Stats: 3,154,677 members, 7,823,914 topics. Date: Friday, 10 May 2024 at 06:09 PM

The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) (2572 Views)

Abraham Airaodion Honoured In Dubai For Returning N12M Forgotten In His Taxi / Have You Ever Forgotten Your Change With A Bus Conductor? / Did You Know SUDAN Has More PYRAMIDS Than Any Country On Earth? (2) (3) (4)

The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 10:41am On Nov 06, 2018
The ancient Igbo pyramids are located in Udi, Enugu, Nigeria but have long been forgotten and are probably in ruins.
The wonder of the Igbo pyramids started in 1935, when British anthropologist and colonial administrator, G. I. Jones, took
The ancient Igbo pyramids are located in Udi, Enugu, Nigeria but have long been forgotten and are probably in ruins.
The wonder of the Igbo pyramids started in 1935, when British anthropologist and colonial administrator, G. I. Jones, took pictures of the Nsude pyramids (what is now known as the Igbo pyramids).
Jones in 1935 was building up an extraordinary photographic record of Southeastern Nigerian culture when he stumbled upon the clay formed wonders.

Armed with his Roloflex camera Jones took shots of the 10 circular stepped pyramids. The Nsude pyramids are however yet to be carbon dated, but judging by the black and white photos (taken in 1935), they are 'very old'.

The first base section was 60 ft. in circumference and 3 ft. in height. The next stack was 45 ft. in circumference. Circular stacks continued, till it reached the top. The structures were temples for the god Ala/Uto, who was believed to reside at the top. A stick was placed at the top to represent the god’s residence. The structures were laid in groups of five parallel to each other. Because it was built of mud like the Deffufa of Nubia, time has already taken its toll on it.
The pyramids are located in Udi, Enugu, Nigeria but have long been forgotten and are probably in ruins just like the great walls of Kano »

Strikingly, these pyramids bear resemblance to the Step Pyramid of Saqqara , in Egypt constructed in 2648 BC. More fascinating is the similar replication of Nubian-like pyramids thousands of miles away from the Nubian area in the heart of Igboland.
Evidence like this indicates a strong level of correlation between the ancient Egyptians and the ancient Igbo.

https://opera.pulse.ng/lifestyle/food-travel-arts-culture/the-forgotten-igbo-pyramids-id7450323.html

justwise
DisGuy
lalasticlala
seun

Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 10:48am On Nov 06, 2018
How dare you float an article like this without photographic evidence?!
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 11:02am On Nov 06, 2018
Earthbound:
How dare you float an article like this without photographic evidence?!

Done
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 11:09am On Nov 06, 2018
Igbos are really the lost tribe of Israel
U can't build what you have no idea of...
Israel build the Egypt pyramid..... if you know you know
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 11:31am On Nov 06, 2018
sarqwest:
Igbos are really the lost tribe of Israel
U can't build what you have no idea of...
Israel build the Egypt pyramid..... if you know you know
Shut your face! Did Israel build any of the pyramids scattered all over South America? Instead of you to give credit to your ancestors for such a feat, you're attaching their achievement to a fabled lost tribe.

Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 11:53am On Nov 06, 2018
sarqwest:

Done
Great journalism. I have learned something new today. You should indicate that the last photo is an Egyptian pyramid.

Lalasticlala, let's give my Igbo brothers something to talk about

Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by ItzChinnex(m): 12:00pm On Nov 06, 2018
Of cause, we are the Lost tribe of Israel.
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Kenekingisback: 1:55pm On Nov 06, 2018
But where is lalasticlala sef grin
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by matuskyoo7(m): 3:05pm On Nov 06, 2018
Igbo amaka
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by calculator123(m): 3:48pm On Nov 06, 2018
Watch how this thread would turn to supremacy of tribes in 5 4 3 2 1 War start
Re: The Forgotten Igbo Pyramids (Photos) by Nobody: 3:56pm On Nov 06, 2018
Earthbound:

Shut your face! Did Israel build any of the pyramids scattered all over South America? Instead of you to give credit to your ancestors for such a feat, you're attaching their achievement to a fabled lost tribe.

our ancestors build that you know, why I refer igbo as the lost tribe of Israel was because back before civilization something similar same design was set up in Egypt........ Israel build up Egyptians pyramid, even isrealy Prime Minister still insist on it.. Research are still on it, so it's not a new phenomenon around.... so how come our fore father could get such Architeture desine and build similar as same to the dwarf pyramid seen in Egypt. they only build what they knew, and have done before. ....

What's The Minimum Amount I Need To Have Before I Relocate To Nigeria? / Random Pictures Of What Makes Las Vegas The Sin City / Nigerians Living At Home Look Better Than Those Raised Abroad

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 15