Stats: 3,158,405 members, 7,836,634 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 10:47 AM

Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim (5218 Views)

Obiano's Donates House & Borehole To Widow (with Pix) / Ambode Fires CEO Of Lastma, Arabamen / Fashola Donates Crèche To Church To Mark His Birthday. (2) (3) (4)

Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Ovularia: 1:15am On Sep 28, 2011
Tears as Fashola donates flat to widow of LASTMA victim
on SEPTEMBER 28, 2011 · in NEWS

By OLASUNKANMI AKONI & MONSUR OLOWOOPEJO
LAGOS—Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos State, Tuesday, commissioned an 80-unit Hon Olaitan Mustapha and Mrs. Adetoun Mustapha Millennium Housing Estate, Ojokoro Phase II, Lagos, noting that the 2011 Tenancy Law is not a substitute for affordable housing in the state.

Highlight of the ceremony was the presentation of keys to one of the flats at the housing estate to Mrs Mary Igbokwe, whose husband, Mr. Benjamin Igbokwe, was killed by men of Lagos State Traffic Management Authority, LASTMA, last year.

Igbokwe, a commercial driver and father of nine, was killed by overzealous officials of LASTMA and was given jungle justice.

Amidst tears, his son Somtochukwu, recounted his late dad’s ordeal.

Mary thanked the governor for his kind gesture and also urged the government to assist in the upkeep of the nine children.

The governor promised to assist in sponsoring the children’s education.

http://www.vanguardngr.com/2011/09/tears-as-fashola-donates-flat-to-widow-of-lastma-victim/
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Nobody: 7:20am On Sep 28, 2011
Woo, killed by Lastma, where are those lastma now? hope they are in jail
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by slap1(m): 7:30am On Sep 28, 2011
Naija di egwu o! Very soon, traffic warders and civil defence will start killing people, too.
Fashola, you did well. Kudos!
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by rabosh(m): 7:56am On Sep 28, 2011
Flat donation after breadwinner killed by a Government agency? Our people need to to know their rights. She should sue the Government for damages, believe me she would never have to beg to take care of the children. There must be a change of attitude and responsibility from the civil populace. We have accepted too much crap from those in government.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by tpbehappy(m): 8:10am On Sep 28, 2011
@Rabosh.
Na wa for you, so are you not a Nigerian, where is human right in Nigeria and you are saying this. My advice for people like you is never exercise or prove your right in front of any uniform man holding gun because people will exercise such right on your behalf, atleast Fashola has tried his best possible for giving the widow a home and promising to send the children to school and what a man will give birth to nine children when the person is not Dangote or Otedola, but there is so much to be done in Nigeria as regards our Human right and people killing people.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by rabosh(m): 8:30am On Sep 28, 2011
dont get me wrong, i do appreciate the gesture of the Governor. what i am saying is that its about time the civil populace, myself inclusive, get very active in holding our leaders accountable and we insisting on our rights a citizens and human beings. This promise to send the man's kids to school is a gesture that the next governor of the state is not under any obligation to continue.

9 kids is irresponsible.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by VolvoS60(m): 8:48am On Sep 28, 2011
tpbehappy:

@Rabosh.
Na wa for you, so are you not a Nigerian, where is human right in Nigeria and you are saying this. My advice for people like you is never exercise or prove your right in front of any uniform man holding gun because people will exercise such right on your behalf, atleast Fashola has tried his best possible for giving the widow a home and promising to send the children to school and what a man will give birth to nine children when the person is not Dangote or Otedola, but there is so much to be done in Nigeria as regards our Human right and people killing people.

^^^^

what have you just said? In 4 lines you have:

1. advised people never to insist on their rights where armed uniformed men are concerned,
2. questioned the dead man's family planning ability,
3. admitted that a lot needs to be done about human rights in Nigeria.

I hope you can see the contradiction.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by strangest(m): 9:05am On Sep 28, 2011
LATSMA dey carry gun?? shocked
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Desola(f): 9:19am On Sep 28, 2011
9 shidren!!!!

Okoros don own Lagos Ooooo!!!!
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by 2sleek2NV(m): 9:29am On Sep 28, 2011
was stopped by those LASTMA guys yesterday just after that Etisalat call centre office before you get to oshodi. the guy said i obstructed traffic. i parked properly, he got my Drivers License and directed we go to their office. a police woman and LASTMA lady hopped in the back seat. as we drove into ilupeju, d guy kept talking about how i'ld get fined. i pointed out to him that there is a new law that LASTMA had no right to give any Financial fine. the ladies behind said *oga wind down, ur car is too hot* i just disabled d power bottons from my own door so they couldnt roll down the glass. we got to oshodi and they asked me to turn around. The LASTMA guy started advising me saying i was too proud and not speaking like a yoruba boy. saying i should have at least begged them. kept quiet all through the ride and when we got back to the point where they stopped me initially, they all came down from the car and asked me to go
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by fm7070: 10:00am On Sep 28, 2011
most of those LASTMA guys are touts, so what do you expect?
Its sad that they've gotten to the level of killing someone.
I witnessed a very ugly scene at onipanu, when a LASTMA officer was strugling with a danfo driver while driving. this left a man wounded that day.
I wish they're only given power to CAUTION only and not to fine or penalise in anyway.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Slyr0x: 10:21am On Sep 28, 2011
There's something wrong about the title of this thread.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by mustspin: 10:49am On Sep 28, 2011
VolvoS60:

^^^^

what have you just said? In 4 lines you have:

1. advised people never to insist on their rights where armed uniformed men are concerned,
2. questioned the dead man's family planning ability,
3. admitted that a lot needs to be done about human rights in Nigeria.

