Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,671,647 members, 6,282,057 topics. Date: Monday, 10 May 2021 at 09:24 AM

Your Opinion Is Needed. - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Your Opinion Is Needed. (1807 Views)

Opinion: Is Bazaar In The House Of The Lord Right? / Pls Your Opinion Is Highly Needed / Should Nigerian Churches Be Taxed By The Government? Share Your Opinion (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Your Opinion Is Needed. by BronzeMajik(f): 6:12am On Jan 16, 2019
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??

2 Likes

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 6:55am On Jan 16, 2019
BronzeMajik:
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed provide to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??

why post it In religion section

go ask the scientists, that thinks they are wiser than the spirit that create their brain

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by wis3(m): 7:12am On Jan 16, 2019
ElidaxZiel:


why post it In religion section

go ask the scientists, that thinks they are wiser than the spirit that create their brain
a spirit created your brain?

8 Likes 1 Share

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by BronzeMajik(f): 7:35am On Jan 16, 2019
ElidaxZiel:


why post it In religion section

go ask the scientists, that thinks they are wiser than the spirit that create their brain
I'm very sure you read what I wrote up there before you replied, in case you didn't comprehend it, I said "learned fellows", it's very clear you don't fall into that category sir, you don't have to show it. it is well with you

4 Likes

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 8:31am On Jan 16, 2019
BronzeMajik:
I'm very sure you read what I wrote up there before you replied, in case you didn't comprehend it, I said "learned fellows", it's very clear you don't fall into that category sir, you don't have to show it. it is well with you
keep deceiving yourself , learned fellows in what aspect ? lmao , Apart from our Education, do we study spiritual science, SMH , you guys should only be thankful to internet

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 8:35am On Jan 16, 2019
wis3:
a spirit created your brain?
who create the first human cell ? let see how wise you are
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by BronzeMajik(f): 8:42am On Jan 16, 2019
ElidaxZiel:
keep deceiving yourself , learned fellows in what aspect ? lmao , Apart from our Education, do we study spiritual science, SMH , you guys should only be thankful to internet

it's a pity.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Originakalokalo(m): 8:59am On Jan 16, 2019
This thread is for the " learned" ones...

For those of us whose spiritual and physical understanding are enlightened,

let's leave the thread for them.... while they dicuss "intellectually "

To your tent.... Oh Israel.

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by wis3(m): 2:40pm On Jan 16, 2019
ElidaxZiel:
who create the first human cell ? let see how wise you are
don't tell me what your books say. Show proof
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 2:46pm On Jan 16, 2019
wis3:
don't tell me what your books say. Show proof
I hope you can comprehend English ? I am asking you a question. Don't avoid it answer
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by wis3(m): 2:53pm On Jan 16, 2019
ElidaxZiel:
I hope you can comprehend English ? I am asking you a question. Don't avoid it answer
anyone can write a book. What if i told you i wrote the Bible and all of its contents?
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 2:58pm On Jan 16, 2019
wis3:
anyone can write a book. What if i told you i wrote the Bible and all of its contents?
okay !

Pls answer the question ? you are free to Google search
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 2:59pm On Jan 16, 2019
wis3:
anyone can write a book. What if i told you i wrote the Bible and all of its contents?
okay !

Pls answer the question ? you are free to Google search.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by wis3(m): 3:10pm On Jan 16, 2019
ElidaxZiel:
okay !

Pls answer the question ? you are free to Google search.
and everything on google is supposed to be true because God manages google? Na wa for u
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by ElidaxZiel: 3:35pm On Jan 16, 2019
wis3:
and everything on google is supposed to be true because God manages google? Na wa for u
Am still waiting for your answer
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 4:57pm On Jan 16, 2019
Hello BronzeMajik.

I am a Christian, committed to the Bible's teachings. So I'm sure I am not qualified to answer your thread (although Christianity is not a religion, but given popular ideas, still). But I am very interested in your question nonetheless. So I'll be looking to see what answers you can find outside of Faith.

Should you be willing to hear the Bible's answer, however, I'll be pleased to give it to you.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 7:04pm On Jan 16, 2019
We die because the component parts of our body deteriorate. Why the deterioration may be tied to several factors including entropy, mutation, radiation, etc. Scientists are studying the process and are already proposing treatments that could reverse or stop the aging process that leads to death.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Nobody: 7:46pm On Jan 16, 2019
Why do we die? Because the body has been corrupted! Corrupted because of immoralities. Why do food get spoilt? Because they are open to bacterias, just the same way it happens to the body!

