Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,671,680 members, 6,282,121 topics. Date: Monday, 10 May 2021 at 10:09 AM

Your Opinion Is Needed. - Religion (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Your Opinion Is Needed. (1808 Views)

Opinion: Is Bazaar In The House Of The Lord Right? / Pls Your Opinion Is Highly Needed / Should Nigerian Churches Be Taxed By The Government? Share Your Opinion (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Heathen777(m): 8:18pm On Jan 18, 2019
Death happens when our body stops performing those dynamic processes, that makes us alive.

This happens because of entropy. The measure of disorder in any given body.

Everything goes through entropy, and when there's nothing to sustain/maintain it, they wear out and stop working. This is why we age and die.

Religions have tried to explain this by invoking supernatural forces/reason as a cause of this, but this is just basic science.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by YAHREIGNS: 8:38pm On Jan 18, 2019
BronzeMajik:
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??
Death is a power that rules over the earth. It socks the life out of living things from day 1. Until the day of death. Death is the reason why our world is hard and seemingly lifeless. That's why Christ said:


John 14:3 |
And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also ...

Were in a dead place, currently, ruled by the power of death ... Until that day
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by BronzeMajik(f): 8:45pm On Jan 18, 2019
YAHREIGNS:

Death is a power that rules over the earth. It socks the life out of living things from day 1. Until the day of death. Death is the reason why our world is hard and seemingly lifeless. That's why Christ said:


John 14:3 |
And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also ...

Were in a dead place, currently, ruled by the power of death ... Until that day
thanks but you still didn't answer the question. why do we die?
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 10:11pm On Jan 18, 2019
DeSepiero:


What's your own answer?
The OP prohibited answers from religious perspectives.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 10:34pm On Jan 18, 2019
LordReed:


You asked why does deterioration happen at all? and I told you I had already given some of the reasons deterioration can occur. As far as I know these physical processes are why deterioration and subsequently death occurs, there is no grand design for why these things occur. If you were expecting some grandiose statement then my answer definitely is not for you.
You are still missing my point.

Entropy is the steady trend of things toward a state of greater disorder. That would be a synonym for deterioration.

Mutation is merely another word for genetic change. Assuming the change you refer to is negative (as seems obvious to me), then it is yet another synonym for entropy and deterioration.

Radiation is probably the only actual external factor here. But it is why I said that your answer is also "we die because we can die". If we can be affected by external factors so that we deteriorate, then we can die.

So, why can we die? Why are we susceptible to death or deterioration at all in the first place?

I am quite convinced that the true atheistic answer is: "I don't know" or "there is no reason. We just die."
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 10:42pm On Jan 18, 2019
XxSabrinaxX:
The simplest answer to this question is: because all multicellular animals (metazoans) die, and humans are metazoans.

But that's not a complete answer, so I will elaborate a bit: we do not really know why multicellular organisms die. But there are several theories and combinations of theories, and they may all be part of the explanation.

Death is of course linked to aging (let's leave diseases out for the purpose of this question). So the theories on senescence are basically of two types: those that say that it is due to cumulative damage, and those that say it is actually programmed.

1. Cumulative damage: There are many ways in which the process of living can inflict damage on multicellular organisms, and one of them is through production of reactive oxygen species (ROS), and inevitable consequence of respiration,which in multicellular organisms is carried out by mitochondria. The ROS inflict detrimental mutations on nuclear DNA and also mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA), and those mutations accumulate and ultimately result in mitochondrial dysfunction, and that is lethal, especially to energy hogs such as brain and muscle.

2. Programmed senescence: the fact that all multicellular organisms have their own fixed lifespan supports the notion that there is a genetic program that determines when an organism will senesce and die. In some animals, reproduction triggers this mechanism. For example, salmon that die quickly after they spawn, and bamboo that withers very fast after flowering and seed formation (and the withering allows the seeds to germinate). Programmed senescence makes sense because the way to bypass the accumulation of damaged DNA and toxic products in multicellular organisms, with their differentiated cells like neurons and muscle, that can no longer be renewed, is to make new organisms that can start fresh, with new, undamaged cells.

