Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,797,692 members, 6,684,482 topics. Date: Thursday, 20 January 2022 at 08:27 PM

'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book (20215 Views)

Hearty Birthday Wishes To Dr. Peter Oyewale / My Baby Mama By Victoria Ezekiel / ​Where Is The Third Answer?- A Review Of Juliana Olayode's (Toyo's) 'Rebirth' (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by JARUSHUB: 11:51am On Jul 24, 2018
By Abubakar Sulaiman Muhd

@mallamabubakaar

Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s ‘The Road to Victoria Island’ is a stimulating book dissecting the entry myth into corporate Nigeria. I read the book right-away the minute I received it from Lagos as a gift from the author. Insightful, absorbing, it fills me with electrifying thrills and sensation, like just the next day I would become a top executive.

I have had a dream to become a world-class economist. This dream was inspired by the 2008 world economic welt-down, listening speeches on BBC Hausa Services from business leaders around the world and economists including our own Emir, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi, the nation’s Central Bank Governor at the time.

Perusing each sentence, each paragraph, I was ravenously filliping through and asking “what next” till the end and was not glad when I finished. I was hankering for more.

Suraj brought together gem personal experiences and stories from contributors in critical moments of making career decisions in their life. I must thank Suraj and his team for bringing and sharing his experiences. It saves a lot of people years of hard work trying to invent their own wheel. Not all of us may have the privilege of personally meeting the people Suraj met, or the kind of experience he lived through.

In the book, we learn that hard work and merit are the primary parameters for employment and pathway to the zenith of corporate ladder. The myth of employment bias in top jobs is debunked, especially in oil and gas, the most lucrative sector of the nation’s economy. Mr Suraj has consistently made the point that no one in his right senses, no organization, even the much accused public institutions, will adopt as its mission to populate its workforce with dumb heads.

There is no acceptance of indolence and hoping for the best. But people resign to the negative mentality that you can only get a top job through favour and other unmerited connections. They indignantly express the sentiment that Dangote doesn’t like to hire his own people to managerial positions. It is naïve thinking this way. Successful corporate entities don’t work like that. No serious business would like to fail. So, people should develop skills up to the standards.

I can vividly recall an instant that happened some time ago, eavesdropping one guy praying God should give him MTN Telecommunications Company for free. In my mind I was saying “Oh young man, it doesn’t work like that.” The MTN owners didn’t just pray or wait for someone to dash them the multi-million dollars corporation.

I could remember the other time Dangote was delivering a convocation speech at our university. People were cheering and shouting kudi… Dangote was smiling, a smile that revealed his mind, business and life philosophy. In his shoes, these young people would lead a fabulously ostentatious life. One guy even said it, “If I were Dangote, just a week to be him, I would ride the most expensive car on earth.”

Certainly, if Dangote has had such thinking he wouldn’t have been where he is today, and would have long vanished from the list.

Going through the book, one is jarred and sliced by fear, thrill and motivation. You encounter accomplishments made in the face of seeming insurmountable odds. These successes throw challenge at your feet. But it is great sigh of relief encountering those achievements. They give you hope.

GTBank, Access Bank and other financial institutions were established by young men of no more than 30-32 years. At 27, some of them had been given the task of managing billion dollars enterprises like IBTC, duties that people of similar ages nowadays would have found unthinkable to handle. It is not entirely their fault, however, the system makes them not to believe in themselves.

The overall point Suraj has logically made is that grade is key. Achievement is something you will have to prepare right from early age through the university and follow up to your public life, always trying to upgrade your skills and knowledge and keep decent personal conducts.

The Road to Victoria Island is a book that every Nigerian should read, especially students preparing for college admission, graduates, early and mid-career staffers in corporate Nigeria.



Source: Review of ‘The Road to Victoria Island’: The Road to Corporate Success

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by veekid(m): 1:40pm On Jul 24, 2018
We have Buhari to deal with and we still have to deal with the question of if Bobrisky is a guy or girl or shim.

Who did we offend in this country?

3 Likes

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by splmosixx(m): 1:40pm On Jul 24, 2018
First to comment....

Ope ooo grin grin


And you expected me to read this long article, wey Boiz never chao since morning... Well sha make I de here de catch my grooves,make I read comments sha...


Hit like if nairaland is also a relaxation centre for you.....

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by MANNABBQGRILLS: 1:41pm On Jul 24, 2018
This will be a good read for next week.
Sounds interesting.

