Stats: 3,158,047 members, 7,835,533 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 11:27 AM

Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools (20839 Views)

Governor Dapo Abiodun Commissions 100 Vehicles And 200 Bikes For Security / Ogun State Governor, Dapo Abiodun Makes First Appointment. / Governor Dapo Abiodun Visits Obasanjo And His Wife, Bola Obasanjo (photos) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Meritocracy: 10:54am On Sep 04, 2019
Education is never free, anything free is dangerous for future.

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Florblu(f): 10:55am On Sep 04, 2019
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Ikpeazukerosene: 10:59am On Sep 04, 2019
mrvitalis:
Zik was right and awolowo was wrong
...free education is never good ...its like printing money and handing it out for free

In igbo land villages came together to train the brightest minds ...they inturn would train the next bright minds

15,000 per year for a child is not bad ...at least people can speak when the school is in bad condition

What nonsense is this one saying now?
What was Zik's policy on education? None
What was Zik's policy on industrialisation? None
Yet, you're comparing him to Awolowo.

Whereas, Awolowo's free education took the United Nations 40 years to adopt same as one of the MDGS.

I don't want to drag you this morning. If I do, you'll start crying marginalisation, Biafra, bla bla bla.

Just respect yourself and get out of here.

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by PHIPEX(m): 11:02am On Sep 04, 2019
This is far better than unsustainable free education many states run.

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by 9jaRealist: 11:02am On Sep 04, 2019
First lesson...

Compulsory donation is an oxymoron... cheesy
Just call it school fees and get on with it.

>

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by 9jaRealist: 11:07am On Sep 04, 2019
Avedonn:
That's a great idea. N3500 is not much so I believe most parents can afford it. And I also hope the state government will use the money to improve the quality of education which is a legacy the West has always been known for.

But I sincerely hope northern states would not emulate such idea cos it'd backfire. If they do, most parents will withdraw their kids from school. Because even with the free education in most northern states, some parents are reluctant to allow their wards to go to school.

Sadly, money is hardly the biggest problem with education in the North... embarassed
>

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by anonimi: 11:08am On Sep 04, 2019
wman:
This is okay.

You don't value what you don't pay for. And the fees are affordable. Hopefully there will be less truancy in the schools.

Your idea falls flat in the UK, USA, Canada, Scandinavian countries etc where they have free and compulsory education for all children to put them constantly ahead of the lazy bums in the dark continent.
Will we ever get to work and live below our means to continuously improve our future

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by guiddoti: 11:09am On Sep 04, 2019
mrvitalis:
Zik was right and awolowo was wrong
...free education is never good ...its like printing money and handing it out for free

In igbo land villages came together to train the brightest minds ...they inturn would train the next bright minds

15,000 per year for a child is not bad ...at least people can speak when the school is in bad condition
Did Awolowo policy fail? All this complain make me wonder

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by anonimi: 11:10am On Sep 04, 2019
PHIPEX:
This is far better than unsustainable free education many states run.

Unsustainable because the public servants steal the money and the dumbfounded citizens hail them

www.nairaland.com/attachments/2174510_nigeriansmobmentality_jpegd710c25fa577a4f0fb35da579ff1eb3d

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by mrvitalis(m): 11:10am On Sep 04, 2019
guiddoti:
Did Awolowo policy failed?
Yes it did ,it was implemented nation wide and gave us the half baked graduate and poor education system we have today
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by mrvitalis(m): 11:13am On Sep 04, 2019
Ikpeazukerosene:

What nonsense is this one saying now?
What was Zik's policy on education? None
What was Zik's policy on industrialisation? None
Yet, you're comparing him to Awolowo.

Whereas, Awolowo's free education took the United Nations 40 years to adopt same as one of the MDGS.

I don't want to drag you this morning. If I do, you'll start crying marginalisation, Biafra, bla bla bla.

