Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,801,503 members, 6,696,139 topics. Date: Friday, 28 January 2022 at 01:04 PM

El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen (288 Views)

Chris Omashola: I Don’t Have Problem With APC, But Obaseki Will Win Edo Election / Uzodinma: APC Will Field Candidate, Win Edo Election / Ganduje Backs Obaseki's Disqualification, Says APC Will Win Edo Again (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Go Down)

El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by GreenAgain: 12:30pm On Sep 21, 2020
Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, said he was optimistic up to three weeks ago that his party, the All Progressives Congress, would win the Edo State Governorship Election.

He said opinion polls conducted had shown that the APC candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu, would win the election, adding that he didn’t know what went wrong in the last three weeks of the campaign.

The PUNCH had reported Sunday that the Independent National Electoral Commission declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Governor Godwin Obaseki, winner of the keenly contested election.

INEC’s Returning Officer, Prof. Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, said Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ize-Iyamu, who got 223,619 votes.

Commenting on the development, the Kaduna State governor, who spoke on Monday morning while featuring on Channels Television, said the election was “reasonably decent”.

El-Rufai said, “We (APC) would have loved to win and quite frankly, I was optimistic up to three weeks ago; the polls indicated that we were going to win. I don’t know what happened in the last three weeks of the campaign.

“As you know, a large number of voters make up their minds in the last two weeks of the election. Many voters decide no matter what happens, this is how I am voting but most people want to wait and make up their minds in the last two weeks.

“Three weeks ago, the polls clearly showed that APC was going to win but the result came out differently from what we expected.

“Obaseki has won, that’s it. You can’t go into an election without the possibility of losing.”

He added, “The election was reasonably decent. We were all worried about violence but there was very little violence or none at all.”

The governor also stressed that the regime of the President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), was committed to free and fair elections.


https://punchng.com/opinion-polls-showed-apc-will-win-edo-election-i-dont-know-what-happened-el-rufai/
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by ZKOSOSO(m): 12:31pm On Sep 21, 2020
No be only opinion poll na jagaban ranting ontop Edo polls

Mr Body bags...Edo no be Kaduna...! Ka ji ko...??

Yeye people who have no regard for the real voters. We said ''Edo no be Lagos '' and we Edos backed it up yesterday
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by slivertongue: 12:33pm On Sep 21, 2020
win in Kaduna ba !!

Edo
Deserve
,Obaseki

1 Like

Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Millimann: 12:34pm On Sep 21, 2020
Opinion poll that considered FG support and intimidation.

Dem no know say Edo no be Lagos.
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by wellingtongrey(m): 12:34pm On Sep 21, 2020
I guess so too...but Tinubu happened and events continued
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Nobody: 12:36pm On Sep 21, 2020
Those poll didn't emanate from Edo state.

1 Like

Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by slivertongue: 12:37pm On Sep 21, 2020
Edo no be kaduna where elections are built on religion
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Enudapan: 12:37pm On Sep 21, 2020
Nah eh! No qualms
You will soon know sir
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Nbotee(m): 12:38pm On Sep 21, 2020
Opinion polls from the likes of simplyleo and his fellow mo.rons
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by SmartProf(m): 12:38pm On Sep 21, 2020
Lol...na the nation newspapers opinion poll for Lagos Ibadan road give them fake news to look their BP. Since Obaseki smacked APC silly with him victory, the newspaper no fit report any Edo news throughout the process. Edo people no be Almajiris and Zombies o, na why Edo no fit be Lagos.
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by festacman(m): 12:40pm On Sep 21, 2020
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by ODJ124(m): 12:40pm On Sep 21, 2020
cool
Lots of APC members were prevented from voting... and most APC votes was suppressed.. (According to Source)
we will get justice from the court..
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by KiggerLomo(m): 12:41pm On Sep 21, 2020
You cannot but just marvel at the creativity of Nigerians!
*The Book of Edo chapter 1 vs 1–34*

