₦airaland Forum

Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,316,520 members, 5,105,001 topics. Date: Tuesday, 20 August 2019 at 06:18 AM

MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! - Car Talk (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! (5509 Views)

Advice needed on 1.5m budget for a first car owner / How Much Is A Nigerian Used Car Sold In Your Area / 1.2768 Billion Naira Pagani Huayra Roadster Car, Sold Out All Its 100 Units (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by CityNGR: 8:20pm On Dec 10, 2018
legalwealth:


5W 30 was not recommended for EOD oga but 5w 20 . Mobil XHP works fine and has been working fine for my EOD for more than two and half

years though because I've been making sure that other factors are looked into. For example, some people will be driving their car with bad catalytic converter and 02 sensors which do trigger check engine light (usually ignored by them) and yet they want to get good result out of whatever oil they are using.

Team Mobil XHP.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by asamwababy: 8:44pm On Dec 10, 2018
legalwealth:


Ours were used and those of the dealer were not used even to the point of sorting out the transmission's issue.

Mechanic was also used to check and no physical issue was detected at the time until 2 days later when the

car was travelled with going on high speed. Most transmission issues cannot be easily detected until it is stressed

which is not that possible to achieve within Lagos with traffic jam here and there.

OP I have been a victim of this.

Car was inspected by a seasoned mechanic.Taking to the pit and all that.Only for gear to pack up after one week of usage.

Funny thing is a guy at the dealers place was trying to hint me before purchase about this issue but i no soji.

Car dealer must have known about this issue.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by obekediamondfuto(m): 10:39pm On Dec 10, 2018
asamwababy:


OP I have been a victim of this.

Car was inspected by a seasoned mechanic.Taking to the pit and all that.Only for gear to pack up after one week of usage.

Funny thing is a guy at the dealers place was trying to hint me before purchase about this issue but i no soji.

Car dealer must have known about this issue.

even if car dealer knew about the issue...... so? the whole blame and responsibility lies with the buyer.....
how else do u think they sell lemons

and except a warranty is in place I see no reason why dealer should be put under pressure.

if the dealer is somewhat understanding and wants to maintain the relationship he can decide to subsidize the cost.

huge leaks don't just appear out of the blue, it might be possible that the gear has been worked on and also possible that it has never been worked on(what else do u want the kazeem to say to make the best out of that opportunity?) PS I have seen mechanics say stuff like this all the time...... most times they say this to collect money for the new part they will replace and keep your original oem part.... it's standard Mech 101

at this point op, I'd say u cut ur losses.... see it as one of those things that happen cos it has happened.

I really feel ur pain BRO.... it's quite painful

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by obekediamondfuto(m): 10:42pm On Dec 10, 2018
legalwealth:
Who is to be blamed and held responsible if after two days that you got a supposed tokunbo vehicle

from a car dealer and the transmission parked while you were travelling on the highway?

The buyer or the seller(car dealer)?

if u ask me, I'd tell u to blame the mechanic you took there....
if u paid him, he should refund u in full.

4 Likes

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by obekediamondfuto(m): 10:45pm On Dec 10, 2018
diportivo:
I I were the seller I won't even have anything to do concerning repairs on the said car

a whole lot can happen in two days

since it was on a journey I'm sure car was taken for routine service

how does the seller knows what kazeem did on the car?

a whole two days?wey u inspect come buy as toks?

don even pour oyel for the thing which has voided the imaginary waranty u r trying to claim

buyer is on his own

like my oga in ilupeju bypass will say......vin report won't tell u everything.....physical inspection is also very important

say u don dey drive for two years no mean say u sabi

some ancestral car drivers don't even know anything

driving isn't "mecho-logy" grin

buyer,go and fix ur car
our own legalo.... let's call gazzuzz to assist him with this na....


legalwealth hope u fixed the ride back to standard else Gazuzz might be OOF immense assistance....

1 Like

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by GAZZUZZ(m): 10:58pm On Dec 10, 2018
Going back to page 1, I noticed legalwealth said leak was from pump area.

Pump area=tourqe converter seal. With a seal in that position to fail it would be very glaring that the lower mating area between the engine and transmission would be wet, and in some cases dripping. My guess is mechanic looked at the engine bay only from the top and gave it a pass mark.

Recently I was opportune to inspect and purchase a large number of vehicles, and the criteria for selection varied from vin report to actual physical inspection. A lot of them were ruled out due to failing torqe and crankshaft converter seals.

Meanwhile a seasoned driver will notice a little drag while driving and park to check. Instead of frying the friction plates.

1 Like

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 11:18pm On Dec 10, 2018
asamwababy:


OP I have been a victim of this.

