Stats: 3,152,696 members, 7,816,838 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 06:32 PM

What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? - Properties (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? (34048 Views)

Whose Duty Is It? The Landlord Or The Tenants? / Landlord Or Landlady, Which Of These Do You Prefer To Rent Their Houses?? / Landlord Or Tenants: Who Is To Fix Damaged Water Pump Machine? (2) (3) (4)

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by tonididdy(m): 5:15pm On Jun 09, 2020
whytediamond:
Paying with your money for an uncompleted building project when you want to move in ASAP is suicide. I had a nasty experience many years ago in Jos.

I don't want to say more.

hahaha... who does that?
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Dpsychologist: 5:15pm On Jun 09, 2020
Enoch07:
we landlords are not all bad, some of us are caring infact.
Yes i can testify to that, there are kind land lords
But my Experience With landlords in school is frightening.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Goalnaldo(m): 5:16pm On Jun 09, 2020
ikemesit4477:
My own happen during my year one, though the man I rented the room from wasn't the direct landlord, he rented 3 bedroom flat, then he allocated one room to his brother, so when he was short of cash, he told his brother to look for someone he can share the room with! And I was looking for a roommate, along the line my cousin inform me about the accomodation so I ask her to go and check since she was in school! She did and told me the place is OK! after every arrangement I transfer the money to her and she make the payment! Fast forward to the day I park in, with my luggage and food items, I met the guy I will be staying with, he is also a student! He show me round the house, to the restroom, bathroom, kitchen! and i drop my bag, and I went to school, could you believed when I came back, the landlady, not the real landlady came into our room open my bag, the one that contain food stuff, inspect everything I brought, then remove my rice, onions, and prepare jollof rice! when I came back, I saw her bringing food, that she remove my rice and cook, these is my own share! Somebody I never meet before from Adam, I was shock! But I didn't have the boldness to confront her! When my roommate came back I reported to him, he pleaded that I should let it go! Since that day I started locking my bag when am out!
I'm imagining the scene. Did you eat the food? cheesy

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Dpsychologist: 5:17pm On Jun 09, 2020
Ghostrye:
nairaland and spacebookers are like 5&6
They are busy booking space with letters of the alphabet.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by faithfull18(f): 5:22pm On Jun 09, 2020
Lol, so many tales to tell.
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by markopaulo(m): 5:23pm On Jun 09, 2020
it happened to me in my nce 2 after spending 1session at home I was resuming only to find my things outside my offence was I did not pay my rent ( which I was holding with me)but the truth was the caretaker collected money from friends and distributed the rooms to them ,I was mad so I no fit do anything because the man get money that was how I became a squater o the main owner (may his soul rest in peace) was a nice landlord who shared money whenever he visited but his brother (the caretaker) is opposite.that episode make me nearly want die with vex .

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by MCIU: 5:25pm On Jun 09, 2020
restore8:
In my 100l my experience with my landlord was a terrible one. It was a self contained apartment. There was no toilet in the house but he lied to my dad about it.

I decided to adapt to this situation without telling my parents at home. Since I was new, my dad decided that I should be going to their church- Deeper Life. I couldn't and that was were the problem started. Julius Dein’s Girlfriend My landlord started to see me as a sinner because I was going to CASOR.

A friend of mine got admission and he wanted us to leave that place. That was when I began to hate religion. This man started saying bad words about me. He did his best to destroy my reputation but God was so faithful.

Although, all these challenges made me become a better person, but there were still some painful lessons learnt. Because of him I stopped being religious and decided to seek God for myself.

I hate religion!
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by emerged01(m): 5:26pm On Jun 09, 2020
Just moved out of one yeye house. The landlord will lock water for days. Through my 3 years in that compound,I have not seen phcn bill for once. In fact he used share phcn bill before phcn release bill.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by vezycash(m): 5:27pm On Jun 09, 2020
My ex landlord's son helped me pack to my new place. Stole one of my phones when I went to the kitchen to get him food.

I escorted him home and went somewhere. And the nigga went back to my new apartment and tried breaking my door to take more stuff.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by LuQuLuQu(m): 5:30pm On Jun 09, 2020
paix:
You are not even sincere to yourself.

Fvck off!

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by MAKABBEY(m): 5:30pm On Jun 09, 2020
I am currently facing one problem right now, infact I am packing this week. I got the apartment 2019, and my wife warned me about staying with landlord or landlady, and I tried to avoid such. But faith will have it that I got this mini 2bedroom flat, the landlord is a civil servant who only comes like 3time in a month.
But the issue is that his daughter of late 30s and her husband of early 40s are staying in the landlord apartment. The landlord will be using the bedroom while they sleep on the rugs in the sitting room

What they told me is that they will soon be traveling out of the country since 2019. This people had made life unbearable for my wife and me also, especially the landlord daughter hates my wife because she is young and getting it right, with kids too, while she has not given birth, I meant landlord daughter. Everyday is war of tongue and different curses on my kids. Infact I just got another apartment. Can't come get high blood pressure on top my money