1. Now, it came to pass, In that period when men chose their rulers, after the reign of Lucky the. son of Igbenedion. A certain man arose from the mount of Auchi whose name was Adams the son of Osho.
2. It was he who was the chief of the publicans and a leader of labour. Later he had become Governor over all the province. And adams abode as governor for eight years in Edo.
3. Behold, During his reign, the man Adams had excelled in speech and utterred many fierce and lofty words.
4. And his oration was honey and wine to the hearts of the people.
5. He ruled the city with a mighty hand and prophesied with a loud voice unto the four walls of the cities; the North, the South, East and West, saying; 6. “Woe unto the godfathers and naysayers and oligarchists, to the men who have exalted themselves over this city as gods over men.7 “Again i say woe onto them. “For as the day wipeth out the night, I Adams the son of Osho, shall flush out their reigns, and seize their loincloth.8 “With a heavy rod shall i chase them out, and they shall run. I shall break their brass gates, and set their iron bars asunder. And it was so.
9. That at the end of the Eight year, wherefore Oshomole was to complete his reign, a man called Godwin the son of Obaseki had exalted himself saying ” I will be Governor.
10. At the same time, Iyamu the son of Ize had also exalted himself and said i will be Governor.
11.Adams had looked up the face of Obaseki and took his hand and kissed it and spake with a voice saying “Fear not, for i am with you, oh thy faithful servant, I shall bear you upon my wings, thy mouth shall speak good tidings, and in my stead thou shalt reign.
12.And it came to pass, that when the due season for contest came. Adams and Obaseki went together in one accord, to the outskirts of the cities to the tabernacles, to the villages, and to every field.
13. Lo, Oshomole had held his companions hand saying with a loud voice;“Oh cities of Edo hear ye my counsel, Oh land of my inheritance bear thy comrade’s witness, for this is the man whom thou shall vote for a faithful and just man!
14 “Begone from the man Iyamu for he is vain and double faced.
15.Cast not thy votes for him for his mouth is slack.
16 Ye! He has put on the loincloth of a saint but his heart is darker than widow’s ash.
17. Withdraw your firstborne sons, from him, for he dines in the devil’s cult.
18. Withdraw thy daughters, for he is a deformer!
19.And it came to pass that many people had hearkened unto the voice of Adams the son of Osho.
20 And on the day of reckoning more votes had been casted for Godwin than for Iyamu and he had been crowned governor to reign in Osho’s stead.
21 Behold, at about the second year of the reign of Godwin, and like a dream of the night, after the feast of the old year, the new governor and old governor saw discord together.
22 The new Governor had called upon the people saying.
” He wants Your gold and Silver and I said nay!!!. No man shall be god over this land, for this is the very cause ye fought for in your reign, and i say it shall stand.
23 And when it came to the ear of Adams the son of Osho what the new governor had done. He had cried with a loud voice..
24 “A traitor is on the throne!!. therefore shall my eyes not be allowed to behold the ungodly stand in judgement for long. 25.For yes! He has bitten the finger that fed him bread. And his rainment must be seized!. Another four years thou will not go!
26 And Godwin the son of obaseki had responded, “I shall go another.
27 On the fourth year on the month and on the day when A new adversary was to be chosen to travail with Obaseki. Iyamu had comeforth and said “here i am, i will go. And adams spake softly saying ” I am with you.
28 Now the people of the city had rent their clothes and thrown forth their voice in desolation saying to the Adams the son of Osho, who shall we go with?. 29 Whom shall we believe? For the Lord God is not the author of confusion, a man whom ye called a leper yesterday, how turneth he now an angel? And the one whom ye called a messiah the day before how turneth he now leper. 30 For dignity is not like the sun that comes and goeth. Or like the leopard spots, or like the stars, or the changing seasons. Dignity is like the word of the lord that endureth forever.
31 And it came to pass after these things, that election was held throughout the province of the ancient city on the nineteenth day in the month of September in the year of corona A.D in the reign of Oba Ewaure 11,
32 that the people of Edo decided that light should defeat darkness and godfatherism casted into the bottomless pit.
33 And, Lo The Lord blessed Godwin the son of Nogheghase, the son of Obaseki with more votes over his contenders from the plain of Bini to Esan and across river Ikpoba unto Owan, Etsako and unto Akoko Edo.
34 And in them is fulfilled the prophecy of David, which saith, God hath spoken once; twice have I heard this; that power belongeth unto God.

*If you win election my brother na GodWin*

1 Like

Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by RomanianNinja: 12:42pm On Sep 21, 2020
Elf... You wanted your Fulani brothers to also start party there abi

1 Like

Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Lavisha(f): 12:42pm On Sep 21, 2020
monkey
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Maxymilliano(m): 12:43pm On Sep 21, 2020
El-Rufai said, “We (APC) would have loved to win and quite frankly, I was optimistic up to three weeks ago; the polls indicated that we were going to win. I don’t know what happened in the last three weeks of the campaign.
.

The huge crowded rally deceived you.

Meanwhile, most of the people that constituted the deceitful rallies are not from Edo State and have no voting rights during the election.

Tinubu's last minute video was the straw that broke the camels back

Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Nobody: 12:44pm On Sep 21, 2020
Half of the people who dey shout no get voters card.

Some will even organize online polls as if na fones dey wan use cast votes.

Naija grin.

Some wey dey shout no sabi where edo dey sef.
Re: El-rufai: Opinion Poll Showed APC Will Win Edo Election,i Don’t Know What Happen by Mynd44: 1:34pm On Sep 21, 2020

(1)

Apc Chairman Allegedly Stabs Party Woman Leader / Queen Elizabeth II Congratulates Nigeria On 60th Independence Anniversary / Labour Union Are Very Angry (photos Included)

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2022 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 102
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.