Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,776,703 members, 6,615,565 topics. Date: Friday, 03 December 2021 at 09:32 PM

How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs (11164 Views)

5 Under 30 Youngest Successful Nigerian Tech Entrepreneurs / Nigerian Entrepreneurs Who Are Doing Nigeria And Africa Proud / 5 Ways How The Arrest Of Invictus Will Affect Hardworking Nigerian Entrepreneurs (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Vickwinners: 5:49pm On Mar 07, 2019
For so many Nigerians, making money online will definitely be a dream come true.

But sadly, it is not everyone that will ever make some decent income online.

Yeah. I’m not just saying this to get you discouraged… According to Google stats, about 70 percent of small businesses will wind up in the first 5 years.

And this can be worse for an online business.

Now it doesn’t just end here…

With the current challenges in developing countries, starting a rewarding online business in a country like Nigeria becomes even more difficult.

That’s the true situation of things.

But the truth also is, despite the challenges of starting an online business, there are people who are still doing phenomenal stuff with their online business right here in Nigeria… And other developing countries.

How did they do that?

If this is the question on your mind then you’re going to learn a lot from this post.

Below are step by step guide to on how to make money online in Nigeria in 2019 according other successful (mostly) African online entrepreneurs.

1. Look for a painful problem that others are facing, and then devise a way to make people pay you for the solution.
Seun Osewa


Look for problems that don’t require much capital to solve. In a developing country like Nigeria, there are so many problems waiting to be solved.

One man’s problem is another man’s profit!

Competition is often weak which means you’ll make a lot of money.

So what are you waiting for?” Nigerians should not be talking about unemployment at all.

There are so many obvious opportunities around us waiting to be exploited. Being jobless in Nigeria is a big shame indeed.”


Seun Osewa.


Ok. So Seun has said it all.

Being able to solve a problem for someone is one of the easiest way to make money online in Nigeria.

When it comes to problems, it can be anything.

From giving people a reason to smile like your favorite Instagram comedians for instance to providing services like graphics designs…,

The most important thing is that you have to provide value to another person if you’re going to make money online in Nigeria in this 2019.

This is because people out there can only pay you for the value they derive from you.

http://www.victorwinners.com/2019/01/25/how-to-make-money-online-in-nigeria-2019-featured-experts-opinion/

3 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Vickwinners: 6:01pm On Mar 07, 2019
2. Do what you love:

Lasisi Elenu

I think it is just about doing what I love and enjoy. If you are consistent at doing something, people will notice you and eventually follow you.

They will also refer others to your page if you are doing something wonderful.

I never thought of coming online to be posting any skit. I was just doing comedy for fun, for my family and friends, who would laugh and compliment me. But afterwards, others discovered me and wanted to see more of my funny side.

So, in August last year, I posted my first video skit on Instagram. I think I got just about 80 views on my first post.

By the time I posted my second skit, it got about 110 views. I didn’t let the few views discourage me because I was not seeking fame in the first place.

So, I just kept doing what I loved and enjoyed and that’s how the following grew. Today, I get thousands of views on my skits…

I didn’t do any special thing to get followers on Instagram. I didn’t buy them and I didn’t also promote my account. It just grew because of my consistency and because there is a message in my skits.

Lasisi Elenu.

If you’re social media savvy, you’ll notice that some social media skits that have become popular today are something people started just for passion.

Now, one thing you must understand is that if you work on it very well, your passion can pay your bills.

Also keep in mind that even when you start out with something you’re passionate about, don’t stop at the passion, you can learn some business skills and take it to the next level.

http://www.victorwinners.com/2019/01/25/how-to-make-money-online-in-nigeria-2019-featured-experts-opinion/

3 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Vickwinners: 6:06pm On Mar 07, 2019
3. Start from where you are: Mark Zuckerberg.

I literally coded Facebook in my dorm room and launched it from my dorm room.

I rented a server for $85 a month, and I funded it by putting an ad on the site, and we’ve funded ever since by putting ads on the site.

Mark Zuckerberg.

Most problems with young Nigerians wishing to start online business is the issue of funding.

Of course you don’t have collateral and there is hardly any bank that will lend you money to start any business without requiring you provide some collateral.

So the mere thought of this is usually very discouraging. But as Zuckerberg is saying, you can really start from where you are.

Yes!

Start with your own savings. This is how i started out. And i was even a university student with a stipend as pocket money.

You know how difficult that can be. And how many cool stuff you’ll have to let go just to save some bucks…

But truth is, looking back today, i feel it was worth it.

So you’ll really have to cut back on unnecessary expenses.

Another way of starting where you are is by providing services that will demand less capital for start up.

As you keep making profit from the particular service, with time you can expand to include the original service/product you wanted to start with.

So if you want to go into a big ecommerce business and you don’t have funds, you can start managing other people’s social media accounts as a side hustle.

As you make some savings, you expand to build your ecommerce website over time.

http://www.victorwinners.com/2019/01/25/how-to-make-money-online-in-nigeria-2019-featured-experts-opinion/

4 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Vickwinners: 6:10pm On Mar 07, 2019
4. Build a sustainable business model: Debola Williams.

