Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,886,229 members, 6,935,861 topics. Date: Tuesday, 28 June 2022 at 12:52 AM

Lenovo K5 Pro Review - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / Lenovo K5 Pro Review (6897 Views)

Pix!!brand New,lenovo K5 Pro,global Rom,6gb Ram,64gb Rom, With Gifts For 48k / Why Nobody Is Talking About Lenovo K5 Pro / Umidigi One | One Pro Review - 4GB RAM, 32GB storage and USB Type C For N49,000 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply) (Go Down)

Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 6:09pm On Sep 17, 2019
The Lenovo K5 pro is what i call an all-rounder. Personally it meets all my needs of a smartphone. I'd be discussing the pros and cons of the device(may not be my cons tho).

Pros.
1. I love the design of this phone. It's light weight and thin, at least compared to the hammer i was used to.
2. The screen is another thing that makes me go gaga. It's crisp and beautiful. The feel too is unique. I really can't tell why. You'd have to use the phone yourself to experience the uniqueness. It doesn't come with the modern water drop notch though, it's outdated somewhat, but i prefer it to notches or full screen with motorised front cam. Google pixel 4 share my sentiments.
3. Stereo speakers: yeah, both the top and bottom produces sound. The top speaker volume is low though, which makes the stereo speaker thing somewhat of a gimmick. But it's better than one speaker alone. At least, when i block the bottom speaker while playing PES 2019, the top produces some sound. And i like that.
4. Speed/Performance: Well, it comes with the Snapdragon 636 CPU. Expect stellar performance.
5. Multi-tasking: My version comes with 6/64GB of RAM and internal storage respectively. And considering the almost stock android nature of the ZUi on this phone, multitasking is awesome. I open several apps without any closing. It's actually a multitasking king.
6. Gaming: What do you expect from a Snapdragon 636; 6/64GB phone in terms of gaming? Nothing but the best, right? Lenovo K5 pro gat you. I play PES 2019 on High settings; 60fps, and i have never experienced any lag at all. Game is too smooth sef. And unlike most devices that get flaming hot when gaming on high settings, this phone behaves as though there is an AC inbuilt. You will never complain of overheating on this device.
7. Camera: There are two cameras on the front + flash and two cameras on the back + flash. In good lighting conditions, the pics would wow you, especially when you consider the price of the phone. Lowlight isn't great but not bad. The bokeh mode on both the front and back cameras is so good, on par with or even better than what the Redmi Note 7 would give you. I absolutely love it.
8. Battery life: Isn't this what virtually everyone wants in a mobile device? Good battery life! The lenovo k5 pro issa battery beast. It's only 4050mah battery capacity, but i tell you, it is not your regular 4000 mah o. Zui battery optimisation is epic. Expect 8-9 SOT on very heavy usage. It's surprising, especially when you consider how slim and light the phone is.
9. USB type-C: Thankfully, it doesn't come with Micro USB port. That means, faster charging and faster transfer speeds. And yes, it charges very fast, in less than 2 hours, your beastly battery is full.

Cons.
1. It is stuck on Android 8 Oreo. So if you need an Android pie device, this is not a device for you.
2. No updates: unlike Xiaomi phones that push out updates for their devices regularly, Lenovo K5 pro has never pushed an update that i know of. But personally, i feel, if a phone performs absolutely well, updates are unnecessary (my opinion though).
3. It's a basic phone, features wise. so if you love things such as, Scrolling screenshot, dual space, etc, this phone isn't for you. I like stock android feel more (some argue it's restrictive, and i agree, just that i prefer such)
4. You know how developers are quick to develop custom ROMs, gcam port, etc on Xiaomi phones, you won't experience such with the Lenovo K5 pro. So you will have to manage the "boringness" of stock android feel.


In summary, if you're not a Xiaomi(Miui) fan boy, and you just want a very well constructed phone, close to stock android, that fulfills your basic needs (speed, performance, battery, camera), then this phone is for you.
If not, I'd def recommend Redmi 7 or if you can up your budget, Redmi Note 7.
BTW, i got the phone for 45k from the ever trustworthy, Noobody. You can get yours too, or anyone other device from him. It would be worth your while.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by noobody(m): 6:32pm On Sep 17, 2019
Nice review,
Inbtwn i got a brand new one in stock,48k sharp

Cheers smiley

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by noobody(m): 6:33pm On Sep 17, 2019
super value,instant pick up deals,
Brand new,global version,sealed in the box,lenovo k5 pro,6gb ram/64gb rom,(black)motorola logo version:48k firm!

