Stats: 3,151,492 members, 7,812,526 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 02:45 PM

Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) - Food - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) (2052 Views)

Abnormal Garden Eggs Fruit In Markets, Open Your Garden Eggs Fruit Before Eating / Have You Seen Or Eaten Albino Cucumbers Before? (Photos) / Coconut Without Meat: Has Anyone Seen This Type Of Coconut Before? (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by iFlare(m): 8:06pm On Apr 09, 2023
Good evening everyone and happy Easter smiley.

During election school break, someone gave this wild plant/fruit to me saying it's edible.

It has a very unique taste kiss...I can't even explain what it tastes like. Have you seen or eaten it before. If yes please what's the name grin.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Khallicopyro: 8:09pm On Apr 09, 2023
It's common in my place. Esan in Edo state. But I don't know it's name. We call it 'ukpukhuremila'

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by iFlare(m): 8:12pm On Apr 09, 2023
Khallicopyro:
It's common in my place. Esan in Edo state. But I don't know it's name. We call it 'ukpukhuremila'

Tho you mentioned it's common in your place, have you tasted it before?
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Urheadmaster(m): 8:16pm On Apr 09, 2023
I have.

But I can't really describe how it tastes because the taste is out of this world
iFlare:

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by duro4chang(m): 8:20pm On Apr 09, 2023
It's common in Kwara State. I have tasted it before. They call it obi edun that is monkey's kola nut.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by iFlare(m): 8:30pm On Apr 09, 2023
Urheadmaster:
I have.

But I can't really describe how it tastes because the taste is out of this world

Very trueπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
Its taste is indescribable.
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by iFlare(m): 8:35pm On Apr 09, 2023
duro4chang:
It's common in Kwara State. I have tasted it before. They call it obi edun that is monkey's kola nut.

I learnt something new todayπŸ’ͺ, thanks to you.

Edited: I mean the name.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Bahamas95(m): 8:49pm On Apr 09, 2023
Ya, I have seen and tasted it before.

The first time I saw it was when I accompanied my friend to his village some years ago.
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Khallicopyro: 9:00pm On Apr 09, 2023
iFlare:

Yes. You peel off the skin, eat the flesh and do away with the seed
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Brainmytool: 9:21pm On Apr 09, 2023
Very sweet.
In Abia we call it OJI OFIA.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Rexymania(m): 10:14pm On Apr 09, 2023
Fruits for the gods
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by doctore212(m): 11:34pm On Apr 09, 2023
Here in Sambisa it's called ikpu olosho.

Taste very nice.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by CivilianJTF(m): 12:09am On Apr 10, 2023
duro4chang:

You sabi
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Axis313(m): 5:50am On Apr 10, 2023
We call it "obi edun" in Yoruba language.
It is sweet but too much of it can make your tooth sensitive to other solid foods,just like too much lime can make tooth sensitive to touch.

4 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by labake1(f): 6:09am On Apr 10, 2023
Is that not agbalumo
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Harrykn: 6:16am On Apr 10, 2023
I no sabi English name lol
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Benwallt(m): 6:32am On Apr 10, 2023
labake1:
Is that not agbalumo

Agbalumo Ke. That's Obi edun.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by duro4chang(m): 7:44am On Apr 10, 2023
CivilianJTF:

You sabi
Well well.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by MrBiGGEST(m): 9:45am On Apr 10, 2023
Axis313:
We call it "obi edun" in Yoruba language.
It sweet but too much of it can make your tooth sensitive to other solid foods,just like too much lime can make tooth sensitive to touch.
I like how expositive your answer is πŸ‘πŸ½.

Where can I get one?
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Kiddogarcia(m): 10:55am On Apr 10, 2023
God!!!
This fruit that year.
Can't even remember the last time I saw it now.

Na we be your best plug for everything Sexual enhancement tho
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by iFlare(m): 11:06am On Apr 10, 2023
Brainmytool:
Very sweet.

In Abia we call it OJI OFIA.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by tuzle(m): 1:27pm On Apr 10, 2023
The fruit no get English name ni
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Axis313(m): 2:20pm On Apr 10, 2023
MrBiGGEST:

I like how expositive your answer is πŸ‘πŸ½.

Where can I get one?
It's been a long time since I eat it,but you can find it in villages or local markets where fruits are sold.

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Abrahamweb(m): 2:48pm On Apr 10, 2023
duro4chang:
For Abuja,it's called monkey blockos

Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by MrBiGGEST(m): 3:22pm On Apr 10, 2023
Axis313:

It's been a long time since I eat it,but you can find it in village or local markets where fruits are sold.
Thanks man.πŸ™πŸ½πŸ€Ž
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Omo9ja147(m): 4:01pm On Apr 10, 2023
Its English name is Copper spoons.. botanical name.. Kalanchoe orgyalis.... We igalas call it Ekpa obukor
Re: Have You Seen This Wild Fruit Before? (pics) by Naybahood(m): 6:30pm On Apr 10, 2023
My Peeps from CSSI call it Monkey Blokus .

A Great Kobe Steak Recipe / Why Do Tomatoes Taste Sour? / How To Prepare Egusi Soup

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19