At the end of the day, life is a journey. And it's a rather beautiful one indeed. But, no matter how beautiful a journey is, it has to come to an end. A journey is meant to be completed after all. Death is simply the end of our journey. Now, don't lose heart just because the journey will come to end; live the journey. Live each and every moment of your life to the fullest. Enjoy each and every frail moment and find happiness in the simplest of things. Do not see how much sand is left on the clock, instead spend that time making your mark on the sands of time.

The way I see it, we aren't born to die, we are born to live through a wonderful journey called Life. And life is beautiful.

Carpe diem.
smiley
LordReed, here's a page you can take a book out of.

The honest atheist position: "we don't know why people die" OR "there is no reason. People just die."

But you may wax philosophical as above to try to fill that yawning pit of despair with some meaning. You shouldn't assume though that that means that you can explain the existence of death. You really can't.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 12:19am On Jan 19, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

You are still missing my point.

Entropy is the steady trend of things toward a state of greater disorder. That would be a synonym for deterioration.

Mutation is merely another word for genetic change. Assuming the change you refer to is negative (as seems obvious to me), then it is yet another synonym for entropy and deterioration.

Radiation is probably the only actual external factor here. But it is why I said that your answer is also "we die because we can die". If we can be affected by external factors so that we deteriorate, then we can die.

So, why can we die? Why are we susceptible to death or deterioration at all in the first place?

I am quite convinced that the true atheistic answer is: "I don't know" or "there is no reason. We just die."
Ihedinobi3:

LordReed, here's a page you can take a book out of.

The honest atheist position: "we don't know why people die" OR "there is no reason. People just die."

But you may wax philosophical as above to try to fill that yawning pit of despair with some meaning. You shouldn't assume though that that means that you can explain the existence of death. You really can't.

Already said there is no grand design reason for death man, do you just skim over my posts and assume something else in your head? I also said I did not care to wax philosophical and so my post wasn't what you were looking for. What else do you want man?! You are a strange fellow. LoL

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 12:39am On Jan 19, 2019
LordReed:


Already said there is no grand design reason for death man, do you just skim over my posts and assume something else in your head? I also said I did not care to wax philosophical and so my post wasn't what you were looking for. What else do you want man?! You are a strange fellow. LoL
So, you are admitting that you were saying that there is no reason for death, that we die because we die and that's that.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 1:24am On Jan 19, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

So, you are admitting that you were saying that there is no reason for death, that we die because we die and that's that.

LMFAO! You are hopeless.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by luvmijeje(f): 10:00am On Jan 19, 2019
Why do we die? I'll give you five reasons.

1. If we don't die there will never be renewal.

2. If we don't die, there will never be new ideas.

3. If we don't die the earth will never survive.

4. If we don't die, your view of life get to be limited.

5. If we don't die, we'll never be curious about spirituality.

In other words, we die so that we'll be forced to think about life after death.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by sonmvayina(m): 2:31pm On Jan 19, 2019
What's the purpose of life?... Won't this life be meaningless without death?... Death is the only thing that gives meaning to life..death is not an end but the beginning of something different and new.. A seed dies and it becomes a tree..
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by sonmvayina(m): 2:32pm On Jan 19, 2019
What's the purpose of life?... Won't this life be meaningless without death?... Death is the only thing that gives meaning to life..death is not an end but the beginning of something different and new.. A seed dies and it becomes a tree..

Death is nothing.. Just an illusion.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Nobody: 2:48pm On Jan 19, 2019
Everything in the universe will eventually be converted from one form to another.

The stars, planets, moons etc will eventually "die" in this case they will be converted to another form of energy.

In the real sense, nothing dies, they are just been transformed to another form of energy.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 4:01pm On Jan 19, 2019
LordReed:


LMFAO! You are hopeless.
Obviously not. You, on the other hand, just admitted that you are.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 4:16pm On Jan 19, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

Obviously not. You, on the other hand, just admitted that you are.

LoL! Yep I have no hope that after death there's some after life world, I no longer need such childish stories. LMFAO!

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by alphaNomega: 4:22pm On Jan 19, 2019
BronzeMajik:
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??

To be fair, you should not have posted this here if you're avoiding religious references.