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by JMAN05: 8:25pm On Jan 16, 2019
BronzeMajik:
good morning to you all.
As a human, living in a world where we are being taught to accept everything that happens and hear as beyond our understanding, our quest for knowledge is still ever strong, in my case it has always been the issue of death, I've read alot of religious teachings concerning it, yet I'm still not convinced.
Now I pose this question to my learned brothers and sisters

please no religious reference, as religion In my opinion has failed to provide worthy answers.



Why do we die??

Sorry, am not among the "learned" brothers, but can I know what the religious folks have given you as an answer and why it is not satisfactory to you?

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 10:45pm On Jan 16, 2019
LordReed:
We die because the component parts of our body deteriorate. Why the deterioration may be tied to several factors including entropy, mutation, radiation, etc. Scientists are studying the process and are already proposing treatments that could reverse or stop the aging process that leads to death.
So we die because we die? undecided

Interesting.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 10:49pm On Jan 16, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

So we die because we die? :\

If that is how you understand it but I used the word deteriorate.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 10:55pm On Jan 16, 2019
LordReed:


If that is how you understand it but I used the word deteriorate.
Is it possible to deteriorate indefinitely? Does deterioration not necessarily have a terminal point? How else can death be defined except as the termination of life? If that termination is the result of decline/deterioration, would her question not mean "why does deterioration happen at all?"

Also, what about those who die from violence in the prime of life? Does deterioration also explain that?
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 11:37pm On Jan 16, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

Is it possible to deteriorate indefinitely? Does deterioration not necessarily have a terminal point? How else can death be defined except as the termination of life? If that termination is the result of decline/deterioration, would her question not mean "why does deterioration happen at all?"

Also, what about those who die from violence in the prime of life? Does deterioration also explain that?

I gave possible reasons for deterioration as well.

Accidents and such like are basically maximum deterioration in a short space of time.

3 Likes

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 2:03pm On Jan 17, 2019
LordReed:


I gave possible reasons for deterioration as well.

Accidents and such like are basically maximum deterioration in a short space of time.
So, basically, we die because we can die. And we die because we die.

What kind of answer is that?
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 4:00pm On Jan 17, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

So, basically, we die because we can die. And we die because we die.

What kind of answer is that?

LMAO! Its your business if you deliberately want to misrepresent what I wrote and feign misunderstanding.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 3:38pm On Jan 18, 2019
LordReed:


LMAO! Its your business if you deliberately want to misrepresent what I wrote and feign misunderstanding.
I think you know that there was neither misrepresentation nor misunderstanding happening there.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by MuttleyLaff: 3:59pm On Jan 18, 2019
LordReed:
We die because the component parts of our body deteriorate. Why the deterioration may be tied to several factors including entropy, mutation, radiation, etc. Scientists are studying the process and are already proposing treatments that could reverse or stop the aging process that leads to death.

Ihedinobi3:
So we die because we die? undecided

Interesting.

LordReed:
If that is how you understand it but I used the word deteriorate.
You're correct about deterioration because in the original text when God said, thou shall surely die, the remark has the meaning translated as you will die a slow death, you definitely will begin the process of deterioration. Everything, over time, will begin going and looking south. At the end of the deterioration and organ failings comes and awaits death.

1 Like

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 4:43pm On Jan 18, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

I think you know that there was neither misrepresentation nor misunderstanding happening there.

I wrote we die because our component parts deteriorate, you wrote that I said we die because we die. We know your penchant for wilful obtuseness.

2 Likes

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Ihedinobi3: 5:29pm On Jan 18, 2019
LordReed:


I wrote we die because our component parts deteriorate, you wrote that I said we die because we die. We know your penchant for wilful obtuseness.
Okay, "wilful obtuseness" is your go-to defense here. Noted.

My point is that you change words without quite answering the question.

If our component parts deteriorate and thus die, then you only mean that it is because we are dying that we die. Deteriorate only means to decline in quality. If our component parts are declining in quality, we are dying. So, it is no answer to why we die. That question, in the sense that the OP appears to me to ask it, is asking something more fundamental. That is, why do our component parts deteriorate at all so that we die?

