Stats: 3,153,842 members, 7,820,933 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 03:49 AM

My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel (1407 Views)

My Honda Accord Consumes Too Much Fuel / Toyota Camry Pencil (1997) Consumes Fuel A Lot / My 2015 Ford Ranger Truck Consumes Fuel More Than Normal (2) (3) (4)

My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 6:48pm On Mar 05, 2021
Hello all,

Pls my Toyota matrix 06 consumes fuel a little bit more than normal.

I replaced d air intake filter, clean the throttle body with cab cleaner, welds exhaust leaks, already bought original NGK spark plugs but yet to replaced, gas cap not clicking after lock, already ordered a new one but yet to arrive.

I did a scan & d following code popped up: P0420, P0441 & P0128.

Which of these is d real culprit & How do i eliminate them?

Pls i need help, i bought this car specifically because of fuel economy.
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by homeboy205: 7:55pm On Mar 05, 2021
Dez10:
Hello all,

I replaced d air intake filter, clean the throttle body with cab cleaner, welds exhaust leaks, already bought original NGK spark plugs but yet to replaced, gas cap not clicking after lock, already ordered a new one but yet to arrive.

That is one deadly code to have, its a catalyst code, not always mean your CAT is bad, might be 02sensors.but doesn’t mean it will be affecting the fuel.... the culprit there should be the 128 cos dem fit don comot your thermostat like that...

Holllup

Hollup.....

Was the scan result after the exhaust weld or before ??

If it’s after, our brothers fit don touch your CAT grin

If it’s before, check upstream and downstream sensors on the CAT and the CAT.
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 11:37pm On Mar 05, 2021
The scan was actually d first thing i did before going to d panel to weld.

The car actually drives very well just d fuel consumption is my headache.

Maybe i will need to confirm d functionality of my temperature sensor & probably replace.

I will also replace d plugs & re scan to see if d codes will clear.
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 10:30am On Mar 06, 2021
I need more suggestions on how to solve d excessive Fuel consumption of my matrix pls
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by ksmart027(m): 12:12pm On Mar 06, 2021
Dez10:
I need more suggestions on how to solve d excessive Fuel consumption of my matrix pls
does your car still have thermostat
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Louiscarz(m): 12:17pm On Mar 06, 2021
a list of things could cause your vehicle to throw up this code p0420, ranging from a bad 02 sensor to a bad catalytic converter if it a bad 02 sensor it will give false readings or a faulty 02 sensor wire harness, if it a clogged catalytic converter you should be experiencing loss of power from your car, now for fuel consumption it might be a your vehicle computer not knowing when your vehicle is at optimum temperature causing your vehicle too run rich (to much fuel less air) now this is where the other code p0128 is linked to the p0420, p0128 is indicating thermostat malfunction, u might have a stuck open thermostat not allowing your vehicle get to optimum temperature or ect sensor giving wrong values or it bad
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by IMOHS(m): 12:25pm On Mar 06, 2021
How do you measure your fuel consumption,that makes you know that it is high?

Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 6:54pm On Mar 06, 2021
Louiscarz:
a list of things could cause your vehicle to throw up this code p0420, ranging from a bad 02 sensor to a bad catalytic converter if it a bad 02 sensor it will give false readings or a faulty 02 sensor wire harness, if it a clogged catalytic converter you should be experiencing loss of power from your car, now for fuel consumption it might be a your vehicle computer not knowing when your vehicle is at optimum temperature causing your vehicle too run rich (to much fuel less air) now this is where the other code p0128 is linked to the p0420, p0128 is indicating thermostat malfunction, u might have a stuck open thermostat not allowing your vehicle get to optimum temperature or ect sensor giving wrong values or it bad

Thank Louiscarz, i will focus more on the thermostat functionality & probably replace it. Temperature sensor too will be checked
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 6:55pm On Mar 06, 2021
ksmart027:

does your car still have thermostat
I will need to confirm this
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by dicksonadams(m): 6:30am On Mar 07, 2021
Dez10:
Hello all,

Please where did you find the original ngk spark plugs? I need them as well for a similar. Also what was the price per one.
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by wabuk(m): 1:18pm On Mar 07, 2021
[quote author=Dez10 post=99636480]Hello all,

Pls change Ur filling station, go to another petrol station. U will call me and dash me brake pad

Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 4:54pm On Mar 07, 2021
Dez10:
I got them here in Ibadan, agodi gate auto spare parts market for 3500 (4pcs). The one with altra fine center electrode

Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 4:56pm On Mar 07, 2021
Dez10:

Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 4:59pm On Mar 07, 2021
[quote author=wabuk post=99681731][/quote]I buy fuel at random filling stations, same experience
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Nobody: 12:43am On Mar 11, 2021
Check the fuel attendant.
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Dez10(m): 12:07pm On Mar 11, 2021
AlhajiBitcoin:
Check the fuel attendant.
shocked shocked shocked
Re: My Toyota Matrix 06 Consumes Fuel by Chukwujohn(m): 4:41pm On Mar 11, 2021
Dear op, has the issue been solved kindly contact me on WhatsApp 07026487133

Rangerovers Are Awesome Cars, Why Do Nigerians Feel Different. / Vtm And Check Engine Light Shows On Dashboard Of 2007 Honda Piliot / Registered 2006 Honda Accord, with Honda Navigation system. Super clean.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23