If I were a mod, I would have moved this thread to the appropriate section.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 5:01pm On Jan 19, 2019
LordReed:


LoL! Yep I have no hope that after death there's some after life world, I no longer need such childish stories. LMFAO!
Well, there's that. But I was really referring to just existence. In your worldview, nothing makes sense and there is no point at all to existence. But in mine, obviously, there is a reason for everything including death.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 6:01pm On Jan 19, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

Well, there's that. But I was really referring to just existence. In your worldview, nothing makes sense and there is no point at all to existence. But in mine, obviously, there is a reason for everything including death.

I make everything about my life make sense, I just don't wait for some imaginary sky daddy to tell me what to make of it.

2 Likes

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 7:09pm On Jan 19, 2019
LordReed:


I make everything about my life make sense, I just don't wait for some imaginary sky daddy to tell me what to make of it.
Awesome for you. I just don't believe you. Your answers about death obviously prove that you can't give meaning to existence at all.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 7:26pm On Jan 19, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

Awesome for you. I just don't believe you. Your answers about death obviously prove that you can't give meaning to existence at all.

LMFAO! Look at this UNBELIEVER! LOL!
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by janettee(f): 8:07pm On Jan 19, 2019
BronzeMajik:
I'm very sure you read what I wrote up there before you replied, in case you didn't comprehend it, I said "learned fellows", it's very clear you don't fall into that category sir, you don't have to show it. it is well with you

Lol grin
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by elipheleh(m): 2:02am On Jan 28, 2019
BronzeMajik:
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??

Why do we die?
Two reasons:

1. We die when we have completed our assignment here.
2. We die when we are useless to humanity. Most people who are not in their God given plan mostly die untimely. If you miss your purpose here for too long, you may die if care is not taken
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 9:15am On Jan 28, 2019
elipheleh:


Why do we die?
Two reasons:

1. We die when we have completed our assignment here.
2. We die when we are useless to humanity. Most people who are not in their God given plan mostly die untimely. If you miss your purpose here for too long, you may die if care is not taken

I guess thats why Miles Munroe died in an air crash, he was not in the god's given plan.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Niflheim(m): 1:21pm On Jan 28, 2019
@Bronzemajik,


We die because of our primary composition...................................................WE ARE ALL "MATTER", SO FROM THE DAY YOU ARE BORN, YOU BEGIN TO DECAY!!!
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by elipheleh(m): 9:00pm On Jan 28, 2019
LordReed:


I guess thats why Miles Munroe died in an air crash, he was not in the god's given plan.

No he completed his assignment. Check reason 1.

Let me explain further on my point 1:

God gave everybody a mission to complete within a stipulated time. Long old life is not a sign of fulfillment. Some people have short assignments and short timing and it's perfectly God's will.

From point 1
If you finish the mission too early, you die.
If you don't finish but the time elapses, you still die.

From point 2
If you derail your mission too long, God takes you out of the universe, you're no longer useful to earth.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Nobody: 9:01pm On Jan 28, 2019
BronzeMajik:
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??
hmmm.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 9:14pm On Jan 28, 2019
elipheleh:


No he completed his assignment. Check reason 1.

Let me explain further on my point 1:

God gave everybody a mission to complete within a stipulated time. Long old life is not a sign of fulfillment. Some people have short assignments and short timing and it's perfectly God's will.

From point 1
If you finish the mission too early, you die.
If you don't finish but the time elapses, you still die.

From point 2
If you derail your mission too long, God takes you out of the universe, you're no longer useful to earth.

So you'll have us believe your god kills off its servants in terrible accidents because they have finished their assignment for it? LMFAO!
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by elipheleh(m): 9:43pm On Jan 28, 2019
LordReed:


So you'll have us believe your god kills off its servants in terrible accidents because they have finished their assignment for it? LMFAO!

Ignorant you. You think death is painful lol. No child of God experiences a painful death.
Stephen in the bible was stoned to death, to your mind that was painful. In a revelation, Stephen now in heaven, says that his death was not painful one bit. Immediately they began stoning him, the peace of Jesus was with him immediately.

Acts 7:58-60
58 and they cast him out of the city, and stoned him: and the witnesses laid down their garments at the feet of a young man named Saul.
59 And they stoned Stephen, calling upon the Lord, and saying, Lord Jesus, receive my spirit.
60 And he kneeled down, and cried with a loud voice, Lord, lay not this sin to their charge. And when he had said this, he fell asleep.