Just respect yourself and get out of here.
Zik built the first nigerian university built by Nigerians ...with campus in places like port harcourt ( which became uniport

Calabar which became unical ,enugu unec and the main campus in nsukka

Education is never cheap any where in the world ,if u cant pay 15,000 in a year for ur child to achieve secondary school then dont give birth
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by guiddoti: 11:14am On Sep 04, 2019
mrvitalis:

Yes it did ,it was implemented nation wide and gave us the half baked graduate and poor education system we have today
I totally disagreed. Westerners have enjoyed this free education if not for bad governance that make all processes difficult to access.

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by mrvitalis(m): 11:15am On Sep 04, 2019
guiddoti:
I totally disagreed. Westerners have enjoyed this free education if not for bad governance that make all processes difficult to access.
Lol ...ok
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by anonimi: 11:18am On Sep 04, 2019
Meritocracy:
Education is never free, anything free is dangerous for future.

Always speak from a point of knowledge and not from ignorance.
How many people are fleeing England, because it is dangerous due to free education, to come and live in Nigeria because "education is never free"

Education in England

Full-time education is compulsory for all children aged 5 to 18, either at school or otherwise, with a child beginning primary education during the school year they turn 5. Children between the ages of 3 and 5 are entitled to 600 hours per year of optional, state-funded, pre-school education. This can be provided in "playgroups", nurseries, community childcare centres or nursery classes in schools.
+
+
+
Some 93% of children between the ages of 3 and 18 are in education in state-funded schools without charge (other than for activities such as swimming, theatre visits and field trips for which a voluntary payment can be requested, and limited charges at state-funded boarding schools).

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Education_in_England#Legally_compulsory_education

www.nairaland.com/attachments/4916463_img1217_jpegf36bc6f0e3954883e8b3b5a692deed65

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Lovelive: 11:18am On Sep 04, 2019
CuriousMynd:

Ogun State Government has ordered parents and guardians of students in its public secondary schools/technical colleges to pay a compulsory donation of N3, 700 on resumption of the 2019/2020 academic session.

A circular dated August 27 and issued by the Ogun State Ministry of Education, Science and Technology (Department of Secondary Education) said the donation had the approval of Governor Dapo Abiodun.

The circular was signed by the Director of Education (Secondary) Akonsolu M.I., on behalf of the ministry’s permanent secretary, Igbere TV reports.

Governor Abiodun had on assumption of office declared a state of emergency in education, saying education in Ogun was in need of urgent intervention.

The new policy will now see parents/guardians, aside PTA levy of N600 payable on termly basis, also pay N500 as computer levy on termly basis; N500 as insurance, once per session; Sport/Jet/Literary will attract N300 on termly basis.

Also included is N1, 500 for school materials (caps, badge, beret etc.) and N300 for file jacket both for new intakes only.

The circular also directed principals to ensure that students dress according to the school dress code.

“You are also enjoined to adhere strictly with the content of this circular as the state government has zero tolerance to collection of unapproved fees in all public secondary schools/technical colleges,” it said.

http://igberetvnews.com/961305/governor-dapo-abiodun-orders-ogun-students-to-pay-n3-700-compulsory-donation/

Sorit
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by anonimi: 11:19am On Sep 04, 2019
guiddoti:

Who is responsible for the bad governance

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by femi4: 11:19am On Sep 04, 2019
Mynd44:
Finally, some sanity.

Now these monies should be used to run the schools. The nonsense idea that schools should be completely free when government cannot adequately fund them is BS and needs to stop
What sanity? An avenue to embezzle

The mentality remains the same whether it's free or not

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Adams12345: 11:33am On Sep 04, 2019
Mynd44:
Finally, some sanity.

Now these monies should be used to run the schools. The nonsense idea that schools should be completely free when government cannot adequately fund them is BS and needs to stop

such governors have poverty mentality, the decay of our primary schools have reach it peak,
more wisdom and Grace to Governor Dapo. Those who are true leader know how to make something out of nothing while others keep complaining.
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by guiddoti: 11:34am On Sep 04, 2019
anonimi:

Who is responsible for the bad governance
Government of course!
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by seanjy4konji: 11:35am On Sep 04, 2019
commendable..if you pay something and the child no wake early??you go scold am...