That is what you failed to answer.

In short, would death be possible if our component parts did not deteriorate at all? The very definition of death is, after all, as you so eloquently put it, "maximum deterioration".
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by LordReed(m): 6:38pm On Jan 18, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

Okay, "wilful obtuseness" is your go-to defense here. Noted.

My point is that you change words without quite answering the question.

If our component parts deteriorate and thus die, then you only mean that it is because we are dying that we die. Deteriorate only means to decline in quality. If our component parts are declining in quality, we are dying. So, it is no answer to why we die. That question, in the sense that the OP appears to me to ask it, is asking something more fundamental. That is, why do our component parts deteriorate at all so that we die?

That is what you failed to answer.

In short, would death be possible if our component parts did not deteriorate at all? The very definition of death is, after all, as you so eloquently put it, "maximum deterioration".

You asked why does deterioration happen at all? and I told you I had already given some of the reasons deterioration can occur. As far as I know these physical processes are why deterioration and subsequently death occurs, there is no grand design for why these things occur. If you were expecting some grandiose statement then my answer definitely is not for you.
Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by Nobody: 7:37pm On Jan 18, 2019
The simplest answer to this question is: because all multicellular animals (metazoans) die, and humans are metazoans.

But that's not a complete answer, so I will elaborate a bit: we do not really know why multicellular organisms die. But there are several theories and combinations of theories, and they may all be part of the explanation.

Death is of course linked to aging (let's leave diseases out for the purpose of this question). So the theories on senescence are basically of two types: those that say that it is due to cumulative damage, and those that say it is actually programmed.

1. Cumulative damage: There are many ways in which the process of living can inflict damage on multicellular organisms, and one of them is through production of reactive oxygen species (ROS), and inevitable consequence of respiration,which in multicellular organisms is carried out by mitochondria. The ROS inflict detrimental mutations on nuclear DNA and also mitochondrial DNA (mtDNA), and those mutations accumulate and ultimately result in mitochondrial dysfunction, and that is lethal, especially to energy hogs such as brain and muscle.

2. Programmed senescence: the fact that all multicellular organisms have their own fixed lifespan supports the notion that there is a genetic program that determines when an organism will senesce and die. In some animals, reproduction triggers this mechanism. For example, salmon that die quickly after they spawn, and bamboo that withers very fast after flowering and seed formation (and the withering allows the seeds to germinate). Programmed senescence makes sense because the way to bypass the accumulation of damaged DNA and toxic products in multicellular organisms, with their differentiated cells like neurons and muscle, that can no longer be renewed, is to make new organisms that can start fresh, with new, undamaged cells.

At the end of the day, life is a journey. And it's a rather beautiful one indeed. But, no matter how beautiful a journey is, it has to come to an end. A journey is meant to be completed after all. Death is simply the end of our journey. Now, don't lose heart just because the journey will come to end; live the journey. Live each and every moment of your life to the fullest. Enjoy each and every frail moment and find happiness in the simplest of things. Do not see how much sand is left on the clock, instead spend that time making your mark on the sands of time.

The way I see it, we aren't born to die, we are born to live through a wonderful journey called Life. And life is beautiful.

Carpe diem.
smiley

4 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Your Opinion Is Needed. by DeSepiero(m): 7:50pm On Jan 18, 2019
Ihedinobi3:

Okay, "wilful obtuseness" is your go-to defense here. Noted.

My point is that you change words without quite answering the question.

If our component parts deteriorate and thus die, then you only mean that it is because we are dying that we die. Deteriorate only means to decline in quality. If our component parts are declining in quality, we are dying. So, it is no answer to why we die. That question, in the sense that the OP appears to me to ask it, is asking something more fundamental. That is, why do our component parts deteriorate at all so that we die?

That is what you failed to answer.

In short, would death be possible if our component parts did not deteriorate at all? The very definition of death is, after all, as you so eloquently put it, "maximum deterioration".

What's your own answer?

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

No Arabic On The New Naira Notes? / Jesus Christ Was A Liberal Not Conservative, Christians Should Live Like Christ. / D World Ending On 12/12/2012.

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 143
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.