Car was inspected by a seasoned mechanic.Taking to the pit and all that.Only for gear to pack up after one week of usage.

Funny thing is a guy at the dealers place was trying to hint me before purchase about this issue but i no soji.

Car dealer must have known about this issue.

Thanks for your input. I as well have that thought that the dealer is aware of the underlying issue(s) about the car but he has been saying he does not know.

This is just like after 2 days and it is not that the vehicle was been driven all around before then. The second car was being driven here and there.

In the other news, Gazzuzz Gazzuzzautos real attitude and identity busted as it can be seen in the image below;

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 11:26pm On Dec 10, 2018
GAZZUZZ:
Going back to page 1, I noticed legalwealth said leak was from pump area.

Pump area=tourqe converter seal. With a seal in that position to fail it would be very glaring that the lower mating area between the engine and transmission would be wet, and in some cases dripping. My guess is mechanic looked at the engine bay only from the top and gave it a pass mark.

Recently I was opportune to inspect and purchase a large number of vehicles, and the criteria for selection varied from vin report to actual physical inspection. A lot of them were ruled out due to failing torqe and crankshaft converter seals.

Meanwhile a seasoned driver will notice a little drag while driving and park to check. Instead of frying the friction plates.

Great inputs and points in there. Jerking and dragging were actually kind of detected on time especially when it was being raced but was not moving which prevented the transmission from being completely spoilt.

Looks like the converter was fried because the engine was started for AC to be switched on for the baby in the car even though it was on neutral when it was being towed for like 15 minutes.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 11:43pm On Dec 10, 2018
diportivo:
I I were the seller I won't even have anything to do concerning repairs on the said car

a whole lot can happen in two days

since it was on a journey I'm sure car was taken for routine service

how does the seller knows what kazeem did on the car?

a whole two days?wey u inspect come buy as toks?

don even pour oyel for the thing which has voided the imaginary waranty u r trying to claim

buyer is on his own

like my oga in ilupeju bypass will say......vin report won't tell u everything.....physical inspection is also very important

say u don dey drive for two years no mean say u sabi

some ancestral car drivers don't even know anything

driving isn't "mecho-logy" grin

buyer,go and fix ur car

I see! !!

#Lipsealed though.

No mechanic worked on the gear and it was not even touched since it was selecting fine.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 11:56pm On Dec 10, 2018
thebigkendo:


How was this confirmed? Maybe na for United state of Ladipo grin grin grin grin

Talk true oh.. na your motor

See below the conditions that the transmission of the so-called tokunbo vehicle was met when dismantled.

Evidence that the transmission has once been worked on! !!

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 12:19am On Dec 11, 2018
Also see this part of the vehicle's history in the image below which makes it look like the dealer might be aware of the underlying issue. Not even when the vehicle has been in his display garage since last year June.

It was seen on the report that it was purchased on copart. I was shocked when I saw the dealer said that he doesn't check all those things before buying as it can be seen in the second screenshot.

Note that the vehicle was taken based on majorly TRUST factor that it must have been perfectly sorted out and still in good/perfect condition despite knowing/seeing some things from its VIN report.

Kind of even scared seeing the odometer got rolled back from about 180,000 to 80,000 or so. But it was kind of reasoned to be what majority of dealers normally do for market to move on time and for price hike. grin grin grin

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by dru23(m): 12:28am On Dec 11, 2018
TheCar:


Follow engine manufacturer recommendation not your kazeem.

I use 0w 20 engine because that's what the engine manufacturer said I should use and my car is also less than 3 million.

Cutting cost on car have serious implications like the one we are all discussing here.

I don't sell engine oil or anything relating to car but I do use a car and I follow manufacturer recommendation.

Don't be pence wise, Pound foolish.

Best of Luck.

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by dru23(m): 12:48am On Dec 11, 2018
TheCar:


Follow engine manufacturer recommendation
not your kazeem.

I use 0w 20 engine because that's what the engine manufacturer said I should use and my car is also less than 3 million.

Cutting cost on car have serious implications like the one we are all discussing here.

I don't sell engine oil or anything relating to car but I do use a car and I follow manufacturer recommendation.

Don't be pence wise, Pound foolish.

Best of Luck.