He fell asleep, not die.
Christians don't die, we fall asleep. Sleep is not painful.
Christ's love is with us. He said He will never forsake us nor leave us (even in our painful moments, He takes it all away).

Deu 31:6 Be strong and of good courage, fear not, nor be affrighted at them: for Jehovah thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.

Psa 37:28 For Jehovah loveth justice, And forsaketh not his saints; They are preserved for ever: But the seed of the wicked shall be cut off


If you are not a believer, a child of God, have not received Christ and forgiveness of sin through His blood, you will certainly die, not sleep. Death is painful and everlasting death is painful too. If you know not Christ, you have every reason to be afraid.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 10:15pm On Jan 28, 2019
elipheleh:


Ignorant you. You think death is painful lol. No child of God experiences a painful death.
Stephen in the bible was stoned to death, to your mind that was painful. In a revelation, Stephen now in heaven, says that his death was not painful one bit. Immediately they began stoning him, the peace of Jesus was with him immediately.

Acts 7:58-60
58 and they cast him out of the city, and stoned him: and the witnesses laid down their garments at the feet of a young man named Saul.
59 And they stoned Stephen, calling upon the Lord, and saying, Lord Jesus, receive my spirit.
60 And he kneeled down, and cried with a loud voice, Lord, lay not this sin to their charge. And when he had said this, he fell asleep.

He fell asleep, not die.
Christians don't die, we fall asleep. Sleep is not painful.
Christ's love is with us. He said He will never forsake us nor leave us (even in our painful moments, He takes it all away).

Deu 31:6 Be strong and of good courage, fear not, nor be affrighted at them: for Jehovah thy God, he it is that doth go with thee; he will not fail thee, nor forsake thee.

Psa 37:28 For Jehovah loveth justice, And forsaketh not his saints; They are preserved for ever: But the seed of the wicked shall be cut off


If you are not a believer, a child of God, have not received Christ and forgiveness of sin through His blood, you will certainly die, not sleep. Death is painful and everlasting death is painful too. If you know not Christ, you have every reason to be afraid.

Kai, the delusion is strong in this one! LMFAO!

So an aircraft crash is not a painful way to die? Really? LMFAO!
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by elipheleh(m): 11:00pm On Jan 28, 2019
LordReed:


Kai, the delusion is strong in this one! LMFAO!

So an aircraft crash is not a painful way to die? Really? LMFAO!

You're scared
You just met a Christian who has revelation and conviction. Not funny at all.

Now ask yourself, how confident are you in your life after death. Did you really believe this life is all there is to see?
Accept Jesus for remission of your sins and experience the Love of God and Eternal life. Jesus loves you.
BUT the devil and his new age religion of exalting self can't profit you here or hereafter.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 11:03pm On Jan 28, 2019
elipheleh:


You're scared
You just met a Christian who has revelation and conviction. Not funny at all.

Now ask yourself, how confident are you in your life after death. Did you really believe this life is all there is to see?
Accept Jesus for remission of your sins and experience the Love of God and Eternal life. Jesus loves you.
BUT the devil and his new age religion of exalting self can't profit you here or hereafter.

You who is deathly scared of the devil and hell? LMFAO!
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by elipheleh(m): 11:46pm On Jan 28, 2019
LordReed:


You who is deathly scared of the devil and hell? LMFAO!

No I'm not moved by the devil, for he is but a creation who has been judged also awaiting damnation.

What moves me is the Love of Christ. He loved me first, that's why I love Him also and it is only natural that you admire and believe Him whom you love.

1Jn 4:19 We love, because he first loved us.


As for you there's hope , Jesus loves you and died for you to take away your sins and give you life eternal. He loves you first even as you are a sinner and wants to set you free. If you will only call Him Lord and ask Him to save you.

Rom 5:8 But God commendeth his own love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

US Senate Chaplain Quotes TB Joshua Prophecy On Joe Biden / Fastest Evolutionary Changes Ever Observed / Only The Yorubas Visit Mountains For Prayers. Why?

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 198
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.