Stats: 3,152,720 members, 7,816,964 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 09:27 PM

The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians - Business (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians (41732 Views)

What Kind Of Bank Charge Is This? / About 99.4% Of Bank Accounts Contain Less Than N500,000 - NDIC / Obinna Ukwuani Appointed Chief Digital Officer Of Bank Of Kigali (2) (3) (4)

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by AHCB: 5:22pm On Oct 25, 2019
Yet the CBN refuse to do anything about it. What annoys me most is that useless atm card maintenance charge. That's just pure fraud.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by henry4lov1: 5:22pm On Oct 25, 2019
All true, the more reason the youths needs to rise up and take charge of government. Can't we for once look at how other countries are developing and making life good for there citizens

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by valentineuwakwe(m): 5:22pm On Oct 25, 2019
funny enough, the CBN who claim to the our financial regulator have kept seal lips and blind eyes to this 'irrational ' charges by the banks.....how then can the saving culture be encourage in the country?

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by noblealuu: 5:25pm On Oct 25, 2019
AroOkigbo:

Wetin concern Mercury for the matter?

Shebi naa mercury light them dey use detect fake notes for bank.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by sunnyphem(m): 5:29pm On Oct 25, 2019
I'm feed up ho... they are just indirect scammers!!
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Akano5(m): 5:29pm On Oct 25, 2019
Then The CBN didn't do anything about it. We will get it right someday sha. Haba
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Gideoniteprime4: 5:29pm On Oct 25, 2019
noblealuu:
What is vexing me is that I was charged ₦50 extra for a bread of ₦450 I bought via POS today.

I have told the salesperson that next time I'm coming I'll do cash payment.

That ₦50 will make more sense to give to the street beggars in lieu of crooks in Banks and govt...
meaning say u nor dey give beggars money b4?
hypocrites everywhere grin

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by WildChild00(m): 5:30pm On Oct 25, 2019
Under my pillow is the best.
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by FaithFighter: 5:30pm On Oct 25, 2019
Homeboiy:
Ecobank is the biggest thief amongst them

I can see students protesting in front of Uniben main gate

Lecturers no dwy gree come class come teach PT students of public administration

Hello Homeboiy,

Don't know what made u reach this conclusion about Ecobank. Please do accept my apologies.

I have a current and savings account with them. Besides been my most favorite bank, I've found them to be quite ethical and considerate in their dealings with customers, charges inclusive.

Rather than painting a wrong picture of the bank, why not visit any of their branches, social media handles, LiveChat on their Mobile App and website or Call centre (0705000000) to have ur issues resolved.

Thanks for your consideration.

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Gabrokpara001(m): 5:34pm On Oct 25, 2019
dre11:

https://www.dailytrust.com.ng/the-many-faces-of-bank-charges.html

The bank charges discussed here are not exhaustive. Let us know what you think as you make comments.

Legalized scam

Meanwhile do you wish to embark on building your own home?. Contact GC PROJECTS For your affordable building design and cost analysis from anywhere in nigeria. Our designs are very economic and affordable give us a call or chat us up on whatsapp 09037396586

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by CaptainMitch: 5:36pm On Oct 25, 2019
I had written an application to them recently to cancel sms alerts, the jokers didnt effect it I got billed 800 last week. I am changing them, very archaic bank, I only use them because it was the only account number I could memorize easily. Local man is fed up.
RealLordZeus:

I totally agree! I can't even account for their charges again, I ve decided to set aside #500 for them every month. Corporate robbers

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Nobody: 5:41pm On Oct 25, 2019
Emeifele is the cause of all these transactions Robbery... when sanusi lamido sanusi was there, all these hidden charges were scraped.. because emeifele have stake in some of those banks , he needs to support them so that they can keep milking the poor masses dry....

E Ni kuure

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by notoriousbabe: 5:46pm On Oct 25, 2019
Very soon seun too will be charging us on nairaland.