Don't mind them my brother.. Let them use any oil they want .. I was lucky enough to come across this lovely C 240 .. Before buying it. I research it on nairaland the cons of C240. People were mostly saying it is expensive to maintain.. Spoke to the owner, he said just use the Mobil 1 oil 5w30 or 0w40 .. If you look at the tip hood of the car ,you will see the Mobil 1 sign ..still Nigerians will ignore it and use something else . And complain that the car is not good .. At least if you going to use something different, u either use the same quality as Mobil or use something better like Royal Purple... but if you tell them ,they will think is because you sell that product..
My 03 civic on Uber, has been using the 5k Naira oil now ..the car seems to be going strong for now ..but in the back of my head I know the car will soon pack up ..due to low quality oil. By the time it packs up I go sell am .. My other civic now will be using extended performance and Fram oil filter.. Quality oil prolongs the life of the engine and coolant too .. Funny enough it was even me that help bring the importance of coolant .

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by CityNGR: 5:18am On Dec 11, 2018
dru23:


Don't mind them my brother.. Let them use any oil they want .. I was lucky enough to come across this lovely C 240 .. Before buying it. I research it on nairaland the cons of C240. People were mostly saying it is expensive to maintain.. Spoke to the owner, he said just use the Mobil 1 oil 5w30 or 0w40 .. If you look at the tip hood of the car ,you will see the Mobil 1 sign ..still Nigerians will ignore it and use something else . And complain that the car is not good .. At least if you going to use something different, u either use the same quality as Mobil or use something better like Royal Purple... but if you tell them ,they will think is because you sell that product..
My 03 civic on Uber, has been using the 5k Naira oil now ..the car seems to be going strong for now ..but in the back of my head I know the car will soon pack up ..due to low quality oil. By the time it packs up I go sell am .. My other civic now will be using extended performance and Fram oil filter.. Quality oil prolongs the life of the engine and coolant too .. Funny enough it was even me that help bring the importance of coolant .
Team Mobil XHP.... Covers ALL engines.

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by HeavenlyBang(m): 5:19am On Dec 11, 2018
Peddler alert.

3 Likes

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by CityNGR: 5:21am On Dec 11, 2018
HeavenlyBang:
Peddler alert.
Well we are talking transmission... As usual he finds a way to bring engine oil in.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by HeavenlyBang(m): 5:24am On Dec 11, 2018
CityNGR:

Well we are talking transmission... As usual he finds a way to bring engine oil in.

It's utterly shocking how he manages to do that. undecided

4 Likes

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by thebigkendo(m): 6:42am On Dec 11, 2018


Hmmm the highlighted sounds familiar grin grin

Diportivo come & help me check
But Oga legalwealth, you don register the car oh..
It's go hard to return such na.. Abi how u see am??
last last dealer go reduce the balance you go pay

NB: I heard they now turn naija used cars to toks by deleting vehicle details from database, in that case, registered toks car can still be collected by dealer

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by thebigkendo(m): 6:48am On Dec 11, 2018
legalwealth:


See below the conditions that the transmission of the so-called tokunbo vehicle was met when dismantled.

Evidence that the transmission has once been worked on! !!

grin grin grin this na Kazeem handwork na..
GAZZUZZ come see America wonder
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by thebigkendo(m): 6:54am On Dec 11, 2018
legalwealth:
Also see this part of the vehicle's history in the image below which makes it look like the dealer might be aware of the underlying issue. Not even when the vehicle has been in his display garage since last year June.

It was seen on the report that it was purchased on copart. I was shocked when I saw the dealer said that he doesn't check all those things before buying as it can be seen in the second screenshot.

Note that the vehicle was taken based on majorly TRUST factor that it must have been perfectly sorted out and still in good/perfect condition despite knowing/seeing some things from its VIN report.
grin grin

You bought the car everybody rejected.. No wonder dealer was willing to give you on credit trust grin grin

Toyota Lexus staying in a car lot for over a year If it was clean title I will understand, probably due to price but....
Hope you are paying naija used price sha..

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by GAZZUZZ(m): 7:15am On Dec 11, 2018
thebigkendo:


grin grin grin this na Kazeem handwork na..
GAZZUZZ come see America wonder

sadly this is done here in nigeria. It would have been very easy spot if a technician knew what to look out for.

1 Like

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by diportivo: 7:47am On Dec 11, 2018
even the odometer was rolled back

and u bought it still because na so dealers dey do

undecided

why are we here sef


anyways,the Mexicans have pplayed a fast one on Nigerians yet again


this one na araldite mixed with cement thickset therapy

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by Readonee35L(m): 8:41am On Dec 11, 2018
HeavenlyBang:


Lol, I'm not sure if you actually believe most of the things you've said. Do you even understand how a car engine works?
He writes lots of false stories.

