Stats: 3,153,043 members, 7,818,102 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 07:58 AM

Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? - Career (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? (29339 Views)

What Is Your Take On Thanking Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? / Sacked Pregnant Access Bank Cashier Collapses In Lagos After Receiving Letter / Man Sacked By His Boss After He Refused To Sleep With His Wife (2) (3) (4)

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Olarewaju89: 10:49am On Sep 29, 2020
GreyLaw:

Female bosses in a one-man private firm are usually the worst thing to happen to a human being.

No need to say too much.

Yes, you are right
Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by femmoy(m): 10:50am On Sep 29, 2020
crestedaguiyi:
very dumb.

its not a gift but a wage.

Africans thank and praise their politicians for doing their job thats why they are seeing it like they are doing their people a favour.

the moment you start thanking your boss for performing his role which include paying your salary then expect him to start seeing it like he is doing you a favour.

something you can sue him to court for not doing.

yes,I agree with u 101%.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Angelfrost(m): 10:51am On Sep 29, 2020
chatinent:
I know I worked for it but a thank you means no harm.

So, you will thank him every first week of a new month or last week of every month??!

Even the most tolerant boss would find that very irritating and annoying!!!

The best and sole appreciation for good salaries or wages, is proper service or job delivery.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Dreadlock69(m): 10:51am On Sep 29, 2020
I say thank you I mean it and I don't mean it

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Pauladex(m): 10:52am On Sep 29, 2020
You beg to apply in the first place, saying a million thank you is not enough. keep saying it ...thank you ma, thank your sir. Nigeria is too hard

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Jeffyblaq(m): 10:52am On Sep 29, 2020

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Langu: 10:52am On Sep 29, 2020
The kind thank from me go sweet if you add 1kobo on my salary.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by MajohBankz: 10:53am On Sep 29, 2020
As the spirit leads. Especially when wages and not salary is involved

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by NeoWanZaeed(m): 10:53am On Sep 29, 2020
duro4chang:
In private school you must say thank you sir/ma after collecting your salary.

we only do that for tips.. not salary ogbeni

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by sparko1(m): 10:53am On Sep 29, 2020
Xixtie:
I don't know who needs to see this but you really need to stop watching p0rn.
undecided undecided

Why Let me guess! It will destroy you! Oh! It’s like telling a 90 year old “smokers are liable to die young”.

Guess what porn is shown everywhere you go, even a blind man can imagine porn without watching, not to talk of people that watch BBN, Nigeria music video, DSTV, even walking on the street of Lagos in the morning, when you see some ladies jogging with transparent tight dresses, then you go to the internet, Facebook, Instagram! Even some times opening a harmless website will give you naked pictures that will last you the rest of your life.

The only thing you can control is how you react to what you see! Sellah!

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by akimoriyomi(m): 10:54am On Sep 29, 2020
To the man that sent me money yesterday thank you. U made my day great.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Ratedgang: 10:55am On Sep 29, 2020
People that are saying they won’t thank their boss after payment haven’t actually worked. You need to thank your boss as you may never get the next salary as early as possible and there is nothing you can do about it.... it’s good and ethical to be grateful. I have seen people being promoted in offices because they greet a lot.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Aforxzy(f): 10:55am On Sep 29, 2020
It is good to say thank you to your boss after receiving your salary. It's not every employee that has been paid and not everyone is employed too. Just being grateful doesnt cost you anything. I always acknowledge all payments with thanks for services rendered. Be it cash, cheque or transfer. It should be an attitude.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by TOPCRUISE(m): 10:55am On Sep 29, 2020
If he give you bonus or he double the salary.
Why must I say thank you to dangote if he gives me salary for job well done.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by 77up(m): 10:57am On Sep 29, 2020
dosage150:

Alright, but the salary is through bank, should I have to call him and thank him or thank him whenever he visits, I feel uncomfortable saying "thank you", he is not doing me a Favour
Dont let proudness take a way your job unknowingly, saying thank you to your boss (private company) is not bad, if he didn't employ you,you won't have anything to work for,talkless of been paid .

That's why ordinary sorry is breaking alot of relationship in this generation. We are too proud.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by kkins25(m): 10:57am On Sep 29, 2020
TheManofTomorrow:
A curt thank you wouldn't mean any harm.

In rule 1 law of power;
Never outshine your master; Always make those above you feel comfortably superior.

what a ridiculous misinterpretation of such a beautiful book....

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Precious101c: 10:57am On Sep 29, 2020
Even when person pay me money way e dey owe me, I dey still say thank you. Saying thank you removes nothing from you.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by mydivinely: 10:57am On Sep 29, 2020
who will i say thank you to, is paid into Bank and my Boss is not the one paying, i work in Accounts and we do upload n wait for Approval
Well saying thanks is ok, But not saying is still ok, depends on the situation, what of those in federal Ministeries
?

