Stats: 3,153,201 members, 7,818,670 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 09:32 PM

Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? - Jobs/Vacancies (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Jobs/Vacancies / Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? (15061 Views)

Guys I Just Realized I Was Shortlisted For Npower Batch C / Any Npower Applicant Shortlisted For N-agro / To 10 Reasons Why Your CV Will Never Get You Shortlisted For Interview. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by jerryson1: 6:04pm On Jun 30, 2021
It doesn't honestly
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by asobo1: 6:05pm On Jun 30, 2021
Shieldidok:
In some universities, it will be stated with 2:1Masters suppose to supercede that standard varies. Kogi is hot today ooooo Bello no pay salary
Incoming president 2023
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by richboy01(m): 6:10pm On Jun 30, 2021
jerryson1:
It doesn't honestly
Hw did u get to know?
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by ednut1(m): 6:11pm On Jun 30, 2021
richboy01:

Oboy...mad o
Too qualified again?..
ideally you are supposed to work before going for masters. Then use it in a management position

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Classicalman(m): 6:16pm On Jun 30, 2021
Hell yeah
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Psalmistproject: 6:20pm On Jun 30, 2021
richboy01:

Baba I don try business e no work

Don't just go into business, or jump into any job, or go back to school.

Just tell everyone (especially those close to you that pumps the pressure) to be patient with you for 6months.

Simply spend 2months doing serious brain tasks on what exactly you do with your life. Use the remaining months building on how to establish at the lowest cost possible.

It's a project bro, your own personal financial building project.

When you are done, if you are still sceptical the business may not work ( which is impossible if proper ground works were done) look for someone to partner with.
Once the 6month is completed, you can do whatever you feel like.
Just remember you want more money not more jobs cause you can only do one Job at a time.

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Maj196(m): 6:21pm On Jun 30, 2021
Rather spend time learning a skill or start a business with the money for masters. Masters my foot.

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Gerrard59(m): 6:30pm On Jun 30, 2021
richboy01:
HR

No, but I worked with a career consultancy few years ago and knew the A - Z of companies' recruitment processes in Nigeria. If the stated grade is 2.1, it applies to the bachelor degree.

P.S. My statement is for private and reputable companies. Nothing concerns me with public organisations or civil service.
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Obalowe(m): 6:38pm On Jun 30, 2021
And school

fergie001:
Nope...Requirements are different.

If it's a 2.1....You don't have it means you don't have it. Its only equivalence in the academic domain is a PGD attached.

An MSc is a higher degree to a 2.1.

You can....depending on the Department.
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by fergie001: 6:40pm On Jun 30, 2021
Obalowe:
And school
Very Important....Yea
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Judolisco(m): 6:47pm On Jun 30, 2021
Emeraldfynest:
Can I do my Masters as a 2.2 graduate?
yes highest they will ask u to write an exam...
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Nobody: 6:49pm On Jun 30, 2021
Jestin:
School na scam but i am graduate .
with this your English, e be like say school na better scam o
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by rickyboss333: 6:58pm On Jun 30, 2021
Elsueno:
Yes, You will definitely get shortlisted

Even get an interview invite

The panel might most likely praise u to high heavens & how they are looking for people like u.

Unfortunately, ur chance of getting the job is less than 10% if it's a government job.

Now if u know somebody who knows somebody, then all u need is a pass or 3rd class & U can even get into A list agencies in Nigeria without even bordering to attend the interview.

"It's not what you know, it's WHO U KNOW" cert are practically useless in today's Nigeria

My brother, I totally agree with your second point but not som much with your first. Within the private sectors here in nigeria, u will very hardly secure a job with that masters of yours. What am I even saying? ...u won't even get a call for interview because u have automatically become a huge threat to those in management without a master's degree. Just hide it till u get the job before presenting it when necessary, except if it was clearly stipulated in d advert as a criteria. I am simply talking from experience

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by osothermal(m): 7:01pm On Jun 30, 2021
Most jobs now are recruited by referrals.