3 Likes 2 Shares

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by justi4jesu(f): 1:42pm On Jul 24, 2018
cool cool



Click the link on my Signature biko cry cry
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by prettycindy18: 1:42pm On Jul 24, 2018
Ok
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by leofab(f): 1:42pm On Jul 24, 2018
Wow
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by dann190: 1:42pm On Jul 24, 2018
Nice,it makes an interesting read...
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by tolexy007(m): 1:43pm On Jul 24, 2018
splmosixx:
First to comment....

Ope ooo grin grin

u not so fast boy grin grin

1 Like 1 Share

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by princeade86(m): 1:43pm On Jul 24, 2018
.
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by Just2endowed2(m): 1:43pm On Jul 24, 2018
how can one get one
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by manny4u(m): 1:44pm On Jul 24, 2018
Okay would read if it has a soft copy.


You want to earn passive income before the end of today? please check my signature
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by maclatunji: 1:48pm On Jul 24, 2018
I recommend the book to all SS3 students, undergraduates, fresh graduates and struggling professionals. It is an inspired work by Jarus.

2 Likes

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by maclatunji: 1:49pm On Jul 24, 2018
maclatunji:
I recommend the book to all SS3 students, undergraduates, fresh graduates and struggling professionals. It is an inspired work by Jarus.


In fact, buy for your child from SS1 so that they know what they are doing from then.
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by splmosixx(m): 1:51pm On Jul 24, 2018
you are the one who isn't fast enough
grin grin
tolexy007:


u not so fast boy grin grin
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by CanineOfJackal: 1:57pm On Jul 24, 2018
maclatunji:
I recommend the book to all SS3 students, undergraduates, fresh graduates and struggling professionals. It is an inspired work by Jarus.

Continue deceiving yourself here after you became minority in the Senate.


We both know that you and Jarus are the ones planting Buhari fake achievements using fake monikers
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by Nobody: 1:59pm On Jul 24, 2018
After reading the book countless times, many people still dey Mainland dem never fit still reach Island. Lolz

1 Like

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by DONADAMS(m): 1:59pm On Jul 24, 2018
how do I get it?
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by flex04(m): 2:17pm On Jul 24, 2018
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by maclatunji: 2:18pm On Jul 24, 2018
CanineOfJackal:
Continue deceiving yourself here after you became minority in the Senate.


We both know that you and Jarus are the ones planting Buhari fake achievements using fake monikers

You need this book in your life.

http://www.jarushub.com/the-road-to-victoria-island/

cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy

Trust me, you do.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by JARUSHUB: 2:21pm On Jul 24, 2018
manny4u:
Okay would read if it has a soft copy.


Just2endowed2:
how can one get one


DONADAMS:
how do I get it?


Follow this link please The Road to V.I

Or you might also like From to School to job, a Complete Guide

Warm regards

1 Like

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by IbnIbrahim: 2:30pm On Jul 24, 2018
MANNABBQGRILLS:
This will be a good read for next week.
Sounds interesting.

Try to grab a copy. I finished the whole book the day I started reading it.
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by IbnIbrahim: 2:31pm On Jul 24, 2018
Davidtolu:
After reading the book countless times, many people still dey Mainland dem never fit still reach Island. Lolz
grin grin grin
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by EwuOjota: 2:58pm On Jul 24, 2018
Ishilove come and see a real writer here.
And he does not go around Nairaland bullying or correcting people's english.

Remember he is a successful writer and not like you that cannot even complete your iyawo nylon story. Be humble.
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by Nobody: 3:00pm On Jul 24, 2018
What can I say

Cheap data available
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by Alienalert(m): 3:02pm On Jul 24, 2018
IbnIbrahim:
grin grin grin
pretty sure their mentality changed for the better and it's definitely helping them forge ahead.
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by Nobody: 3:36pm On Jul 24, 2018
grin grin grin
splmosixx:
First to comment....

Ope ooo grin grin


And you expected me to read this long article, wey Boiz never chao since morning... Well sha make I de here de catch my grooves,make I read comments sha...


Hit like if nairaland is also a relaxation centre for you.....

Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by steve6: 3:47pm On Jul 24, 2018
Interesting.
Re: 'The Road To Victoria Island’: A Review Of Suraj Tunji Oyewale’s Book by Redoil: 3:53pm On Jul 24, 2018
Bad govt policies are killing business in nigeria yet you are making people believe that all is well

(1) (2) (Reply)

Game Of Love / Sequel To "without A Silver Spoon" By Eddie Iroh / When The ‘other Woman’ Triumphs: A Literary Review Of Toke Makinwa’s On Becoming

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 114
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.