Stats: 3,153,753 members, 7,820,607 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 06:03 PM

Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed - Politics (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed (25011 Views)

Ghali Na’Abba Died Without A House, Left ₦250k In Bank — Hussain Na’abba / Polls: Ortom Breaks Ranks, G5 Governors Battle To Save Political Careers / The Political Careers Obasanjo Ruined, By Fredrick Nwabufo (2) (3) (4)

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by GeneralPula: 11:05am On Aug 10, 2020
kalu61:
The problem was Atiku who was given the mission to eliminate Tinubu spared him for reasons best known to him

They are pals..
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by Anyiamaka: 11:19am On Aug 10, 2020
SaintBeehot:
probably you never read the letter, but like someone said earlier we should focus on the content not the writer.

What is wrong in Obasanjo's condolence to Ogun people on the senator's death?

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by KingBaba1(m): 11:22am On Aug 10, 2020
MrMcJay:

Funsho Wiliiams, AK Dikibo, Marshall Harry, Bola Ige, Jerry Agbeyegbe, Chief Dele Arojo, Age Omolemomu, Barrister Morakinyo Ayopo, Tunde Aloba, Otunba Olumayowa Olukoya (former Ogun SSG) were all assassinated during PDP's years. Yet, not a single killer was found and prosecuted.

Funsho William's wife and family pointedly accused Bode George and Koro of involvement in Funsho Williams' death and the police investigated it. Yet, you want Tinubu accused and prosecuted. You are funny o.

Do you even know why Wole Soyinka referred to PDP as a nest of murderers?
i know why i said that, and it's because of the notion that had it been williams wasn't killed and got the ticket, he would have easily defeated the opposition and Tinubu dominance in lagos today wouldn't have been possible. However that's how things work in politics, hardly will somone be killed and the opposition wouldn't be accused of it,but thanks to God we are gradually graduating from politics of assassination. Meanwhile the only reason why i can support Tinubu political career or presidential ambition is because i see him as a buje budanu politician, and his chop make i chop attitude is what makes him to be relevant till now.. Had it been he were to be the president today, i believe he wouldn't mind to share money to all Nigerians through BVN as palliatives during this covid 19. He also carry the mid age youth along as well, which i think is ok

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by IvarTheBoneless: 11:34am On Aug 10, 2020
Thanks a lot for the context.

Really appreciate it.

No wonder Tinubu's political IQ is regarded highly. I didn't know all these details and thank you for it.

I see the sense in your grassroots angle on Atiku. I have to go back to read some of your past posts. There's probably a lot to learn there too.

Thumbs-up
MrMcJay:
Obasanjo wanted to end Tinubu's political career also. The problem was that Tinubu had his people behind him 100%.

When Obasanjo was President and Tinubu was Gov of Lagos, Obasanjo wanted to hold a rally in Lagos and on the day of the rally, all the transport unions in Lagos went on strike. Obasanjo's rally was a terrible flop.

The second time Obasanjo wanted to hold a rally in Lagos, Obanikoro was the PDP guber candidate and Bode George was the PDP leader in Lagos. On the day of the rally, Tinubu fixed 4 mega rallies in the 4 political axes of Lagos (Ikorodu, Epe, Alimosho and Badagry). PDP didn't see crowd to hire and the rally was a disgrace. Obasanjo and Obanikoro were forced to go into Ketu market and Mile 12 market to campaign.

It was a very humiliating experience for Obasanjo as a sitting President. Obasanjo never forgave Bode George for the humiliation he suffered in Tinubu's hands.
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by Thastie(f): 11:35am On Aug 10, 2020
MrMcJay:

Dr. Ayo Daramola. World Bank Consultant.
I'm going to follow you!

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by bhella10: 11:38am On Aug 10, 2020
angelfallz:

But bro, wait oh. Does it not look like what OBJ was unable to do, Buhari has done it? I mean OBJ couldn't kill the political career of Tinubu, but Buhari did it.
It doesn't take much to smoke you guys out does it? Explain how Buhari managed to achieve that feat.
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by SaintBeehot(m): 12:24pm On Aug 10, 2020
Anyiamaka:

What is wrong in Obasanjo's condolence to Ogun people on the senator's death?
So the letter is incomplete without including his criminal activities.
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by angelfallz(m): 12:55pm On Aug 10, 2020
bhella10:
It doesn't take much to smoke you guys out does it? Explain how Buhari managed to achieve that feat.