Snapdragon 636,
Dual real camera
Front selfie flash
4k mah battery

Call/whatsapp:07051054953,08100115319

Location:lagos state,can we waybilled any where in the world

Cheers

1 Like 2 Shares

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Kvngfrosh(m): 6:39pm On Sep 17, 2019
Nice

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Kelvo002: 7:16pm On Sep 17, 2019
Nice review

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by kenomobola(m): 7:48pm On Sep 17, 2019
ityP:
The Lenovo K5 pro is what i call an all-rounder. Personally it meets all my needs of a smartphone. I'd be discussing the pros and cons of the device(may not be my cons tho).

Pros.
...

Nice review. I have a similar usage experience to yours.
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 7:51pm On Sep 17, 2019
kenomobola:


Nice review. I have a similar usage experience to yours.


Thank U

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Joeysage(m): 8:51pm On Sep 17, 2019
What's the Max settings you can play pubg before it stutters
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by CharlesJok3r: 8:58pm On Sep 17, 2019
Lenovo is so underrated. I guess we ain't paying attention to them all this while.
Their pricing is just too reasonable and on point.
Hard to believe the Lenovo Z6 lite is selling for 60k with that kind of specs

2 Likes

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Joeysage(m): 9:16pm On Sep 17, 2019
CharlesJok3r:
Lenovo is so underrated. I guess we ain't paying attention to them all this while.
Their pricing is just too reasonable and on point.
Hard to believe the Lenovo Z6 lite is selling for 60k with that kind of specs
I've always paid attention to them but the thing is their cameras ain't as good as the competition
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Flashh: 9:36pm On Sep 17, 2019
We ain't sure of the brand you are marketing exactly. Lenovo or Xiaomi?

www.nairaland.com/attachments/6261329_screenshot201711140957181_jpeg60c6e4dac4d85730293a1746cdaa95c0

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by toppzzyy: 9:49pm On Sep 17, 2019
when compared with rn5 which is better and can you change themes n font?
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Joeysage(m): 10:08pm On Sep 17, 2019
Flashh:
We ain't sure of the brand you are marketing exactly. Lenovo or Xiaomi?

www.nairaland.com/attachments/6261329_screenshot201711140957181_jpeg60c6e4dac4d85730293a1746cdaa95c0
I prefer lenovo to xiaomi. Lenovo k5 pro to rn5, lenovo z6 to mi9t and so on, but i doubt their cameras are as good as the respective competition by xiaomi. Specwise lenovo is the way to go in terms of price value, but unfortunately their developer support is lagging behind..but good phones tho
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 10:53pm On Sep 17, 2019
Joeysage:
What's the Max settings you can play pubg before it stutters


Haven't played pubg yet. Would download that before the week runs out and give review
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 10:55pm On Sep 17, 2019
Flashh:
We ain't sure of the brand you are marketing exactly. Lenovo or Xiaomi?

www.nairaland.com/attachments/6261329_screenshot201711140957181_jpeg60c6e4dac4d85730293a1746cdaa95c0



Lol... I aint marketing any. I'm simply giving a review. Lenovo and Xiaomi are great devices for different kind of people.
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Joeysage(m): 11:00pm On Sep 17, 2019
ityP:



Haven't played pubg yet. Would download that before the week runs out and give review
Alright, how are the cameras so far

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 11:10pm On Sep 17, 2019
toppzzyy:
when compared with rn5 which is better and can you change themes n font?