I hope you can see the contradiction.

u r d 1 getting it twisted, he never said u should not exercise your right but 1 needs to be cautious with dose gun carrying animals else u'll be a sorry story. but really 9 shildren too much na, e wan start a family fc?. . . haba shocked shocked shocked
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Mannylex(m): 10:55am On Sep 28, 2011
2sleek2NV:

was stopped by those LASTMA guys yesterday just after that Etisalat call centre office before you get to oshodi. the guy said i obstructed traffic. i parked properly, he got my Drivers License and directed we go to their office. a police woman and LASTMA lady hopped in the back seat. as we drove into ilupeju, d guy kept talking about how i'ld get fined. i pointed out to him that there is a new law that LASTMA had no right to give any Financial fine. the ladies behind said *oga wind down, your car is too hot* i just disabled d power bottons from my own door so they couldnt roll down the glass. we got to oshodi and they asked me to turn around. The LASTMA guy started advising me saying i was too proud and not speaking like a yoruba boy. saying i should have at least begged them. kept quiet all through the ride and when we got back to the point where they stopped me initially, they all came down from the car and asked me to go

Guy, I feel you there, too much swaggs. . . Some people would have already been shivering like chickens. . . We have to exercise our right. They only intimidate you, when you start showing them that you're intimidated by them. . .
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Nobody: 11:16am On Sep 28, 2011
The only right one should exercise in Nigeria is the right hand.  Slap any bitch ass nigga that gets in your way. Else, someone else will exercise their right on you.

Hopefully, one day, laws will come alive in our country. Till then, survival of the fittest
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by lagerwhenindoubt(m): 12:14pm On Sep 28, 2011
strangest:

LATSMA dey carry gun?? shocked

Due to the scarcity of graduates and school leavers to take up employment in LASTMA, BRF has taken to hiring hoodlums, touts, OPC members and village champions into LASTMA, they do not need guns, their violence is deadly enough. Last year valentine's day these bastards at MILE2 punctured my cousins wheels and broke his passenger window and ordered him to lay flat on the road with cars rushing past for not allowing a LASTMA official into his car. He was lucky he only got away with a spot fine of N15k which the MOPOL took the pains to escort me to the ATM to collect CASH!

BRF should have a team to monitor the activities of these indigenous bast@#rds in Lagos State and punish them duly
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Baawaa(m): 1:19pm On Sep 28, 2011
If u ar able 2 beat LASMA,beat him because it is 2 fighting!!moreover police and lasma ar nt friend, they hate one another wt passion!
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by benzco: 1:33pm On Sep 28, 2011
for where or he want to it to complete his political lies , check well before you talk shit
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by kemisuga(f): 3:22pm On Sep 28, 2011
Shaking my head @ responses
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by dayokanu(m): 3:33pm On Sep 28, 2011
9 children from a bus driver?
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Bestglo(f): 5:46pm On Sep 28, 2011
odiaero:

Woo, killed by Lastma, where are those lastma now? hope they are in jail

Ovularia:

Igbokwe, a commercial driver and father of nine, was killed by overzealous officials of LASTMA [b]and was given jungle justice.

Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by redsun(m): 5:54pm On Sep 28, 2011
He had nine children as a driver. What a muderfucker he was.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by ibrobell(m): 7:11pm On Sep 28, 2011
God help the woman.9 children in this century
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by doyin13(m): 11:31pm On Sep 28, 2011
These donations are all jus a bit arbitrary. We need a settled system that compensates all victims of injustice not just those that catch the governors fancy
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by emiye(m): 1:03am On Sep 29, 2011
The biggest poverty alleviation programme that needs to be implemented by Nigerian masses is Family Planning

The biggest poverty alleviation programme that needs to be implemented by Nigerian govt. is electrical power in all parts of the country
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by yemivictor: 2:48am On Sep 29, 2011
I nearly ran one overzealous LASTMA official over the other day! The guy himself was quite scared, i won't lie. grin grin grin
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by arsenefc: 3:46am On Sep 29, 2011
Ibo people, always looking for awoof

Lazy people.

1 man, 9 shildren, all for Lagos, our own Yorubaland.

We need to start doing something for real.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by Nobody: 6:08am On Sep 29, 2011
1 OKORO and 9 little Okoros. Lagos will soon be Okoro town.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by agog: 2:08pm On Sep 29, 2011
dayokanu:

9 children from a bus driver?
and the wife is likely to be jobless or at best a petty trader.
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by queenet246(f): 4:08pm On Sep 29, 2011
what really happened? can someone brief me on how the man was killed? was it the same one that caused the closing down of yaba market? pls brief me
Re: Fashola Donates Flat To Widow Of Lastma Victim by ogbongzky(m): 4:33pm On Sep 29, 2011
ibrobell:

God help the woman.9 children in this century

Shaking my head

Biafra New Fraud Scheme Exposed / I KNOW I WILL ONE DAY BECOME OBI OF ONITSHA - Obasanjo brags / Concrete Work On 21 Storey Office Complex Uyo Complete, Glass Facade Begins

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58