Lol. Who are the guys you are smoking out. I just asked a question.
The recent events that happened in the APC where Oshiomhole was ousted and Buhari supporting the Gaidom faction.
Also Buhari's nephew that came out to say that zoning is wrong.
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by bhella10: 1:11pm On Aug 10, 2020
angelfallz:

Lol. Who are the guys you are smoking out. I just asked a question.
The recent events that happened in the APC where Oshiomhole was ousted and Buhari supporting the Gaidom faction.
Also Buhari's nephew that came out to say that zoning is wrong.
How does that translate to Tinubu being undermined? That's lame

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by fredricko1: 1:18pm On Aug 10, 2020
Hello. I think it is fair attribution is given to the author of this article on this page.
Crownbefitsme:

https://www.thecable.ng/atiku-odili-naabba-the-political-careers-obasanjo-killed
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by IvarTheBoneless: 1:21pm On Aug 10, 2020
seguntijan:

Yoruba is no coward. The man of God said "To avoid going to war is not cowardice. It is to have the courage to subdue our ego and negotiate. ....." Better still, go get a copy of El Rufai's book titled "Accidental civil servant" and read the dialogue between the Author and Baba Obasanjo the then President. You will appreciate the value of native intelligence of the Yoruba which some ignoramus called cowardice. Pray, has Yoruba ever lost any war whether of the guns, intellectual, political or spiritual? No. Check the political, Social and religious history of Nigeria. Who checkmated the advancement of the Fulanis to the South in 1807 at the famous Jalumi war outside Offa at Odo Otin to be precise? Who opened the gate of influx of our youths to the western world in search of Knowledge and sound education after the obnoxious policy and body called "Ijamba Foriti " otherwise known as Jamb? Remember the Exploit of the Yoruba in Nadeco that crippled the country to the extent that the dark goggled wearing General Abacha could not step into Yoruba land for four years. When Jonathan Administration with the aids of Pius Anyim schemed out the Yoruba out of his government inspite of protestations from the likes of Baba Bode George and other PDP leaders in Yorubaland, the Yoruba simply went to work with their brains to see to his exit after all, they put him there in the first place through careful planning. Today, the Yoruba are the best educated black professionals in the USA. If in doubt check out the high brow teaching hospitals in the USA, UK, South Africa and Europe. The Yoruba stand out. Take a trip to Cardiff University in the UK, you'll think you are in Unilag. I was at a teaching hospital in Cape Town in February this year. On the Notice Board of this air Ambulance running teaching hospital was displayed the names of the consultants and specialists. Of the 41 consultants on the Notice Board were 17 Nigerians 16 of whom are of Yoruba extraction and the 17th Nigerian hails from Edo state going by his name. I was elated when to my dismay, the helicopter pilot that took me to my hotel from the hospital turned out to be another Nigerian of Yoruba extraction and indeed from my local government back home in Nigeria. These Eminent Yoruba professionals are victims of the gang up against Yoruba interest. In 1960, the Yoruba was kept out of government but we made no notice. In 1963/64, Midwest was carved out of the West leaving the North and the East intact and untouched. Lagos Island and some parts of Apapa was carved out of the West as federal capital territory by the expansionists who had their eyes on our choice land, again, we let them be. In 1979 to 1983, there was a gang up against the Yoruba again as they were kept out of government whilst the South East took the VP, the Speaker and of course, Cross River took the Senate Presidency. Then came the Jonathan Era, the old Eastern Region had the President, the Deputy Senate President, the Deputy Speaker, the Secretary to the Government, the Finance Minister, the central bank Governor after Sanusi, the Petroleum Minister, the SEC, DG, the Sure P Executive Secretary, the Director of Budget, the Director of procurement, the Aviation minister, the IGP and many more leaving the Yoruba with only one key ministry of Agriculture. Now compare and contrast the above scenario with Obasanjo regime of all inclusiveness. His finance Minister was Igbo, CBN Governor was Igbo, Army Chief was Tiv, later Igbo and Later Kaje from southern Kaduna. His DG of Nafdac was Igbo, his IGP was Yoruba, his External Affairs was Fulani, his Speaker was Fulani alongside with the VP, the Senate Presidency goes to Igbo land whilst the SGF went to Cross River throughout his 8 years reign. Even the PDP chairmanship was denied a Notherner of Yoruba extraction by Obasanjo on the ground that he a Yoruba man being the President should not allow another Yoruba man though from the North to occupy the chairmanship of PDP. I am speaking of Chief Awoniyi here. I make bold to say here that Yoruba leaders at various levels of governance have fair sense of justice compare to those who would not mind filling all available positions under them with their kinsmen. It always back fire on them day in day out. Compare the administration of Obasanjo in terms of appointments and infrastructures like roads to that of subsequent administrations in this 4th Republic. It was the gang up against Yoruba interest that led millions of Yoruba to migrate to other parts of the world where they are now shinning like stars. Ijamba Foriti was conceived to keep the Yoruba down. University of Ife was taken over for the purpose of truncating the plan of Yoruba nation to turn the University into Yoruba speaking where medium of teaching and instructions would be Yoruba language. If in doubt ask Admiral Akin Aduwo. At every point in time the Yoruba employs power of reasoning over emotion whilst some other nationals resort to emotion, intimidation, threat and outright force. Me think the approach of the Yoruba is the best in the circumstances. It is not cowardice to subject issues to empirical analysis before taking a decision. I am a Yoruba man, I am proud to be one and I would go for the Yoruba approach which is laced with loads and loads of native intelligence. We don't need to stand in front of a moving train just to prove bravery. It is the height of stupidity.