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by anonimi: 11:37am On Sep 04, 2019
guiddoti:
Government of course!

Do you think that the government is different from the people

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Realdeals(m): 11:40am On Sep 04, 2019
Proper management of these fees is my concern.

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by guiddoti: 11:45am On Sep 04, 2019
anonimi:

Do you think that the government is different from the people

No, but Leadership is different from followership. Both have blood flowing in them.
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by anonimi: 11:50am On Sep 04, 2019
guiddoti:
No, but Leadership is different from followership. Both have blood flowing in them.

Can leadership exist without any follower
Zero followers. Who is the leader leading?
If the leader's ways are not compatible with the followers, why will they let him lead them?

Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by guiddoti: 11:55am On Sep 04, 2019
anonimi:

Can leadership exist without any follower
Zero followers. Who is the leader leading?
If the leader's ways are not compatible with the followers, why will they let him lead them?
You don't get it, bad policy n bad leadership is our major problem.
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by blackboy(m): 12:04pm On Sep 04, 2019
It is fair but if i tell you that many parents will still find it hard to pay because poverty is running wild in the state and country.
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by COMPAQ(m): 12:12pm On Sep 04, 2019
LibertyRep:
Ogun State public secondary education was never free in the real sense of it as against the Free Education the previous government would want us believe. Students pay all sundry of fees including WAEC fees.

The rot in primary and secondary education in the state is immense and it requires all hands on deck to make it work again and if it requires a little commitment from the parents /guardians, so be it.

The painful thing is just that these same people that enjoyed Free Education in the good days of old are the ones making it impossible for others to enjoy it now. Personally, I belief that if we set our priorities right and curb wastages, qualitative free and compulsory education is possible for pupils and students in primary and secondary schools.

Guy leave this good old days mentality. In 1960 Nigeria had a population of 60mln with 2million barrels at a time when $1 was worth like $5 today. Now we have 200mln people ,majority of whom are school age and we still produce 2mln barrels. Isn't it obvious we can no longer afford to do things the way they were done 50years ago? If the education makes sense and will add value to your life anyone should be willing to pay even 20k for it per term even if it means taking an education loan .
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by OGHENAOGIE(m): 12:43pm On Sep 04, 2019
happney65:
I support it 100%..Left to me sef it should be 20,000naira and above..ways like that we would curb our fucccking population..If you can just take care of just a child,so be it..

Education isnt cheap anywhere in the world..This is not the 60's..This is two thousand and whatever..
imagine the rubbish u wrote...in other climes folks are given child support u de write bullshit here... if we have a proper tax system with govt management nothing wrong in free education maybe up to basic 9...with good infrastructures and facilities... u don't regulate population with this crude rubbish u wrote..educate citizens provide enabling environment... pple ll fall in line...me wey no get decent work why I Neva Bleep anyhow to born...
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by Ahmeduana(m): 12:45pm On Sep 04, 2019
Compulsory and donation?
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by OGHENAOGIE(m): 12:45pm On Sep 04, 2019
9jaRealist:
First lesson...

Compulsory donation is an oxymoron... cheesy
Just call it school fees and get on with it.

>
it's not school fees it's school charges... so no talk anyhow... it's like reducing subsidy
Re: Governor Dapo Abiodun Introduces 3,700 School Fee In Ogun State Schools by yetunsbay(m): 1:01pm On Sep 04, 2019
Actually before the new Govt comes into existence public schs are paying.

The question is- even with the meagre amt being paid how many parents are paying ?

Herders Receive N15m Ransom After Kidnapping Farmers In Lagos / Ansaru Terrorists Take Over Birnin-Gwari, Kaduna, Ban Political Activities / What Exactly Is Rochas Doing In Imo State?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46