade:
Nice review
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Irenemmeso(f): 9:46pm On May 19, 2017
I Like this phone but for the fact that its tecno! I cnt use it ...i wil buy infinix hot s2 soon
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by avicky(f): 11:34pm On May 19, 2017
Very biased. You are far from unbiased and economical with the truth.

Btw, I also want you to do a supposed 'unbiased' review of infinix note 3 and it's pro. Waiting.

And I'm not a marketer because any little opinion someone is termed a marketer.

Unbiased op, I'm still waiting for the unbiased review of infinix note 3.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by avicky(f): 11:42pm On May 19, 2017
Irenemmeso:
I Like this phone but for the fact that its tecno! I cnt use it ...i wil buy infinix hot s2 soon
Whether you buy infinix o or you buy tecno o, it's the same transsion company that makes the two.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Dandsome: 12:57am On May 20, 2017
Na Bette phone be this
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Dandsome: 12:59am On May 20, 2017
chicwoman:
The Camon Cx is a good selfie phone

Well well
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Irenemmeso(f): 7:24am On May 20, 2017
avicky:

Whether you buy infinix o or you buy tecno o, it's the same transsion company that makes the two.
i know, but i guess infinix is always stronger and It barely develop fault
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by avicky(f): 7:26am On May 20, 2017
Irenemmeso:
i know, but i guess infinix is always stronger and It barely develop fault
Stronger indeed. Your opinion sha.

https://www.nairaland.com/3513890/scam-called-infinix-hot
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Preator: 8:39am On May 20, 2017
Has anybody been able to use GLO 4G LTE on this phone? I went to Glo office in Benin, they said the phone ain't compatible with their 4G.

1 Like

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Irenemmeso(f): 9:10am On May 20, 2017
avicky:

Stronger indeed. Your opinion sha.

https://www.nairaland.com/3513890/scam-called-infinix-hot
hmm im confused. But its like he bought the fake one. Are u saying tecno is better?
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by datyorubaboy: 3:38pm On May 20, 2017
The best around town.
chicwoman:
The Camon Cx is a good selfie phone

2 Likes

Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by omoalajah(m): 3:58pm On May 20, 2017
Stop hating
Irenemmeso:
I Like this phone but for the fact that its tecno! I cnt use it ...i wil buy infinix hot s2 soon
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by missslimzy(f): 4:17pm On May 20, 2017
Well Reviewed.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Irenemmeso(f): 5:31pm On May 20, 2017
omoalajah:
Stop hating
im nt hating just that pple criticise the phone 2much bt i like it.nairaland made me to dislike the phone
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by avicky(f): 6:04pm On May 20, 2017
Irenemmeso:
im nt hating just that pple criticise the phone 2much bt i like it.nairaland made me to dislike the phone
Have you read the thread where infinix hot 4 exploded on a lady's thigh? It's on fp.
Those that are criticising it are kill joys.

Infinix o, tecno o are made from same company.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by avicky(f): 6:06pm On May 20, 2017
missslimzy:
Well Reviewed.
Not well reviewed. Bias review is more like it. If and other renowned technocrats as well as users can give this phone thumbs up then the rest is bad belle.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by Irenemmeso(f): 6:40pm On May 20, 2017
avicky:

Have you read the thread where infinix hot 4 exploded on a lady's thigh? It's on fp.
Those that are criticising it are kill joys.

Infinix o, tecno o are made from same company.
ok i wil buy camon cx
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by scarycuteface(m): 7:58pm On May 21, 2017
This review isn't biased truly. Although no device is perfect. The CX still has it's minor flaws. Good thing is it's good outweighs the flaws.
Re: Unbiased Review Of The Tecno Camon CX; The Good, The Bad And The Body. by avicky(f): 8:06pm On May 21, 2017
scarycuteface:
This review isn't biased truly. Although no device is perfect. The CX still has it's minor flaws. Good thing is it's good outweighs the flaws.
And does this biased review look like it's pointing out minor flaws that isn't in other phones?
Which phone's camera isn't blurry when you don't hold it well? Which phone doesn't get warm when charged?
Abegi. Let d op do an 'unbiased review' of infinix note 3, he no gree. Paid anti tecno blogger.

1 Like 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

MTN Nigeria Returned *555*1* USSD Recharge Code / Net Neutrality: US Government Is Trying To Destroy Net Neutrality / Download 10x Faster On Android With Advance Download Manager (ADM)

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2020 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 126
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.