Registration.........10k

Posting of thread.......15k

To load photo/meme............20k

To get your ban lifted.........50k

He is already working on it with lalasticlala, ishilove, mynd44 and dominique

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by stunningjudy(f): 5:48pm On Oct 25, 2019
noblealuu:
What is vexing me is that I was charged ₦50 extra for a bread of ₦450 I bought via POS today.

That ₦50 will make more sense to give to the street 9beggars in lieu of crooks in Banks and govt...

Pos merchants are just extorting the masses. The policy is a stamp duty charge of N50 on every transaction above N1000. That charge they put wasn't necessary in your case.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by abbasajao(m): 5:49pm On Oct 25, 2019
[quote author=noblealuu post=83457623]What is vexing me is that I was charged ₦50 extra for a bread of ₦450 I bought via POS today.

That ₦50 will make more sense to give to the street beggars in lieu of crooks in Banks and govt...[/quote

That is bad but you need to be properly informed. The charge if for federal government. Banks are just been used as medium for collection.
The government is taken everything from common men and given nothing in return.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by LocalNietzsche: 5:49pm On Oct 25, 2019
Crony capitalism. Enjoy it Socialist.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Advancedman(m): 6:01pm On Oct 25, 2019
oz4real83:
In my opinion, it seems the govt has always connived with banks to defraud the country and its citizens. Most of these banks were given bail out funds some years ago which on a normal ground either transfers their ownerships to the govt or they pay interests to govt's purse. Unfortunately, it isn't so in this country. Apart from taxes banks pay to govt, there have never been any info available to the public about the bail-out funds. The govt through the cbn is a party to any illegal transaction banks do because banks must get approval from cbn before they carry out any transaction partaining to bank charges.

GTB charge me 50+ 52 at the same time.
50 per page for SOA.
Sometimes they programme their ATM to 5000 even if it dispense 20000 they will send you SMS 4 times.
And many more.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Oluwapresley(m): 6:01pm On Oct 25, 2019
CaptainMitch:
I had written an application to them recently to cancel sms alerts, the jokers didnt effect it I got billed 800 last week. I am changing them, very archaic bank, I only use them because it was the only account number I could memorize easily. Local man is fed up.

Chai. Bros, same Ecobank I use? Funny enough, I have never had this issue with Ecobank since I started banking with them years ago. Or can it be the volume of your transactions resulting in a lot of SMS alerts consequently high SMS cost?

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by SeraphicTimes: 6:02pm On Oct 25, 2019
Rubies digital banking!

Wouldn’t you like to be part of a revolution?

Start banking with Rubies today!

• Free Debit Cards
• Choose your account number
• Earn as you bank (Independent Banker)
• Cheaper transfer rates @ N21 instead of N52
• Zero maintenance charges
• No hidden fees

Click on the link below to download the app from Google play store https://rubiesbank.page/Rs2u

Rubies By High Street MFB

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by CaptainMitch: 6:04pm On Oct 25, 2019
Yes I do a lot of transactions and it's 4 per sms
Oluwapresley:

Chai. Bros, same Ecobank I use? Funny enough, I have never had this issue with Ecobank since I started banking with them years ago. Or can it be the volume of your transactions resulting in a lot of SMS alerts consequently high SMS cost?
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Solomon8144: 6:05pm On Oct 25, 2019
FaithFighter:

Hello Homeboiy,

Don't know what made u reach this conclusion about Ecobank. Please do accept my apologies.

I have a current and savings account with them. Besides been my most favorite bank, I've found them to be quite ethical and considerate in their dealings with customers, charges inclusive.

Rather than painting a wrong picture of the bank, why not visit any of their branches, social media handles, LiveChat on their Mobile App and website or Call centre (0705000000) to have ur issues resolved.