For us, building the sustainable business model is crucial.

Debola Williams.

A business model is like a plan for the successful operation of your business.

As you already know, so many online businesses in Nigeria today run without business models.

This is the major issues with most online businesses.

As Debola said, You can not excel or scale your online business without a realistic business model so it’s important you get one set out before even getting started.

Building a sustainable business including details of how you’ll source funds at different level of growth, clients, how you’ll expand and other details will guide you as your online business gets poised for growth.

It will also save as soon guide for your business.

And from time to time, you can adjust your business models based on your current realities.

5. Don’t ever give up: Linda Ikeji.

There were many times, I wanted to give up. I had bad times
back then but the worst was in September 19, 2010.

It was my 30th birthday. I was broke, I was angry because I have been done doing modeling in a long time.

I was still struggling, I was still borrowing money, I was depressed because I felt like a failure.

I will cry and cry but will still open my laptop and blog. I didn’t know that my breakthrough was at the corner and that God was leading me to it.

After my 30th birthday, my life practically changed.

Linda Ikeji

One of the wrong impression people have about online businesses is the belief that you’re definitely going to make it big as soon as you start an online business.

This is far from the truth.

Because just as you need time to build your offline business, to be successful with an online business, you’ll also need time.

In fact, sometimes you’re going to work so hard and still see far less results.

That’s the truth. Let’s not sugarcoat this.

There’s going to be times you feel like giving up…

But trust me, putting all your effort and making your online business to turn out successful is going to be one of the most rewarding experience you’ll ever have as an entrepreneur.

So this is me telling you, whenever you feel like giving up on your online business, please understand it’s a familiar feeling.

All established digital entrepreneurs felt like this at one point…

But they struggled for their dreams. And that’s why they are being celebrated today.

So you shouldn’t ever give up on your online hustle like most wannabe entrepreneurs do.

Oh no I’m not saying you should keep hanging onto a business that is not sustainable…

I’m saying that before you decide to quit, let it be that the business is no longer needful…

Not because you can’t wait to make it successful.

I believe so much in you. And I know you have what it takes to set up a successful online business in Nigeria. Or anywhere you want.

So are you ready?

What has been your biggest challenge in starting out your online business?

http://www.victorwinners.com/2019/01/25/how-to-make-money-online-in-nigeria-2019-featured-experts-opinion/

1 Like 1 Share

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by OBTMOS(m): 9:10pm On Mar 07, 2019
I don't understand, am I the first to comment.

5 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by nonny1212: 9:11pm On Mar 07, 2019
sharpness
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by traffwire: 9:12pm On Mar 07, 2019
Cool. To start your journey, see my signature
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by fatymore(f): 9:12pm On Mar 07, 2019
Good one...
inec should hasten our payment for crying out loud
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Mizk(f): 9:13pm On Mar 07, 2019
Seun's advice is the best.

1 Like

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by sexyberry06(f): 9:14pm On Mar 07, 2019
Nice one

1 Like

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by muyoge: 9:14pm On Mar 07, 2019
I don't feel like reading this kind of threads anymore. People will come to share their success stories without revealing the trade tricks needed for such successful achievements. The success story tellers know they didn’t read such skeletal and undetailed information to get to the level they are today.


Some of them would come here to flaunt their achievements without telling you the training they received, the books they read and the kind of people with experience they moved with before they succeeded. And when you don't have enough information, you become frustrated.


Gold is not found on the streets. It is found in rocks. It is not as easy as they present it. What can turn you into a multimillionaire can't be thrown at you like this, there is always an UNREVEALED STRATEGY you must find.

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by AyodejiCharles(m): 9:14pm On Mar 07, 2019
Cool

You can import items just like I do...

BTW.
These stuffs are for sale
Quote me if interested
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by bigdot1759(m): 9:14pm On Mar 07, 2019
Some salary earners(i.e cooperates slave) will soon storm here now

2 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by kenny714433(m): 9:17pm On Mar 07, 2019
grin
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by faithfull18(f): 9:20pm On Mar 07, 2019
Okay.
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Tolzeal(m): 9:21pm On Mar 07, 2019
Lasisi Elenu grin > grin
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by abrojunior94(m): 9:22pm On Mar 07, 2019
nice write up

1 Like

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Nobody: 9:22pm On Mar 07, 2019
I'm not quoting you wrong Op, but then most times we don't tell ourselves the truth. A successful person can just sit down on a coach with remote control in his hand and begin to fabricate or verbalise all sort of jargons that there are no competitions or whatsoever.
When they started their online business was the internet at time young or old? Any successful online business that you see today started when the the internet was young.!

4 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by millionboi2: 9:22pm On Mar 07, 2019
OBTMOS:
I don't understand, am I the first to comment.
the same......no difference 4rm wat we bn hearin

1 Like

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by mascot345: 9:22pm On Mar 07, 2019
Yap, sometimes is not easy. The hardest in e-commerce business in Nigeria is pay on delivery.

So many Nigerians don't believe what they see online.