1 Like

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 8:45am On Dec 11, 2018
thebigkendo:


You bought the car everybody rejected.. No wonder dealer was willing to give you on credit trust grin grin

Toyota Lexus staying in a car lot for over a year If it was clean title I will understand, probably due to price but....
Hope you are paying naija used price sha..

grin grin grin

He actually said it was because of the melting dashboard which has now been fixed to a better condition. Due to some circumstances
considered, more than half of the said price of the vehicle was paid for while the rest was planned to be paid as soon as soon possible mostly on a factor of motivation by the performance and effectiveness of the said vehicle but here we are.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by Readonee35L(m): 8:45am On Dec 11, 2018
legalwealth:


5W 30 was not recommended for EOD oga but 5w 20 . Mobil XHP works fine and has been working fine for my EOD for more than two and half

years though because I've been making sure that other factors are looked into. For example, some people will be driving their car with bad catalytic converter and 02 sensors which do trigger check engine light (usually ignored by them) and yet they want to get good result out of whatever oil they are using.
Now I'm tired of your speech.
Very misleading .
What has catalyctic converter and oxygen sensor go to do with your engine lubrication.

You know little things doesnt mean you can just formulate your theories.
Stop embarrassing your self.
Stop!
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 8:50am On Dec 11, 2018
thebigkendo:


Hmmm the highlighted sounds familiar grin grin

Diportivo come & help me check
But Oga legalwealth, you don register the car oh..
It's go hard to return such na.. Abi how u see am??
last last dealer go reduce the balance you go pay

NB: I heard they now turn naija used cars to toks by deleting vehicle details from database, in that case, registered toks car can still be collected by dealer

Was even considering it to be critically repaired or so and sold as Nigerian used but with the bolded up there, that will make more sense.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by antagonist: 8:50am On Dec 11, 2018
Readonee35L:

Now I'm tired of your speech.
Very misleading .
What has catalyctic converter and oxygen sensor go to do with your engine lubrication.

You know little things doesnt mean you can just formulate your theories.
Stop embarrassing your self.
Stop!

actually you're the one that did not understand what he was saying or explaining, so stop embarrassing yourself

he was talking about engine performance, and how people focus on only one aspect of maintenance and avoid other important aspects yet they expect good performance, not necessarily that lubrication is the same as oxygen sensor

1 Like

Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by Readonee35L(m): 8:54am On Dec 11, 2018
antagonist:


actually you're the one that did not understand what he was saying or explaining.

he was talking about engine performance, and how people focus on only one aspect of maintenance and avoid other important aspects yet they expect good performance.
Can you tell me how catalyctic converter will affect a cars engine oil performance ?
School me smiley
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 8:55am On Dec 11, 2018
Readonee35L:

Now I'm tired of your speech.
Very misleading .
What has catalyctic converter and oxygen sensor go to do with your engine lubrication.

You know little things doesnt mean you can just formulate your theories.
Stop embarrassing your self.
Stop!

Lol!

Do you mean that a vehicle's engine with no or bad catalytic converter and oxygen sensor will run
smoothly and last if the best engine oil in the world is used for it?

I guess yours does not have working catalytic converter and oxygen sensor... kpele Ooooo! !!

Not a matter of bragging, I imported my EOD's catalytic converter and 02 sensors directly from USA myself

with running cost of almost 150,000N because I know the importance of those things on engine's performance and durability.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 9:01am On Dec 11, 2018
Readonee35L:

Can you tell me how catalyctic converter will affect a cars engine oil performance ?
School me smiley

Ogas dem will come and school you on that or you can go on google for diligent search on it.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by Readonee35L(m): 9:02am On Dec 11, 2018
legalwealth:


Ogas dem will come and school you on that or you can go on google for diligent search on it.
Na u they claim am.
If you can say it with no proof.
I guess your words shouldnt be taken serious.
Re: MODIFIED: Re: Your Opinion Is Needed On A Lemon Car Sold To Me By Calculusx! !! by legalwealth(m): 9:13am On Dec 11, 2018
Readonee35L:

Na u they claim am.
If you can say it with no proof.
I guess your words shouldnt be taken serious.

What was said is out of "common sense" which is valid; do your research and thank me later for learning new thing through me.

Engine oil used though important is not the major thing to be considered; there are other important things like catalytic converter and oxygen sensors which are important. If they are bad in your car and you use the best engine oil in the world for the same car, you will experience the likes of high consumption of fuel and disrupt of the engine's performance in the car.

Check engine light will also be looking at you daily and you won't know when other critical issues that normally turn on check engine light come up since the light is always on the dashboard.

1 Like

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

Diy: Immobiliser Delete On Bosch Motronic Me 7.5 Ecu (audi A4 B5 Facelift) / White Smoke When I Start The Engine -03 Camry (EXPERTS IN D HOUSE TO RESPOND PLS / Honda Accord 2009( Evil Spirit) Vs Toyota Camry 2009 (spider)

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (0) (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 177
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.