See this paid agent please keep shut ecobank is the most useless bank in the whole world
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Nobody: 6:08pm On Oct 25, 2019
chriskosherbal:
Owning a bank is a real big business now especially in this 21st century.
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Nobody: 6:09pm On Oct 25, 2019
And you begin to wonder where all the billions of naira that they declare as Q3 and Q6 revenues come from. It's from all these useless charges heaped upon their customers. The 2 things wey dey vex me pass na:
1) ATM Card Maintenence fee : My atm card is most times always sleeping in my wallet doing nothing and at the end of the month bank will decuct money for atm card maintenance fee. You begin to wonder if they used engine oil and spanner to actually truly service their atm cards

2) SMS Charges: GTB's version of this is by sending you fashion week messages as if one is a fashion designer and they will deduct money from your account in the name of sms charges. Mtscheew...

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Oluwapresley(m): 6:12pm On Oct 25, 2019
CaptainMitch:
Yes I do a lot of transactions and it's 4 per sms

I think that's the reason why. The volume of your transactions. You be business mogul. Lol

I don't know if you have it but I will suggest the mobile app.

Under the account section, there is a mini statement for both of my accounts. Every deduction or addition that happens on my account, I'm notified so I can always trace every penny. And so far so good, I have never been either overly charged or charged without explanation.

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by tete7000(m): 6:16pm On Oct 25, 2019
Rapmoney:
These days, I wonder what the difference is between savings and current accounts. Savings accounts now operate like current accounts. All sort of ridiculous charges!

These bankers are thieves. There are debits made on your account which you do not receive alerts for. Most of these debits are illegal and fraudulent! They debit you little money such as N12, N15 or even N48 because they know you won't want to visit the bank for such a 'little amount'...but you see, that's the difference between us and people in the western world. Over there, people would demand for explanations for any debit they receive which is considered improper!

I would rather invest in various businesses than keep money in a savings account that only enriches the bank and brings no returns to me.

Savings still brings return to you at 3% per annum so far you do not make more than 3 transactions on your account in a month. There is a way I manage my accounts and still get mine every month. Discipline as regards the use of atm cards can mitigate most loses people incur in banks.
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by CaptainMitch: 6:19pm On Oct 25, 2019
Its my salary account and my only bank account that has an ATM card attached to it so I rely on this for most of my transactions. I will be switching to GTBank I use email alerts for this account and they are quite efficient, I hardly have failed transactions.
Oluwapresley:

I think that's the reason why. The volume of your transactions. You be business mogul. Lol

I don't know if you have it but I will suggest the mobile app.

Under the account section, there is a mini statement for both of my accounts. Every deduction or addition that happens on my account, I'm notified so I can always trace every penny. And so far so good, I have never been either overly charged or charged without explanation.
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by Homeboiy: 6:21pm On Oct 25, 2019
FaithFighter:

Hello Homeboiy,

I don't have your time

Cc solomon8144
Captainmitch

Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by noblealuu: 6:22pm On Oct 25, 2019
stunningjudy:

Pos merchants are just extorting the masses. The policy is a stamp duty charge of N50 on every transaction above N1000. That charge they put wasn't necessary in your case.

Yea, I understand the policy now.
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by obo389(m): 6:23pm On Oct 25, 2019
Theres another scam on POS too.
Whenever you go to a filling station to buy fuel using POS, they will tell you your paying an extra free of #50.
I dont use POS to buy fuel any longer.
Re: The Many Faces Of Bank Charges Paid By Nigerians by FaithFighter: 6:24pm On Oct 25, 2019
Solomon8144:

See this paid agent please keep shut ecobank is the most useless bank in the whole world

Dear Solomon8144,

If you have any issue with Ecobank (or any other bank for that matter), it's in your best interest u reach the bank on any of the aforementioned customer service points (Branch, Social Media handles, Call Centre-07005000000, Livechat on Mobile App and Web) for amicable resolution. That would be a better alternative than giving the bank (or any other bank) a bad name.

Netflix Enters Nigeria, See The Winners And Losers / After NYSC What With #500,000 In My Account? / Jeff Bezos And Lauren Sanchez Are Engaged

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44