When you tell them about shipping charges. Some of them will cancel the order.
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by mildflame: 9:25pm On Mar 07, 2019
Bizness is my thing

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by twosquare(m): 9:26pm On Mar 07, 2019
mascot345:
Yap, sometimes is not easy. The hardest in e-commerce business in Nigeria is pay on delivery.

So many Nigerians don't believe what they see online.

When you tell them about shipping charges. Some of them will cancel the order.
POD is getting outdated, and most people who do that here (customers now) have trust issues. I can't remember when last I did POD... however, you also need to gain the trust of your customers' base.

2 Likes

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Onlinealaba(m): 9:27pm On Mar 07, 2019
Good advice from those that av made it in this online thing..we will get there one day tho is been challenging. Hey guys am the best sales guy to contact for your electronics I offer POD across Lagos
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by wink2015: 9:29pm On Mar 07, 2019
Vickwinners:
2. Do what you love:

Lasisi Elenu

I think it is just about doing what I love and enjoy. If you are consistent at doing something, people will notice you and eventually follow you.

They will also refer others to your page if you are doing something wonderful.

I never thought of coming online to be posting any skit. I was just doing comedy for fun, for my family and friends, who would laugh and compliment me. But afterwards, others discovered me and wanted to see more of my funny side.

So, in August last year, I posted my first video skit on Instagram. I think I got just about 80 views on my first post.

By the time I posted my second skit, it got about 110 views. I didn’t let the few views discourage me because I was not seeking fame in the first place.

So, I just kept doing what I loved and enjoyed and that’s how the following grew. Today, I get thousands of views on my skits…

I didn’t do any special thing to get followers on Instagram. I didn’t buy them and I didn’t also promote my account. It just grew because of my consistency and because there is a message in my skits.

Lasisi Elenu.

If you’re social media savvy, you’ll notice that some social media skits that have become popular today are something people started just for passion.

Now, one thing you must understand is that if you work on it very well, your passion can pay your bills.

Also keep in mind that even when you start out with something you’re passionate about, don’t stop at the passion, you can learn some business skills and take it to the next level.

http://www.victorwinners.com/2019/01/25/how-to-make-money-online-in-nigeria-2019-featured-experts-opinion/

Nice share

1 Like

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by wink2015: 9:30pm On Mar 07, 2019
Vickwinners:
For so many Nigerians, making money online will definitely be a dream come true.

But sadly, it is not everyone that will ever make some decent income online.

Yeah. I’m not just saying this to get you discouraged… According to Google stats, about 70 percent of small businesses will wind up in the first 5 years.

And this can be worse for an online business.

Now it doesn’t just end here…

With the current challenges in developing countries, starting a rewarding online business in a country like Nigeria becomes even more difficult.

That’s the true situation of things.

But the truth also is, despite the challenges of starting an online business, there are people who are still doing phenomenal stuff with their online business right here in Nigeria… And other developing countries.

How did they do that?

If this is the question on your mind then you’re going to learn a lot from this post.

Below are step by step guide to on how to make money online in Nigeria in 2019 according other successful (mostly) African online entrepreneurs.

1. Look for a painful problem that others are facing, and then devise a way to make people pay you for the solution.
Seun Osewa


Look for problems that don’t require much capital to solve. In a developing country like Nigeria, there are so many problems waiting to be solved.

One man’s problem is another man’s profit!

Competition is often weak which means you’ll make a lot of money.

So what are you waiting for?” Nigerians should not be talking about unemployment at all.

There are so many obvious opportunities around us waiting to be exploited. Being jobless in Nigeria is a big shame indeed.”


Seun Osewa.


Ok. So Seun has said it all.

Being able to solve a problem for someone is one of the easiest way to make money online in Nigeria.

When it comes to problems, it can be anything.

From giving people a reason to smile like your favorite Instagram comedians for instance to providing services like graphics designs…,

The most important thing is that you have to provide value to another person if you’re going to make money online in Nigeria in this 2019.

This is because people out there can only pay you for the value they derive from you.

http://www.victorwinners.com/2019/01/25/how-to-make-money-online-in-nigeria-2019-featured-experts-opinion/

Nice share

1 Like

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by qanda: 9:32pm On Mar 07, 2019
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Topmaike007(m): 9:36pm On Mar 07, 2019
seun get the best advice
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by magictonic(m): 9:38pm On Mar 07, 2019
How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs

biko, when did Mark Zuckerberg become a Nigerian? which state is he from? - Osun, Kano or Abia?

1 Like 1 Share

Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by Kpene(m): 9:40pm On Mar 07, 2019
AyodejiCharles:
Cool

You can import items just like I do...

BTW.
These stuffs are for sale
Quote me if interested
Re: How To Start A Business Online: Opinion From Successful Nigerian Entrepreneurs by mascot345: 9:42pm On Mar 07, 2019
twosquare:
POD is getting outdated, and most people who do that here (customers now) have trust issues. I can't remember when last I did POD... however, you also need to gain the trust of your customers' base.

OK bro, thanks alot.

(1) (2) (Reply)

5 Smart Ways To Track Your Expenses / Fire At Katako Market In Jos, Shops Burnt, Many Injured / Recession: 196 Firms Shut Down In 2 Years

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 177
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.