14 Likes

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by PotatoSalad(m): 5:35pm On Jun 09, 2020
Fransisco911:
My friend came to my house just to use my toilet My landlady started shouting I brought my friend to fill her house soakaway with shit. She even said you know how much dem take dey park shit u dis boy?
Na to ignore her na grin
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by RealEzee(m): 5:37pm On Jun 09, 2020
� � Oh mine was wild, barely 4 months in the flat she issued quit notice because we didn't accept to pay for outstanding nepa bill by the previous tenant, she didn't even fix the kitchen and the master's bedroom she promised to, the woman worry ehnn,las las we went to court and got extension, like play like play we ended up staying there for two extra years without paying a dime for rent, she thought na only her know lawyer lol madam changed lawyers 4 times.

Wetin vex me pass was our next door neighbor who mumu himself telling us that we should just pay the bill so peace will reign,we were like no p pls help us pay as a good Samaritan abi u be UN youth ambassador, he was even driving the landlady mother sef, omo them turn the guy to house boy guun, twas too late for him before his eyes clear lol.

14 Likes

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Dpsychologist: 5:40pm On Jun 09, 2020
vezycash:
My ex landlord's son helped me pack to my new place. Stole one of my phones when I went to the kitchen to get him food.

I escorted him home and went somewhere. And the nigga went back to my new apartment and tried breaking my door to take more stuff.
This is not fair
Some people eh

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Itisallright: 5:41pm On Jun 09, 2020
I paid my rent around 3or4pm on 14th Feb 2013, and my landlord issue receipt of the same 14th feb to me, when I ask him he said my money already started reading. Next he put his big gen in my window and on it anytime he likes at time 2am. When I confronted him, he said I should have used to it or when i used 6months he will return my balance to me. I keep quiet next I changed my window to glass before I'm through with the installation the man said to me that I cant remove it again, me just they look the man. But later when I get to no him, me self change am for the man but before then me self don get small site wey i dey work on... I later parked to my abode 2yrs back. Alliamdulilah

28 Likes

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Galactico4ever(m): 5:43pm On Jun 09, 2020
During my intern,I rented a room in a four room face-me-i-face you bungalo where the landlord and another tenant,a banker lived.The landlord had a toddler who made my life miserable.She'll cry her heart out at night that its a suprise she never fell sick.When I return from work,i always meet a compound littered with baby urine and droppings.Once,i tried talking to the wife but she said i should leave their house if i can't condone it.The wife's case is even the worst.Everytime she cooks,it's a sure thing that the kitchen will be messy;if she washes cloth, cutleries or even her underwears,not only will she display her clothes and wares at the entrance of the house,she will also ensure the dirty water is everywhere.After i discovered that the banker always turn a blind eye,I eventually moved out after few weeks.Still reported him to the health authorities though.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Dpsychologist: 5:43pm On Jun 09, 2020
RealEzee:
� � Oh mine was wild, barely 4 months in the flat she issued quit notice because we didn't accept to pay for outstanding nepa bill by the previous tenant, she didn't even fix the kitchen and the master's bedroom she promised to, the woman worry ehnn,las las we went to court and got extension, like play like play we ended up staying there for two extra years without paying a dime for rent, she thought na only her know lawyer lol madam changed lawyers 4 times.

Wetin vex me pass was our next door neighbor who mumu himself telling us that we should just pay the bill so peace will reign,we were like no p pls help us pay as a good Samaritan abi u be UN youth ambassador, he was even driving the landlady mother sef, omo them turn the guy to house boy guun, twas too late for him before his eyes clear lol.
My friend had similar issue.
He and two of his mates rent a room and were told to pay 3500 even without Tv, fridge and other appliances.
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Nobody: 5:46pm On Jun 09, 2020
restore8:
In my 100l my experience with my landlord was a terrible one. It was a self contained apartment. There was no toilet in the house but he lied to my dad about it.

I decided to adapt to this situation without telling my parents at home. Since I was new, my dad decided that I should be going to their church- Deeper Life. I couldn't and that was were the problem started. My landlord started to see me as a sinner because I was going to CASOR.

A friend of mine got admission and he wanted us to leave that place. That was when I began to hate religion. This man started saying bad words about me. He did his best to destroy my reputation but God was so faithful.

Although, all these challenges made me become a better person, but there were still some painful lessons learnt. Because of him I stopped being religious and decided to seek God for myself.

I hate religion!