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Nobody: 10:58am On Sep 29, 2020
See what capitalism has reduced us to, animals. Note: I am not saying communism or socialism is better o.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by OlujobaSamuel: 10:59am On Sep 29, 2020
If to your account and you meet often, saying thanks isn't a bad idea.
If it's cash, I think it's apt to say thanks also.
I have the habit of saying thanks to every gesture people put in for my benefit.
In my area, most of the bike riders are Niger republican dudes, I still say thanks whenever I alight from the bike despite paying them. If I buy a commodity from you, I say thanks after the transaction.
So if you ask me, saying thanks, pls and sorry should have no reason, just do it.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Nobody: 10:59am On Sep 29, 2020
77up:
Dont let proudness take a way your job unknowingly, saying thank you to your boss (private company) is not bad, if he didn't employ you,you won't have anything to work for,talkless of been paid .

That's why ordinary sorry is breaking alot of relationship in this generation. We are too proud.
Trash, you give your labour and you receive money for it in return, how the fck is that a favour.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Nobody: 11:00am On Sep 29, 2020
OlujobaSamuel:
If to your account and you meet often, saying thanks isn't a bad idea.
If it's cash, I think it's apt to say thanks also.
I have the habit of saying thanks to every gesture people put in for my benefit.
In my area, most of the bike riders are Niger republican dudes, I still say thanks whenever I alight from the bike despite paying them. If I buy a commodity from you, I say thanks after the transaction.
So if you ask me, saying thanks, pls and sorry should have no reason, just do it.
I learnt this stuff from my mom.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Haliraph(m): 11:00am On Sep 29, 2020
My boss is white man that resides outside Nigeria. I usually will send him a thank you whatapp message anytime i receive my salary.
Saying thank you after receiving your monthly pay is not necessary, but it also shows how grateful and appreciative you are. And in turn might lead to something bigger.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by ImaIma1(f): 11:01am On Sep 29, 2020
doggedfighter:
We're sentimental about a lot of things.

This is why employers especially one man business owners always expect employees to bow down and worship after receiving their hard earned salary sometimes even after delayed payment.

Worse is when others are thanking and you don't, you will become an enemy to the boss. cheesy

The mindset is different when we work with a structured organisation. It is then we will know that some of these things that happen in one man business is not acceptable practice.

Imagine working somewhere that they give you free breakfast, will we go and be telling the boss thank you everyday.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by ALLNIGERIANSMAD(m): 11:01am On Sep 29, 2020
dosage150:
Is it really necessary to thank your boss after paying (salary) you for job you did?
I don't do salary thing, I have people working under me, if any of them thank me after paying them, I will sack the person, I paid you because you offer me a service, if you thank me, it means you don't know your Worth and if you are lazy, you can't work with me for 1hr

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by semyman: 11:02am On Sep 29, 2020
Plenty are jobless, thank you won't finish your data
Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Psoul(m): 11:02am On Sep 29, 2020
Is your Boss paying you cash(ie, paying one on one payment).
If that is your case, courtesy demands you say; Thank You to him or her or even to the person he/she appointed to do the payment.
If you work in a firm that pays you through your bank account, you may not need to go to you boss to thank him for paying you salary.
In this case, the boss may not even have time to expect this thank you from any of the staff.

You may only do that if it was to be a special payment that was given to u alone or just few selected staff for a particular purpose, like outstanding performances, dedication to duty etc. You may need to go and thank him for recognizing and appreciating your wonderful performance.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by hansomb: 11:03am On Sep 29, 2020
teemanbastos:
just read the atmosphere, if its friendly and you feel like, you can.
As everything in life, how to thank someone or when to thank someone no get manual.
Agreed. If my salary is paid in full and without delay without any deductions, paid by the senior manager I can say thank you, but if deductions were made like for absence of work or fine, na to bone face I dey do.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by golddare: 11:03am On Sep 29, 2020
dosage150:
Is it really necessary to thank your boss after paying (salary) you for job you did?

If he earns it, why not but if you be assets na your boss go thank you.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by whytediamond(m): 11:04am On Sep 29, 2020
WoundedLamb:
You must be talking about a petty business where cash is handed over to the employee by the business owner at the end of a period. If that's the case, saying 'thanks' is only polite and not necessarily appreciation. Even if the it's the secretary that gives me the cash, I'd still say 'thanks'.

However, salary payment does not always involve the employer and the employee physically coming together to even necessitate any form of conversation. The common thing is that everyone gets alert on a particular day of the month and life goes on.

You have said it all.

Mods please close the thread.
Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Nobody: 11:04am On Sep 29, 2020
Because of what? This is absurd. The only time I ever thanked my employer was when I received a bonus in addition to my salary.

Re: Is It Right To Thank Your Boss After Receiving Your Salary? by Princeton92(m): 11:05am On Sep 29, 2020
dosage150:

Am the manager of the company, am just scared of being tag "proud"

Pls me I need a job oo, space dey for your boss to employ a job hunting graduate?

7 Things I Wished I Was Told Before Graduating From The University / Married Female Staff Of Globacom Refute Claims Of Being Sacked / What Can One Do With N42k Salary?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37