If you like MiUi, RN5 is best. If you prefer stock, Lenovo k5 pro. And yes, you can change themes and font on the K5 pro.
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 11:12pm On Sep 17, 2019
Joeysage:
I prefer lenovo to xiaomi. Lenovo k5 pro to rn5, lenovo z6 to mi9t and so on, but i doubt their cameras are as good as the respective competition by xiaomi. Specwise lenovo is the way to go in terms of price value, but unfortunately their developer support is lagging behind..but good phones tho


According to TechUtopia, the lenovo k5 pro's cameras are better than the RN5. It's in the video aspect that RN5 shines
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 11:13pm On Sep 17, 2019
Joeysage:
Alright, how are the cameras so far


Great actually. I love them
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Mizik(m): 12:32pm On Sep 18, 2019
Nice review smiley

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by franzis(m): 5:53pm On Sep 18, 2019
I think I have seen post of where you can unlock this phone bootloader and port to GCAM
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by skywalker240(m): 7:52pm On Sep 18, 2019
noobody:
Nice review, Inbtwn i got a brand new one in stock,48k sharp
Cheers smiley
Do you have the Lenovo A5 ?
how much?
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 7:56pm On Sep 18, 2019
Mizik:
Nice review smiley


Thanks
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by kenomobola(m): 8:02pm On Sep 18, 2019
franzis:
I think I have seen post of where you can unlock this phone bootloader and port to GCAM

Yes it is possible to unlock its bootloader, root with Magisk, install TWRP recovery, and probably install GCAM. Enthusiasts can even install Android 8 & Android 9 GSI(Generic System Image) ROMs if so inclined. I am sure Android 10 GSI ROMs will soon make an appearance.
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by noobody(m): 8:10pm On Sep 18, 2019
skywalker240:

Do you have the Lenovo A5 ?

how much?

No sir, just k5 pro for now,
Cheers
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Mizik(m): 8:58pm On Sep 18, 2019
skywalker240:

Do you have the Lenovo A5 ?

how much?
we have the lenovo A5
₦28500
CALL OR WHATSAPP me on 07016854740
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by CharlesJok3r: 4:51pm On Oct 01, 2019
@ityp, what kind of charger follow your K5 pro come and have your tried using a Qualcomm Quick Charger 3.0 charger to charge your phone?
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 7:35pm On Oct 01, 2019
CharlesJok3r:
@ityp, what kind of charger follow your K5 pro come and have your tried using a Qualcomm Quick Charger 3.0 charger to charge your phone?


10w charger... I haven't used the Qualcomm quick charger before o
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 1:25am On Oct 21, 2019
Gestures on the Lenovo K5 pro issa joy. Like the swiftness is so so cool. Ever since i started using it, I've never looked back. Lenovo finish work for this phone jare.

1 Like

Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Mustiboy(m): 9:35am On Oct 21, 2019
ityP:
Gestures on the Lenovo K5 pro issa joy. Like the swiftness is so so cool. Ever since i started using it, I've never looked back. Lenovo finish work for this phone jare.

How come you have both PES and FIFA installed on your device? I've got the FIFA too, and I've been playing it for some weeks. The gameplay is exactly the same as that of the last generation consoles, PS3 and Xbox 360. But the game consumes too much data; it has zapped over 1gigabyte of data in the past one week.

Its small size is just a gimmick; data is always needed to connect to EA's servers to download the resources required to play each match.

I'm waiting for PES 2020 to fully launch; then I can delete the liability of a game from my phone. I'm just managing it bacause of PES' temporary instability.
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by ityP(m): 11:36am On Oct 21, 2019
Mustiboy:


How come you have both PES and FIFA installed on your device? I've got the FIFA too, and I've been playing it for some weeks. The gameplay is exactly the same as that of the last generation consoles, PS3 and Xbox 360. But the game consumes too much data; it has zapped over 1gigabyte of data in the past one week.

Its small size is just a gimmick; data is always needed to connect to EA's servers to download the resources required to play each match.

I'm waiting for PES 2020 to fully launch; then I can delete the liability of a game from my phone. I'm just managing it bacause of PES' temporary instability.


You are in luck. I don dey play my PES 2020. I go soon delete my FIFA, lack of commentary spoil the game for me
Re: Lenovo K5 Pro Review by Mustiboy(m): 1:09pm On Oct 21, 2019
ityP:



You are in luck. I don dey play my PES 2020. I go soon delete my FIFA, lack of commentary spoil the game for me
Good. but I go too beat you for PES if we mistakenly play together. grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (Reply)

World's First Smartphone With Hidden Camera [xiaomi Leading Apple & Samsung] / What Have You Unintentionally Learnt From Your Device So Far ? / See Network Speed In The UK While We Celebrate Mediocre 1mb/s Over Here

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 125
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.