OAU?
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Efenaira(m): 5:47pm On Jun 09, 2020
I can still remember very well, It was my first year I was living with a friend in a hostel, I so much admire the hostel, but he have 2 roommates already, I ask him if theresyany vacancy is said no , I told me is there anyone in the hostel I can be his roommate, he said yes some guys from my town , I met with them we discussed I paid , so I ask them to go and sort out things with the hostel manager, but they refuse and in the hostel you have to fill a form before moving Incase anything that happened, and attached your passport, to cut the all stories short hostel manager told me to come and sort him out that I’m an illegal occupate, wow I thought it’s was joke one Saturday morning i was sleeping the hostel manager came in with police men , he pointed at me as an illegal occupate , I thought It’s was a joke before I could know what’s happening already I’m inside the police cell already, when we’re driving down to the police station I told him sir I have paid to my roommates , he said I should told him earlier, they call both of them and ask them did I paid them money , they twist the the story around I was smiling, I leave the station the hostel manager ask me to pay up i ask both of them to bring their part but they refuse the manager keep embarrassing in the hostel in front other students, I have to pay that money myself again.Tha was a very bad experience in my school days

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Sardauna24(m): 5:47pm On Jun 09, 2020
restore8:

I decided to adapt to this situation without telling my parents at home. Since I was new, my dad decided that I should be going to their church- Deeper Life. I couldn't and that was were the problem started. My landlord started to see me as a sinner because I was going to CASOR.

I hate religion!
Bro my advice for u is to embrace islam the religion of peace,you will start to be loving religion.you will have a peace of mind till everlasting..

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by captaininiobong(m): 5:47pm On Jun 09, 2020
It isnt easy to stay in same compound with your landlord. Especially mine. The landlord is quite understandable but his wife na action bitters. Everything to her is abomination. You pollute in your frontage -abomination. You did not greet 3times a day- malice.
you sing- she will scrutinize the song and see if you are mentioning her. Bt dis same woman is the first to start morning dev.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Dpsychologist: 5:48pm On Jun 09, 2020
emerged01:
Just moved out of one yeye house. The landlord will lock water for days. Through my 3 years in that compound,I have not seen phcn bill for once. In fact he used share phcn bill before phcn release bill.
Lol he used to share phcn bill before phcn release bill got me laughing
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Plebian(f): 5:49pm On Jun 09, 2020
restore8:

I hate religion!
religion is a form of enslavement, seek God within .

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Angelfrost(m): 5:50pm On Jun 09, 2020
Can't really say I have ever had such experiences... I always stay in buildings where neither the landlord nor his wife/wives equally reside... I only communicate with them cordially via phone or SMS. This would be merely to register complaints (which hardly occurs since the building manager handles such)... My rents always get paid in promptly, so no basis for his calling to remind me.

I'm of the school of thought that landlords and tenants should never live together!!! A lot of stress, drama, and infractions would be easily avoided!!!... Same way or reason daughters and their mother in-laws should never be brought under the same roofs under any circumstance.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by harsysky(m): 5:56pm On Jun 09, 2020
t
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Deejay777(m): 5:57pm On Jun 09, 2020
;DMy own landlord is different sha. He's very jovial and funny and he speaks his English in a funny accent. I still remember the day he accused all the guys of hiring people to come and smoke in his house ;DMy own landlord is different sha. He's very jovial and funny and he speaks his English in a funny accent. I still remember the day he accused all the guys of hiring people to come and smoke in his house

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Moneywirer: 5:59pm On Jun 09, 2020
Had this crazy experience sometime ago, I was in 200L then, my land lady was extremely promiscuous. Her husband left the house for her and relocated to Lagos with his new wife.
The woman would always come back with young boys and the funny part is that she address them as "pastor".
My brother and I would always hear her almost every night moaning incoherently in the name of deliverance sessions.
Her choice of living doesn't bother me one bit, but the problem is that she wouldn't let the "pastors" use the toilet in her flat but will always direct them to that of my brother and I, and worse still, they never flush the toilet...... Never!!!

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Plebian(f): 6:00pm On Jun 09, 2020
My father was scamed by a lawyer for a house he rented for four years, (the lawyer faked documents and lied the house was for sale) he spent almost 10 million on the house buying and refurbishing. After the 4years the landlady called from London that she did not sell the house that she wants he rent money, we find lawyer, lawyer don go Canada. My father had to pay rent again early this year, after his 10mill loss, she no even pity the man.

Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by mkoabiola: 6:01pm On Jun 09, 2020
So many whala.

But u rarely see houses where landlords will not live with tenant.
Re: What Is Your Worst Experience With A Landlord Or Landlady? by Nobody: 6:03pm On Jun 09, 2020
I have only met with landlady.

I married into the flat at the back of my landlady's apartment. After two months, she picked quarrel with us. Our offence was that my wife wasn't coming to ask for things like salt, pepper or whatever she brought from market.

I left there with a balance of eight months.

The second, I believe has mental issues. Though she does not live in the same compound with us but her trouble from far is more than four landlords put together.

She asked me to leave some days after I paid a year rent. I asked for refund but she refused.

I just jejely left and gave the place out to another person and collected my balance from the person.

Building A (12 Flats) Mini Estate In Enugu / Building Collapses In Mushin, Lagos; Four Confirmed Dead / Cost Of 4 Flats Of 2 Bedroom.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64