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by venabili: 7:04pm On Jun 30, 2021
No. With good connections and networking, a 2.2 may get job b4 a first class(first degree) plus Distinction(masters). Na naija way
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by seguno2: 7:18pm On Jun 30, 2021
Gerrard59:
Why do you expect one of Nigeria's poorest states to pay salaries? I'm even surprised salaries are paid to Kogi civil servants in the first place.

Well, good things can come out from Nazareth. kiss

What is he doing with the monthly allocation if he does not pay salaries
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by tegafej(m): 7:24pm On Jun 30, 2021
It's doesn't if it is not needed.

That's the sad truth.

If you are looking for a technical job, experience matters most even more than a Master's degree.
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by bluefilm: 8:09pm On Jun 30, 2021
Not really.

First and foremost, you need to have the right Connection.
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Gjmff: 8:34pm On Jun 30, 2021
No
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by baconline(m): 8:49pm On Jun 30, 2021
Forget all this certificate issue,there are no jobs in Nigeria again, be self reliant

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by osazsky(m): 9:05pm On Jun 30, 2021
None
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by smeag0l(m): 9:47pm On Jun 30, 2021
In my experience so far, having a masters would usually not get you employment in most cases. What it does is to help you strengthen your bargaining power in terms of pay(The only exception to this rule is when companies need to hire someone for a highly specialized and experienced role). What usually gets people employment in most cases is the fundamental degree- your BSc or HND. Most Nigerian companies and even multinationals use this as a criteria and a lot of them also consider ,strongly, the class of grade your made at your undergrad. So don't joke with your first degree. If you can make a first class , distinction, upper credit or second class upper then , by all means go for it. I've been working for close to ten years today and I never met anyone to help me get a job nor got any job I did through connections. It was my second class upper degree and God.

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by richboy01(m): 9:54pm On Jun 30, 2021
Abeg how can dey move this to front page?
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by harmyd007: 9:55pm On Jun 30, 2021
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by McLizbae: 9:57pm On Jun 30, 2021
If it is stated that the recruitment is for 2.1, don't waste your time applying or attending it. They are clearly going to consider the first degree and not anything higher or lower.

My guess is: a bank abi?
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by richboy01(m): 9:58pm On Jun 30, 2021
harmyd007:
Omo very useless,

I have a first class , and MSc (distinction)
Omo i no see job o
Made it to multiple interview stages
And they no give me
You have to know someone
Or you need extreme grace
Hmm are u serious?
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by McLizbae: 9:58pm On Jun 30, 2021
harmyd007:
Omo very useless,

I have a first class , and MSc (distinction)
Omo i no see job o
Made it to multiple interview stages
And they no give me
You have to know someone
Or you need extreme grace

Bros go settle your village people o!

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by McLizbae: 10:02pm On Jun 30, 2021
Gerrard59:

Why do you expect one of Nigeria's poorest states to pay salaries? I'm even surprised salaries are paid to Kogi civil servants in the first place.

Well, good things can come out from Nazareth. kiss

You funny! So you mean the allocation Yahya is collecting is making kogi poorer?
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by harmyd007: 10:57pm On Jun 30, 2021
Very serious

richboy01:

Hmm are u serious?
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by harmyd007: 10:57pm On Jun 30, 2021
��

McLizbae:

Bros go settle your village people o!
Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by Nobody: 3:06am On Jul 01, 2021
EXPERIENCE is the icing on the cake

Re: Does Having Masters Help Get Shortlisted For Recruitments Asking For 2.1? by mayo47(m): 4:54am On Jul 01, 2021
richboy01:
Inputs needed

Unfortunately, nothing is guaranteed at the market, as its called a "Labour Market" employment opportunities are significantly affected as a result of reduced business investment together with an increase in universities which has led to an increase in first class, second class upper which isn't itself bad but the universities did not teach graduates on how to think independently. Presently, a Masters in a shortage supply profession might be worthwhile and give an added advantage if you're at the entry stage and might not if you have years of experience as work experience is considered more impactful than any certificate. Focus should be on a skill and less on any certificate

Interview Questions: Dumb Replies Only / Tips To Boost Your Interview Performance / .