Is this an original piece or culled from somewhere?

It is an excellent one, I must say...
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by MrMcJay(m): 1:46pm On Aug 10, 2020
IvarTheBoneless:
Thanks a lot for the context.

Really appreciate it.

No wonder Tinubu's political IQ is regarded highly. I didn't know all these details and thank you for it.

I see the sense in your grassroots angle on Atiku. I have to go back to read some of your past posts. There's probably a lot to learn there too.

Thumbs-up

My posts are usually in the investment section, I rarely do political posts. I prefer to read more than post. Maybe I should be posting more in the politics section.

As for Atiku, he has no genuine supporters. All those following him are only following him because of the money they would get from him, they don't love him.

Also, Atiku doesn't have ideology. You can say Buhari has a soft spot for talakawas in the North, you can say Tinubu is a progressive, what would you identity Atiku with?

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by MrMcJay(m): 1:49pm On Aug 10, 2020
Thastie:

I'm going to follow you!

Thank you

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by orisa37: 1:50pm On Aug 10, 2020
If crownbefitsme,. Don't lie about me Obasanjo doesn't ruin anyone's career. With his excellent Military career he remains the best Democratic PRESIDENT in Africa equal to Mandela.
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by angelfallz(m): 1:51pm On Aug 10, 2020
bhella10:
How does that translate to Tinubu being undermined? That's lame

That's why I asked. Because that is the generally feeling of those around me
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by Jamesz12: 2:15pm On Aug 10, 2020
I see a lot of erroneous assertions in this write up.
First and foremost Obasanjo didn't retire Odili, rather he wanted Odili to be the running mate to Yaradua but Yaradua preferred Jonathan.
Secondly Odili is not from Ikwere but from Ndoni
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by Anyiamaka: 2:39pm On Aug 10, 2020
SaintBeehot:
So the letter is incomplete without including his criminal activities.

That letter is nice. If you think it is wrong, then you are part of the problem with Nigeria

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by SaintBeehot(m): 3:36pm On Aug 10, 2020
Anyiamaka:

That letter is nice. If you think it is wrong, then you are part of the problem with Nigeria
like I've rightly stated earlier, someone brought it to my notice that we should focus on the content and the right. So now I see nothing wrong in the letter but its writer.
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by Nobody: 5:06pm On Aug 10, 2020
Thastie:
I'm going to follow you!
Not only u.. Me sef go follow follow am

Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by ThatFairGuy: 6:21pm On Aug 10, 2020
Jostoman:
Tinubu is their leader in Lagos State while BABA OBASANJO is MY leader in Yoruba land.
Your Leader.
Tinubu is Yoruba leader
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by stormborn28(m): 6:55pm On Aug 10, 2020
MrMcJay:

The problem Atiku has is that he has a perception problem. He has been tagged as a thief and he hasn't done enough to shed that tag. Obasanjo gazetted him as a thief in a Federal Government Gazette before the court ruled that it was illegal. However, Atiku himself hasn't done much to shed that. Not that Atiku is worse than the average Nigerian politician but Obasanjo really ruined Atiku to the extent that since 1999, Atiku has ever won his own state of Adamawa.

Secondly, Atiku lacks grassroots support. The thing with grassroots support is that it is something money can not buy. As a grassroots politician, people would be willing to use their own personal resources to push your cause.

Atiku has had several chances to endear himself to the masses, but he's consistently bungled that. This current government has made several foolish mistakes and insensitive decisions. Have you heard Atiku say anything in defence of the people who are potential voters? No. But once election time comes, he finds his voice. You saw Atiku almost sleeping in the SE during the last election. When last did you see him there? When last did he visit senior SE leaders?

Atiku only plays only election politics and that is why he would keep losing till infinity. Sensible politicians endear themselves to their people and those people are the ones who are voters. Atiku needs to learn how to play politics. There is more to politics than bribing delegates and paying bloggers to promote rubbish.
hmmmmmm...your words are rich
Re: Atiku, Odili, Na’abba — The Political Careers Obasanjo Killed by stormborn28(m): 7:24pm On Aug 10, 2020
seguntijan:

Yoruba is no coward. The man of God said "To avoid going to war is not cowardice. It is to have the courage to subdue our ego and negotiate. ....." Better still, go get a copy of El Rufai's book titled "Accidental civil servant" and read the dialogue between the Author and Baba Obasanjo the then President. You will appreciate the value of native intelligence of the Yoruba which some ignoramus called cowardice. Pray, has Yoruba ever lost any war whether of the guns, intellectual, political or spiritual? No. Check the political, Social and religious history of Nigeria. Who checkmated the advancement of the Fulanis to the South in 1807 at the famous Jalumi war outside Offa at Odo Otin to be precise? Who opened the gate of influx of our youths to the western world in search of Knowledge and sound education after the obnoxious policy and body called "Ijamba Foriti " otherwise known as Jamb? Remember the Exploit of the Yoruba in Nadeco that crippled the country to the extent that the dark goggled wearing General Abacha could not step into Yoruba land for four years. When Jonathan Administration with the aids of Pius Anyim schemed out the Yoruba out of his government inspite of protestations from the likes of Baba Bode George and other PDP leaders in Yorubaland, the Yoruba simply went to work with their brains to see to his exit after all, they put him there in the first place through careful planning. Today, the Yoruba are the best educated black professionals in the USA. If in doubt check out the high brow teaching hospitals in the USA, UK, South Africa and Europe. The Yoruba stand out. Take a trip to Cardiff University in the UK, you'll think you are in Unilag. I was at a teaching hospital in Cape Town in February this year. On the Notice Board of this air Ambulance running teaching hospital was displayed the names of the consultants and specialists. Of the 41 consultants on the Notice Board were 17 Nigerians 16 of whom are of Yoruba extraction and the 17th Nigerian hails from Edo state going by his name. I was elated when to my dismay, the helicopter pilot that took me to my hotel from the hospital turned out to be another Nigerian of Yoruba extraction and indeed from my local government back home in Nigeria. These Eminent Yoruba professionals are victims of the gang up against Yoruba interest. In 1960, the Yoruba was kept out of government but we made no notice. In 1963/64, Midwest was carved out of the West leaving the North and the East intact and untouched. Lagos Island and some parts of Apapa was carved out of the West as federal capital territory by the expansionists who had their eyes on our choice land, again, we let them be. In 1979 to 1983, there was a gang up against the Yoruba again as they were kept out of government whilst the South East took the VP, the Speaker and of course, Cross River took the Senate Presidency. Then came the Jonathan Era, the old Eastern Region had the President, the Deputy Senate President, the Deputy Speaker, the Secretary to the Government, the Finance Minister, the central bank Governor after Sanusi, the Petroleum Minister, the SEC, DG, the Sure P Executive Secretary, the Director of Budget, the Director of procurement, the Aviation minister, the IGP and many more leaving the Yoruba with only one key ministry of Agriculture. Now compare and contrast the above scenario with Obasanjo regime of all inclusiveness. His finance Minister was Igbo, CBN Governor was Igbo, Army Chief was Tiv, later Igbo and Later Kaje from southern Kaduna. His DG of Nafdac was Igbo, his IGP was Yoruba, his External Affairs was Fulani, his Speaker was Fulani alongside with the VP, the Senate Presidency goes to Igbo land whilst the SGF went to Cross River throughout his 8 years reign. Even the PDP chairmanship was denied a Notherner of Yoruba extraction by Obasanjo on the ground that he a Yoruba man being the President should not allow another Yoruba man though from the North to occupy the chairmanship of PDP. I am speaking of Chief Awoniyi here. I make bold to say here that Yoruba leaders at various levels of governance have fair sense of justice compare to those who would not mind filling all available positions under them with their kinsmen. It always back fire on them day in day out. Compare the administration of Obasanjo in terms of appointments and infrastructures like roads to that of subsequent administrations in this 4th Republic. It was the gang up against Yoruba interest that led millions of Yoruba to migrate to other parts of the world where they are now shinning like stars. Ijamba Foriti was conceived to keep the Yoruba down. University of Ife was taken over for the purpose of truncating the plan of Yoruba nation to turn the University into Yoruba speaking where medium of teaching and instructions would be Yoruba language. If in doubt ask Admiral Akin Aduwo. At every point in time the Yoruba employs power of reasoning over emotion whilst some other nationals resort to emotion, intimidation, threat and outright force. Me think the approach of the Yoruba is the best in the circumstances. It is not cowardice to subject issues to empirical analysis before taking a decision. I am a Yoruba man, I am proud to be one and I would go for the Yoruba approach which is laced with loads and loads of native intelligence. We don't need to stand in front of a moving train just to prove bravery. It is the height of stupidity.
i read everything you wrote. though I'm not a Yoruba man but I saw history to how things had been

Ibarapa Youths Storm Makinde’s Office, Protest Against Insecurity (Photo) / Sit-At-Home: IPOB Looted Bread Van In Enugu & Set It On Fire / Oke Umurhohwo Congratulates Sheriff Oborevwori Over His Electoral Win

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69